Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Special Education

Abstract

If you want to familiarise yourself with special education without making it your main discipline at Bachelor level, this secondary studies programme will enable you to enrich, expand and diversify the knowledge acquired in your main studies programme.
This programme consists of two parts: an introduction to the theoretical foundations of special education, with courses in general special education and differential special education; and an introduction to the theories of development, with courses introducing you to factors, mechanisms and conditions that influence individual typical and atypical development.
This programme does not lead to a professional diploma in special education and social pedagogy, which requires opting for studies in special education and social pedagogy as a single discipline. However, it may be of value later in your training, for example in order to join the Master's programme in special education.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

The goal of the Bachelor studies programme in special education (60 ECTS credits) is to familiarise students with the foundations of special education.

This familiarisation has two parts:

  • Introduction to the theoretical foundations of special education. This part consists of courses in general special education and differential special education. It includes the main models for understanding disability, learning and development theories, the issue of variability and differences in development, as well as the main neurodevelopmental disorders likely to interfere with development;
  • Introduction to theories of development. This part consists of various courses enabling students to acquire a basic knowledge of the factors, mechanisms and conditions that influence individual typical and atypical development.

This study programme enables students to enrich, expand and diversify their knowledge by supplementing the knowledge acquired in their main study programme. The programme is chosen freely, but the courses to follow are compulsory.

Fribourg profile
This study programme is part of the wide range of courses in secondary disciplines. It is offered by the University of Fribourg with the objective of promoting conceptual bridges between different fields, linking different areas of knowledge, and addressing real world issues, in terms of more than one discipline. It draws on a wealth of knowledge and scientific work, in a teaching tradition that has been widely developed and recognised at the University of Fribourg.

Learning outcomes and career openings
This study programme enables students to broaden their knowledge and interests with an introduction to the foundations and the basic issues of special education.

Students who successfully complete this study programme will acquire and accumulate sufficient knowledge that they can use later in their training, for instance by joining the Master's programme in special education.

Studies in special education as a secondary studies programme are not equivalent to those that lead to a professional diploma in special education and social pedagogy (Bachelor of Arts, single discipline special education, special education and social pedagogy, recognised by professional institutions).

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

60 ECTS credits as a minor study programme

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/6EGRG (French)
http://studies.unifr.ch/go/H9mDC (German)

Comments

Students who choose this study programme must enrol with the department in the first three weeks of the first semester.

Admission

The following Swiss school-leaving certificates grant admission to Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg:

  • Swiss academic Maturity Certificate
  • Swiss professional Maturity Certificate in conjunction with the supplementary exam certificate from the Swiss Maturity Commission
  • Bachelor Degree from a Swiss university, from an accredited Swiss university of applied sciences (HES/FH) or from a Swiss university of teacher education (HEP/PH)

A complete list of all further recognized Swiss school-leaving certificates is to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities (in French and German only): https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/schweizerische-ausweise/

Foreign upper secondary school-leaving certificates are recognised only if they correspond substantially to the Swiss Maturity Certificate. They must qualify as general education. Foreign school-leaving certificates are considered to be general education if the last three years of schooling include at least six general education subjects, independent from each other, in accordance with the following list:

  1. First language (native language)
  2. Second language
  3. Mathematics
  4. Natural sciences (biology, chemistry or physics)
  5. Humanities and social sciences (geography, history or economics/law)
  6. Elective (an additional language or an additional subject from category 4 or 5)

The general admission requirements to the Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg for holders of foreign school-leaving certificates as well as the admission requirements for individual countries are to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/countries/
In addition, foreign candidates must present proof of sufficient language skills in French or German.

The assessment of foreign school-leaving certificates is based on the «CRUS Recommendations for the Assessment of Foreign Upper Secondary School-Leaving Certificates, 7 September 2007» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07en). The admission requirements are valid for the respective academic year. The Rectorat of the University of Fribourg reserves the right to change these requirements at any time.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

Pédagogie spécialisée

Résumé

Si vous souhaitez vous familiariser avec la pédagogie spécialisée sans pour autant en faire votre discipline principale au niveau Bachelor, ce programme d'études secondaire vous permettra d'enrichir, d'élargir et de diversifier vos connaissances acquises dans votre programme d'études principal.
Ce cursus comprend deux axes: d'une part une introduction aux fondements théoriques de la pédagogie spécialisée, composée de cours de pédagogie curative générale et de pédagogie curative différentielle; d'autre part une introduction aux théories du développement, avec des cours vous initiant aux facteurs, mécanismes et conditions qui influencent le développement typique et atypique de l'individu.
Ce programme ne permet pas l'obtention d'un diplôme de capacité professionnelle en pédagogie curative clinique et éducation spécialisée, qui nécessite d'opter pour des études de pédagogie curative clinique et éducation spécialisée comme discipline unique. En revanche, il peut être valorisé dans la suite de votre formation, par exemple en vue d'entrer dans le cursus du Master en pédagogie spécialisée.

