Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Economics

Abstract

The Bachelor programme provides an in depths training in economics, and additionally covers the fundamentals of business administration and quantitative methods. The focus is on solving economic and societal issues in companies, households, government institutions and markets. The approach is based on the analysis of human decision-making processes as well as the optimal use and the effect of economic resources, e.g. labour and capital. Some questions addressed in this programme relate to broad economic relationships: What determines prosperity and the distribution of wealth in a country? What influences the exchange rates and trade flows between nations? How do firms acquire market power and should when should the state regulate them? But there are also more specific questions that are addressed: What effect does education have on income, health and crime? Because of what characteristics are some companies more successful than others? Which kind of interventions work in developmental aid? To answer such questions, the programme provides theoretical concepts as well as data-based (i.e. empirical) methods and puts students in a position to understand economic problems, to analyse them autonomously and to derive advice for action for companies or politicians. The inclusion of real life cases makes it possible to practically implement the knowledge that has been acquired, and the excellent student-to-teacher ratio allows for interactive teaching styles.
The Bachelor programme in economics combines modern teaching and research with the humanistic tradition of the University of Fribourg.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

The Bachelor programme provides an in depths training in economics, and additionally covers the fundamentals of business administration and quantitative methods. The focus is on solving economic and societal issues in companies, households, government institutions and markets. On the one hand, it is of interest how people in companies, households, government institutions and markets use economic (eg financial) resources, and how decisions interact with economic and political institutions. On the other hand, an analysis of the impact and the optimal use of economic resources is necessary in order to be able to derive recommendations for companies and politicians. Examples of questions in economics are: What determines prosperity and the distribution of wealth in a country? What influences the exchange rates and trade flows between nations? How do firms acquire market power? Economics also deals with more specific questions: What effect does education have on income, health and crime? Because of what characteristics are some companies more successful than others? Which kind of interventions work in developmental aid? Economics also deals with the question of whether and how the state should intervene in economic and social processes at the national and international level.

Fribourg profile
The Department of Economics combines modern political economic teaching and research with the humanistic tradition of the University of Fribourg. Students are empowered to provide answers to economic, social and entrepreneurial issues and to put them into practice.
The excellent support in the department and the strong application orientation of the teaching provide an ideal environment for students to acquire these skills. The Bachelor programme, which is offered entirely in German and French, enables students to prepare themselves optimally for work in an intercultural environment.

Learning outcomes
A solid basic education in economics provides students with the necessary knowledge to understand and independently analyse economic problems. The goal of the study programme is to impart methodological, professional and social skills:

Methodological skills
Economists contribute to the understanding of economic processes and economic interrelationships under changing conditions. Students learn
– to make economic diagnoses and prognoses with the help of theoretical and statistical insights, as well as quantitative methods of causal analysis;
– how to provide economic consulting for companies, the public sector and organisations that pursue certain economic goals;
– how to communicate economic ideas and economic interrelationships, for example, in the media.

Professional skills
Good professional expertise is indispensable for the analysis of complex economic problems. During the course of the study programme, students learn how they can theoretically structure economic issues and subsequently examine them with the help of data. The inclusion of practical cases makes it possible for students to transfer the knowledge that has been acquired into practice and develop solutions for economic and socio-political problems.

Social skills
The excellent student-to teacher ratio in the department allows for interactive teaching methods. Students have the opportunity to work in teams early on, present the results of their work and practice participating in scientific discussions. In group work in particular students have the opportunity to motivate fellow students and help one another.

Career prospects
At the University of Fribourg, economists gain a solid theoretical and statistical education, which at the same time is practice-oriented, focussing on current economic issues in public organisations and companies. Such a profile provides employment prespectives in particular in large private companies (in particular in banking and insurance, industry, trade, data management and media), consulting, market research, the public sector (on the cantonal or state level), international organisations (e.g. UNO) as well as in professional or trade union organisations.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

180 ECTS credits, 6 semesters

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/4F2Tn

Admission

The following Swiss school-leaving certificates grant admission to Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg:

  • Swiss academic Maturity Certificate
  • Swiss professional Maturity Certificate in conjunction with the supplementary exam certificate from the Swiss Maturity Commission
  • Bachelor Degree from a Swiss university, from an accredited Swiss university of applied sciences (HES/FH) or from a Swiss university of teacher education (HEP/PH)

A complete list of all further recognized Swiss school-leaving certificates is to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities (in French and German only): https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/schweizerische-ausweise/

Foreign upper secondary school-leaving certificates are recognised only if they correspond substantially to the Swiss Maturity Certificate. They must qualify as general education. Foreign school-leaving certificates are considered to be general education if the last three years of schooling include at least six general education subjects, independent from each other, in accordance with the following list:

  1. First language (native language)
  2. Second language
  3. Mathematics
  4. Natural sciences (biology, chemistry or physics)
  5. Humanities and social sciences (geography, history or economics/law)
  6. Elective (an additional language or an additional subject from category 4 or 5)

The general admission requirements to the Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg for holders of foreign school-leaving certificates as well as the admission requirements for individual countries are to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/countries/
In addition, foreign candidates must present proof of sufficient language skills in French or German.

