Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

German as a Foreign Language

Abstract

This study programme teaches the student, in theory and practice, how German as a foreign language is taught and learned. The basics of the description, planning, designing, analysis and evaluation of the language learning processes are thereby deepened. This programme also provides insights into intercultural communication, cultural studies and the use of literature in teaching foreign languages.
The Bachelor's programme for German as a Foreign Language at the University of Fribourg is unique in Switzerland. Students, who are enrolled in a main programme at another Swiss university, can therefore apply to enrol in the study programme as guest students.
This study programme is also characterised by the close contact with the Institute of Multilingualism and with the Language Centre and profits from an ideal environment due to the multilingualism in Fribourg.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

The German as a Foreign Language (German acronym DaF) study programme deals with the theory and practice of teaching and learning German as a foreign and second language. It prepares students to teach German as a foreign or second language both nationally and internationally, to be active as cultural mediators or to be able to analyse and evaluate teaching concepts with German as a foreign language.
It imparts the specialised basic knowledge for describing, planning, designing, analysing and evaluating language learning processes of German as a foreign or second language.
This includes linguistic fundamentals, such as knowledge of the basic concepts and methods used in linguistics, the acquisition of second or foreign languages and multilingual competences, dealing with mistakes and the evaluation of language competence, the knowledge of foreign language didactic approaches and methods and their curricular foundations, as well as insights into the concepts of intercultural communication, cultural studies and the use of literature in foreign language teaching.
During the course of the studies, the students collect and reflect on their own language learning experience: non-native speaking students continue to expand their language competence in German (introductory level: B2, target level C1+ and higher), native speaking students learn, among other things, a new language at the A1 level.

Fribourg profile
In addition to the Bachelor's programme, the University of Fribourg especially offers training courses in the field of foreign language didactics, or multilingualism, at Master's level, among other things in German as a foreign language. Close contact is maintained with the Institute of Multilingualism, which in 2010 was designated as the Research Centre on Multilingualism of the Federal Government. The Ph.D. programme «Multilingualism: Acquisition, Education and Society» is organised by the Institute of Multilingualism and a documentation centre is operated. There is close cooperation with the university's Language Centre. Fribourg thus offers expertly qualified, research-based teaching, an excellent infrastructure and living bilingualism.
The University of Fribourg is the only university that offers German as a foreign language within the framework of a Bachelor's programme. In addition to pursuing a programme with 120 ECTS credits at a Swiss university, it is possible for students to absolve the programme with 60 ECTS credits as a minor programme guest student upon application. This allows for interesting combinations, for example, with a Bachelor in Sinology at the University of Zurich, in Linguistics at the University of Berne or in Psychology at the universities of Berne or Zurich.

Learning outcomes and career openings
Graduates have the basic scientific expertise to teach German as a foreign or second language, both nationally and internationally, and to understand and optimise teaching concepts with German as a foreign or second language.
They are aware of the linguistic, foreign language didactics and intercultural theories, concepts and methods that are the foundation of today's foreign language teaching. They are acquainted with the historical development of teaching and therefore have the foundation for evaluating new developments. They are able to analyse and evaluate teaching concepts for German as a foreign or second language and observe, plan and evaluate language learning processes. At the end of their studies, foreign language students are competent in German as a foreign language, at least at the C1+ level or higher.
Possible professional fields are assistance of migrants, language teaching in adult education, exchange programmes, occupation-specific or in-house language promotion, bilingual content-based teaching and language learning with multimedia programmes and conceptual activities in the field of foreign languages.
The programme can be combined with many other study programmes with 120 ECTS credits. It can, for example, be combined with sociology, social work and social policy, study of religions or social anthropology if students are interested in conceptual and practical work in the area of migration and bilingualism or intercultural mediation activity; with philology if they are interested in a broad-based foundation in teaching or if the focus is on foreign language teaching within adult education; or with educational sciences or education/psychology for activities in the field of educational planning or adult education.
Due to the strong demand for qualified teachers, it is possible to teach German as a foreign language, although the formal qualification in the form of a Master's degree is still missing. In this way advanced students gather their first practical experience.
Those who wish to teach in public schools need pedagogic training at the Master's level, whereas those who wish to teach German as a foreign language within adult education in private institutions should prepare to later acquire an SVEB (Swiss Association for Adult Education) certification (www.alice.ch).

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

60 ECTS credits as a minor study programme

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/IaFd2 (German only)

Comments

Language competence in German of at least B2 of the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages is required.

