Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Human Medicine

Abstract

This study programme provides full schooling in Human Medicine at Bachelor's level. Admission is subject to the numerus clausus.
The first year of study consists of physics, chemistry, an introduction to organ systems and fundamental human biology. In-depth study of the systems begins in the second semester and continues during the second and third years: during the second year, the emphasis is placed on the morphological and functional aspects, and in the third year on understanding the mechanisms responsible for the development of disease.
The course also provides skills in medical interviews, clinical examination techniques and basic practical gestures, on real or simulated patients, and immersion days in a doctor's surgery.
Holders of the Bachelor's degree from the University of Fribourg continue their studies to Master's level at one of the five faculties of Medicine in Switzerland.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

The Department of Medicine of the Faculty of Science offers Bachelor's level education in Human Medicine. The holder of a Bachelor of Medicine in Human Medicine has command of the knowledge and skills necessary to continue studying to Master's level in one of the five faculties of Medicine in Switzerland.

The first year of study consists of physics, chemistry, an introduction to organ systems and fundamental human biology (cells, genetics, transmission and processing of biological information, development, structural biochemistry, metabolism and microbiology). In the second semester, systematic and in-depth study of the systems begins; it continues into the second year. At the end of the second year, the student will thus have acquired solid knowledge of the structures and functions of the human body.
The third year comprises the study of the general fundamental concepts of pathology, pharmacology and medical microbiology. At this level, the study of systems is focused on understanding the mechanisms responsible for the appearance of illnesses.
During the Bachelor's programme, the student also acquires skills in medical interviews, clinical examination techniques and basic practical gestures (reanimation, stitches, injections, etc.).
«Medicine and Society» classes introduce students (over the three years of study) to the psycho-social, ethical, deontological and community dimensions of their future profession.

Fribourg profile
Admission to the Human Medicine course at the University of Fribourg is subject to the numerus clausus. Where applicable, selection is based on the result achieved in the «Test d'aptitudes aux études de médecine/Eignungstest für das Medizinstudium». This pre-university mode of selection guarantees cohorts of reasonable size from the beginning of the course, thus giving precedence to quality teaching.
Studies are bilingual, giving students the opportunity to continue in a German or French-speaking faculty. A good understanding of the partner language is required.
The programme comprises a practical mix of lectures, seminars in small groups, practical work and laboratory work, as well as clinical apprenticeships with real or simulated patients. These clinical apprenticeships are notably part of immersion days in a doctor's surgery.

Learning outcomes and career openings
The university course lasts a total of six years, giving access to postgraduate education, which is compulsory for practising medicine as an independent doctor.
The main career options are:

  • Independent doctor: specialist in general medicine or other speciality;
  • Contract doctor, usually in a hospital;
  • Doctor in research (university, industry, etc.).

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

180 ECTS credits, 6 semesters

Curriculum

http://www.unifr.ch/science/plans/plans_e.php

Comments

To obtain the Bachelor's degree, the candidate must have carried out a four-week nursing internship. This hospital internship can also be done before starting the course. Students who have completed a recruit school as a medical soldier are exempt from this internship.

Admission

The following Swiss school-leaving certificates grant admission to Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg:

  • Swiss academic Maturity Certificate
  • Swiss professional Maturity Certificate in conjunction with the supplementary exam certificate from the Swiss Maturity Commission
  • Bachelor Degree from a Swiss university, from an accredited Swiss university of applied sciences (HES/FH) or from a Swiss university of teacher education (HEP/PH)

A complete list of all further recognised Swiss school-leaving certificates (in French and German only) is to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/schweizerische-ausweise/

Important:
Admission to the Human Medicine course at the University of Fribourg is subject to the numerus clausus. Places are granted on the basis of results obtained in the Aptitude test for medical studies.
Foreign applicants also have to meet the conditions for admission set by the cantonal authorities: see http://studies.unifr.ch/go/ordmedfr (in French) or http://studies.unifr.ch/go/ordmedde (in German).

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

Médecine humaine

Résumé

Ce programme d'études offre une formation complète en médecine humaine de niveau Bachelor. L'admission est soumise au numerus clausus.
La première année d'études comprend la physique, la chimie, une introduction aux systèmes d'organes ainsi que les apprentissages de biologie humaine fondamentale. L'étude approfondie des systèmes débute au deuxième semestre et se poursuit en deuxième et en troisième année: en deuxième année, l'accent est mis sur les aspects morphologiques et fonctionnels, en troisième année sur la compréhension des mécanismes responsables de l'apparition des maladies.
La formation permet également d'acquérir la maîtrise de l'entretien médical, des techniques de l'examen clinique ainsi que de gestes pratiques de base, avec recours à des patients réels ou simulés et journées d'immersion en cabinet médical.
Les titulaires du Bachelor de l'Université de Fribourg poursuivent leurs études au niveau Master dans l'une des cinq facultés de médecine suisses.