Afficher le profil du programme d'études

Profil du programme d'études

Le programme d'études Bachelor en pédagogie spécialisée (60 crédits ECTS) a pour but de familiariser les étudiantes et les étudiants aux bases de la pédagogie spécialisée.

Cette familiarisation comprend deux axes:

  • Introduction aux fondements théoriques de la pédagogie spécialisée. Cet axe est composé des cours de pédagogie curative générale et de pédagogie curative différentielle. Sont notamment abordés les principaux modèles de compréhension du handicap, les théories de l'apprentissage et du développement, la question de la variabilité et des écarts au développement, ainsi que les principaux troubles neuro-développementaux susceptibles d'interférer avec le développement;
  • Introduction aux théories du développement. Cet axe est composé de divers cours permettant aux étudiantes et aux étudiants d'acquérir un savoir de base sur les facteurs, les mécanismes et les conditions qui influencent le développement typique et atypique de l'individu.

Ce programme d'études permet d'enrichir, d'élargir et de diversifier les connaissances des étudiantes et des étudiants en complétant les savoirs acquis dans leur programme d'études principal. C'est un cursus librement choisi, mais dans lequel les enseignements à suivre sont obligatoires.

Profil fribourgeois
Ce programme d'études fait partie de l'offre variée des cursus d'études offerts par l'Université de Fribourg dans des disciplines secondaires. Il est proposé dans le but de favoriser les ponts conceptuels entre des champs disciplinaires différents, de mettre en lien les savoirs, et d'aborder certaines questions du monde réel, sous l'angle de plus d'une discipline. Il puise dans un patrimoine de connaissances et de travaux scientifiques, ainsi que dans une tradition de formation largement développée et reconnue à l'Université de Fribourg.

Objectifs de formation et débouchés
Ce programme d'études permet aux étudiantes et aux étudiants d'élargir leurs connaissances et leurs intérêts en découvrant les fondements et en abordant les bases de la pédagogie spécialisée.

Ceux qui ont suivi avec succès ce programme d'études acquièrent et capitalisent des connaissances suffisantes qu'ils pourront ensuite valoriser dans la suite de leur formation, par exemple en vue de leur entrée dans le cursus de Master en pédagogie spécialisée.

Les études en pédagogie spécialisée comme programme d'études secondaires ne sont pas équivalentes à celles permettant l'obtention d'un diplôme de capacité professionnelle en pédagogie curative clinique et éducation spécialisée (Bachelor of Arts «domaine unique pédagogie spécialisée, pédagogie curative clinique et éducation spécialisée», reconnu par les milieux professionnels).

Organisation des études

Structure des études

60 crédits ECTS en tant que programme d'études secondaires

Plan d'études

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/6EGRG

Remarque

Les étudiantes et les étudiants ayant choisi ce programme d'études doivent s'inscrire durant les trois premières semaines du premier semestre auprès du département.

Admission

Les diplômes suisses de fin d'études suivants permettent une admission dans les voies d'études de Bachelor à l'Université de Fribourg:

  • Certificat de maturité gymnasiale ou maturités gymnasiales cantonales reconnues par la Confédération
  • Certificat de maturité professionnelle complété du certificat d'examen complémentaire de la Commission suisse de maturité (passerelle)
  • Diplôme de Bachelor d'une haute école universitaire, d'une haute école spécialisée reconnue (HES) ou d'une haute école pédagogique (HEP)

La liste de tous les autres diplômes suisses reconnus peut être consultée sur le site web de swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/fr/services/admission-a-luniversite/certificats-suisses/

Pour être reconnus, les diplômes étrangers de fin d'études doivent être équivalents, pour l'essentiel, à une maturité gymnasiale suisse; ils doivent être de formation générale. Un diplôme d'études secondaires supérieures est considéré de formation générale s'il porte sur six branches d'enseignement suivies en continu pendant les trois dernières années selon la liste suivante:

  1. Première langue (langue maternelle)
  2. Deuxième langue
  3. Mathématiques
  4. Sciences naturelles (biologie, chimie ou physique)
  5. Sciences humaines et sociales (géographie, histoire ou économie/droit)
  6. Branche à choix (soit une langue supplémentaire soit une branche parmi les branches 4 ou 5)

Les exigences générales d'admission dans les voies d'études de Bachelor à l'Université de Fribourg pour les diplômes étrangers de fin d'études ainsi que les conditions d'admission spécifiques pour chaque pays peuvent être trouvées sur le site web de swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/fr/services/admission-a-luniversite/pays/
De plus, les candidats étrangers et les candidates étrangères doivent apporter la preuve de compétences linguistiques suffisantes en français ou en allemand.

L'évaluation de diplômes étrangers de fin d'études se base sur les «Recommandations du 7 septembre 2007 de la CRUS relatives à l'évaluation des diplômes d'études secondaires supérieures étrangers» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07fr). Les conditions d'admission ne sont valables que pour l'année académique respective. Le Rectorat de l'Université de Fribourg se réserve le droit de les modifier à tout instant.