Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Economic and Legal Studies

Abstract

The Bachelor in Economic and Legal Studies is an original course of studies and the only one of its kind in Switzerland. It efficiently combines the main features of management, economics and law. Throughout their studies, students will learn about the key concepts of these disciplines.
In the management part, students focus on the decisions made in all sections of a company: production, finance, marketing, accounting and control, human resources and strategy. The students learn to develop solutions in order to optimise the use of resources or to attain ideal compromises to reach various goals. Concrete and pragmatic solutions are presented for traditional, profit-focused companies as well as for non-profit organisations, such as administrations, hospitals, associations and international organisations.
In economics, students learn how to find solutions to economic and social problems, for example by analysing human behaviour in the face of scarcity of resources, human interactions in business contexts or public institutions, the role of markets and other co-ordination mechanisms, in particular the means of intervention open to government through economic and social processes.
Lastly, the subject of legal studies provides an understanding of the characteristics and essential functions of law as a social system. Students can improve their knowledge of the different types of law (public, criminal, European, civil), notably by looking at the historical evolution of law in the political, economic and social context.
Students can attend practically all courses in either French or German, and they can also obtain the distinction «Bilingual curriculum, French/German» on their diploma. Students are individually supervised in order for them to study in optimal conditions.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

The study programme, which is based on existing courses in management, economics and law, has been designed and optimised to offer students general, but sound knowledge, in the various fields of management, economics and law. Upon finishing their Bachelor, and depending on the classes chosen in the 2nd and 3rd year, students have access to the Master programmes in Management and Economics offered at the Faculty of Management, Economics and Social Sciences. This Bachelor is also ideal for students seeking to teach economics and law in upper secondary schools.
Students will carry out two thirds of their education in the Faculty of Management, Economics and Social Sciences (major in «Management and Economics», 120 ECTS credits), and their studies will be completed at the Faculty of Law (minor in «Law», 60 ECTS credits). In general, students at the Faculty of Economics and Social Sciences follow a well-structured yearly study programme. At the Faculty of Law, students can organise their programme throughout the Bachelor in line with the Regulation for students taking law as a minor programme.

In the first year of management and economics, students will by and by be familiarised with the domain, notably in micro-economics. They will be introduced to management and accounting. They will also acquire knowledge of key concepts in statistics and mathematics, allowing them to take advanced Bachelor or Master classes.

In the second year, some classes are compulsory. These will round off the students' basic studies. They will gain an understanding of the principles of macro-economics, public finances, investment and financing, as well as marketing.

The rest of the courses in the second and third year are free of choice from classes offered by the Faculty's economics and management courses. This flexibility allows students to develop a particular profile, either in the field of management or economics. At the end of their studies, thanks to a general and comprehensive education, they will have acquired theoretical knowledge and practical know-how.

In their three-year course of studies, the students have a broad and free choice of courses in the field of law and can therefore develop a suitable profile in line with their own objectives.

Fribourg profile
The Faculty offers modern teaching based on the results of current research and in line with the University's humanist tradition. The aim is, on the one hand, to provide students with skills that will allow them to find answers and solutions to today's economic and social issues and, on the other hand, to provide them with the foundations which are essential for understanding business management or finance management tools. The complementary legal courses will open the doors to the complex world of law. The courses are held in French and in German and are therefore an optimal way of preparing students for the national and international labour market.

Learning outcomes
Students from the Faculty of Management, Economics and Social Sciences and the Faculty of Law are highly attractive for employers. They dispose of numerous skills acquired in economics and management, as well as in specific fields of law.

Methodological skills
In uncertain and constantly changing conditions, students learn to structure their way of dealing with problems and to develop rigorous diagnostic procedures, put forward solutions, forecast models, and offer advice to firms and institutions in both the private and public sector. Qualitative and quantitative methods are taught during lessons, exercises, in the form of group work projects and by studying practical cases. A Bachelor thesis completes the course of studies.

Professional skills
The programme is founded on the experience and the scientific skills of the teaching staff. The latest research results and the most modern tools developed by researchers are immediately integrated in the course syllabi. This knowledge transfer prepares students for their future professional life.

Social skills
The bilingual and interdisciplinary nature of the studies is a major benefit for the students. It allows them to study in different environments, get used to alternative approaches and work with different people. Due to optimal class sizes, group work and debates are frequently used to stimulate interactive learning and co-operation. This particular study context at the University of Fribourg enhances the whole study experience.