Afficher le profil du programme d'études

Profil du programme d'études

Le Département de médecine de la Faculté des sciences offre une formation en médecine humaine de niveau Bachelor. La ou le titulaire du Bachelor of Medicine en médecine humaine maîtrise les connaissances et compétences nécessaires à la poursuite de ses études au niveau Master dans l'une des cinq facultés de médecine suisses.

La première année d'études comprend la physique et la chimie, une introduction aux systèmes d'organes ainsi que les apprentissages de biologie humaine fondamentale (cellule, génétique, transmission et traitement de l'information biologique, développement, biochimie structurale, métabolisme et microbiologie). Au deuxième semestre débute l'étude systématique et approfondie des systèmes; elle se poursuit en deuxième année. En fin de deuxième année, l'étudiante ou l'étudiant a ainsi acquis de solides connaissances des structures et des fonctions du corps humain.
La troisième année comprend l'étude de concepts fondamentaux de pathologie et de pharmacologie générales et la microbiologie médicale. A ce niveau, l'étude des systèmes est centrée sur la compréhension des mécanismes responsables de l'apparition des maladies.
Au cours du programme du Bachelor, l'étudiante ou l'étudiant acquiert également la maîtrise de l'entretien médical, des techniques de l'examen clinique ainsi que de gestes pratiques de base (réanimation, sutures, injections etc.).
Les enseignements «Médecine et Société» introduisent les étudiantes et étudiants de manière longitudinale (tout au long des trois années d'études) aux dimensions psychosociales, éthiques, déontologiques et communautaires de leur future pratique professionnelle.

Profil fribourgeois
L'admission aux études de médecine humaine à l'Université de Fribourg est soumise au numerus clausus. Le cas échéant, la sélection s'opère sur la base du résultat obtenu au «Test d'aptitudes aux études de médecine». Ce mode de sélection pré-universitaire garantit des cohortes de taille raisonnable dès le début des études, favorisant ainsi un enseignement de qualité.
Les études sont bilingues, offrant ainsi aux étudiantes et aux étudiants l'opportunité de poursuivre dans une faculté germanophone ou francophone. Une bonne compréhension de la langue partenaire est exigée.
Les enseignements proposés comprennent un mélange judicieux de leçons magistrales, de séminaires en petits groupes, de travaux pratiques et de laboratoire ainsi que d'apprentissages cliniques, avec recours à des patients réels ou simulés. Ces apprentissages cliniques intègrent notamment des journées d'immersion en cabinet médical.

Objectifs de formation et débouchés
La formation universitaire d'une durée totale de six ans donne accès la formation postgrade, obligatoire pour la pratique de la médecine en qualité de médecin indépendant.
Les principaux débouchés professionnels sont:

  • Médecin indépendant: spécialiste en médecine générale ou autre spécialité;
  • Médecin sous contrat, le plus souvent dans un hôpital;
  • Médecin dans la recherche (université, industrie, etc.).

Organisation des études

Structure des études

180 crédits ECTS, 6 semestres

Plan d'études

http://www.unifr.ch/science/plans/plans_f.php

Remarque

Pour obtenir son diplôme de Bachelor, la candidate ou le candidait doit obligatoirement avoir effectué un stage de soins aux malades d'une durée de quatre semaines. Ce stage hospitalier peut également s'effectuer avant le début des études. En sont dispensés les étudiantes et étudiants qui ont accompli une école de recrues comme soldats sanitaires.

Admission

Les diplômes suisses de fin d'études suivants permettent une admission dans les voies d'études de Bachelor à l'Université de Fribourg:

  • Certificat de maturité gymnasiale ou maturités gymnasiales cantonales reconnues par la Confédération
  • Certificat de maturité professionnelle complété du certificat d'examen complémentaire de la Commission suisse de maturité (passerelle)
  • Diplôme de Bachelor d'une haute école universitaire, d'une haute école spécialisée reconnue (HES) ou d'une haute école pédagogique (HEP)

La liste de tous les autres diplômes suisses reconnus peut être consultée sur le site web de swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/fr/services/admission-a-luniversite/certificats-suisses/

Important:
L'admission aux études de médecine à l'Université de Fribourg est soumise à un numerus clausus. Les places d'études sont octroyées sur la base des résultats au Test d'aptitudes pour les études de médecine.
Les candidates et candidats étrangers doivent en outre remplir les conditions d'admission fixées par l'ordonnance cantonale concernant leur admission (voir http://studies.unifr.ch/go/ordmedfr).