The assessment of foreign school-leaving certificates is based on the «CRUS Recommendations for the Assessment of Foreign Upper Secondary School-Leaving Certificates, 7 September 2007» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07en). The admission requirements are valid for the respective academic year. The Rectorat of the University of Fribourg reserves the right to change these requirements at any time.

Alternatives

Also offered as a minor study programme (60/30 ECTS credits).

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

Économie politique

Résumé

Le programme de Bachelor comprend, comme axe principal, l'étude de l'économie politique mais sert également de base fondamentale à la gestion d'entreprise ainsi qu'à l'étude des méthodes quantitatives. Le programme d'études met en avant l'analyse et la résolution de problèmes économiques et sociaux aux niveaux des entreprises, des ménages, des institutions ainsi que des marchés publics. Le programme est notamment basé sur l'analyse de la prise de décisions des acteurs ainsi que sur l'analyse de l'utilisation optimale des ressources économiques comme le travail ou le capital et leurs effets sur l'économie. L'analyse des relations macroéconomiques constitue, d'une part, l'objet d'étude de l'économie politique. Il s'agit alors d'identifier les déterminants du bien-être et de la répartition des richesses d'un pays, de caractériser les variables influençant les taux de change ainsi que les flux commerciaux entre les pays, de découvrir comment les entreprises deviennent puissantes sur le marché et, enfin, de savoir quand l'Etat se doit d'intervenir en matière de réglementation. D'autre part, l'économie politique apporte des réponses à des questions plus spécifiques. Elle se charge alors de déterminer l'effet de l'éducation sur le revenu ainsi que sur la santé et la criminalité, de cerner les facteurs de succès d'une entreprise prospère et de trouver les mesures les plus efficaces dans l'aide au développement.
Afin de répondre à ces questions, les étudiantes et étudiants apprennent, dans le cadre de leurs études, à cerner les enjeux économiques et à les analyser de façon autonome afin d'y dériver des recommandations pour les entreprises et le monde politique. Dans un premier temps, l'approche est structurée en posant les aspects théoriques, puis les enjeux sont analysés de manière empirique sur la base de données concrètes. Des cas réels permettent de mettre en application les connaissances acquises et un taux d'encadrement optimal assure un enseignement interactif. Le programme d'études en économie politique offre une organisation moderne de l'enseignement et de la recherche tout en s'efforçant de rester fidèle à la tradition humaniste de l'Université.

Afficher le profil du programme d'études

Profil du programme d'études

Le programme de Bachelor comprend comme axe principal l'étude de l'économie politique mais sert également de base fondamentale à la gestion d'entreprise ainsi qu'à l'étude des méthodes quantitatives. Un intérêt principal de la discipline est d'analyser les comportements et la prise de décisions des différents individus en privé, en entreprise, au sein des institutions publiques et dans l'économie globale, face à l'utilisation des ressources économiques (p. ex. financières) tout en prenant en compte les conditions-cadres économiques et politiques. L'économie politique s'intéresse plus particulièrement à l'analyse de l'utilisation optimales des ressources économiques afin d'y dériver des recommandations pour les entreprises et le monde politique. L'économie politique vise, par exemple, à identifier les déterminants du bien-être et de la répartition des richesses d'un pays, à caractériser les variables influençant les taux de change ainsi que les flux commerciaux entre les pays et à découvrir comment les entreprises deviennent puissantes sur le marché. Cependant, des problématiques plus spécifiques sont aussi traitées. En effet, l'économie politique se charge de déterminer l'effet de l'éducation sur le revenu ainsi que sur la santé et la criminalité, de cerner les facteurs de succès d'une entreprise prospère et de trouver les mesures les plus efficaces dans l'aide au développement. L'économie politique s'intéresse également à la nécessité et aux modalités d'une intervention de l'Etat dans les processus économiques et sociaux, tant au niveau national qu'international.

Profil fribourgeois
Le Département d'économie politique propose une organisation moderne de l'enseignement et de la recherche tout en s'efforçant de rester fidèle à la tradition humaniste de l'Université. Il s'agit de doter les étudiantes et étudiants des compétences qui leur permettront de trouver des réponses aux problématiques économiques et sociales actuelles et de les transformer en solutions concrètes. L'excellent encadrement des étudiants au sein du Département, le caractère pratique de la discipline enseignée et l'offre d'études proposée entièrement et parallèlement en français et en allemand, préparent de manière optimale les étudiantes et étudiants à un environnement de travail interculturel et dynamique.