Career perspectives
Graduates can pursue a career in small and medium-sized companies or multi-nationals in a variety of positions ranging from operational to management and consultant positions. The basic knowledge acquired in law gives them the advantage of understanding legal issues in the economic world. The public sector is another area of employment. The various governmental and non-governmental institutions, professional institutions and trade unions are also very popular choices. Thanks to the general and interdisciplinary nature of this Bachelor (economics/management/law), graduates have unique and highly attractive profiles. Lastly, new graduates can continue their studies on Master level.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

120 ECTS credits Management and Economics + 60 ECTS credits Law, 6 semesters

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/4F2Tn
http://studies.unifr.ch/go/xx39f (French)
http://studies.unifr.ch/go/5P3md (German)

Admission

The following Swiss school-leaving certificates grant admission to bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg:

  • Swiss academic Maturity Certificate
  • Federal vocational or specialised Baccalaureate + supplementary examination of the Swiss Maturity Commission (passerelle)
  • Bachelor Degree from a Swiss university, from an accredited Swiss university of applied sciences (HES/FH) or from a Swiss university of teacher education (HEP/PH)

A complete list of all further recognised Swiss school-leaving certificates is to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities (in French and German only): http://studies.unifr.ch/go/en-admission-swiss-certificates

Foreign upper secondary school-leaving certificates are recognised only if they correspond substantially to the Swiss Maturity Certificate. They must qualify as general education. Foreign school-leaving certificates are considered to be general education if the last three years of schooling include at least six general education subjects, independent from each other, in accordance with the following list:

  1. First language (native language)
  2. Second language
  3. Mathematics
  4. Natural sciences (biology or chemistry or physics)
  5. Humanities and social sciences (geography or history or economics/law)
  6. Elective (computer sciences or philosophy or an additional language or an additional subject from category 4 or 5)

The general admission requirements to the bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg for holders of foreign school-leaving certificates as well as the admission requirements for individual countries are to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities: http://studies.unifr.ch/go/en-admission-countrylist
In addition, foreign candidates must present proof of sufficient language skills in French or German.

The assessment of foreign school-leaving certificates is based on the «CRUS Recommendations for the Assessment of Foreign Upper Secondary School-Leaving Certificates, 7 September 2007» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07en). The admission requirements are valid for the respective academic year. The Rectorat of the University of Fribourg reserves the right to change these requirements at any time.

Minor study programmes to be chosen

Law

A Bachelor's degree in Law provides students with round knowledge of all key areas of law. The full-time course is spread over three years and is progressive in that the individual areas of law are discussed in at least two years.
Teaching comprises lectures as well as numerous tutorials in which students receive guidance on the analysis, solution and criticism of concrete legal issues, interactively and in small groups.
In Fribourg virtually all the teaching sessions are offered in German and in French. The choice is yours: you can follow all the lectures and tutorials in German or in French, but you also have the possibility of upgrading your diploma with the distinction «Bilingual curriculum, French/German». Further important benefits are the small size of the Faculty and the personal mentoring you receive during your studies.

More info

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

Études économiques et juridiques

Résumé

Le Bachelor en études économiques et juridiques est une formation originale et unique en Suisse. Elle combine de manière efficace les aspects saillants des sciences de la gestion (ou du management), de l'économie politique et du droit. Tout au long de leur formation, les étudiantes et étudiants pourront se former aux concepts clefs de ces disciplines.
Les sciences de la gestion s'intéressent à l'ensemble des décisions prises en entreprise: production, finance, marketing, comptabilité et contrôle, ressources humaines, stratégie. Elles proposent des solutions menant à optimiser l'utilisation des ressources, ou des compromis optimaux permettant d'atteindre différents objectifs. Des solutions concrètes et pragmatiques sont offertes tant aux entreprises traditionnelles, orientées vers le profit, qu'aux organisations à but non lucratif, telles que les administrations, les hôpitaux, les associations et les organisations internationales.
L'économie politique quant à elle est à la recherche de solutions à des problèmes économiques et sociaux, en analysant par exemple le comportement d'acteurs face à la raréfaction de ressources, les interactions humaines en entreprise ou au sein d'institutions publiques, du rôle joué par les marchés et d'autres mécanismes de coordination, en particulier les modalités d'intervention de l'Etat dans les processus économiques et sociaux.
Enfin, les études juridiques permettent notamment de comprendre les caractéristiques et les fonctions essentielles du droit en tant que système social. Les étudiantes et étudiants peuvent parfaire leurs connaissances des différents droits (public, pénal, européen, civil) notamment en replaçant l'évolution historique du droit dans le contexte politique, économique et social.
Les étudiantes et étudiants ont la possibilité de suivre pratiquement tous les cours au choix soit en français soit en allemand, et peuvent aussi obtenir la mention «Etudes bilingues». Un fort encadrement individuel caractérise la formation et leur permet d'étudier dans des conditions optimales.

