Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

French and German: Bilingualism and Cultural Exchange

Abstract

With its day-to-day bilingual environment, Fribourg University alone offers the possibility of studying German and French as native languages in equal proportions. The «French and German: Bilingualism and Cultural Exchange» study programme combines this particular offer with the intensive consolidation of skills in the respective foreign language at the start of the course in addition to targeted modules that provide an understanding of the linguistic and cultural exchanges between both areas. The foreign language didactics field of study (German as a Foreign Language and French as a Foreign Language) is therefore an essential component of this study programme alongside German and French studies. With student life in the bilingual university city, Fribourg is the ideal environment in which to engage in practical and theoretical considerations of German and French bilingualism.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

At Fribourg University, both French and German language and literature studies are possible at native language level. This situation is unique in Switzerland for academic bilingualism. The French and German: Bilingualism and Cultural Exchange study programme combines this particular offer with the option of consolidating skills in the respective foreign language in the first year, with a view to graduates being part of the common bilingual environment. Through cross-disciplinary cooperation with the French and German as a foreign language study programmes, which are unique in Switzerland, access to foreign language didactics and lessons on fostering exchanges between both languages and cultures are offered at the same time. Given that between 40% and 50% of lessons are given in the foreign language, the resulting BA degree bears the additional distinction of «Bilingual curriculum».
This course is essentially aimed at students who grew up with either language or culture and who wish to consolidate their language, literary and cultural knowledge in the foreign or second language. Native speakers from both language areas work together, thus enabling them to gain further knowledge of the other language and literature. In addition, students on this programme benefit from the bilingual environment of the University and the city. Fribourg provides the optimal conditions for language acquisition and for discussions through the interlingual and intercultural exchanges between both linguistic and cultural areas.
Fribourg University offers a convenient framework for lectures and studies. In addition to the acquisition of a wide range of basic knowledge, students work in small groups, making direct exchanges with lecturers possible.

Organisation of studies
The core of the study programme comprises a combination of German and French studies as a minor field of study. The content is enhanced through the consolidation and development of language skills in the second or foreign language through participation in language learning opportunities at the University's Language Centre. It is also recommended that students spend time at a partner university in the language area where the foreign language is spoken. At the crossroads between two language communities, Fribourg University is the ideal location for bilingual studies. Students can take part in language tandems and find many ways to fully immerse themselves in the second language.
In addition to the consolidation of language skills, an understanding of the language and cultural contacts and exchanges is an essential component of this study programme. This is why the course also focuses on specialist skills such as methodological and didactic approaches to teaching foreign languages in cooperation with the German as a Foreign Language and French as a Foreign Language study programmes. In particular, the modules of this course foster different specialist perspectives for in-depth considerations of language and cultural exchanges and the acquisition of well-grounded knowledge of the specific features and issues.

Learning outcomes and career openings
Graduates of the study programme benefit from a fundamental knowledge of French and German language and literature. In terms of language skills, the study programme is aimed at gaining a very good command of the foreign or second language, which opens up scope for unrestricted participation in the relevant Master's studies and above all access to linguistic practice and cultural life. The BA degree specifically provides direct access to various Master's programmes such as German, French, German as a Foreign Language/German as a Second Language (DaF/DaZ), French as a Foreign Language/French as a Second Language (FLE/FLS), Multilingualism Studies and Foreign Language Didactics or Comparative Literature. A Master's in German or French can lead on to teacher education for academic upper secondary schools (Formation à l'enseignement pour les écoles de maturité (DEEM, French-speaking section)/Ausbildung für den Unterricht an Maturitätsschulen (LDM, German-speaking section)).
Furthermore, the knowledge and experience of cultural and linguistic interaction between German and French acquired through the study programme are key skills, applicable not only to the Swiss labour market but also of importance beyond the country's borders. These skills can be associated with various advanced professional specialisations in the fields of international relations, cultural activities, public relations and communications.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

180 ECTS credits, 6 semesters

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/rC-uD (German)

Admission

The following Swiss school-leaving certificates grant admission to Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg:

  • Swiss academic Maturity Certificate
  • Swiss professional Maturity Certificate in conjunction with the supplementary exam certificate from the Swiss Maturity Commission
  • Bachelor Degree from a Swiss university, from an accredited Swiss university of applied sciences (HES/FH) or from a Swiss university of teacher education (HEP/PH)

A complete list of all further recognized Swiss school-leaving certificates is to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities (in French and German only): https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/schweizerische-ausweise/

