Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Special Education and Social Pedagogy

Abstract

This course of study deals with the special educational needs of children, adolescents and sometimes also adults whose social and academic education and general fostering of their needs pose a long-term challenge.
Before students start their course, they have to undertake a nine-month internship in one area of special education or social pedagogy. During the Bachelor's programme, the students take an in-depth look at special education and social pedagogy issues, at the same studying basic subjects in related disciplines such as education, psychology and medicine. Internships and research work are also an integral part of the course.
The Special Education and Social Pedagogy programme in Fribourg is the only university course in Switzerland which qualifies students for both academic and professional careers in this field.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

The Bachelor of Arts in Special Education and Social Pedagogy is a vocational university training course which teaches students basic theoretical and practical skills as well as giving them a broad, basic grounding in special education and related fields.

The programme is aimed at students with a general upper secondary school leaving qualification who wish to take up a practical career or do research in the fields of special education and social pedagogy. This means that they will be dealing with the special educational needs of children, adolescents and sometimes also adults whose social and academic education and general fostering of their needs pose a long-term challenge. It also encompasses the issue of social environment.

In preparation for the programme, students must undertake a nine-month internship. Special Education and Social Pedagogy is a full-time course in which students earn 180 ECTS credits over six semesters. The curriculum encompasses the basics of special education and related disciplines (such as education, psychology and medicine), in-depth study of special education and social pedagogy issues, practical training in various fields and writing research papers.

Fribourg profile
The Special Education and Social Pedagogy programme is the only university course in Switzerland which qualifies students for both academic and professional careers in this field. Including both a theoretical part and practical experience, it not only gives students a basic grounding in the subject studied but also in the discipline of Special Education as a whole.

The Special Education and Social Pedagogy training course is made up of two core study areas: intellectual and developmental disability and lifespan perspectives, of which they acquire in-depth knowledge.

This Bachelor's degree teaches students the requisite skills either for a professional career in the field of special education and social pedagogy or for further academic studies. Here, the choices open to them are a Master's degree in Special Needs Education or a consecutive Master's degree combined with a Doctorate in Special Education and Social Pedagogy and related disciplines.

The Bachelor's course in Special Education takes both a humanistic and a scientific approach.

Learning outcomes and career openings
With regard to the professional and academic training of students in Special Education and Social Pedagogy, the overall goals are:

  • To teach them the required skills to educate socially and academically, foster and support, guide, counsel, integrate, mentor and care for disabled and potentially disabled children, adolescents and adults. The possible clients are, notably, children, adolescents and adults with intellectual and developmental disability or profound intellectual and multiple, as well as children and adolescents with behavioural behaviour disorders and their respective social environments;
  • The required skills for working with reference people from the clients' social background (families, specialists) and for counselling, guiding and supporting them;
  • Self-awareness, self-reflection and self-evaluation in their professional activity and role;
  • The required skills for observing, analysing and interpreting situations and using this knowledge to take appropriate action;
  • The required skills to undertake process and network analyses, planning and evaluation, and public relations work;
  • Theoretical knowledge of academic and social education and disability and the ability to categorise these contents to critical discernment.

During the programme, the students do practical work with the following client groups:

  • Children, adolescents and adults with intellectual and developmental disability or profound intellectual and multiple disabilities;
  • Children and adolescents with behaviour disorders or in difficult life situations;
  • Children, adolescents and adults with motor or sensory disabilities, or autism spectrum disorders;
  • People at risk of disability.

The career prospects of graduates with a Bachelor of Arts in Special Education and Social Pedagogy cover the same overall goals and client groups as during their internship:

  • Special educational and social pedagogical work in support services for persons with disabilities and youth welfare services in inpatient, semi-inpatient and ambulatory settings;
  • Education management and advisory functions in support services for persons with disabilities and youth welfare services;
  • Training at all levels of specialized workers in support services for persons with disabilities and youth welfare services;
  • Further academic studies (Master).

