Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Rhaeto-Romance

Abstract

The Rhaeto-Romance course is devoted to the varied linguistic forms in the Romansh-speaking area of the canton of Grisons. Who uses Rhaeto-Romance in today's society, and how and when? What is the position of Romansh people in the trilingual canton of Grisons and in quadrilingual Switzerland? What are the subjects and traditions which shape Rhaeto-Romance literature? These and other questions are covered by Rhaeto-Romance students. At the University of Fribourg, the emphasis is on linguistics, but literature is an integral part of the course.
Students acquire the broad basic knowledge required to pursue a career in Rhaeto-Romance institutions, the media or teaching and/or to continue their studies to Master level.
The Bachelor programme requires thorough knowledge of at least one variant of Rhaeto-Romance (idiom or Rumantsch Grischun). Some classes are taught in German.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

Rumantsch a Friburg? Sa chapescha!
The University of Fribourg is the only higher education establishment in Switzerland apart from the University of Zurich to offer studies in Rhaeto-Romance. These studies are devoted to the science of past and present Rhaeto-Romance language and literature. The Rhaeto-Romance course in Fribourg puts the emphasis on linguistics, whereby socio-linguistics and language-contact issues are given particular consideration. Literature is an integral part of the course.

Curriculum
The Bachelor programme teaches students the foundations of linguistics and literary analysis and gives an overview of the history of the Rhaeto-Romance language and literature. The focus lies on the historical development and structural elements of Rhaeto-Romance dialects and regional written languages, as well as on the various contacts with other language and cultural spaces. Students study a wide spectrum of uses of Rhaeto-Romance, from court documents from the Republic of the Three Leagues to current media reports, from religious debates and political verse from the period of the Reformation through to modern poetry and everyday digital communication. Other subjects for study include the language debate in past and present of Grisons, the multilingualism of Rhaeto-Romance speakers, the supraregional standardisation of the written language with Rumantsch Grischun, and the status of Rhaeto-Romance as a minority language.

Requirements
To study Rhaeto-Romance, students must be innovative, enjoy reading and writing and have an interest in analytical examination of language, text and other media. As the majority of the course is provided in Rhaeto-Romance, thorough knowledge in at least one Rhaeto-Romance variety (idiom or Rumantsch Grischun) is essential. The study of other variants of Rhaeto-Romance is part of the course.
Some classes are taught in German so that students without any knowledge of Rhaeto-Romance can attend. In addition, Rhaeto-Romance language courses are open to all students.

Advantages
The small number of students enables effective and close mentoring by professors and lecturers. A familiar atmosphere is characteristic of Rhaeto-Romance studies, which also promotes contact among students outside the university.

Combinations
The Rhaeto-Romance study programme can be combined with other study programmes in the arts and also in social sciences and/or natural sciences. Popular combinations are, for example, other languages and literature, history, communication and media or education.

Career openings
In the Rhaeto-Romance Bachelor programme, students acquire a broad and well-founded basic knowledge to pursue a career in Rhaeto-Romance institutions, the media or teaching. The Bachelor degree is also the basis for Master-level studies (in Multilingualism Studies with Rhaeto-Romance as an option and in other language disciplines).
There are many different career opportunities for graduates in Rhaeto-Romance: the media (radio, press, TV, Internet), Rhaeto-Romance or Rhaeto-Romance-related language and cultural institutions (Lia Rumantscha, Institut dal Dicziunari Rumantsch Grischun, Swiss Literary Archives, etc.), translation, library work. The Rhaeto-romance study programme for 60 ECTS credits fulfils the requirements for admission to the Teaching Diploma for Academic Upper Secondary Education (Diplôme d'enseignement pour les écoles de maturité, DEEM/Lehrdiplom für Maturitätsschulen, LDM).
Given the relatively low number of university graduates in Rhaeto-Romance, people with that qualification are always be in great demand on the labour market in Graubünden, in federal administration, universities and a variety of national research projects.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

60 ECTS credits as a minor study programme

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/eg-4R (French)
http://studies.unifr.ch/go/CwVZr (German)

Comments

This Bachelor programme is continued at the Master level with the Rhaeto-Romance minor study programme (30 ECTS credits) and the Multilingualism Studies major study programme with Rhaeto-Romance as the elective (90 ECTS credits).

