Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

German Literary Studies

Abstract

The modern German literature study programme, called German Literary Studies, is ideal for students who enjoy reading and writing, and dealing analytically with language, texts and other media in particular. As a branch of German Studies, «German Literary Studies» is dedicated to German-language texts from the times of humanism and the Reformation to the present day. The programme is for those who have an interest in the historical and cultural interconnections of language. In this Bachelor programme, students acquire the skills needed to stylistically analyse texts of various genres and media and to place them in their historical context. Special features of literary studies at Fribourg are the opportunities available for comparative literature study engendered by our proximity to the language boundary, and the focus on the relationship between media and literature, and the debates on questions of poetics and literary theory.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

The modern German literature study programme, more precisely called German Literary Studies, is ideal for students who enjoy reading and writing, and dealing analytically with language, text and other media; they should also be interested in the historical and cultural interconnections of language. The German Literary Studies course covers modern German literature from the 16th century to the present day. In this Bachelor programme, students acquire the skills needed to stylistically analyse texts of various genres and media and to place them in their historical context. They also learn how to argue scientifically and develop research questions of their own.
Special features of literary studies at Fribourg are the opportunities available for comparative literature study engendered by our proximity to the language boundary, and the special focus on the representation of literature in various media, and the research in poetics and in literary theory. The programme therefore addresses literary texts and communication processes, both in general (for example, it looks at the functions of literary genres, the rhetorical structure of texts, etc.) and with regard to historical characteristics (it deals with individual literary works and work groups, their authors and readers, relationships with other literature and arts, etc.). A key target is to develop graduates own power of judgement in relation to earlier, current and future developments in literature and in scientific literary research.
Studies take place in an agreeable environment in a pleasant city in a medium-sized bilingual university (around 10,000 students, of which 250 are studying German); French is mainly spoken in the region, however the study programme is in German. Around 15% of our students do not speak German as their mother tongue. In Fribourg, students can study French and German at the same level and use both languages daily.

Learning outcomes
The German Literary Studies programme provides direct, or facilitated, access to many Master's programmes in the fields of languages, communication and literature, in particular comparative literature. However, access to the teaching profession requires enrolling in an adjustment programme in the basics of German linguistics and medieval studies.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

60 ECTS credits as a minor study programme

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/rC-uD (German)

Admission

The following Swiss school-leaving certificates grant admission to Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg:

  • Swiss academic Maturity Certificate
  • Swiss professional Maturity Certificate in conjunction with the supplementary exam certificate from the Swiss Maturity Commission
  • Bachelor Degree from a Swiss university, from an accredited Swiss university of applied sciences (HES/FH) or from a Swiss university of teacher education (HEP/PH)

A complete list of all further recognized Swiss school-leaving certificates is to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities (in French and German only): https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/schweizerische-ausweise/

Foreign upper secondary school-leaving certificates are recognised only if they correspond substantially to the Swiss Maturity Certificate. They must qualify as general education. Foreign school-leaving certificates are considered to be general education if the last three years of schooling include at least six general education subjects, independent from each other, in accordance with the following list:

  1. First language (native language)
  2. Second language
  3. Mathematics
  4. Natural sciences (biology, chemistry or physics)
  5. Humanities and social sciences (geography, history or economics/law)
  6. Elective (an additional language or an additional subject from category 4 or 5)

The general admission requirements to the Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg for holders of foreign school-leaving certificates as well as the admission requirements for individual countries are to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/countries/
In addition, foreign candidates must present proof of sufficient language skills in French or German.

The assessment of foreign school-leaving certificates is based on the «CRUS Recommendations for the Assessment of Foreign Upper Secondary School-Leaving Certificates, 7 September 2007» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07en). The admission requirements are valid for the respective academic year. The Rectorat of the University of Fribourg reserves the right to change these requirements at any time.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

Littérature allemande moderne et contemporaine

Résumé

Le plaisir de la lecture et de l'écriture est l'un des prérequis pour les candidates et candidats au programme d'études «Littérature allemande moderne et contemporaine». Il s'agit notamment d'analyser en détail la langue et des textes sur divers supports. Discipline du cursus de germanistique, la «Littérature allemande moderne et contemporaine» s'intéresse aux textes de langue allemande produits depuis l'époque de l'humanisme et de la Réforme jusqu'à nos jours. Les étudiantes et étudiants doivent donc également manifester un intérêt pour l'étude des contextes historique et culturel. Ce programme de Bachelor leur permet d'acquérir les compétences nécessaires pour pouvoir procéder à l'analyse stylistique de textes appartenant à des genres variés et présentés sur des supports différents, qu'il s'agit aussi de replacer dans leur contexte historique. L'une des spécificités des études de littérature à Fribourg (proche de la frontière linguistique) est le lien étroit avec la littérature comparée et l'intérêt marqué pour les différentes formes d'expression littéraire, ainsi que l'étude de questions relevant de la poétique et de la théorie littéraire.