Afficher le profil du programme d'études

Profil du programme d'études

Le plan d'études, basé sur les filières existantes en gestion, économie politique et droit, a été pensé et optimisé pour offrir aux étudiantes et étudiants des connaissances générales, mais néanmoins solides, dans les différents domaines de la gestion, de l'économie et du droit. Au terme de leur Bachelor, les étudiantes et étudiants pourront accéder, en fonction des cours choisis en 2ème et 3ème année, aux Master consécutifs en Gestion d'entreprise et en Economie politique de la Faculté des sciences économiques et sociales. La formation est également idéale pour celles et ceux qui se destineraient à l'enseignement dans les écoles de maturité en économie et droit.
Les étudiantes et étudiants accompliront les deux tiers de leur formation en Faculté des sciences économiques et sociales (branche principale en «Management et Economie», 120 crédits ECTS), la Faculté de droit se chargeant de la compléter (grande branche secondaire en «Droit», 60 crédits ECTS). De manière générale, les étudiantes et étudiants bénéficieront en Faculté des sciences économiques et sociales d'un plan d'études clairement structuré par année. En Faculté de droit, les étudiantes et étudiants pourront organiser leur programme de cours tout au long du Bachelor selon le Règlement pour les étudiantes et étudiants ayant le droit comme branche secondaire.

Lors de la première année d'études en Management et Economie, les étudiantes et étudiants se familiariseront peu à peu avec la discipline, notamment en microéconomie. Ils profiteront largement des introductions à la gestion et à la comptabilité. Ils acquerront également les notions essentielles en statistiques et en mathématiques leur permettant de suivre les cours avancés de Bachelor ou de Master.

Une partie des cours est imposée en deuxième année. Ceux-ci doivent compléter le bagage de base des étudiantes et étudiants. Ainsi, ils pourront comprendre les principes de la macroéconomie, des finances publiques, de l'investissement et du financement, ainsi que du marketing.

Le reste des cours de deuxième et troisième années est à choisir librement dans des cours des programmes de l'économie politique et de la gestion offerts par la Faculté. Cette flexibilité doit permettre aux étudiantes et étudiants de développer un profil particulier soit dans le domaine de la gestion soit dans celui de l'économie politique. Au terme de leurs études, ils auront, grâce à une formation générale et complète, acquis des connaissances théoriques et un savoir-faire pratique.

Enfin, durant leurs trois années d'études juridiques, les étudiantes et étudiants disposant d'une large autonomie dans le choix de leurs cours pourront également se profiler de manière adéquate et selon leurs désirs.

Profil fribourgeois
La Faculté propose un enseignement moderne, basé sur les acquis de la recherche et fidèle à la tradition humaniste de l'Université. Il s'agit, d'une part, de doter les étudiantes et étudiants de compétences qui leur permettront de trouver des réponses et des solutions aux problématiques économiques et sociales actuelles et, d'autre part, de leur fournir les bases indispensables à la compréhension des outils de la gestion d'entreprise ou de la finance. La formation juridique complémentaire va ouvrir les portes au monde complexe du droit. L'offre d'études est proposée entièrement et parallèlement en français et en allemand et constitue de fait une préparation optimale au marché national et international de l'emploi.

Objectifs de formation
Les étudiants et étudiantes issus des Facultés des sciences économiques et sociales et de droit sont fortement recherchés. En effet, ils peuvent faire valoir de nombreuses compétences acquises tant en économie politique qu'en gestion, voire dans des domaines spécifiques du droit.

Compétences méthodologiques
Dans des conditions incertaines et qui évoluent sans cesse, les étudiantes et étudiants apprennent à structurer leur approche des problèmes et poser des diagnostics rigoureux, proposer des solutions et des modèles de prévisions, ainsi que prodiguer des conseils aux entreprises et institutions tant du secteur privé que public. L'apprentissage de méthodes qualitatives et quantitatives se fait durant les cours, les exercices, les travaux de groupe et l'étude de cas pratiques, et le travail de Bachelor parachève cet apprentissage.

Compétences professionnelles
La formation s'appuie sur l'expérience et les compétences scientifiques du corps professoral. Les résultats les plus récents de la recherche sont immédiatement intégrés à l'enseignement des professeurs. Il en va de même des outils les plus modernes développés par les chercheurs. Tout ce transfert de compétences prépare au mieux les étudiantes et étudiants à leur future vie professionnelle.

