Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Sport Sciences and Motor Control

Abstract

This Bachelor's programme enables students to acquire practical know-how and scientific knowledge about the impact of motor activity on the development and maintenance of the individual's physical, mental and social life. It not only looks at subjects such as anatomy, the principles of training and sports psychology, but also the technical aspects of practice in a variety of fields, notably games, corporal expression, and water and snow sports. The teaching concept, which places the emphasis on the relationship between theory and practice, is based on a «lecture-seminar/workshop» structure and fosters the practical application of theoretical knowledge.
Students also have the possibility of specialising in teaching physical education and sports at secondary school level.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

In today's society, the regular, healthy practice of motor activities is based not only on experience, but first and foremost on scientific knowledge. The study programme in sport sciences and motor control focuses on the impact of this motor activity on the development and maintenance of the individual's physical, mental and social life. This basic training has two dimensions:

  • A scientific dimension, which studies the different human systems in order to understand how the principal resources that are to be developed, mobilised and preserved in our daily motor activities and in recreational or performance sports function. This scientific training takes in aspects such as anatomy, the physiology of exercise, the theory of motor learning and control, the principles of training, biomechanics, sports psychology and sociology;
  • A practical/methodological dimension, which deals with the analysis of movement as a tool for professionals in the fields of health, education, training and recreational or performance sports. It studies the techniques and methodologies of the reference social practices in six fields of activity: games, corporal expression, gymnastic and athletic activities, activities related to physical development and maintenance, combative sports, water sports and snow sports.

Students specialise in one of the two following orientations:

  • «Health - Performance - Research», which gives students basic training in fundamental subjects, biomedical science and the science of movement and sport. This monodisciplinary course is aimed at students wishing to pursue a career in the field of physical activity and sport, sports performance, or research into sport sciences and motor control;
  • «Teaching», which gives students basic training in movement and sport science and prepares them for teaching physical education and sport at secondary school level in combination with other subjects (for further information, see also «Teacher Education for Secondary Level»).

Fribourg profile
The Bachelor's degree at the University of Fribourg presents a number of worthwhile features:

  • A teaching concept which places the emphasis on the relationship between theory and practice: most of the scientific coursework involves a seminar or workshop. This structure «lecture-seminar/workshop» fosters the practical application of theoretical knowledge;
  • Thanks to the bilingualism which is an integral part of the course, students have the chance of enriching their specialist vocabulary and learning to interact in an academic context with specialists in both French and German, giving them a considerable advantage in their future professional lives.

Learning outcomes and career openings
By the time students obtain their Bachelor's degree, they will have consolidated their basic scientific know-how and acquired a general knowledge and a broader vision of their subject. They will have developed an ability to synthesize information and apply a critical way of thinking, which will enable them to pursue their studies at a more advanced, specialised level by taking a Master's degree. Moreover, they will have acquired know-how in a variety of codified or non-codified motor skills in the different fields of activity.

«Health - Performance - Research» orientation:
The general subject knowledge and methodology that students acquire equip them for a variety of careers in the field of health, training or research. The basic training that this specialisation affords in fundamental subjects, biomedical sciences and the science of movement and sports opens the door to more advanced studies, notably a Master's degree in sport sciences with a specialisation in «Health and Research», and from there to a career in:

  • Research in the science of movement and sports;
  • Preventative health measures and integration of health concepts in the public or private sector;
  • Functional rehabilitation in rehabilitation centres.

«Teaching» orientation:
The general subject knowledge and methodology that students are taught equip them for a variety of careers in the field of teaching physical education and sports in schools. This orientation provides the basic training which is crucial to pursuing more advanced studies in the context of a Master's degree in sport sciences with a specialisation in «Teaching».

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

180 ECTS credits, 6 semesters
or
120 ECTS credits + 60 ECTS credits in a minor study programme freely chosen, 6 semesters

Curriculum

http://www.unifr.ch/science/plans/plans_e.php

Admission

The following Swiss school-leaving certificates grant admission to Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg:

  • Swiss academic Maturity Certificate
  • Swiss professional Maturity Certificate in conjunction with the supplementary exam certificate from the Swiss Maturity Commission
  • Bachelor Degree from a Swiss university, from an accredited Swiss university of applied sciences (HES/FH) or from a Swiss university of teacher education (HEP/PH)

A complete list of all further recognized Swiss school-leaving certificates is to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities (in French and German only): https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/schweizerische-ausweise/

Foreign upper secondary school-leaving certificates are recognised only if they correspond substantially to the Swiss Maturity Certificate. They must qualify as general education. Foreign school-leaving certificates are considered to be general education if the last three years of schooling include at least six general education subjects, independent from each other, in accordance with the following list:

  1. First language (native language)
  2. Second language
  3. Mathematics
  4. Natural sciences (biology, chemistry or physics)
  5. Humanities and social sciences (geography, history or economics/law)
  6. Elective (an additional language or an additional subject from category 4 or 5)

The general admission requirements to the Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg for holders of foreign school-leaving certificates as well as the admission requirements for individual countries are to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/countries/
In addition, foreign candidates must present proof of sufficient language skills in French or German.