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

180 ECTS credits, 6 semesters

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/uS-sn (French)
http://studies.unifr.ch/go/XIJ0m (German)

Admission

The following Swiss school-leaving certificates grant admission to Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg:

  • Swiss academic Maturity Certificate
  • Swiss professional Maturity Certificate in conjunction with the supplementary exam certificate from the Swiss Maturity Commission
  • Bachelor Degree from a Swiss university, from an accredited Swiss university of applied sciences (HES/FH) or from a Swiss university of teacher education (HEP/PH)

A complete list of all further recognized Swiss school-leaving certificates is to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities (in French and German only): https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/schweizerische-ausweise/

Foreign upper secondary school-leaving certificates are recognised only if they correspond substantially to the Swiss Maturity Certificate. They must qualify as general education. Foreign school-leaving certificates are considered to be general education if the last three years of schooling include at least six general education subjects, independent from each other, in accordance with the following list:

  1. First language (native language)
  2. Second language
  3. Mathematics
  4. Natural sciences (biology, chemistry or physics)
  5. Humanities and social sciences (geography, history or economics/law)
  6. Elective (an additional language or an additional subject from category 4 or 5)

The general admission requirements to the Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg for holders of foreign school-leaving certificates as well as the admission requirements for individual countries are to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/countries/
In addition, foreign candidates must present proof of sufficient language skills in French or German.

The assessment of foreign school-leaving certificates is based on the «CRUS Recommendations for the Assessment of Foreign Upper Secondary School-Leaving Certificates, 7 September 2007» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07en). The admission requirements are valid for the respective academic year. The Rectorat of the University of Fribourg reserves the right to change these requirements at any time.

Special admission requirements
Candidates wishing to be admitted to the Bachelor of Arts in Special Education and Social Pedagogy must meet one of the following special requirements:
a) Confirmation of having had a nine-month, full-time internship in a special education establishment;
b) or: confirmation of having had nine months' employment as a qualified teacher (one school year with a full teaching load).

If the scope of the internship is not equivalent to full-time employment, the duration must be extended correspondingly.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

Pédagogie curative clinique et éducation spécialisée

Résumé

Bénéficiant d'une double tradition humaniste et scientifique, ce programme de Bachelor est un cursus universitaire professionnalisant. Il vous permettra d'acquérir des connaissances approfondies dans le champ de la pédagogie spécialisée.
Cette formation vous propose une réflexion scientifique et critique sur les défis actuels de la pédagogie spécialisée, les différents courants théoriques, les handicaps et leurs étiologies, les troubles de développement et leurs origines, les structures éducatives, les méthodes d'intervention et les contextes de vie. Vous développerez ainsi de multiples compétences pour l'éducation, le conseil et le soutien des milieux de vie sociaux et familiaux, pour l'analyse des situations éducatives et la mise en place de projets pédagogiques et pour le travail en réseau.
Ce programme nécessite cependant une expérience pratique préalable de neuf mois dans le domaine de la pédagogie spécialisée.

Afficher le profil du programme d'études

Profil du programme d'études

Le Bachelor of Arts «domaine unique pédagogie spécialisée, pédagogie curative clinique et éducation spécialisée» est un cursus universitaire et professionnalisant qui permet d'acquérir de solides compétences théoriques et pratiques, ainsi qu'une culture large et diversifiée dans le champ de la pédagogie spécialisée et des domaines avoisinants.

Le cursus s'adresse à des étudiantes et des étudiants disposant d'une expérience pratique préalable de neuf mois dans le domaine de la pédagogie spécialisée (condition d'admission) et qui souhaitent s'approprier les connaissances de base, les cadres de références, les méthodologies et les outils d'analyse et d'action relatifs à la profession d'éducatrice spécialisée ou d'éducateur spécialisé (pédagogue curative clinique ou pédagogue curatif clinique).

Le programme d'études «pédagogie curative clinique et éducation spécialisée» est une formation à temps plein et à domaine unique (180 crédits ECTS). Le cursus propose une réflexion scientifique et critique sur les défis actuels de la pédagogie spécialisée, les différents courants théoriques, les handicaps et leurs étiologies, les troubles de développement et leurs origines, les structures éducatives, les méthodes d'intervention, les contextes de vie et la mise en place de projets pédagogiques visant le développement des compétences personnelles et l'intégration dans la communauté.

Profil fribourgeois
Le Bachelor of Arts «domaine unique pédagogie spécialisée, pédagogie curative clinique et éducation spécialisée», est un des seuls diplômes de Bachelor universitaires dans le champ de la pédagogie spécialisée en Suisse et à l'étranger.

La formation en pédagogie curative clinique et éducation spécialisée se caractérise par deux spécificités: des connaissances approfondies en déficience intellectuelle et une approche couvrant tous les âges de la vie.

Les études en pédagogie curative clinique et éducation spécialisée aboutissent à une double qualification. D'un côté, il mène au diplôme de capacité professionnelle largement apprécié par les milieux professionnel. De l'autre, le diplôme de Bachelor donne accès aux études de master dans le domaine de la pédagogie spécialisée ou dans des domaines avoisinants.

La formation offerte dans le cadre de la pédagogie curative clinique et éducation spécialisée bénéficie d'une double tradition humaniste et scientifique.

