Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

French as a Foreign Language

Abstract

The Bachelor's programme French as a foreign language/French as a second language (FLE/FLS) provides theoretical and practical training for teaching FLE/FLS to a range of target groups, including children and adults.
The course is delivered through lessons and seminars to consolidate various aspects of students' knowledge of French – linguistics, language acquisition, didactics, culture and interculturality – in relation to teaching and learning.
The Fribourg University's FLE/FLS Bachelor's programme is based on a multilingual approach in more than one way: the multilingual environment that is a feature of the city of Fribourg, the placing of FLE/FLS studies in the «Multilingualism and Foreign Language Education Domain», and the links with the research conducted at the Institute of Multilingualism.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

The French as a foreign language/French as a second language (FLE/FLS) Bachelor's programme is broken down into four subject areas, as follows below.

The language practice subject area is an opportunity for students to expand and consolidate their foreign or second language learning experience. Non-Francophone students will develop their written and oral French skills with a view to reaching level C1 of the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages. A three-month language course will also enable them to fine-tune their skills by being fully immersed in a French-speaking environment. French-speaking students will start to learn a new foreign language and will develop their knowledge of another language through tandem learning. These two experiences aim to foster discussions on the learning process, and to develop practices based on interaction and communication strategies.

The applied linguistics subject area introduces theoretical notions for the description of French language. These notions are then applied in seminars aimed at teaching practice, with a particular focus on teaching grammar and vocabulary, and the use of media in language classes.

The FLE/FLS didactics section includes a theoretical introduction to foreign and second language acquisition. This theoretical approach will then be completed with a range of seminars that focus on the development of practical knowledge and FLE/FLS teaching skills, such as assessment tools, oral and written didactics, literature, information and communication technologies for teaching, and the teaching of French aimed at migrants (French as a school language and French for Specific Purposes).

Lastly, in the Intercultural subject area, students will acquire basic knowledge of intercultural communication theories and their application for classroom interaction. This section also includes modules on the cultural, literary and artistic history of French-speaking regions.

Fribourg profile

The Fribourg University's FLE/FLS training fosters the development of theoretical knowledge, practical skills, critical assessment and personal considerations of learning French from the teacher's and the learner's point of view. The enhanced knowledge of linguistic, didactic, cultural and intercultural aspects and of second and foreign language learning theories provides a solid grounding for professions related to French language and francophone culture.

FLE/FLS studies are not only a means to learn and teach French. They also consider French as a language for integration and school education. This course is particularly relevant in these times of increased mobility and migration.

As it is part of the Multilingualism and Foreign Language Education Domain the Fribourg University's FLE/FLS course is fully open to multilingualism in terms of its practical applications and research fields, in particular through its close ties with the research conducted at the Institute of Multilingualism.

Learning outcomes and career openings

Graduates will have the technical skills needed to teach French as a foreign or second language, in Switzerland and abroad.

They have knowledge of the theories, notions and approaches of linguistics, the teaching of foreign languages and intercultural studies, which are the foundations of modern foreign language learning. Being aware of the trends in these disciplines, graduates are able to consider and discuss emerging theories. They can analyse and assess FLE/FLS teaching notions and methods, and are able to observe, prepare and assess language learning processes.

Career opportunities include, among others, teaching French in different contexts, at school or as part of support for migrants, language learning for adults, exchange programmes, the promotion of languages in corporate or professional environments, the bilingual teaching of language and subjects, or creative activities in the field of foreign languages.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

60 ECTS credits as a minor study programme

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/lCeda (French only)

Admission

The following Swiss school-leaving certificates grant admission to Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg:

  • Swiss academic Maturity Certificate
  • Swiss professional Maturity Certificate in conjunction with the supplementary exam certificate from the Swiss Maturity Commission
  • Bachelor Degree from a Swiss university, from an accredited Swiss university of applied sciences (HES/FH) or from a Swiss university of teacher education (HEP/PH)

A complete list of all further recognized Swiss school-leaving certificates is to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities (in French and German only): https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/schweizerische-ausweise/

