Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Speech-Language Therapy

Abstract

Speech and language therapists assess and diagnose disorders of language, speech, fluency, voice, swallowing and written language and carry out appropriate therapies, supportive trainings and counselling sessions with the affected children, adolescents and adults.
The Bachelor's degree programme provides students with the scientific and practical competencies to work in educational and/or clinical settings. The programme is interdisciplinary and provides students with expert knowledge in speech and language pathology as well as basic knowledge in the areas of special education, linguistics, medicine and psychology. Placements and written assignments round off the programme of studies.
The University of Fribourg is the only university in German-speaking Switzerland to offer a degree course in speech and language therapy. Further distinguishing features are detailed courses to develop competencies such as one's own initiative, self-organisation, reflective and critical thinking, communication skills and specific practical expertise.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

Fribourg is the only university in German-speaking Switzerland to offer a Bachelor's degree course in speech and language therapy. The modular training programme consists of three years of full-time study. The language of tuition is German. Students acquire in–depth scientific and practical competences which qualify them for later careers in educational and/or clinical settings.
In keeping with the interdisciplinary nature of the speech and language therapy as a subdiscipline of special education, students at the University of Fribourg receive a sound basic knowledge during the first five semesters in the areas of special education, linguistics, medicine and psychology, which specifically underpins and complements the expert knowledge in the field of speech and language pathology. Besides theoretical training, which consists of written assignments (including a Bachelor's thesis) on speech and language therapy topics, there are also practical courses and four study-integrated placements from the second year onwards. This combination of theory and practice culminates in a case report. In the sixth semester, the comprehensive practice-related training concludes with a full-time 18-week placement (with a case report) and a practical exam.

Fribourg profile
The programme of speech and language therapy in Fribourg has a good national and international reputation, particularly attributable to consistent interlinking of subject-specific and practical training content. Studies provide graduates with a professional qualification, and are firmly anchored in the university infrastructure. This facilitates the integration of current theoretical and empirical findings from relevant related sciences into speech and language therapy studies and promotes cooperation between researchers and teaching staff from disciplines such as speech and language pathology, special education, linguistics and psychology.
In addition to gaining a scientific grounding in the subject, a diverse spectrum of teaching and learning methods further enhance the high quality of the well-designed speech and language therapy curriculum. Classical study elements such as lectures and seminars are complemented by target-specific courses. These are designed to give prospective speech and language therapists effective support, and help them improve their reflective and critical thinking, communication, organisational and specific practical skills (self-awareness courses, placements, case reports, supervision) as well as the ability to take the initiative. A well-established tutorial system assures students of individual care and support on their path to the successful completion of their degree studies.

Learning outcomes and career openings
The academic diploma in speech and language therapy provides graduates with a professional qualification which entitles them to assess and diagnose disorders of communication, language, speech, fluency, voice, swallowing and written language in children, adolescents and adults. It further qualifies them to plan, carry out and evaluate therapeutic, supportive and counselling interventions for persons with communication impairments.
The Bachelor's degree, which is recognised by the Swiss Conference of Cantonal Ministers of Education (EDK), opens up a wide range of career options in the area of educational and/or clinical speech and language pathology. Apart from genuine speech and language therapy activities in fields such as early education, mainstream school (outpatient centre), special schools, hospitals, rehabilitation clinics, or private practice, speech and language therapists can also be involved in the practical training of students (placement supervision) after acquiring a minimum of two years' professional experience.
The university diploma in speech and language therapy (Bachelor) is the formal admission requirement for continued academic study (Master) in special education, speech and language therapy/logopaedics, or in the neighbouring disciplines of speech and language therapy, such as linguistics or education (in Switzerland and abroad).

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

180 ECTS credits, 6 semesters

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/3PEvK (German only)

Admission

The following Swiss school-leaving certificates grant admission to Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg:

  • Swiss academic Maturity Certificate
  • Swiss professional Maturity Certificate in conjunction with the supplementary exam certificate from the Swiss Maturity Commission
  • Bachelor Degree from a Swiss university, from an accredited Swiss university of applied sciences (HES/FH) or from a Swiss university of teacher education (HEP/PH)

A complete list of all further recognized Swiss school-leaving certificates is to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities (in French and German only): https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/schweizerische-ausweise/

Foreign upper secondary school-leaving certificates are recognised only if they correspond substantially to the Swiss Maturity Certificate. They must qualify as general education. Foreign school-leaving certificates are considered to be general education if the last three years of schooling include at least six general education subjects, independent from each other, in accordance with the following list:

  1. First language (native language)
  2. Second language
  3. Mathematics
  4. Natural sciences (biology, chemistry or physics)
  5. Humanities and social sciences (geography, history or economics/law)
  6. Elective (an additional language or an additional subject from category 4 or 5)

The general admission requirements to the Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg for holders of foreign school-leaving certificates as well as the admission requirements for individual countries are to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/countries/
In addition, foreign candidates must present proof of sufficient language skills in French or German.

