Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Part-time Law studies

Abstract

Students opting for a part-time bachelor's degree in Law acquire knowledge in all key areas of law – in this respect there is no difference between it and the full-time course. The part-time course is spread over four years and focuses on specific fields each year. Self-study accounts for a large part of the part-time course.
Teaching includes lectures as well as a selection of tutorials in which students receive guidance on the analysis, solution and critical aspects of concrete legal issues, interactively and in small groups.
In Fribourg, all the teaching sessions are offered in both French and German. The choice is left to students: they can follow all the lectures and tutorials in either French or German, but also have the possibility of upgrading their diploma with the distinction «Bilingual curriculum, French/German». Other important benefits are the small size of the Faculty and the personal mentoring students receive during the studies.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

Main features of the part-time course
Students studying part-time complete a bachelor's degree in Law in four years. This consists of teaching formats requiring students' physical presence, and self-study. Teaching is concentrated into two weekdays: for each subject, either lectures or tutorials take place on these days.
Students must study the content of the other classes on their own. It is recommended that you allow yourself enough time for this self-study.

The particular feature of the part-time course is its focus on specific fields each year. The result is a clearly structured curriculum, which guides you through the wide range of subjects and helps you develop an understanding of the basics of law and sound knowledge of the different areas.

Each year of study ends with examinations to enable you to get an idea of how your studies are coming along periodically. The bachelor's degree in Law entitles you to apply for the master programme.

Structure of the part-time course
To be a successful legal practitioner requires a broad, sound grasp of law – and no compromises are made even in the part-time course.

  • First year (Wed/Thur): Introduction to law, civil procedure/Swiss debt enforcement and bankruptcy law, Swiss constitutional law, administrative law (general/special section), European law and international law
  • Second year (Thur/Fr): Criminal law (I/II), criminal procedural law, history of law, philosophy of law
  • Third year (Mon/Tues): Roman law, law of persons, property law, family and inheritance law, code of obligations (general/special section and tort law)
  • Fourth year (Fri/Mon): Commercial and business law, tax law and social law

Our teaching sessions are designed to teach you the skills you need to be able to navigate the legal system with confidence and ease. You are consistently encouraged to critically analyse legally relevant texts (first and foremost laws and court rulings) in the context of the legal system, to recognise legal issues and develop viable solutions. Student participation in teaching is welcomed and students are encouraged to express themselves in writing and tutored in doing so. By the time you complete your studies, you will have acquired the knowledge and methods to allow you to address even new and unprecedented legal problems.

Acquiring in-depth knowledge of specialist areas with distinctions and special credits
Even at the bachelor level, you can acquire more in-depth knowledge of certain areas of law by obtaining distinctions and special credits.

The distinctions add prestige to your degree certificate. You acquire these with achievements over and above the required curriculum. The following special distinctions are currently available:

  • European law
  • Religious law («Utriusque iuris»)
  • Bilingual curriculum, French/German

The teaching sessions you need to attend to obtain the European law and Religious law distinctions do not necessarily take place on the same days of week as the part-time course.

The special credits are added to the ECTS credits required for the master's degree. You can obtain these by taking advantage of the wide choice of supplementary courses that are open to you already after successfully completing your first year of study.

International networking and student exchange semester (Erasmus)
Since its beginnings, our Faculty has placed great value on international networking and practises exchanges with a large number of Faculties abroad. Part-time students also benefit from this. The exchanges that we offer in cooperation with partner universities include:
– Centre for Transnational Legal Studies (CTLS) in London; student exchange in Shanghai (China);
– «Galatasaray (Turkey) – Fribourg» and «Craiova (Romania) – Fribourg» international seminars;
– Summer university of the Institute of Federalism at the University of Fribourg;
– «European Private Law» summer school at Salzburg University (Austria)

If they have the time, students can also participate in the Swiss European Mobility Programme, which is a one or two-semester international exchange at one of more than 100 European law Faculties, and acquire experience that will stand them in good stead including in their subsequent career. To which extent this prolongs your studies depends on your learning achievements abroad that we can add to your record in Fribourg.

Learning outcomes and career openings
The bachelor's degree at our Faculty gives students a solid grounding in law. We do not believe in early specialisation, as specialised knowledge becomes rapidly obsolete. Students who have a thorough understanding of the core fields of law are much better equipped.