Compétences sociales
Le bilinguisme et l'interdisciplinarité des études profitent très largement aux étudiantes et étudiants. Ils fréquentent ainsi d'autres environnements, se familiarisent avec des approches différentes, côtoient d'autres personnes. Grâce à une taille optimale des classes, des travaux de groupe et des débats sont fréquemment utilisés, favorisant un enseignement interactif, mettant en valeur l'esprit d'entraide. Ce contexte particulier des études fribourgeoises enrichit l'expérience acquise durant les études.

Débouchés
Les jeunes diplômées et diplômés peuvent sans autre envisager une carrière dans des petites et moyennes entreprises, ou des multinationales, à différents postes tant opérationnels, de managers que de consultants. Les bases acquises en droit leur donnent les atouts pour comprendre les enjeux juridiques qui se posent au monde économique. Le secteur public leur est également largement ouvert. Les diverses institutions gouvernementales et non gouvernementales, les associations professionnelles et syndicales, sont des choix aussi très prisés. La formation générale et interdisciplinaire acquise (économie-gestion-droit), fait des diplômées et diplômés des personnes au profil unique et donc hautement recherchées. Enfin, les nouvelles diplômées et nouveaux diplômés peuvent sans autre poursuivre leurs études au niveau Master.

Organisation des études

Structure des études

120 crédits ECTS Management et Économie + 60 crédits ECTS Droit, 6 semestres

Plan d'études

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/E8joK
http://studies.unifr.ch/go/xx39f

Admission

Les diplômes suisses de fin d'études suivants permettent une admission dans les voies d'études de Bachelor à l'Université de Fribourg:

  • Certificat de maturité gymnasiale ou maturités gymnasiales cantonales reconnues par la Confédération
  • Certificat de maturité professionnelle complété du certificat d'examen complémentaire de la Commission suisse de maturité (passerelle)
  • Diplôme de Bachelor d'une haute école universitaire, d'une haute école spécialisée reconnue (HES) ou d'une haute école pédagogique (HEP)

La liste de tous les autres diplômes suisses reconnus peut être consultée sur le site web de swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/fr/services/admission-a-luniversite/certificats-suisses/

Pour être reconnus, les diplômes étrangers de fin d'études doivent être équivalents, pour l'essentiel, à une maturité gymnasiale suisse; ils doivent être de formation générale. Un diplôme d'études secondaires supérieures est considéré de formation générale s'il porte sur six branches d'enseignement suivies en continu pendant les trois dernières années selon la liste suivante:

  1. Première langue (langue maternelle)
  2. Deuxième langue
  3. Mathématiques
  4. Sciences naturelles (biologie, chimie ou physique)
  5. Sciences humaines et sociales (géographie, histoire ou économie/droit)
  6. Branche à choix (soit une langue supplémentaire soit une branche parmi les branches 4 ou 5)

Les exigences générales d'admission dans les voies d'études de Bachelor à l'Université de Fribourg pour les diplômes étrangers de fin d'études ainsi que les conditions d'admission spécifiques pour chaque pays peuvent être trouvées sur le site web de swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/fr/services/admission-a-luniversite/pays/
De plus, les candidats étrangers et les candidates étrangères doivent apporter la preuve de compétences linguistiques suffisantes en français ou en allemand.

L'évaluation de diplômes étrangers de fin d'études se base sur les «Recommandations du 7 septembre 2007 de la CRUS relatives à l'évaluation des diplômes d'études secondaires supérieures étrangers» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07fr). Les conditions d'admission ne sont valables que pour l'année académique respective. Le Rectorat de l'Université de Fribourg se réserve le droit de les modifier à tout instant.

Programmes d'études secondaires au choix

Droit

En choisissant des études de Bachelor en droit, les étudiantes et étudiants acquièrent des connaissances de base dans tous les domaines essentiels du droit. Pendant trois ans, ils suivent des cours de droit public, droit romain, droit pénal, droit européen et droit international public, droit civil, histoire du droit, droit des obligations, droit fiscal, droit commercial et économique, droit social et philosophie du droit.
En plus des cours, les étudiantes et étudiants prennent part à des séances d'exercices pratiques pendant lesquelles ils apprennent à interpréter les lois et les décisions des tribunaux, à trouver des solutions à des problèmes juridiques fondamentaux et à déceler l'importance des débats juridiques actuels pour l'exercice de la justice au quotidien.
A Fribourg, il est possible de suivre presque tous les cours au choix en allemand ou en français. Ce faisant, les étudiantes et étudiants peuvent valoriser leur diplôme avec la mention «Etudes bilingues». L'encadrement individuel pendant les études et les multiples possibilités d'échange avec des universités partenaires en Suisse et à l'étranger constituent d'autres avantages de cette filière.

Plus d'informations