Objectifs de formation
Une solide formation de base en économie vous permettra d'appréhender et d'analyser de façon autonome les enjeux existants en la matière. Le programme d'études s'articule autour de la transmission de trois formes de compétences:

Compétences méthodologiques
Les économistes contribuent à la compréhension des phénomènes et des interactions économiques dans des conditions qui évoluent sans cesse. Les étudiantes et étudiants apprennent à:
– effectuer un diagnostic et élaborer des prévisions économiques en s'appuyant sur des fondements théoriques et des données statistiques, ainsi que sur des méthodes quantitatives d'analyse causale;
– prodiguer des conseils économiques aux entreprises, au secteur public et à diverses organisations en fonction des objectifs poursuivis;
– communiquer et expliciter des théories scientifiques et des interactions économiques dans les médias.

Compétences spécialisées
L'analyse de questions économiques complexes requiert des compétences spécialisées solides. Dans le cadre des études de Bachelor, les étudiantes et étudiants apprennent à structurer leur approche des problématiques économiques ainsi qu'à analyser celles-ci sur la base de données concrètes. Des études de cas pratiques leur permettent par ailleurs de mettre en application leurs acquis et de trouver des solutions pour répondre aux enjeux économiques, politiques et sociaux.

Compétences sociales
L'excellent niveau d'encadrement se traduit par une offre de cours mettant l'accent sur l'interactivité. Ainsi, les étudiantes et étudiants ont très rapidement l'opportunité de travailler en équipe, de présenter leurs résultats et de s'exercer au débat scientifique. Les travaux de groupe favorisent l'esprit d'entraide et la capacité de chacun à motiver les autres.

Débouchés
Les études d'économie politique proposées par l'Université de Fribourg permettent d'acquérir une solide formation théorique et empirique conforme aux problématiques économiques actuelles auxquelles les secteurs publics et privés doivent faire face. Ainsi, les diplômées et diplômés bénéficient notamment de perspectives professionnelles attractives dans les grands groupes (notamment dans les secteurs bancaires et industriels), dans les entreprises de conseil, dans les instituts de recherche, dans les organisations de défense d'intérêts (p.e. auprès des associations patronales ou syndicales), dans les organisations internationales (p.ex. auprès de l'ONU ou de l'OCDE) ou encore dans le secteur public (p.ex. auprès d'offices cantonaux et fédéraux).

Organisation des études

Structure des études

180 crédits ECTS, 6 semestres

Plan d'études

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/E8joK

Admission

Les diplômes suisses de fin d'études suivants permettent une admission dans les voies d'études de Bachelor à l'Université de Fribourg:

  • Certificat de maturité gymnasiale ou maturités gymnasiales cantonales reconnues par la Confédération
  • Certificat de maturité professionnelle complété du certificat d'examen complémentaire de la Commission suisse de maturité (passerelle)
  • Diplôme de Bachelor d'une haute école universitaire, d'une haute école spécialisée reconnue (HES) ou d'une haute école pédagogique (HEP)

La liste de tous les autres diplômes suisses reconnus peut être consultée sur le site web de swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/fr/services/admission-a-luniversite/certificats-suisses/

Pour être reconnus, les diplômes étrangers de fin d'études doivent être équivalents, pour l'essentiel, à une maturité gymnasiale suisse; ils doivent être de formation générale. Un diplôme d'études secondaires supérieures est considéré de formation générale s'il porte sur six branches d'enseignement suivies en continu pendant les trois dernières années selon la liste suivante:

  1. Première langue (langue maternelle)
  2. Deuxième langue
  3. Mathématiques
  4. Sciences naturelles (biologie, chimie ou physique)
  5. Sciences humaines et sociales (géographie, histoire ou économie/droit)
  6. Branche à choix (soit une langue supplémentaire soit une branche parmi les branches 4 ou 5)

Les exigences générales d'admission dans les voies d'études de Bachelor à l'Université de Fribourg pour les diplômes étrangers de fin d'études ainsi que les conditions d'admission spécifiques pour chaque pays peuvent être trouvées sur le site web de swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/fr/services/admission-a-luniversite/pays/
De plus, les candidats étrangers et les candidates étrangères doivent apporter la preuve de compétences linguistiques suffisantes en français ou en allemand.

L'évaluation de diplômes étrangers de fin d'études se base sur les «Recommandations du 7 septembre 2007 de la CRUS relatives à l'évaluation des diplômes d'études secondaires supérieures étrangers» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07fr). Les conditions d'admission ne sont valables que pour l'année académique respective. Le Rectorat de l'Université de Fribourg se réserve le droit de les modifier à tout instant.

Variantes

Est également offert en tant que programme d'études secondaires (60/30 crédits ECTS).