Many students who have obtained their bachelor's degree here opt to continue with a master's degree, making use of the strong practical focus and interdisciplinary nature of the courses on offer in Fribourg. A career as a lawyer is only possible with a master's degree, but a wide variety of careers are open to our graduates.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

180 ECTS credits, 8 semesters
Lectures and selected tutorials on two weekdays. The self-study concerns in particular the tutorials and lectures which do not take place on the two weekdays.

Admission

The following Swiss school-leaving certificates grant admission to bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg:

  • Swiss academic Maturity Certificate
  • Federal vocational or specialised Baccalaureate + supplementary examination of the Swiss Maturity Commission (passerelle)
  • Bachelor Degree from a Swiss university, from an accredited Swiss university of applied sciences (HES/FH) or from a Swiss university of teacher education (HEP/PH)

A complete list of all further recognised Swiss school-leaving certificates is to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities (in French and German only): http://studies.unifr.ch/go/en-admission-swiss-certificates

Foreign upper secondary school-leaving certificates are recognised only if they correspond substantially to the Swiss Maturity Certificate. They must qualify as general education. Foreign school-leaving certificates are considered to be general education if the last three years of schooling include at least six general education subjects, independent from each other, in accordance with the following list:

  1. First language (native language)
  2. Second language
  3. Mathematics
  4. Natural sciences (biology or chemistry or physics)
  5. Humanities and social sciences (geography or history or economics/law)
  6. Elective (computer sciences or philosophy or an additional language or an additional subject from category 4 or 5)

The general admission requirements to the bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg for holders of foreign school-leaving certificates as well as the admission requirements for individual countries are to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities: http://studies.unifr.ch/go/en-admission-countrylist
In addition, foreign candidates must present proof of sufficient language skills in French or German.

The assessment of foreign school-leaving certificates is based on the «CRUS Recommendations for the Assessment of Foreign Upper Secondary School-Leaving Certificates, 7 September 2007» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07en). The admission requirements are valid for the respective academic year. The Rectorat of the University of Fribourg reserves the right to change these requirements at any time.

We want you to be able to successfully complete your part-time studies. For this reason, we have attached special conditions to the admission to part-time studies. These conditions are met without further formality if you already have (1) a bachelor's degree in another field or (2) at least three years of professional experience (at a 100% rate) (automatic admission). Admission is also possible if (3) due to special circumstances, full-time studies cannot be reasonably expected from you, whereas the chances of success in the part-time programme seem particularly relevant. Such circumstances may be of economic or medical nature, but may also involve family work or an important activity in the fields of art, sport or politics. In the latter case, please indicate in your application the particular circumstances for which you wish to be admitted to part-time studies, so that we can examine your application in depth (admission on a case-by-case basis). Further information can be obtained from the Dean's Office.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

Études de droit à temps partiel

Résumé

En optant pour les études de Bachelor de droit à temps partiel, vous acquérez les connaissances juridiques de base dans tous les domaines essentiels du droit – sans aucune différence avec les études à temps plein. Ces études à temps partiel durent quatre ans et s'articulent autour de grands thèmes annuels.
L'offre pédagogique est constituée de cours, mais aussi d'exercices pratiques sélectionnés, pendant lesquels les étudiantes et les étudiants sont guidés dans l'analyse, la recherche de solutions et la critique de questions juridiques concrètes, de manière interactive et en petits groupes.
A Fribourg, la quasi-totalité des cours est proposée en français et en allemand. Vous pouvez donc choisir de suivre des cours intégralement en français ou de valoriser votre diplôme avec la mention «Etudes bilingues, français/allemand». Les rapports bien définis avec la Faculté ainsi que l'encadrement individuel pendant les études constituent d'autres avantages de taille de cette filière.

Afficher le profil du programme d'études

Profil du programme d'études

Etudes à temps partiel: caractéristiques fondamentales
Vous obtenez le Bachelor of Law au terme de quatre années d'études à temps partiel, pendant lesquelles les cours sont réunis sur deux jours par semaine, ce qui vous permet d'exercer une activité annexe en parallèle. Nous vous recommandons malgré tout de réserver du temps à l'étude en autonomie.

Ces études à temps partiel se caractérisent par une formation axée sur les grands thèmes de l'année. Il en résulte un plan d'études clairement structuré, qui couvre toute l'offre pédagogique et vous accompagne dans la compréhension des bases du droit et dans l'acquisition de solides connaissances dans divers domaines juridiques.