Objectifs de formation et débouchés
Ce programme d'études prépare les étudiantes et les étudiants à devenir des professionnels dans le domaine de la pédagogie spécialisée.

La formation vise l'acquisition de compétences:

  • Pour l'éducation, la formation, le conseil, le soutien, l'accompagnement, l'intégration et les soins de personnes, tout âge confondu, expérimentant des difficultés dans leur développement ou leur épanouissement (p.ex. handicaps, troubles du comportement);
  • Pour le conseil et le soutien des milieux de vie sociaux ou familiaux;
  • Pour l'analyse des situations éducatives et la mise en place de projets pédagogiques;
  • Pour le travail en réseau.

La formation s'ouvre sur des parcours professionnels très diversifiés:

  • Educatrices et éducateurs spécialisés dans des groupes éducatifs, des groupes de vie ou en milieu ouvert pour enfants, adolescents ou jeunes adultes;
  • Educatrices et éducateurs spécialisés dans des services de soutien aux familles ou des services de protection de l'enfance et de la jeunesse;
  • Educatrices et éducateurs spécialisés dans des groupes de vie institutionnels, des structures d'hébergement, des structures de formation continue, des services d'insertion ou des structures socioprofessionnelles pour personnes adultes;
  • Responsables pédagogiques dans les institutions éducatives spécialisées.

Le paradigme actuel de participation sociale et l'orientation scientifique de la formation font du Bachelor of Arts «domaine unique pédagogie spécialisée, pédagogie curative clinique et éducation spécialisée» un cursus à très forte valeur ajoutée dans un parcours professionnel.

Organisation des études

Structure des études

180 crédits ECTS, 6 semestres

Plan d'études

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/uS-sn

Admission

Les diplômes suisses de fin d'études suivants permettent une admission dans les voies d'études de Bachelor à l'Université de Fribourg:

  • Certificat de maturité gymnasiale ou maturités gymnasiales cantonales reconnues par la Confédération
  • Certificat de maturité professionnelle complété du certificat d'examen complémentaire de la Commission suisse de maturité (passerelle)
  • Diplôme de Bachelor d'une haute école universitaire, d'une haute école spécialisée reconnue (HES) ou d'une haute école pédagogique (HEP)

La liste de tous les autres diplômes suisses reconnus peut être consultée sur le site web de swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/fr/services/admission-a-luniversite/certificats-suisses/

Pour être reconnus, les diplômes étrangers de fin d'études doivent être équivalents, pour l'essentiel, à une maturité gymnasiale suisse; ils doivent être de formation générale. Un diplôme d'études secondaires supérieures est considéré de formation générale s'il porte sur six branches d'enseignement suivies en continu pendant les trois dernières années selon la liste suivante:

  1. Première langue (langue maternelle)
  2. Deuxième langue
  3. Mathématiques
  4. Sciences naturelles (biologie, chimie ou physique)
  5. Sciences humaines et sociales (géographie, histoire ou économie/droit)
  6. Branche à choix (soit une langue supplémentaire soit une branche parmi les branches 4 ou 5)

Les exigences générales d'admission dans les voies d'études de Bachelor à l'Université de Fribourg pour les diplômes étrangers de fin d'études ainsi que les conditions d'admission spécifiques pour chaque pays peuvent être trouvées sur le site web de swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/fr/services/admission-a-luniversite/pays/
De plus, les candidats étrangers et les candidates étrangères doivent apporter la preuve de compétences linguistiques suffisantes en français ou en allemand.

L'évaluation de diplômes étrangers de fin d'études se base sur les «Recommandations du 7 septembre 2007 de la CRUS relatives à l'évaluation des diplômes d'études secondaires supérieures étrangers» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07fr). Les conditions d'admission ne sont valables que pour l'année académique respective. Le Rectorat de l'Université de Fribourg se réserve le droit de les modifier à tout instant.

Conditions d'admission spécifiques
L'admission des candidates et candidats se destinant au Bachelor of Arts en pédagogie curative clinique et éducation spécialisée suppose que les conditions spécifiques supplémentaires suivantes soient remplies de façon alternative:
a) une attestation de l'accomplissement d'un stage à plein temps de neuf mois dans une institution spécialisée;
b) ou une attestation de l'accomplissement de neuf mois d'enseignement à plein temps en tant qu'enseignante diplômée ou enseignant diplômé (une année scolaire avec un programme d'enseignement complet).

Si le taux d'activité du stage ne correspond pas à un plein temps, la durée doit être prolongée en conséquence.