Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Communication and Media Research

Abstract

The Bachelor programme in communication and media research teaches essential knowledge about media in modern societies. Our dedicated team offers an excellent scientific education, insights into the daily media business and optimal supervision in small groups. A Bachelor's degree from the University of Fribourg opens up various career options in the media and communication sector.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

Fribourg profile
The University of Fribourg's Bachelor programme in communication and media research aims at describing and explaining media and communication in modern societies. The programme puts an emphasis on actors, content, and effects of public communication as well as its social, political and economic environments. In addition to teaching basics about the interplay between media, society, organisations and individuals, the programme offers insights into the media business.

Learning outcomes
The Bachelor programme at the Department of Communication and Media Research (DCM) offers you a solid scientific education. Beyond acquiring basic knowledge about the workings of the media in today's society, you learn to research and scrutinise important and exciting aspects of media and communication yourself. In addition, you have the opportunity to gain hands-on experience in the media business. Thus, you acquire knowledge and competencies that are in demand in various occupational fields in the media and communication sector. The DCM puts an emphasis on didactics, optimal supervision and regular feedback.

Career openings
Knowledge about how the media operate and social scientific competences are an important requirement for many careers in the media and communication sector.
Our graduates work in media management, journalism, public relations, communication management, marketing, market research, media planning, academia, the public administration, politics and communication consultancy.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

120 ECTS credits + 60 ECTS credits in one or two minor study programmes freely chosen, 6 semesters

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/4F2Tn

Comments

In Fribourg you have the opportunity to complement your studies of communication according to your own interests with a variety of minor study programmes like economics, management, history, sociology, psychology or languages.

Admission

The following Swiss school-leaving certificates grant admission to Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg:

  • Swiss academic Maturity Certificate
  • Swiss professional Maturity Certificate in conjunction with the supplementary exam certificate from the Swiss Maturity Commission
  • Bachelor Degree from a Swiss university, from an accredited Swiss university of applied sciences (HES/FH) or from a Swiss university of teacher education (HEP/PH)

A complete list of all further recognized Swiss school-leaving certificates is to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities (in French and German only): https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/schweizerische-ausweise/

Foreign upper secondary school-leaving certificates are recognised only if they correspond substantially to the Swiss Maturity Certificate. They must qualify as general education. Foreign school-leaving certificates are considered to be general education if the last three years of schooling include at least six general education subjects, independent from each other, in accordance with the following list:

  1. First language (native language)
  2. Second language
  3. Mathematics
  4. Natural sciences (biology, chemistry or physics)
  5. Humanities and social sciences (geography, history or economics/law)
  6. Elective (an additional language or an additional subject from category 4 or 5)

The general admission requirements to the Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg for holders of foreign school-leaving certificates as well as the admission requirements for individual countries are to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/countries/
In addition, foreign candidates must present proof of sufficient language skills in French or German.

The assessment of foreign school-leaving certificates is based on the «CRUS Recommendations for the Assessment of Foreign Upper Secondary School-Leaving Certificates, 7 September 2007» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07en). The admission requirements are valid for the respective academic year. The Rectorat of the University of Fribourg reserves the right to change these requirements at any time.

Alternatives

Also offered as a minor study programme (60/30 ECTS credits).

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

Sciences de la communication et des médias

Résumé

Le programme de Bachelor en sciences de la communication et des médias enseigne les connaissances essentielles sur les médias dans les sociétés modernes. L'équipe d'enseignants offre une excellente formation scientifique, un aperçu de la pratique médiatique et la supervision optimale en petits groupes. Ce diplôme de Bachelor à l'Université de Fribourg ouvre diverses options de carrière dans le secteur des médias et de la communication.

Afficher le profil du programme d'études

Profil du programme d'études

Profil fribourgeois
Les études de Bachelor en sciences de la communication et des médias proposées à l'Université de Fribourg s'appuient sur des bases des sciences sociales pour décrire et appréhender le fonctionnement des médias. Les acteurs, les contenus et les effets de la communication publique sont au cœur du cursus, mais aussi les conditions sociales, politiques et économiques dans lesquelles elle s'exerce. Ce programme d'études permet d'acquérir des connaissances de base sur l'interaction entre les médias, la société, les organisations et les individus. Il offre en outre un aperçu de la pratique médiatique.