Chaque année d'études se termine par des examens qui vous permettent d'obtenir un bilan sur la progression de vos études. Le Bachelor of Law vous ouvre les portes du programme de Master.

Programme d'études à temps partiel
Pour réussir dans la pratique du droit, il est indispensable de disposer d'une vaste et solide base juridique. Cela constitue un prérequis indispensable, même à temps partiel.

  • Première année d'études (me/je): introduction au droit, Code de procédure civile/Loi fédérale sur la poursuite pour dettes et la faillite, droit constitutionnel suisse, droit administratif (parties générale et spéciale), droit européen et droit international
  • Deuxième année d'études (je/ve): droit pénal (I/II), procédure pénale, histoire du droit et philosophie du droit
  • Troisième année d'études (lu/ma): droit romain, droit des personnes, droit de la propriété, droit de la famille, droit des successions, droit des obligations (partie générale, partie spéciale et droit de la responsabilité civile)
  • Quatrième année d'études (ve/ma): droit commercial et économique, droit fiscal, droit social

Nos cours sont organisés de manière à vous transmettre les capacités nécessaires pour évoluer avec confiance et aisance tant dans les réflexions théoriques que dans les aspects pratiques du droit. Vous apprendrez par conséquent à effectuer une analyse critique des textes juridiques pertinents (en premier lieu les lois et les jugements) dans leurs rapports systématiques, à identifier des questions de droit et à élaborer des solutions solides. La participation en cours est souhaitée, mais l'expression écrite est aussi encouragée et pratiquée. A l'issue de vos études, vous disposerez des connaissances et des méthodes nécessaires pour aborder des questions de droit nouvelles ou variées.

Approfondissement de certains domaines avec des mentions et des crédits spéciaux
Vous pouvez approfondir certains domaines dès le niveau de Bachelor en obtenant des mentions et des crédits spéciaux.

Les mentions confèrent un atout de taille à votre diplôme. Vous les obtenez en validant les crédits obligatoires prévus par le plan d'études. Les mentions suivantes sont proposées:

  • Droit européen
  • Droit des religions (utriusque iuris)
  • Etudes bilingues, français/allemand

Les cours qu'il convient de suivre pour obtenir les mentions «droit européen» et «droit des religions» ne sont pas forcément dispensés les jours de la semaine qui ont été fixés pour les études à temps partiel.

Les crédits spéciaux sont comptabilisés dans les crédits ECTS obligatoires pour l'obtention du diplôme de Master. Vous les obtenez en profitant de l'une des offres supplémentaires variées que nous vous proposons après avoir réussi votre première année d'études.

Réseau international et semestre dans un établissement d'accueil («Erasmus»)
Depuis ses débuts, notre Faculté a pu compter sur un solide réseau international et encourage les échanges avec de nombreuses facultés à l'étranger, qui sont aussi très bénéfiques pour ses étudiantes et ses étudiants à temps partiel. Parmi les offres que nous cofinançons avec les universités partenaires, citons les suivantes:
– Center for Transnational Legal Studies (CTLS) à Londres; échange universitaire à Shanghai (Chine);
– Séminaires internationaux «Galatasaray (Turquie) – Fribourg» et «Craiova (Roumanie) – Fribourg»;
– Université d'été de l'Institut du Fédéralisme de l'Université de Fribourg;
– Summer School «European Private Law» de l'Université de Salzbourg (Autriche).

Si vous disposez de disponibilités, vous pouvez participer au Swiss European Mobility Programme, même en suivant des études à temps partiel. Ce programme consiste en un séjour à l'étranger d'un ou de deux semestres dans une faculté de droit parmi la centaine d'établissements européens partenaires. Vous pourrez alors y acquérir une expérience qui vous sera précieuse dans votre pratique ultérieure. Vos études s'en trouveront allongées en fonction du volume des crédits validés à l'étranger faisant l'objet d'une reconnaissance par l'Université de Fribourg.

Objectifs de formation et débouchés
Les études de Bachelor à notre Faculté offrent aux étudiantes et aux étudiants une solide formation générale en droit. Nous ne sommes pas favorables à une spécialisation prématurée, car les connaissances spécialisées deviennent vite obsolètes. Nous estimons que, pour mieux se préparer, il est préférable d'avoir une compréhension approfondie des aspects fondamentaux.