Foreign upper secondary school-leaving certificates are recognised only if they correspond substantially to the Swiss Maturity Certificate. They must qualify as general education. Foreign school-leaving certificates are considered to be general education if the last three years of schooling include at least six general education subjects, independent from each other, in accordance with the following list:

  1. First language (native language)
  2. Second language
  3. Mathematics
  4. Natural sciences (biology, chemistry or physics)
  5. Humanities and social sciences (geography, history or economics/law)
  6. Elective (an additional language or an additional subject from category 4 or 5)

The general admission requirements to the Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg for holders of foreign school-leaving certificates as well as the admission requirements for individual countries are to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/countries/
In addition, foreign candidates must present proof of sufficient language skills in French or German.

The assessment of foreign school-leaving certificates is based on the «CRUS Recommendations for the Assessment of Foreign Upper Secondary School-Leaving Certificates, 7 September 2007» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07en). The admission requirements are valid for the respective academic year. The Rectorat of the University of Fribourg reserves the right to change these requirements at any time.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

Français et Allemand: Bilinguisme et échange culturel

Résumé

Du fait de son bilinguisme vécu au quotidien, l'Université de Fribourg est la seule en Suisse à permettre d'étudier l'allemand et le français à parts égales, et d'atteindre dans ces deux langues le niveau des locuteurs natifs. Le programme d'études «Français et Allemand: Bilinguisme et échange culturel» allie à cette offre spécifique un renforcement intensif des compétences dans la langue étrangère, tant en début de cursus qu'au fil des cours axés sur la compréhension des échanges entre les deux espaces linguistiques et culturels. La didactique des langues étrangères abordée en «Deutsch als Fremdsprache» et en «Français langue étrangère» constitue, outre les programmes «Germanistik» et «Français», une composante essentielle de ce programme d'études. Le cadre d'études de la ville universitaire bilingue de Fribourg offre ainsi des conditions idéales pour appréhender le bilinguisme français-allemand, tant du point de vue pratique que théorique.

Afficher le profil du programme d'études

Profil du programme d'études

Forte d'une situation de bilinguisme académique unique en Suisse, l'Université de Fribourg propose un cursus de langue et littérature allemandes et françaises visant à atteindre le niveau de celui des locuteurs natifs. Le programme d'études Français et Allemand: Bilinguisme et échange culturel allie à cette offre spécifique la possibilité de développer, la première année, ses compétences dans la langue étrangère, avec pour objectif que les futurs diplômées et diplômés participent activement à ce bilinguisme. Grâce à la collaboration interdisciplinaire avec le programme d'études Deutsch als Fremdsprache (unique en Suisse) et son pendant Français langue étrangère, il est possible d'accéder au cursus de didactique des langues étrangères et à des cours favorisant les échanges linguistico-culturels. Etant donné que 40% à 50% des cours sont dispensés dans la langue étrangère partenaire, le diplôme de Bachelor visé comporte la mention «Etudes bilingues».
Cette offre s'adresse en priorité aux étudiantes et étudiants qui ont grandi avec l'une des deux langues et cultures, et qui souhaitent améliorer leurs compétences linguistiques, littéraires et culturelles dans la langue étrangère/seconde partenaire. Elle regroupe des locuteurs natifs des deux régions linguistiques, dont le but est d'approfondir leurs connaissances de l'autre langue et de sa littérature. En outre, les étudiantes et étudiants profitent du contexte de bilinguisme vivant propre à la ville et à l'Université de Fribourg. Fribourg réunit ainsi des conditions optimales, tant pour l'apprentissage des langues que pour l'étude des échanges entre les deux espaces linguistiques et culturels.
L'enseignement et les études à l'Université de Fribourg se déroulent dans un cadre à échelle humaine. Outre l'acquisition d'un large savoir de base, ces études offrent aux étudiantes et étudiants la possibilité de travailler par petits groupes et d'échanger directement avec les enseignants.