The assessment of foreign school-leaving certificates is based on the «CRUS Recommendations for the Assessment of Foreign Upper Secondary School-Leaving Certificates, 7 September 2007» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07en). The admission requirements are valid for the respective academic year. The Rectorat of the University of Fribourg reserves the right to change these requirements at any time.

Special admission requirements
Candidates wishing to be admitted to the Bachelor of Arts in Speech and Language Therapy must satisfy both:
a) the admission requirements under Art. 6 of the Regulation on the Recognition of University Degrees in Speech and Language Therapy and University Degrees in Psychomotor Therapy of 3 November 2000;
b) and the following special admission requirements:

  1. Certification by a speech pathologist that the candidate's vocal organs, hearing and voice are normal;
  2. Certification by a speech therapist that the candidate has normal language ability, articulation and elocution, and vocal suitability;
  3. Perfect command of spoken and written German (speech therapy assessment);
  4. Confirmation of having completed a three-week career guidance course (78 lessons) in an approved speech therapy service.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

Logopédie

Résumé

Les logopédistes sont chargés d'identifier et de diagnostiquer les troubles du langage, de la parole, de la phonation, de la déglutition et de la lecture et de l'orthographe. Ils prodiguent des conseils et mettent en œuvre des thérapies et des mesures de soutien adaptées aux enfants, aux adolescents et aux adultes touchés par ces troubles.
Le programme de Bachelor dote les étudiantes et les étudiants de compétences scientifiques et techniques dans la perspective d'une activité professionnelle en logopédie pédagogique et/ou clinique. Son interdisciplinarité leur donne en outre accès à des connaissances fondamentales en pédagogie spécialisée, en linguistique, en médecine et en psychologie. Des stages et des travaux écrits complètent l'enseignement dispensé.
L'Université de Fribourg est la seule en Suisse alémanique à proposer une formation universitaire en logopédie. L'une de ses particularités réside dans l'offre de cours spécifiques visant à développer des compétences telles que l'autonomie, l'esprit critique ainsi que les capacités organisationnelles, d'analyse ou de communication des étudiantes et des étudiants.

Afficher le profil du programme d'études

Profil du programme d'études

La filière de Bachelor en logopédie proposée par l'Université de Fribourg est unique en Suisse alémanique. Le programme est conçu de façon modulaire. Cette formation à plein temps se déroule sur trois ans en allemand. Il s'agit de doter les étudiantes et les étudiants de compétences scientifiques et pratiques approfondies dans la perspective d'une future activité professionnelle en logopédie pédagogique et/ou clinique.
L'Université de Fribourg adopte une approche interdisciplinaire de cette discipline annexe de la pédagogie spécialisée. En vertu de cette démarche, au cours des cinq premiers semestres, les étudiantes et les étudiants acquièrent des connaissances fondamentales solides en pédagogie spécialisée, en linguistique, en médecine et en psychologie, qui complètent l'enseignement plus spécifique de la logopédie. La formation théorique comprend la production de travaux écrits (mémoire de Bachelor) sur des sujets ayant trait à la logopédie. Elle s'accompagne en outre, à partir de la deuxième année, de cours pratiques et de quatre stages intégrés au programme d'études, donnant également lieu à la rédaction d'un rapport. L'objectif est de faire le lien entre la théorie et la mise en application. Cette formation très riche et axée sur la pratique s'achève au bout de six semestres par un stage à plein temps de 18 semaines (et la rédaction du rapport correspondant). Les étudiantes et les étudiants passent aussi un examen pratique.

Profil fribourgeois
Les études de logopédie jouissent d'une bonne réputation, au niveau national comme à l'international, notamment grâce à l'alliance pertinente de connaissances scientifiques spécialisées avec des éléments de formation pratiques. L'ancrage universitaire de ce programme d'études, qui débouche sur une qualification professionnelle, favorise l'intégration à la formation de connaissances théoriques et empiriques sur des domaines connexes ainsi que la coopération entre chercheurs et enseignants dans plusieurs disciplines (logopédie, pédagogie spécialisée, linguistique ou psychologie).
La qualité hors pair de cette formation bien structurée s'appuie non seulement sur des bases scientifiques, mais aussi sur des méthodes d'enseignement-apprentissage très diversifiées. Les composantes classiques du cursus (cours et séminaires) sont complétées par une offre de cours ciblée visant à développer et à encourager activement l'autonomie, l'esprit critique, les capacités organisationnelles, d'analyse ou de communication ainsi que des compétences pratiques spécifiques chez les futurs logopédistes (cours de sensibilisation, stages, casuistique, supervision). Enfin, un système d'encadrement éprouvé garantit un accompagnement individuel des étudiantes et des étudiants en vue de l'obtention de leur diplôme.