Foreign upper secondary school-leaving certificates are recognised only if they correspond substantially to the Swiss Maturity Certificate. They must qualify as general education. Foreign school-leaving certificates are considered to be general education if the last three years of schooling include at least six general education subjects, independent from each other, in accordance with the following list:

  1. First language (native language)
  2. Second language
  3. Mathematics
  4. Natural sciences (biology, chemistry or physics)
  5. Humanities and social sciences (geography, history or economics/law)
  6. Elective (an additional language or an additional subject from category 4 or 5)

The general admission requirements to the Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg for holders of foreign school-leaving certificates as well as the admission requirements for individual countries are to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/countries/
In addition, foreign candidates must present proof of sufficient language skills in French or German.

The assessment of foreign school-leaving certificates is based on the «CRUS Recommendations for the Assessment of Foreign Upper Secondary School-Leaving Certificates, 7 September 2007» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07en). The admission requirements are valid for the respective academic year. The Rectorat of the University of Fribourg reserves the right to change these requirements at any time.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

Français langue étrangère

Résumé

Le programme de Bachelor en Français langue étrangère et seconde (FLE/FLS) offre une formation théorique et pratique à l'enseignement du FLE/FLS auprès de différents publics, enfants et adultes.
L'offre de cours et de séminaires permet d'approfondir les connaissances du français sous différents aspects – linguistiques, acquisitionnels, didactiques, culturels et interculturels – dans une perspective d'enseignement et d'apprentissage.
Le programme de Bachelor en FLE/FLS de l'Université de Fribourg est ancré dans une approche plurilingue à plusieurs niveaux: de par le contexte plurilingue caractéristique de la ville de Fribourg, le placement des études en FLE/FLS dans le «Domaine d'études Plurilinguisme et didactique des langues étrangères» ainsi que par ses liens avec les recherches effectuées à l'Institut du plurilinguisme.

Afficher le profil du programme d'études

Profil du programme d'études

Le programme de Bachelor Français langue étrangère et seconde (FLE/FLS) comprend quatre parties thématiques qui sont présentées ci-après.

La partie Pratiques langue donne l'occasion aux étudiantes et étudiants d'élargir et d'approfondir leur expérience de l'apprentissage d'une langue étrangère ou seconde. Les étudiantes et étudiants non francophones développeront leurs compétences du français écrit et oral en vue d'atteindre le niveau C1 du Cadre Européen Commun de Référence pour les Langues; un stage linguistique de 3 mois leur permettra en outre de développer le français en immersion. Les étudiantes et étudiants francophones se lanceront dans l'apprentissage d'une nouvelle langue étrangère et approfondiront une autre langue en Tandem. Ces deux expériences visent à enrichir la réflexion sur les processus d'apprentissage, à développer une pratique interactionnelle et des stratégies de communication.

La partie Linguistique appliquée introduit les notions théoriques de description de la langue française. Ces notions sont ensuite appliquées dans des séminaires visant la pratique de l'enseignement, notamment celui de la grammaire, du lexique et l'utilisation des médias en classe de langue.

La partie Didactique du FLE/FLS comprend une introduction théorique au domaine de l'acquisition des langues étrangères et secondes puis une large palette de séminaires visant le développement de savoirs et de compétences pratiques pour l'enseignement du FLE/FLS, tels que les outils d'évaluations, la didactique de l'oral, de la littérature, de l'écrit, les techniques de l'information et de la communication pour l'enseignement (TICE) ainsi que la didactique du français pour migrants (Français Langue de Scolarisation et Français sur Objectifs Spécifiques).

Finalement la partie Interculturel permet d'acquérir des connaissances de base sur les théories de la communication interculturelle et leur implication pour l'interaction en salle de classe. Elle comprend également une formation sur l'histoire culturelle, littéraire et artistique des régions francophones.