Admission

The following Swiss school-leaving certificates grant admission to Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg:

  • Swiss academic Maturity Certificate
  • Swiss professional Maturity Certificate in conjunction with the supplementary exam certificate from the Swiss Maturity Commission
  • Bachelor Degree from a Swiss university, from an accredited Swiss university of applied sciences (HES/FH) or from a Swiss university of teacher education (HEP/PH)

A complete list of all further recognized Swiss school-leaving certificates is to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities (in French and German only): https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/schweizerische-ausweise/

Foreign upper secondary school-leaving certificates are recognised only if they correspond substantially to the Swiss Maturity Certificate. They must qualify as general education. Foreign school-leaving certificates are considered to be general education if the last three years of schooling include at least six general education subjects, independent from each other, in accordance with the following list:

  1. First language (native language)
  2. Second language
  3. Mathematics
  4. Natural sciences (biology, chemistry or physics)
  5. Humanities and social sciences (geography, history or economics/law)
  6. Elective (an additional language or an additional subject from category 4 or 5)

The general admission requirements to the Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg for holders of foreign school-leaving certificates as well as the admission requirements for individual countries are to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/countries/
In addition, foreign candidates must present proof of sufficient language skills in French or German.

The assessment of foreign school-leaving certificates is based on the «CRUS Recommendations for the Assessment of Foreign Upper Secondary School-Leaving Certificates, 7 September 2007» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07en). The admission requirements are valid for the respective academic year. The Rectorat of the University of Fribourg reserves the right to change these requirements at any time.

Alternatives

Also offered as a minor study programme for 30 ECTS credits.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

Rhéto-roman

Résumé

Ce programme d'études est axé sur la diversité des variantes pratiquées dans la zone romanche des Grisons. Par qui et dans quelles circonstances le rhéto-roman est-il employé dans la société actuelle? Quelle est la position des Rhéto-romans dans le canton trilingue des Grisons et, plus généralement, en Suisse? Quels sont les grands thèmes et les traditions de la littérature rhéto-romane? Ces questions offrent un aperçu des thématiques abordées par les étudiantes et étudiants du programme de Bachelor. A Fribourg, l'accent est porté sur la linguistique, mais l'étude de la littérature fait également partie intégrante de la formation dispensée.
Les étudiantes et étudiants du programme de Bachelor acquièrent de vastes connaissances leur permettant de travailler dans les institutions, les médias et les écoles rhéto-romanes ou encore de poursuivre les études en Master.
Pour pouvoir suivre ce programme de Bachelor, il est nécessaire de bien maîtriser au moins une variante de rhéto-roman (idiome ou rumantsch grischun). Certains cours sont donnés en allemand.

Afficher le profil du programme d'études

Profil du programme d'études

Rumantsch a Friburg? Sa chapescha!
Les Universités de Zurich et de Fribourg sont les deux seules en Suisse à proposer un programme d'études de rhéto-roman. Ce programme est consacré à la langue et à la littérature rhéto-romanes d'hier et d'aujourd'hui. A Fribourg, où l'accent est mis sur la linguistique, une attention particulière est accordée aux questions d'ordre sociolinguistique et aux aspects liés au contact des langues. La littérature fait partie intégrante de la formation dispensée.

Contenu du programme
Les étudiantes et étudiants du programme de Bachelor acquièrent des bases en linguistique et en analyse de textes littéraires. Ils abordent également l'histoire de la langue et de la littérature rhéto-romanes. Le programme met l'accent sur les développements historiques et les particularités structurelles des dialectes rhéto-romans et de la littérature régionale, ainsi que sur les multiples contacts avec d'autres espaces linguistiques et culturels. Un large éventail de textes rhéto-romans est étudié, allant des actes juridiques de la République des Trois Ligues à des articles de presse récents, ou des débats confessionnels et des poèmes politiques de l'époque de la Réforme à la poésie lyrique moderne et à la communication numérique au quotidien. Le cursus s'intéresse également aux débats actuels et historiques sur la langue dans le canton des Grisons, au multilinguisme des habitants de la région, à la normalisation transrégionale effectuée par le rumantsch grischun et au statut de langue de minorité du rhéto-roman.

Conditions
Les prétendantes et prétendants aux études de rhéto-roman doivent être animés d'un tempérament de pionnier, aimer lire et écrire, mais aussi se confronter à l'analyse de la langue, de textes et d'autres supports. La majorité des cours étant dispensés en rhéto-roman, il est impératif d'en maîtriser au moins une variante (idiome ou rumantsch grischun). L'étude des autres variantes du rhéto-roman fait partie de ce cursus.
Plusieurs cours sont donnés en allemand, de sorte qu'il est possible de suivre certaines parties du programme d'études sans connaître le rhéto-roman. Les cours de langue rhéto-romane sont ouverts à toutes les étudiantes et à tous les étudiants.