Afficher le profil du programme d'études

Profil du programme d'études

Le plaisir de la lecture et de l'écriture est l'un des prérequis pour les candidates et candidats au programme d'études Littérature allemande moderne et contemporaine. Il s'agit notamment d'analyser en détail la langue et des textes sur divers supports, ainsi que d'étudier les contextes historique et culturel. La Littérature allemande moderne et contemporaine porte sur des œuvres du XVIème siècle à nos jours. Ce programme de Bachelor permet aux étudiantes et étudiants d'acquérir les compétences nécessaires pour pouvoir procéder à l'analyse stylistique de textes appartenant à des genres variés et présentés sur des supports différents, qu'il s'agit aussi de replacer dans leur contexte historique. Par ailleurs, ils apprennent également à construire un raisonnement scientifique et à développer leurs propres questions de recherche.
L'une des spécificités des études de littérature à Fribourg (proche de la frontière linguistique) est le lien étroit avec la littérature comparée et l'intérêt marqué pour les différentes formes d'expression littéraire, ainsi que l'étude de questions relevant de la poétique et de la théorie littéraire. Le programme porte donc sur des textes et des processus de communication littéraires, tant d'un point de vue fondamental (fonctionnement des genres littéraires, structure rhétorique des textes, etc.) qu'en termes de contexte historique (étude de différentes œuvres littéraires et divers corpus d'œuvres, de leurs auteurs et de leur lectorat, des liens avec d'autres courants littéraires et artistiques, etc.). L'un des principaux objectifs est de développer la capacité à aborder avec discernement l'évolution passée, actuelle et future de la littérature, ainsi que son exploration scientifique.
Le cadre d'études est celui d'une ville à échelle humaine et d'une université bilingue de taille moyenne, qui accueille environ 10'000 étudiants, dont 250 germanistes. Ce programme est enseigné en allemand au cœur d'un espace essentiellement francophone (environ 15% des étudiantes et étudiants de notre domaine d'études ne sont pas de langue maternelle allemande). L'Université de Fribourg offre la possibilité d'étudier la langue et la littérature allemandes et françaises au même niveau, tout en utilisant les deux langues au quotidien.

Objectifs de formation
Le programme de Bachelor Littérature allemande moderne et contemporaine offre un accès direct ou facilité à de nombreux programmes de Master dans les domaines des langues, de la communication et de la littérature, et notamment de la littérature comparée. L'accès à la profession d'enseignant nécessite toutefois un programme d'ajustement pour acquérir les bases requises en linguistique allemande et en littérature allemande du Moyen Age.

Organisation des études

Structure des études

60 crédits ECTS en tant que programme d'études secondaires

Plan d'études

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/rC-uD (Allemand)

Admission

Les diplômes suisses de fin d'études suivants permettent une admission dans les voies d'études de Bachelor à l'Université de Fribourg:

  • Certificat de maturité gymnasiale ou maturités gymnasiales cantonales reconnues par la Confédération
  • Certificat de maturité professionnelle complété du certificat d'examen complémentaire de la Commission suisse de maturité (passerelle)
  • Diplôme de Bachelor d'une haute école universitaire, d'une haute école spécialisée reconnue (HES) ou d'une haute école pédagogique (HEP)

La liste de tous les autres diplômes suisses reconnus peut être consultée sur le site web de swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/fr/services/admission-a-luniversite/certificats-suisses/

Pour être reconnus, les diplômes étrangers de fin d'études doivent être équivalents, pour l'essentiel, à une maturité gymnasiale suisse; ils doivent être de formation générale. Un diplôme d'études secondaires supérieures est considéré de formation générale s'il porte sur six branches d'enseignement suivies en continu pendant les trois dernières années selon la liste suivante:

  1. Première langue (langue maternelle)
  2. Deuxième langue
  3. Mathématiques
  4. Sciences naturelles (biologie, chimie ou physique)
  5. Sciences humaines et sociales (géographie, histoire ou économie/droit)
  6. Branche à choix (soit une langue supplémentaire soit une branche parmi les branches 4 ou 5)

Les exigences générales d'admission dans les voies d'études de Bachelor à l'Université de Fribourg pour les diplômes étrangers de fin d'études ainsi que les conditions d'admission spécifiques pour chaque pays peuvent être trouvées sur le site web de swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/fr/services/admission-a-luniversite/pays/
De plus, les candidats étrangers et les candidates étrangères doivent apporter la preuve de compétences linguistiques suffisantes en français ou en allemand.

L'évaluation de diplômes étrangers de fin d'études se base sur les «Recommandations du 7 septembre 2007 de la CRUS relatives à l'évaluation des diplômes d'études secondaires supérieures étrangers» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07fr). Les conditions d'admission ne sont valables que pour l'année académique respective. Le Rectorat de l'Université de Fribourg se réserve le droit de les modifier à tout instant.