Les titulaires d'un Bachelor of Law de l'Université de Fribourg choisissent souvent de poursuivre leurs études au niveau Master et bénéficient à ce titre de notre offre d'études transdisciplinaire à la forte dimension pratique. Il n'est possible d'exercer une activité d'avocate ou d'avocat qu'avec un diplôme de Master, lequel ouvre en outre la voie aux domaines professionnels les plus variés.

Organisation des études

Structure des études

180 crédits ECTS, 8 semestres
Cours et exercices sélectionnés deux jours par semaine.

Remarque

La structure clairement définie de nos études à temps partiel constituent une chance exceptionnelle de réussir des études de droit tout en exerçant une activité annexe. Nous savons malgré tout que des études à temps partiel posent des défis particuliers. La Faculté propose donc aux étudiantes et aux étudiants intéressés par des études à temps partiel de bénéficier d'un conseil aux études préalable et approfondi. Adressez-vous au Décanat pour obtenir de plus amples informations.

Admission

Les diplômes suisses de fin d'études suivants permettent une admission dans les voies d'études de Bachelor à l'Université de Fribourg:

  • Certificat de maturité gymnasiale ou maturités gymnasiales cantonales reconnues par la Confédération
  • Certificat de maturité professionnelle ou spécialisée complété du certificat d'examen complémentaire de la Commission suisse de maturité (passerelle)
  • Diplôme de Bachelor d'une haute école universitaire, d'une haute école spécialisée reconnue (HES) ou d'une haute école pédagogique (HEP)

La liste de tous les autres diplômes suisses reconnus peut être consultée sur le site web de swissuniversities: http://studies.unifr.ch/go/fr-admission-swisscertificates

Pour être reconnus, les diplômes étrangers de fin d'études doivent être équivalents, pour l'essentiel, à une maturité gymnasiale suisse; ils doivent être de formation générale. Un diplôme d'études secondaires supérieures est considéré de formation générale s'il porte sur six branches d'enseignement suivies en continu pendant les trois dernières années selon la liste suivante:

  1. Première langue (langue maternelle)
  2. Deuxième langue
  3. Mathématiques
  4. Sciences naturelles (biologie, chimie ou physique)
  5. Sciences humaines et sociales (géographie, histoire ou économie/droit)
  6. Branche à choix (soit une langue supplémentaire soit une branche parmi les branches 4 ou 5)

Les exigences générales d'admission dans les voies d'études de Bachelor à l'Université de Fribourg pour les diplômes étrangers de fin d'études ainsi que les conditions d'admission spécifiques pour chaque pays peuvent être trouvées sur le site web de swissuniversities: http://studies.unifr.ch/go/fr-admission-country-list
De plus, les candidates étrangères et les candidats étrangers doivent apporter la preuve de compétences linguistiques suffisantes en français ou en allemand.

L'évaluation de diplômes étrangers de fin d'études se base sur les «Recommandations du 7 septembre 2007 de la CRUS relatives à l'évaluation des diplômes d'études secondaires supérieures étrangers» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07fr). Les conditions d'admission ne sont valables que pour l'année académique respective. Le Rectorat de l'Université de Fribourg se réserve le droit de les modifier à tout instant.

Nous voulons que vous puissiez terminer vos études à temps partiel avec succès. Pour cette raison, nous avons assorti l'admission aux études à temps partiel de conditions spéciales. Vous remplissez ces conditions sans autre formalité si vous possédez déjà (1) un Bachelor dans une autre matière ou (2) au moins trois ans d'expérience professionnelle (calculée à 100%) (admission automatique). L'admission est également possible, si (3) en raison de circonstances particulières, les études à temps plein ne sont pas raisonnablement exigibles pour vous, alors que les chances de succès aux programme d'études à temps partiel semblent importantes. De telles circonstances peuvent être de nature économique ou médicale, mais peuvent également survenir, par exemple, lors de l'accomplissement d'un travail familial ou d'une activité importante dans les domaines de l'art, du sport ou de la politique. Dans ce troisième cas, veuillez indiquer dans votre dossier de candidature les circonstances particulières pour lesquelles vous souhaitez être admise ou admis aux études à temps partiel afin que nous puissions examiner votre candidature de manière approfondie (admission au cas par cas). De plus amples informations peuvent être obtenues auprès du Décanat.