Admission

The following Swiss school-leaving certificates grant admission to Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg:

  • Swiss academic Maturity Certificate
  • Swiss professional Maturity Certificate in conjunction with the supplementary exam certificate from the Swiss Maturity Commission
  • Bachelor Degree from a Swiss university, from an accredited Swiss university of applied sciences (HES/FH) or from a Swiss university of teacher education (HEP/PH)

A complete list of all further recognized Swiss school-leaving certificates is to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities (in French and German only): https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/schweizerische-ausweise/

Foreign upper secondary school-leaving certificates are recognised only if they correspond substantially to the Swiss Maturity Certificate. They must qualify as general education. Foreign school-leaving certificates are considered to be general education if the last three years of schooling include at least six general education subjects, independent from each other, in accordance with the following list:

  1. First language (native language)
  2. Second language
  3. Mathematics
  4. Natural sciences (biology, chemistry or physics)
  5. Humanities and social sciences (geography, history or economics/law)
  6. Elective (an additional language or an additional subject from category 4 or 5)

The general admission requirements to the Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg for holders of foreign school-leaving certificates as well as the admission requirements for individual countries are to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/countries/
In addition, foreign candidates must present proof of sufficient language skills in French or German.

The assessment of foreign school-leaving certificates is based on the «CRUS Recommendations for the Assessment of Foreign Upper Secondary School-Leaving Certificates, 7 September 2007» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07en). The admission requirements are valid for the respective academic year. The Rectorat of the University of Fribourg reserves the right to change these requirements at any time.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

Allemand langue étrangère

Résumé

Ce programme d'études offre une formation théorique et pratique à l'enseignement et à l'apprentissage de l'allemand comme langue étrangère ou langue seconde. Il permet d'approfondir la description, la préparation, l'organisation, l'analyse et l'évaluation des processus d'apprentissage linguistique. Il aborde également la communication interculturelle, les sciences sociales et l'exploitation de textes littéraires dans l'enseignement de langues étrangères.
Le cursus d'Allemand langue étrangère proposé par l'Université de Fribourg au niveau Bachelor est unique en Suisse. Il est également possible de suivre un programme d'études principal dans une autre université suisse et d'assister aux cours de ce Bachelor en tant qu'étudiant hôte.
Ce programme se distingue par ailleurs par une collaboration étroite avec l'Institut de plurilinguisme et le Centre de langues, et s'inscrit dans un cadre d'études idéal grâce au rapport privilégié que la ville de Fribourg entretient avec le plurilinguisme.

Afficher le profil du programme d'études

Profil du programme d'études

Le programme d'études Allemand langue étrangère aborde la théorie et la pratique de l'enseignement et de l'apprentissage de l'allemand comme langue étrangère ou langue seconde. Il offre une formation à l'enseignement de l'allemand comme langue étrangère ou seconde, en Suisse ou à l'étranger, à l'activité de médiateur interculturel, ainsi qu'à l'analyse et à l'évaluation des pratiques d'enseignement de l'allemand en tant que langue étrangère.
Ce cursus permet d'acquérir les bases techniques nécessaires à la description, à la préparation, à l'organisation, à l'analyse et à l'évaluation des processus d'apprentissage linguistique de l'allemand comme langue étrangère ou seconde.
Ces compétences incluent les bases de la linguistique, et notamment la connaissance des méthodes et des notions fondamentales de cette discipline, de l'apprentissage des langues étrangères et du développement du plurilinguisme, du traitement des erreurs et de l'évaluation des compétences linguistiques, des approches et des méthodes de la didactique des langues étrangères et de leurs bases académiques, ainsi que de certaines notions relatives à la communication interculturelle, aux sciences sociales et à l'exploitation de textes littéraires dans l'enseignement de langues étrangères.
Les étudiantes et les étudiants partagent et analysent leurs propres expériences d'apprentissage linguistique: les non-germanophones renforcent leur connaissance de l'allemand (niveau minimum à l'entrée: B2; niveau visé: C1+ et plus) et les étudiantes et les étudiants de langue maternelle allemande apprennent une nouvelle langue à partir du niveau A1.

Profil fribourgeois
En lien avec ce programme de Bachelor, l'Université de Fribourg propose également des cours au niveau Master dans le domaine de la didactique des langues étrangères et du plurilinguisme, et notamment un cursus «Allemand langue étrangère». La formation est dispensée en étroite collaboration avec l'Institut de plurilinguisme, désigné en 2010 comme Centre scientifique de compétence sur le plurilinguisme de la Confédération. Celui-ci a mis en place un programme doctoral intitulé «Plurilinguisme: acquisition, formation et société» et dispose d'un centre de documentation. Le travail s'effectue également en étroite concertation avec le Centre de langues de l'Université. L'Université de Fribourg abrite un personnel enseignant compétent et axé sur la recherche, possède une infrastructure remarquable et entretient un rapport privilégié avec le plurilinguisme.
L'Université de Fribourg est la seule à proposer un cursus de Bachelor en Allemand langue étrangère. Il est également possible de s'inscrire en tant qu'étudiant hôte à ce programme d'études secondaires permettant de valider 60 crédits ECTS, qui viennent s'ajouter à un cursus de 120 crédits ECTS suivi dans une autre université suisse. Cette formule permet de former des combinaisons intéressantes, par exemple avec un Bachelor en sinologie à l'Université de Zurich, en linguistique à l'Université de Berne, ou en psychologie dans l'un de ces deux établissements.