Organisation des études
Le socle de ce programme d'études est une formation de base en germanistique et en français correspondant au niveau d'un programme d'études secondaires classique. Ces contenus sont complétés par l'approfondissement et le perfectionnement des connaissances linguistiques dans la langue étrangère ou seconde partenaire, grâce aux possibilités d'apprentissage des langues proposées par le Centre de langues de l'Université de Fribourg. Un séjour dans une université partenaire se trouvant dans la zone linguistique correspondant à la langue étrangère étudiée est par ailleurs vivement conseillé. De plus, située idéalement à un carrefour du bilinguisme, l'Université de Fribourg permet de travailler les langues en binôme et, ainsi, d'approfondir de manière très personnelle la langue seconde.
L'amélioration des compétences linguistiques est complétée par la compréhension des contacts et échanges linguistico-culturels. Des compétences scientifiques spécifiques, de même que des approches méthodologiques et didactiques de l'enseignement d'une langue étrangère, sont donc acquises au cours de ce cursus, en coopération avec les domaines Deutsch als Fremdsprache et Français langue étrangère. Les cours proposés abordent ainsi différentes perspectives scientifiques conduisant à une réflexion approfondie sur les échanges linguistico-culturels, et à l'acquisition de connaissances solides sur les spécificités et les problématiques inhérentes à ces derniers.

Objectifs de formation et débouchés professionnels
Les diplômées et diplômés de ce programme d'études possèdent des bases solides en langue et littérature françaises et allemandes. Concernant les compétences linguistiques, ce programme d'études vise une excellente maîtrise de la langue étrangère ou seconde partenaire, offrant un accès illimité aux études de Master correspondantes, et à la vie linguistique et culturelle en général. Le diplôme de Bachelor permet notamment d'accéder directement à divers programmes de Master: Germanistik, Français, Deutsch als Fremdsprache/Deutsch als Zweitsprache (DaF/DaZ), Français langue étrangère/Français langue seconde (FLE/FLS), Sciences du plurilinguisme et Didactique des langues étrangères ou Littérature générale et comparée. Un Master en Germanistik et en Français permet en outre d'accéder à la formation à l'enseignement pour les écoles de maturité (DEEM).
Les connaissances acquises, ainsi que l'expérience de la médiation linguistique et culturelle en allemand et en français tout au long de ce cursus, constituent en outre des qualifications clés, non seulement sur le marché du travail suisse, mais également au-delà des frontières. Il est possible de les combiner avec différentes spécialisations professionnelles complémentaires dans les domaines suivants: relations internationales, activités culturelles, relations publiques et communication.

Organisation des études

Structure des études

180 crédits ECTS, 6 semestres

Plan d'études

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/rC-uD (Allemand)

Admission

Les diplômes suisses de fin d'études suivants permettent une admission dans les voies d'études de Bachelor à l'Université de Fribourg:

  • Certificat de maturité gymnasiale ou maturités gymnasiales cantonales reconnues par la Confédération
  • Certificat de maturité professionnelle complété du certificat d'examen complémentaire de la Commission suisse de maturité (passerelle)
  • Diplôme de Bachelor d'une haute école universitaire, d'une haute école spécialisée reconnue (HES) ou d'une haute école pédagogique (HEP)

La liste de tous les autres diplômes suisses reconnus peut être consultée sur le site web de swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/fr/services/admission-a-luniversite/certificats-suisses/

Pour être reconnus, les diplômes étrangers de fin d'études doivent être équivalents, pour l'essentiel, à une maturité gymnasiale suisse; ils doivent être de formation générale. Un diplôme d'études secondaires supérieures est considéré de formation générale s'il porte sur six branches d'enseignement suivies en continu pendant les trois dernières années selon la liste suivante:

  1. Première langue (langue maternelle)
  2. Deuxième langue
  3. Mathématiques
  4. Sciences naturelles (biologie, chimie ou physique)
  5. Sciences humaines et sociales (géographie, histoire ou économie/droit)
  6. Branche à choix (soit une langue supplémentaire soit une branche parmi les branches 4 ou 5)

Les exigences générales d'admission dans les voies d'études de Bachelor à l'Université de Fribourg pour les diplômes étrangers de fin d'études ainsi que les conditions d'admission spécifiques pour chaque pays peuvent être trouvées sur le site web de swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/fr/services/admission-a-luniversite/pays/
De plus, les candidats étrangers et les candidates étrangères doivent apporter la preuve de compétences linguistiques suffisantes en français ou en allemand.

L'évaluation de diplômes étrangers de fin d'études se base sur les «Recommandations du 7 septembre 2007 de la CRUS relatives à l'évaluation des diplômes d'études secondaires supérieures étrangers» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07fr). Les conditions d'admission ne sont valables que pour l'année académique respective. Le Rectorat de l'Université de Fribourg se réserve le droit de les modifier à tout instant.