The assessment of foreign school-leaving certificates is based on the «CRUS Recommendations for the Assessment of Foreign Upper Secondary School-Leaving Certificates, 7 September 2007» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07en). The admission requirements are valid for the respective academic year. The Rectorat of the University of Fribourg reserves the right to change these requirements at any time.

Applications are conditional. They are only validated once candidates have passed a compulsory Physical and Motor Skills test (TCPM/KMF) and if they are certified to be in good health.
For more information about these specific conditions for admission, consult the following web pages:
http://studies.unifr.ch/go/spoFR (French)
http://studies.unifr.ch/go/spoDE (German)

Alternatives

Also offered as a minor study programme (60/30 ECTS credits).

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

Sciences du sport et de la motricité

Résumé

Ce programme de Bachelor permet l'acquisition d'un savoir-faire pratique et de connaissances scientifiques au sujet de l'impact de l'activité motrice sur le développement et l'entretien de la vie physique, mentale et sociale de l'individu. Il aborde aussi bien des matières telles que l'anatomie, les principes d'entraînement et la psychologie du sport, que l'étude technique des pratiques en lien avec plusieurs domaines, notamment les jeux, l'expression corporelle, ou encore les sports d'eau et de neige. Ce concept d'études favorisant la relation entre la théorie et la pratique est fondé sur une forme d'enseignement de type «cours-séminaire/workshop» qui permet de renforcer le transfert des connaissances théoriques vers une application pratique.
Une orientation spécifique pour l'enseignement de l'éducation physique et du sport au degré secondaire est également proposée.

Afficher le profil du programme d'études

Profil du programme d'études

Dans la société actuelle, une pratique saine et régulière de l'activité motrice recourt non seulement à l'expérience mais aussi et surtout aux connaissances scientifiques. Le programme d'études en sciences du sport et de la motricité étudie principalement l'impact de cette activité motrice sur le développement et l'entretien de la vie physique, mentale et sociale de l'individu. Cette formation de base comprend deux dimensions:

  • Une dimension scientifique étudiant les différents systèmes de l'être humain dans le but de comprendre le fonctionnement des principales ressources à développer, à mobiliser, à préserver dans l'activité motrice quotidienne et en sport de loisirs ou de performance. Cette formation scientifique intègre notamment l'anatomie, la physiologie de l'exercice, les théories de l'apprentissage et contrôle moteur, les principes d'entraînement, la biomécanique ou encore la psychologie et la sociologie du sport;
  • Une dimension pratique-méthodologique portant sur l'analyse du mouvement en tant qu'outil des professionnels de la santé, de l'éducation, de la formation et du sport de loisirs ou de performance. Elle aborde l'étude technique et méthodologique des pratiques sociales de référence des six domaines d'action: les jeux, l'expression corporelle, les activités gymniques et athlétiques, les activités de développement et d'entretien physiques, les sports de combat, les sports d'eau et les sports de neige.

Deux orientations d'études sont offertes au choix:

  • Une orientation «Santé - performance - recherche» qui offre une formation de base dans les branches propédeutiques, les sciences biomédicales et les sciences du mouvement et du sport. Cette formation mono-disciplinaire s'adresse aux étudiantes et aux étudiants qui souhaitent se diriger vers des professions du domaine de l'activité physique et santé, de la performance sportive ou de la recherche en sciences du mouvement et du sport;
  • Une orientation «Enseignement» qui offre une formation de base en sciences du mouvement et du sport, et prépare à l'enseignement de l'éducation physique et du sport au degré secondaire, en combinaison avec d'autres branches enseignables (pour plus d'information, voir également «Enseignement au degré secondaire»).

Profil fribourgeois
Les études de niveau Bachelor proposées par l'Université de Fribourg présentent quelques particularités intéressantes:

  • Un concept d'études favorisant la relation entre la théorie et la pratique: la majorité des cours de la dimension scientifique sont associés à un séminaire ou un workshop. Cette structure «cours-séminaire/workshop» permet de renforcer le transfert des connaissances théoriques vers une application pratique;
  • Grâce à une formation bilingue intégrée, les étudiantes et étudiants ont la possibilité d'enrichir leur vocabulaire spécifique et d'acquérir la capacité de dialoguer, dans le contexte des études, avec des spécialistes aussi bien en français qu'en allemand, ce qui sera un avantage considérable pour la future vie professionnelle.