Objectifs de formation et débouchés professionnels
Les diplômées et les diplômés possèdent les compétences techniques pour enseigner l'allemand comme langue étrangère ou seconde, en Suisse ou à l'étranger, et peuvent exploiter et améliorer les méthodes d'apprentissage idoines.
Ils connaissent les théories, les notions et les approches de la linguistique, de la didactique des langues étrangères et des études interculturelles, qui constituent les bases d'un apprentissage moderne des langues étrangères. Familiarisés avec l'évolution historique de ces disciplines, ils sont en mesure de porter un jugement sur les théories émergentes. Ils peuvent analyser et évaluer des notions et des méthodes d'enseignement de l'allemand en tant que langue étrangère, et savent observer, préparer et évaluer des processus d'apprentissage linguistique. Au terme de ce cursus, les étudiantes et les étudiants dont la langue maternelle est différente ont une connaissance opérationnelle de l'allemand en tant que langue étrangère correspondant au moins au niveau C1+.
Les perspectives professionnelles incluent notamment l'accompagnement des migrants, la formation linguistique des adultes, les programmes d'échanges, la promotion des langues dans l'entreprise et en milieu professionnel, l'enseignement bilingue de langues et de disciplines d'éveil à l'aide de supports multimédias, ou encore les activités créatives dans le domaine des langues étrangères.
En fonction des intérêts théoriques et pratiques de chacun, ce cursus peut être combiné avec de nombreux autres programmes d'études de 120 crédits ECTS – par exemple, en sociologie, travail social et politiques sociales, science des religions ou anthropologie sociale pour les étudiantes et les étudiants intéressés par la problématique des migrations et du plurilinguisme ou par la médiation interculturelle, en philologie pour ceux qui veulent se bâtir un profil plus généraliste ou s'orienter vers l'enseignement des langues étrangères pour les adultes, ou encore en sciences de l'éducation ou en pédagogie/psychologie pour ceux qui veulent travailler dans la planification de l'enseignement ou la formation des adultes.
Etant donné la forte demande en personnel éducatif qualifié, il est possible de commencer à enseigner l'allemand en tant que langue étrangère même sans avoir validé le Master; de cette manière, les étudiantes et les étudiants avancés commencent à acquérir de l'expérience professionnelle.
Pour exercer dans les écoles publiques, une formation pédagogique doit être suivie au niveau Master. Pour enseigner l'allemand comme langue étrangère à des adultes dans le privé, une certification doit être obtenue auprès de la FSE (www.alice.ch).

Organisation des études

Structure des études

60 crédits ECTS en tant que programme d'études secondaires

Plan d'études

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/IaFd2 (Allemand)

Remarque

Une compétence linguistique en allemand correspondant au moins au niveau B2 du Cadre Européen Commun de Référence pour les Langues est exigée.

Admission

Les diplômes suisses de fin d'études suivants permettent une admission dans les voies d'études de Bachelor à l'Université de Fribourg:

  • Certificat de maturité gymnasiale ou maturités gymnasiales cantonales reconnues par la Confédération
  • Certificat de maturité professionnelle complété du certificat d'examen complémentaire de la Commission suisse de maturité (passerelle)
  • Diplôme de Bachelor d'une haute école universitaire, d'une haute école spécialisée reconnue (HES) ou d'une haute école pédagogique (HEP)

La liste de tous les autres diplômes suisses reconnus peut être consultée sur le site web de swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/fr/services/admission-a-luniversite/certificats-suisses/

Pour être reconnus, les diplômes étrangers de fin d'études doivent être équivalents, pour l'essentiel, à une maturité gymnasiale suisse; ils doivent être de formation générale. Un diplôme d'études secondaires supérieures est considéré de formation générale s'il porte sur six branches d'enseignement suivies en continu pendant les trois dernières années selon la liste suivante:

  1. Première langue (langue maternelle)
  2. Deuxième langue
  3. Mathématiques
  4. Sciences naturelles (biologie, chimie ou physique)
  5. Sciences humaines et sociales (géographie, histoire ou économie/droit)
  6. Branche à choix (soit une langue supplémentaire soit une branche parmi les branches 4 ou 5)

Les exigences générales d'admission dans les voies d'études de Bachelor à l'Université de Fribourg pour les diplômes étrangers de fin d'études ainsi que les conditions d'admission spécifiques pour chaque pays peuvent être trouvées sur le site web de swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/fr/services/admission-a-luniversite/pays/
De plus, les candidats étrangers et les candidates étrangères doivent apporter la preuve de compétences linguistiques suffisantes en français ou en allemand.

L'évaluation de diplômes étrangers de fin d'études se base sur les «Recommandations du 7 septembre 2007 de la CRUS relatives à l'évaluation des diplômes d'études secondaires supérieures étrangers» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07fr). Les conditions d'admission ne sont valables que pour l'année académique respective. Le Rectorat de l'Université de Fribourg se réserve le droit de les modifier à tout instant.