Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Environmental Sciences

Abstract

Anthropogenic climate change, natural degradation, and loss of biodiversity but also sustainable energy production, resource depletion, and waste disposal demand immediate action and governance. The management of these environmental challenges has already caused and will increasingly engender ethical concerns, dilemmas, and conflicts. The Bachelor minor study programmes in Environmental Sciences complements the competences acquired in the main studies with special knowledge in the environmental sciences and humanities as well as in environmental ethics. It equips students with the competences for resolving governance challenges in the fields of the environment, sustainability and climate change. The unique knowledge accomplished in these Bachelor minor programmes is an integrative and comprehensive sensibilisation on how to analyse environmental conflicts and to propose ethically sound solutions to environmental challenges.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

The Bachelor minor study programmes in environmental sciences are offered with three options: environmental sciences, environmental law, and applied environmental management. All minors comprise four basic courses introducing the different fields of environmental sciences, a compulsory elective programme in the environmental humanities and ethics, excursions and an interfaculty elective programme from all five Faculties of the University of Fribourg.

Environmental Sciences (30 ECTS credits): Students acquire basic knowledge in all fields of the environmental sciences with a special focus on the environmental humanities and ethics.

Environmental Law (60 ECTS credits): Students dive into environmental law while gaining basic knowledge in all fields of the environmental sciences and especially in the environmental humanities and ethics.

Applied Environmental Management (60 ECTS credits): Beyond basic knowledge in all fields of the environmental sciences and a special focus on the environmental humanities and ethics, students acquire practical experiences in an internship.

Structure of classes and lectures
All Bachelor minor programmes in environmental sciences have the following structure in common. The basic courses introduce the problems and approaches of the different disciplines relevant to the environmental sciences. They cover selected disciplines in natural sciences, social sciences and the humanities. Students successfully completing the basic courses deepen their competences within an elective programme of compulsory courses in the environmental humanities and an elective programme in all other disciplines relevant to the environmental sciences.
The elective programme in the environmental humanities consists of compulsory courses in the environmental humanities as well as in teaching units relevant to the environmental sciences, provided by the existing course programme of the Universities of Fribourg and Bern. In all three minor study programmes students participate in three excursions attached to the seminar «Focal Points of Sustainable Development». Students attend courses of at least 2 ECTS credits each from at least two Faculties of the University of Fribourg. Students choose their electives depending on their interests and specialisations.

Skills acquired
In these Bachelor minor study programmes students complement their main studies with competences for detecting the ethical implications in environmental practice. In addition, students acquire introductory scientific, economic and legal knowledge concerning the environmental challenges of today. Studying at the multi-lingual University of Fribourg allows students to gain language competences in French and German.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

30/60 ECTS credits as a minor study programme

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/NW1tn (French)
http://studies.unifr.ch/go/DVvZG (German)

Admission

The following Swiss school-leaving certificates grant admission to Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg:

  • Swiss academic Maturity Certificate
  • Federal vocational or specialised Baccalaureate + supplementary examination of the Swiss Maturity Commission (passerelle)
  • Bachelor Degree from a Swiss university, from an accredited Swiss university of applied sciences (HES/FH) or from a Swiss university of teacher education (HEP/PH)

A complete list of all further recognized Swiss school-leaving certificates is to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities (in French and German only): http://studies.unifr.ch/go/en-admission-swiss-certificates

Foreign upper secondary school-leaving certificates are recognised only if they correspond substantially to the Swiss Maturity Certificate. They must qualify as general education. Foreign school-leaving certificates are considered to be general education if the last three years of schooling include at least six general education subjects, independent from each other, in accordance with the following list:

  1. First language (native language)
  2. Second language
  3. Mathematics
  4. Natural sciences (biology or chemistry or physics)
  5. Humanities and social sciences (geography or history or economics/law)
  6. Elective (computer sciences or philosophy or an additional language or an additional subject from category 4 or 5)

The general admission requirements to the Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg for holders of foreign school-leaving certificates as well as the admission requirements for individual countries are to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities: http://studies.unifr.ch/go/en-admission-countrylist
In addition, foreign candidates must present proof of sufficient language skills in French or German.

The assessment of foreign school-leaving certificates is based on the «CRUS Recommendations for the Assessment of Foreign Upper Secondary School-Leaving Certificates, 7 September 2007» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07en). The admission requirements are valid for the respective academic year. The Rectorat of the University of Fribourg reserves the right to change these requirements at any time.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

Sciences de l'environnement

Résumé

Le changement climatique d'origine anthropique, la dégradation de la nature et la perte de biodiversité, mais aussi la production d'énergie durable, l'épuisement des ressources non-renouvelables et l'élimination des déchets exigent une action et une gouvernance immédiates. La gestion de ces défis environnementaux a déjà suscité et suscitera de plus en plus de préoccupations, de dilemmes et de conflits éthiques majeurs. Les programmes secondaires en sciences de l'environnement complètent les compétences acquises dans les études principales par des connaissances spécifiques en sciences de l'environnement et en humanités environnementales, particulièrement en éthique environnementale. Ces compétences aident à résoudre les défis liés à la gouvernance dans les domaines de l'environnement, de la durabilité et du changement climatique. Les compétences uniques acquises dans ces programmes secondaires permettent une sensibilisation intégrée et complète sur la manière d'analyser les conflits environnementaux et de proposer des solutions éthiquement valables aux défis environnementaux.

