Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Psychology

Abstract

Students who are interested in the human experience and behaviour are on the right track with a course of study in psychology. Here, we study how feelings, experiences, education and motivational factors affect us and what role the cultural and social environment plays. At Bachelor level, particular emphasis is placed on always letting the students confront their theories of everyday life with the insights of scientific psychology.
During the three-year study programme, they become acquainted with the fundamental professional knowledge, the working methods used in research, the various areas of application of psychology and the basic competencies of psychological diagnostics and counselling. Two months of internship and a written thesis crown the bachelor studies.
In addition, the bilingualism of the course of studies is a unique feature of the studies in psychology at the University of Fribourg: Here, graduate school programmes are offered in German, French or in a combination of both languages.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

The study of psychology introduces the students to the science of psychology, which deals with human experience and behaviour. They thereby study the motivational, emotional, cognitive and psychomotor processes which occur within a cultural and social context and are more or less directly rooted in human biological makeup.

Psychological practice is based on the constituent parts of this scientific knowledge and on psychologists' theories of everyday life. During the studies, great importance is attached to ensuring that individual student compare their theories of everyday life with those of scientific psychology.

This course of study leads to a Bachelor of Science degree and imparts, among other things, fundamental knowledge of psychological activities in the areas of diagnostics and counselling.

The bilingualism of the course of studies is a unique feature of the studies in psychology at the University of Fribourg. The Department of Psychology offers courses of study in German and French as well as bilingually.

Contents and basic structure of studies
During the first academic year, the main focus lies on gaining an overview of the subject, initial contact with academic working methods and an introduction into the various fields of psychology. Methodological knowledge and research competencies are systematically established.

The second academic year is devoted to expanding methodological and basic knowledge and introducing students to areas of application of psychology and to basic practical, psychological competencies in the fields of psychological diagnostics and psychological counselling.

In the third year knowledge of basic subjects and applications is deepened, and students absolve a two-month internship and write a Bachelor thesis.

Career prospects and further education
The Bachelor's programme in psychology prepares students for the following areas of employment: diagnostics, counselling, psychological intervention, such as prevention or psychotherapy, and scientific research in these fields.

The main areas of activity are health care, the educational system and the working environment.

Within most professions, professional work as a psychologist requires a Master's degree in addition to a Bachelor's degree and sometimes an additional practical qualification. The most important psychological occupational fields are clinical psychology, industrial psychology, organisational psychology, market research and advertising, educational psychology, environmental psychology, traffic psychology and media psychology.

After the Master's degree, doctoral studies are provided as the main offer of further education for even better research qualifications, for example, for professional activities at the university.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

180 ECTS credits, 6 semesters

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/44B-S (French)
http://studies.unifr.ch/go/lvBrp (German)

Admission

The following Swiss school-leaving certificates grant admission to Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg:

  • Swiss academic Maturity Certificate
  • Swiss professional Maturity Certificate in conjunction with the supplementary exam certificate from the Swiss Maturity Commission
  • Bachelor Degree from a Swiss university, from an accredited Swiss university of applied sciences (HES/FH) or from a Swiss university of teacher education (HEP/PH)

A complete list of all further recognized Swiss school-leaving certificates is to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities (in French and German only): https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/schweizerische-ausweise/

Foreign upper secondary school-leaving certificates are recognised only if they correspond substantially to the Swiss Maturity Certificate. They must qualify as general education. Foreign school-leaving certificates are considered to be general education if the last three years of schooling include at least six general education subjects, independent from each other, in accordance with the following list:

  1. First language (native language)
  2. Second language
  3. Mathematics
  4. Natural sciences (biology, chemistry or physics)
  5. Humanities and social sciences (geography, history or economics/law)
  6. Elective (an additional language or an additional subject from category 4 or 5)

The general admission requirements to the Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg for holders of foreign school-leaving certificates as well as the admission requirements for individual countries are to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/countries/
In addition, foreign candidates must present proof of sufficient language skills in French or German.

The assessment of foreign school-leaving certificates is based on the «CRUS Recommendations for the Assessment of Foreign Upper Secondary School-Leaving Certificates, 7 September 2007» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07en). The admission requirements are valid for the respective academic year. The Rectorat of the University of Fribourg reserves the right to change these requirements at any time.

Alternatives

Also offered as a minor study programme (60/30 ECTS credits).

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

Psychologie

Résumé

La psychologie est la discipline idéale pour qui s'intéresse à l'expérience et aux comportements humains. Elle analyse les sentiments, les expériences, les apprentissages et les motivations qui nous influencent, ainsi que le rôle de l'environnement social et culturel. Au niveau du Bachelor, il est notamment exigé des étudiantes et des étudiants qu'ils confrontent en permanence leurs constats empiriques avec les données scientifiques existant dans le domaine de la psychologie.
Dans le cadre de ce programme d'études en trois ans, les étudiantes et les étudiants acquièrent des connaissances techniques fondamentales, apprennent à maîtriser les méthodes de travail de la recherche, abordent les différents domaines d'application de la psychologie, et se familiarisent avec les techniques de diagnostic et de conseil en psychologie. Un stage de deux mois et un rapport écrit clôturent le programme de formation de ce Bachelor.
En outre, seule l'Université de Fribourg intègre dans son cursus de psychologie un enseignement bilingue: les cours sont dispensés soit en allemand, soit en français, soit dans une combinaison de ces deux langues.