Profil fribourgeois

La formation en FLE/FLS à l'Université de Fribourg permet le développement de connaissances théoriques, de compétences pratiques, de remises en question critiques ainsi que la réflexion personnelle sur l'apprentissage du français du point de vue de l'enseignant mais aussi de l'apprenant. L'approfondissement des aspects linguistiques, didactiques, culturels et interculturels du français mais aussi des théories sur l'acquisition des langues secondes et étrangères constitue un solide bagage pour l'exercice de professions touchant à la langue et aux cultures francophones.
Les études en FLE/FLS offrent non seulement une formation au français en tant que langue à apprendre et à enseigner mais aussi au français comme langue d'intégration et de scolarisation, une formation particulièrement pertinente à une époque caractérisée par la mobilité et la migration.
Finalement, de par son ancrage dans le Domaine d'études Plurilinguisme et didactique des langues étrangères, la formation en FLE/FLS à l'Université de Fribourg est caractérisée par une ouverture au plurilinguisme tant au niveau de la pratique que de la recherche, en particulier de par ses liens avec les recherches menées à l'Institut du plurilinguisme.

Objectifs de formation et débouchés

Les diplômées et diplômés possèdent les compétences techniques pour enseigner le français comme langue étrangère ou seconde, en Suisse ou à l'étranger.

Ils connaissent les théories, les notions et les approches de la linguistique, de la didactique des langues étrangères et des études interculturelles, qui constituent les bases d'un apprentissage moderne des langues étrangères. Familiarisés avec l'évolution historique de ces disciplines, ils sont en mesure de porter un jugement sur les théories émergentes. Ils peuvent analyser et évaluer des notions et des méthodes d'enseignement du FLE/FLS, et savent observer, préparer et évaluer des processus d'apprentissage linguistique.

Les perspectives professionnelles incluent notamment l'enseignement du français dans différents contextes, scolaires ou dans le cadre de l'accompagnement de migrants, la formation linguistique des adultes, les programmes d'échanges, la promotion des langues dans l'entreprise et en milieu professionnel, l'enseignement bilingue de langues et de disciplines, ou d'activités créatives dans le domaine des langues étrangères.?

Organisation des études

Structure des études

60 crédits ECTS en tant que programme d'études secondaires

Plan d'études

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/lCeda

Admission

Les diplômes suisses de fin d'études suivants permettent une admission dans les voies d'études de Bachelor à l'Université de Fribourg:

  • Certificat de maturité gymnasiale ou maturités gymnasiales cantonales reconnues par la Confédération
  • Certificat de maturité professionnelle complété du certificat d'examen complémentaire de la Commission suisse de maturité (passerelle)
  • Diplôme de Bachelor d'une haute école universitaire, d'une haute école spécialisée reconnue (HES) ou d'une haute école pédagogique (HEP)

La liste de tous les autres diplômes suisses reconnus peut être consultée sur le site web de swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/fr/services/admission-a-luniversite/certificats-suisses/

Pour être reconnus, les diplômes étrangers de fin d'études doivent être équivalents, pour l'essentiel, à une maturité gymnasiale suisse; ils doivent être de formation générale. Un diplôme d'études secondaires supérieures est considéré de formation générale s'il porte sur six branches d'enseignement suivies en continu pendant les trois dernières années selon la liste suivante:

  1. Première langue (langue maternelle)
  2. Deuxième langue
  3. Mathématiques
  4. Sciences naturelles (biologie, chimie ou physique)
  5. Sciences humaines et sociales (géographie, histoire ou économie/droit)
  6. Branche à choix (soit une langue supplémentaire soit une branche parmi les branches 4 ou 5)

Les exigences générales d'admission dans les voies d'études de Bachelor à l'Université de Fribourg pour les diplômes étrangers de fin d'études ainsi que les conditions d'admission spécifiques pour chaque pays peuvent être trouvées sur le site web de swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/fr/services/admission-a-luniversite/pays/
De plus, les candidats étrangers et les candidates étrangères doivent apporter la preuve de compétences linguistiques suffisantes en français ou en allemand.

L'évaluation de diplômes étrangers de fin d'études se base sur les «Recommandations du 7 septembre 2007 de la CRUS relatives à l'évaluation des diplômes d'études secondaires supérieures étrangers» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07fr). Les conditions d'admission ne sont valables que pour l'année académique respective. Le Rectorat de l'Université de Fribourg se réserve le droit de les modifier à tout instant.