Objectifs de formation
Les études de Bachelor proposées par le Département des sciences de la communication et des médias (DCM) vous donnent accès à une formation scientifique de base de premier ordre. Outre l'acquisition des bases sur le fonctionnement des médias dans les sociétés modernes, vous explorerez et questionnerez des aspects importants et intéressants des médias et de la communication. Ce cursus vous permettra également d'exercer vos talents de journaliste dans le cadre de stages pratiques et, ainsi, d'acquérir des connaissances et des compétences recherchées dans de nombreux domaines d'activité du secteur de la communication et des médias. Le DCM attache une importance particulière à la pédagogie, à l'encadrement et au feedback régulier aux étudiantes et étudiants.

Débouchés professionnels
Les connaissances sur le fonctionnement des médias et sur les compétences scientifiques sociales sont des conditions importantes pour de nombreuses carrières dans le secteur des médias et la communication.
Nos diplômées et diplômés sont employés dans la gestion des médias, le journalisme, les relations publiques, la gestion de la communication, le marketing, en études de marché, la planification des médias, l'administration publique, la politique ou le conseil en communication.

Organisation des études

Structure des études

120 crédits ECTS + 60 crédits ECTS dans un ou deux programmes d'études secondaires au choix, 6 semestres

Plan d'études

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/E8joK

Remarque

A Fribourg, vous avez la possibilité de compléter vos études de communication en fonction de vos propres intérêts avec une variété de programmes d'études secondaires comme Economie politique, Gestion d'entreprise, Histoire, Sociologie, Psychologie ou les langues.

Admission

Les diplômes suisses de fin d'études suivants permettent une admission dans les voies d'études de Bachelor à l'Université de Fribourg:

  • Certificat de maturité gymnasiale ou maturités gymnasiales cantonales reconnues par la Confédération
  • Certificat de maturité professionnelle complété du certificat d'examen complémentaire de la Commission suisse de maturité (passerelle)
  • Diplôme de Bachelor d'une haute école universitaire, d'une haute école spécialisée reconnue (HES) ou d'une haute école pédagogique (HEP)

La liste de tous les autres diplômes suisses reconnus peut être consultée sur le site web de swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/fr/services/admission-a-luniversite/certificats-suisses/

Pour être reconnus, les diplômes étrangers de fin d'études doivent être équivalents, pour l'essentiel, à une maturité gymnasiale suisse; ils doivent être de formation générale. Un diplôme d'études secondaires supérieures est considéré de formation générale s'il porte sur six branches d'enseignement suivies en continu pendant les trois dernières années selon la liste suivante:

  1. Première langue (langue maternelle)
  2. Deuxième langue
  3. Mathématiques
  4. Sciences naturelles (biologie, chimie ou physique)
  5. Sciences humaines et sociales (géographie, histoire ou économie/droit)
  6. Branche à choix (soit une langue supplémentaire soit une branche parmi les branches 4 ou 5)

Les exigences générales d'admission dans les voies d'études de Bachelor à l'Université de Fribourg pour les diplômes étrangers de fin d'études ainsi que les conditions d'admission spécifiques pour chaque pays peuvent être trouvées sur le site web de swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/fr/services/admission-a-luniversite/pays/
De plus, les candidats étrangers et les candidates étrangères doivent apporter la preuve de compétences linguistiques suffisantes en français ou en allemand.

L'évaluation de diplômes étrangers de fin d'études se base sur les «Recommandations du 7 septembre 2007 de la CRUS relatives à l'évaluation des diplômes d'études secondaires supérieures étrangers» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07fr). Les conditions d'admission ne sont valables que pour l'année académique respective. Le Rectorat de l'Université de Fribourg se réserve le droit de les modifier à tout instant.

Variantes

Est également offert en tant que programme d'études secondaires (60/30 crédits ECTS).