Avantages
Le nombre réduit d'étudiants permet d'assurer un bon encadrement par des professeurs et des chargés de cours. Le domaine d'études Rhéto-roman se distingue par une ambiance très familiale, qui favorise par ailleurs le contact extra-universitaire entre les étudiants.

Combinaisons
Ce programme peut être combiné avec d'autres programmes d'études relevant des sciences humaines, sociales et/ou naturelles. Il est ainsi souvent combiné avec l'étude d'autres langues et littératures, de l'histoire, de la communication et des médias, ou de la pédagogie.

Perspectives professionnelles
Les étudiantes et étudiants du programme de Bachelor acquièrent des connaissances solides et étendues leur permettant de travailler dans les institutions, les médias et les écoles rhéto-romanes. Ils peuvent aussi suivre des études plus poussées de niveau Master (en Sciences du plurilinguisme avec option Rhéto-roman ou dans d'autres disciplines linguistiques).
De nombreuses perspectives professionnelles s'ouvrent aux diplômées et diplômés du cursus de rhéto-roman: activité dans le domaine des médias (radio, presse écrite, télévision, Internet), carrière au sein des institutions culturelles ou linguistiques rhéto-romanes ou assimilées (Lia Rumantscha, Institut dal Dicziunari Rumantsch Grischun, Archives littéraires suisses, etc.), activité de traducteur, bibliothécaire. Le programme à 60 crédits ECTS satisfait aux exigences pour l'accès au Diplôme d'enseignement pour les écoles de maturité (DEEM).
Les diplômées et diplômés en Rhéto-roman sont peu nombreux, donc très recherchés sur le marché du travail dans le canton des Grisons, mais aussi par l'Administration fédérale et les Hautes Ecoles. Leurs qualifications sont également très prisées pour divers projets de recherche nationaux.

Organisation des études

Structure des études

60 crédits ECTS en tant que programme d'études secondaires

Plan d'études

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/eg-4R

Remarque

Ce programme de Bachelor est complété au niveau Master par le programme d'études secondaires Rhéto-roman (à 30 crédits ECTS) ainsi que par le programme d'études principal Sciences du plurilinguisme avec option Rhéto-roman (à 90 crédits ECTS).

Admission

Les diplômes suisses de fin d'études suivants permettent une admission dans les voies d'études de Bachelor à l'Université de Fribourg:

  • Certificat de maturité gymnasiale ou maturités gymnasiales cantonales reconnues par la Confédération
  • Certificat de maturité professionnelle complété du certificat d'examen complémentaire de la Commission suisse de maturité (passerelle)
  • Diplôme de Bachelor d'une haute école universitaire, d'une haute école spécialisée reconnue (HES) ou d'une haute école pédagogique (HEP)

La liste de tous les autres diplômes suisses reconnus peut être consultée sur le site web de swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/fr/services/admission-a-luniversite/certificats-suisses/

Pour être reconnus, les diplômes étrangers de fin d'études doivent être équivalents, pour l'essentiel, à une maturité gymnasiale suisse; ils doivent être de formation générale. Un diplôme d'études secondaires supérieures est considéré de formation générale s'il porte sur six branches d'enseignement suivies en continu pendant les trois dernières années selon la liste suivante:

  1. Première langue (langue maternelle)
  2. Deuxième langue
  3. Mathématiques
  4. Sciences naturelles (biologie, chimie ou physique)
  5. Sciences humaines et sociales (géographie, histoire ou économie/droit)
  6. Branche à choix (soit une langue supplémentaire soit une branche parmi les branches 4 ou 5)

Les exigences générales d'admission dans les voies d'études de Bachelor à l'Université de Fribourg pour les diplômes étrangers de fin d'études ainsi que les conditions d'admission spécifiques pour chaque pays peuvent être trouvées sur le site web de swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/fr/services/admission-a-luniversite/pays/
De plus, les candidats étrangers et les candidates étrangères doivent apporter la preuve de compétences linguistiques suffisantes en français ou en allemand.

L'évaluation de diplômes étrangers de fin d'études se base sur les «Recommandations du 7 septembre 2007 de la CRUS relatives à l'évaluation des diplômes d'études secondaires supérieures étrangers» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07fr). Les conditions d'admission ne sont valables que pour l'année académique respective. Le Rectorat de l'Université de Fribourg se réserve le droit de les modifier à tout instant.

Variantes

Est également offert en tant que programme d'études secondaires à 30 crédits ECTS.