Afficher le profil du programme d'études

Profil du programme d'études

Les programmes secondaires en sciences de l'environnement sont proposés comme trois options: sciences de l'environnement, droit de l'environnement et gestion environnementale appliquée. Ces programmes comprennent quatre cours de base introduisant les différents domaines des sciences de l'environnement, un programme au choix obligatoire en humanités environnementales et en éthique de l'environnement, des excursions et un programme au choix interfacultaire dans les cinq Facultés de l'Université de Fribourg.

Sciences de l'environnement (30 crédits ECTS): Les étudiantes et étudiants acquièrent des connaissances de base dans tous les domaines des sciences de l'environnement, avec un accent particulier mis sur les humanités environnementales et l'éthique de l'environnement.

Droit de l'environnement (60 crédits ECTS): Les étudiantes et étudiants se plongent dans le droit de l'environnement tout en acquérant des connaissances de base dans tous les domaines des sciences de l'environnement et en particulier dans les humanités environnementales et l'éthique de l'environnement.

Gestion environnementale appliquée (60 crédits ECTS): Au-delà des connaissances de base dans tous les domaines des sciences de l'environnement et d'un accent particulier mis sur les humanités environnementales et l'éthique de l'environnement, les étudiantes et étudiants acquièrent des expériences pratiques dans le cadre d'un stage.

Structure des cours et des séminaires
Tous les programmes secondaires en sciences de l'environnement de niveau bachelor ont la structure suivante: dans les cours de base, sont présentés les problèmes et les approches de différentes disciplines pertinentes pour les sciences de l'environnement. Ces cours couvrent plusieurs disciplines des sciences naturelles, des sciences sociales et des sciences humaines. Les étudiantes et étudiants approfondissent leurs compétences dans un programme au choix obligatoire en humanités environnementales et dans un programme au choix dans toutes les autres disciplines des sciences de l'environnement.
Le programme au choix en humanités environnementales comprend les cours obligatoires en humanités environnementales ainsi que des unités d'enseignement des filières existantes en sciences de l'environnement des Universités de Fribourg et de Berne. Dans les trois programmes d'études, les étudiantes et étudiants participent à trois excursions dans le cadre du séminaire «Enjeux du développement durable». Les étudiantes et étudiants suivent des cours d'au moins 2 crédits ECTS dans au moins deux Facultés différentes de l'Université de Fribourg. Les étudiantes et étudiants choisissent leurs cours en fonction de leurs intérêts et spécialisations.

Compétences acquises
Avec ces programmes secondaires, les étudiantes et étudiants complètent leurs études principales par des compétences visant à identifier les implications éthiques des pratiques environnementales. De plus, ils acquièrent des connaissances scientifiques, économiques et juridiques de base concernant les défis environnementaux d'aujourd'hui. Les études à l'Université plurilingue de Fribourg permettent également d'acquérir des compétences linguistiques en français et en allemand.

Organisation des études

Structure des études

30/60 crédits ECTS en tant que programme d'études secondaires

Plan d'études

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/NW1tn

Admission

Les diplômes suisses de fin d'études suivants permettent une admission dans les voies d'études de bachelor à l'Université de Fribourg:

  • Certificat de maturité gymnasiale ou maturités gymnasiales cantonales reconnues par la Confédération
  • Maturité professionnelle ou spécialisée + certificat d'examen complémentaire de la Commission suisse de maturité (passerelle)
  • Diplôme de bachelor d'une haute école universitaire, d'une haute école spécialisée reconnue (HES) ou d'une haute école pédagogique (HEP)

La liste de tous les autres diplômes suisses reconnus peut être consultée sur le site web de swissuniversities: http://studies.unifr.ch/go/fr-admission-swiss-certificates

Pour être reconnus, les diplômes étrangers de fin d'études doivent être équivalents, pour l'essentiel, à une maturité gymnasiale suisse; ils doivent être de formation générale. Un diplôme d'études secondaires supérieures est considéré de formation générale s'il porte sur six branches d'enseignement suivies en continu pendant les trois dernières années selon la liste suivante:

  1. Première langue (langue maternelle)
  2. Deuxième langue
  3. Mathématiques
  4. Sciences naturelles (biologie ou chimie ou physique)
  5. Sciences humaines et sociales (géographie ou histoire ou économie/droit)
  6. Branche à choix (informatique ou philosophie ou une langue supplémentaire ou une branche parmi les branches 4 ou 5)

Les exigences générales d'admission dans les voies d'études de bachelor à l'Université de Fribourg pour les diplômes étrangers de fin d'études ainsi que les conditions d'admission spécifiques pour chaque pays peuvent être trouvées sur le site web de swissuniversities: http://studies.unifr.ch/go/fr-admission-countrylist
De plus, les candidates étrangères et les candidats étrangers doivent apporter la preuve de compétences linguistiques suffisantes en français ou en allemand.

L'évaluation de diplômes étrangers de fin d'études se base sur les «Recommandations du 7 septembre 2007 de la CRUS relatives à l'évaluation des diplômes d'études secondaires supérieures étrangers» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07fr). Les conditions d'admission ne sont valables que pour l'année académique respective. Le Rectorat de l'Université de Fribourg se réserve le droit de les modifier à tout instant.