Afficher le profil du programme d'études

Profil du programme d'études

Le programme de psychologie propose une introduction à la dimension scientifique de cette discipline qui touche à l'expérience et aux comportements humains. Les étudiantes et les étudiants analysent des processus motivationnels, émotionnels, cognitifs et psychomoteurs qui s'inscrivent dans un contexte social et culturel et sont plus ou moins directement liés à la nature biologique de l'être humain.

La pratique de la psychologie repose pour partie sur ces connaissances scientifiques, mais aussi sur l'expérience dite empirique des psychologues. Dans le cadre de ce cursus, il est exigé des étudiantes et des étudiants qu'ils confrontent activement leurs constats empiriques avec les données scientifiques existant dans le domaine de la psychologie.

Ce cursus permet d'obtenir un titre de Bachelor of Science et transmet notamment des connaissances fondamentales pour exercer une activité de psychologue dans les domaines du diagnostic et du conseil.

Le cursus en psychologie de l'Université de Fribourg se distingue en particulier par sa dimension bilingue. Le département de psychologie propose des programmes d'études en allemand et en français, mais offre aussi des formations bilingues.

Contenu et structure du programme d'études
La première année d'études est surtout consacrée à une vue d'ensemble de la discipline, à un premier contact avec les techniques du travail académique, et à l'introduction des principaux domaines de la psychologie. Elle intègre aussi systématiquement des éléments de méthodologie et de formation à la recherche.

La seconde année élargit le champ d'étude en matière de méthodologie et de théorie fondamentale, grâce à l'introduction des domaines d'application de la psychologie et à la présentation des compétences pratiques de base qui caractérisent le travail de diagnostic et de conseil en psychologie.

La troisième année est consacrée à l'approfondissement des connaissances fondamentales et de leurs applications, à la réalisation d'un stage de deux mois et à la rédaction d'un mémoire.

Débouchés professionnels et formation continue
Le Bachelor en psychologie prépare à une activité dans les domaines suivants: diagnostic, conseil, interventions et prévention en psychologie, psychothérapie et recherche scientifique dans ces domaines.

Les domaines d'activité sont principalement liés à la santé, à l'éducation et au monde du travail.

Pour exercer la plupart des professions dans le domaine de la psychologie, il faut obligatoirement être titulaire d'un Master en plus du Bachelor et il est souvent nécessaire de suivre une formation pratique complémentaire. Les principaux métiers dans ce domaine sont la psychologie clinique, la psychologie du travail, de l'entreprise et de l'organisation, le marketing et la publicité, la psychologie scolaire, la psychologie environnementale, la psychologie de la circulation et la psychologie médiatique.

Pour obtenir une qualification scientifique supplémentaire, par exemple pour exercer au sein d'une université, un Doctorat peut notamment être envisagé après l'obtention du Master.

Organisation des études

Structure des études

180 crédits ECTS, 6 semestres

Plan d'études

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/44B-S

Admission

Les diplômes suisses de fin d'études suivants permettent une admission dans les voies d'études de Bachelor à l'Université de Fribourg:

  • Certificat de maturité gymnasiale ou maturités gymnasiales cantonales reconnues par la Confédération
  • Certificat de maturité professionnelle complété du certificat d'examen complémentaire de la Commission suisse de maturité (passerelle)
  • Diplôme de Bachelor d'une haute école universitaire, d'une haute école spécialisée reconnue (HES) ou d'une haute école pédagogique (HEP)

La liste de tous les autres diplômes suisses reconnus peut être consultée sur le site web de swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/fr/services/admission-a-luniversite/certificats-suisses/

Pour être reconnus, les diplômes étrangers de fin d'études doivent être équivalents, pour l'essentiel, à une maturité gymnasiale suisse; ils doivent être de formation générale. Un diplôme d'études secondaires supérieures est considéré de formation générale s'il porte sur six branches d'enseignement suivies en continu pendant les trois dernières années selon la liste suivante:

  1. Première langue (langue maternelle)
  2. Deuxième langue
  3. Mathématiques
  4. Sciences naturelles (biologie, chimie ou physique)
  5. Sciences humaines et sociales (géographie, histoire ou économie/droit)
  6. Branche à choix (soit une langue supplémentaire soit une branche parmi les branches 4 ou 5)

Les exigences générales d'admission dans les voies d'études de Bachelor à l'Université de Fribourg pour les diplômes étrangers de fin d'études ainsi que les conditions d'admission spécifiques pour chaque pays peuvent être trouvées sur le site web de swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/fr/services/admission-a-luniversite/pays/
De plus, les candidats étrangers et les candidates étrangères doivent apporter la preuve de compétences linguistiques suffisantes en français ou en allemand.

L'évaluation de diplômes étrangers de fin d'études se base sur les «Recommandations du 7 septembre 2007 de la CRUS relatives à l'évaluation des diplômes d'études secondaires supérieures étrangers» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07fr). Les conditions d'admission ne sont valables que pour l'année académique respective. Le Rectorat de l'Université de Fribourg se réserve le droit de les modifier à tout instant.

Variantes

Est également offert en tant que programme d'études secondaires (60/30 crédits ECTS).