Objectifs de formation et débouchés professionnels
Le diplôme universitaire en logopédie constitue une qualification professionnelle: ses détenteurs sont habilités à identifier et à diagnostiquer les troubles de la communication et du langage. Font également partie de leurs attributions la planification, l'exécution et l'évaluation des thérapies, des mesures de soutien et des conseils adaptés au traitement des troubles de la communication, du langage, de la parole, de la phonation, de la déglutition, de la lecture et de l'orthographe chez l'enfant, l'adolescent et l'adulte.
L'obtention de ce diplôme de Bachelor, reconnu par la Conférence suisse des directeurs cantonaux de l'instruction publique (CDIP), offre à ses titulaires de nombreuses options professionnelles en logopédie pédagogique et/ou clinique. Les diplômés exercent leur activité de logopédiste proprement dite dans divers cadres: structures dédiées à la petite enfance, écoles ordinaires (services ambulatoires), écoles spécialisées, hôpitaux, cliniques de réadaptation ou cabinets privés. A partir de deux ans d'expérience, ils ont en outre la possibilité de participer à la formation pratique des logopédistes (encadrement de stages).
L'obtention du diplôme universitaire en logopédie (Bachelor) est le critère formel d'admission à des études plus poussées (Master) en pédagogie spécialisée, en logopédie/pédagogie spécialisée du langage, ou dans des disciplines connexes comme la linguistique ou les sciences de l'éducation (en Suisse et à l'étranger).

Organisation des études

Structure des études

180 crédits ECTS, 6 semestres

Plan d'études

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/3PEvK (Allemand)

Admission

Les diplômes suisses de fin d'études suivants permettent une admission dans les voies d'études de Bachelor à l'Université de Fribourg:

  • Certificat de maturité gymnasiale ou maturités gymnasiales cantonales reconnues par la Confédération
  • Certificat de maturité professionnelle complété du certificat d'examen complémentaire de la Commission suisse de maturité (passerelle)
  • Diplôme de Bachelor d'une haute école universitaire, d'une haute école spécialisée reconnue (HES) ou d'une haute école pédagogique (HEP)

La liste de tous les autres diplômes suisses reconnus peut être consultée sur le site web de swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/fr/services/admission-a-luniversite/certificats-suisses/

Pour être reconnus, les diplômes étrangers de fin d'études doivent être équivalents, pour l'essentiel, à une maturité gymnasiale suisse; ils doivent être de formation générale. Un diplôme d'études secondaires supérieures est considéré de formation générale s'il porte sur six branches d'enseignement suivies en continu pendant les trois dernières années selon la liste suivante:

  1. Première langue (langue maternelle)
  2. Deuxième langue
  3. Mathématiques
  4. Sciences naturelles (biologie, chimie ou physique)
  5. Sciences humaines et sociales (géographie, histoire ou économie/droit)
  6. Branche à choix (soit une langue supplémentaire soit une branche parmi les branches 4 ou 5)

Les exigences générales d'admission dans les voies d'études de Bachelor à l'Université de Fribourg pour les diplômes étrangers de fin d'études ainsi que les conditions d'admission spécifiques pour chaque pays peuvent être trouvées sur le site web de swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/fr/services/admission-a-luniversite/pays/
De plus, les candidats étrangers et les candidates étrangères doivent apporter la preuve de compétences linguistiques suffisantes en français ou en allemand.

L'évaluation de diplômes étrangers de fin d'études se base sur les «Recommandations du 7 septembre 2007 de la CRUS relatives à l'évaluation des diplômes d'études secondaires supérieures étrangers» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07fr). Les conditions d'admission ne sont valables que pour l'année académique respective. Le Rectorat de l'Université de Fribourg se réserve le droit de les modifier à tout instant.

Conditions d'admission spécifiques
L'admission des candidates et candidats se destinant au Bachelor of Arts en logopédie suppose que soient remplies de façon cumulative:
a) les conditions d'admission énumérées à l'art. 6 du Règlement de la CDIP du 3 novembre 2000 concernant la reconnaissance des diplômes de hautes écoles de logopédie et des diplômes de hautes écoles de psychomotricité;
b) ainsi que les conditions spécifiques suivantes:

  1. un certificat d'un médecin phoniatre attestant de la normalité des organes de la parole, de l'articulation et de la voix;
  2. un certificat d'un orthophoniste attestant de la normalité de l'articulation, de l'élocution, du langage et de la voix;
  3. une parfaite maîtrise de la langue allemande orale et écrite (selon le bilan logopédique);
  4. une attestation de l'accomplissement d'un stage d'orientation professionnelle de trois semaines (78 leçons) dans un service de logopédie reconnu.