Objectifs de formation et débouchés
Avec l'obtention de ce Bachelor, les étudiantes et étudiants auront consolidé leurs bases scientifiques et acquis une connaissance générale et une vision large de leur domaine. Ils auront développé une faculté de synthèse et une pensée critique qui leur permettront d'aborder des études approfondies et spécialisées au niveau Master. De plus, il auront acquis des savoir-faire dans une variété d'habilités motrices codifiées ou non-codifiées des différents domaines d'action.

Pour l'orientation «Santé - performance - recherche»:
Les connaissances générales et la méthodologie apportées constituent un bagage nécessaire pour des orientations professionnelles variées en lien avec les domaines de la santé, de l'entraînement ou de la recherche. Cette formation de base dans les branches propédeutiques, les sciences biomédicales et les sciences du mouvement et du sport permet la poursuite d'études approfondies, notamment dans le cadre du programme d'études de Master en sciences du sport, orientation «Santé et recherche», orientera ensuite les étudiantes et étudiants vers les métiers:

  • du milieu de la recherche fondamentale du domaine des sciences du mouvement et du sport;
  • du milieu de la prévention et de l'intégration des concepts de santé dans le secteur public ou privé;
  • du milieu de la réadaptation fonctionnelle dans des centres de réhabilitation.

Pour l'orientation «Enseignement»:
Les connaissances générales et la méthodologie apportées constituent un bagage nécessaire pour des orientations professionnelles variées en lien avec l'enseignement de l'éducation physique et du sport (EPS) à l'école. Cette orientation dispense la formation essentielle et indispensable pour poursuivre des études approfondies dans le cadre du programme d'études de Master en sciences du sport, orientation «Enseignement».

Organisation des études

Structure des études

180 crédits ECTS, 6 semestres
ou
120 crédits ECTS + 60 crédits ECTS dans un programmes d'études secondaires au choix, 6 semestres

Plan d'études

http://www.unifr.ch/science/plans/plans_f.php

Admission

Les diplômes suisses de fin d'études suivants permettent une admission dans les voies d'études de Bachelor à l'Université de Fribourg:

  • Certificat de maturité gymnasiale ou maturités gymnasiales cantonales reconnues par la Confédération
  • Certificat de maturité professionnelle complété du certificat d'examen complémentaire de la Commission suisse de maturité (passerelle)
  • Diplôme de Bachelor d'une haute école universitaire, d'une haute école spécialisée reconnue (HES) ou d'une haute école pédagogique (HEP)

La liste de tous les autres diplômes suisses reconnus peut être consultée sur le site web de swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/fr/services/admission-a-luniversite/certificats-suisses/

Pour être reconnus, les diplômes étrangers de fin d'études doivent être équivalents, pour l'essentiel, à une maturité gymnasiale suisse; ils doivent être de formation générale. Un diplôme d'études secondaires supérieures est considéré de formation générale s'il porte sur six branches d'enseignement suivies en continu pendant les trois dernières années selon la liste suivante:

  1. Première langue (langue maternelle)
  2. Deuxième langue
  3. Mathématiques
  4. Sciences naturelles (biologie, chimie ou physique)
  5. Sciences humaines et sociales (géographie, histoire ou économie/droit)
  6. Branche à choix (soit une langue supplémentaire soit une branche parmi les branches 4 ou 5)

Les exigences générales d'admission dans les voies d'études de Bachelor à l'Université de Fribourg pour les diplômes étrangers de fin d'études ainsi que les conditions d'admission spécifiques pour chaque pays peuvent être trouvées sur le site web de swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/fr/services/admission-a-luniversite/pays/
De plus, les candidats étrangers et les candidates étrangères doivent apporter la preuve de compétences linguistiques suffisantes en français ou en allemand.

L'évaluation de diplômes étrangers de fin d'études se base sur les «Recommandations du 7 septembre 2007 de la CRUS relatives à l'évaluation des diplômes d'études secondaires supérieures étrangers» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07fr). Les conditions d'admission ne sont valables que pour l'année académique respective. Le Rectorat de l'Université de Fribourg se réserve le droit de les modifier à tout instant.

La demande d'admission se fait sous réserve. Elle ne devient valide qu'après la réussite d'un Test des capacités physiques et motrices (TCPM) obligatoire et avec la confirmation du bon état de santé de la candidate ou du candidat. Pour plus d'informations sur ces conditions d'accès aux études particulières, consulter la page web suivante: http://studies.unifr.ch/go/spoFR.

Variantes

Est également offert en tant que programme d'études secondaires (60/30 crédits ECTS).