Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Theology

Abstract

In contrast to other university fields of study, theology has a guiding perspective of its own: it is fundamentally concerned with God and doctrine and thereby reflects its own position and that of the church in society. The critical work of theology is aimed at contributing to keeping the issues of value and truth alive in public discourse.
A many-faceted discipline, Theology is taught across five departments. The objective of the first three years is to gain the bachelor (180 ECTS credits) degree and to familiarise the students with theology by introducing them to its different fields

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

Theology also differs from other areas of science because it has a guiding perspective of its own: it is fundamentally concerned with God and creatures, to the extent that it refers to God as their origin and goal. It reflects its own position and that of the church in society. Theologians share responsibility for sustainable development with a human face on our planet. In view of the deregulation in the religious and ethical area (fundamentalist and esoteric movements) and in search of a peaceful co-existence of religions and cultures, the critical work of theology has a valuable contribution to make in keeping the public discourse about values and truth alive.
In this broad context, the Faculty of Theology works in the service of the church as a community as well as its individual parts, and in the service of society. The questioning and research, which characterise theology and which operate using different scientific methods, have a critical constructive function.

The Faculty of Theology of the University of Fribourg is the largest theological faculty in Switzerland and very cosmopolitan in spirit. It is one of two Catholic theological faculties that are integrated into a state university and is subject to state law, as are the other Faculties of the University, but at the same time is recognised by the Church authorities and supported by the Dominican Order and the Swiss Conference of Bishops.
The Faculty is unique in Europe in being completely bilingual. The courses can be attended in German or French, or in both languages (distinction «Bilingual curriculum, French/German»). More than half of the professors and almost half of the students are from abroad. The Faculty and University life are characterised by the spirit of cosmopolitan Catholicism, giving prominence and recognition to Fribourg as a place of study

In principle, students have the possibility of completing a part of their studies at a partner university or continuing them at a university that is a part of a network to which the University of Fribourg belongs.

Career openings
In view of the many theological fields, it makes sense to continue studies with a master study programme at the Faculty of Theology.
The study of theology opens up career prospects in public social and cultural facilities, mediation, the publishing industry, human resources, social work and psychological counselling, counselling centres for religion and worldview issues (interreligious dialogue) and ethics counselling, as well as in adult education and journalism. This study programme trains future priests, pastoral assistants, and teachers (see «Teacher Education for Secondary Level»).
For those students who are preparing for service within the Church, the Swiss dioceses offer a mandatory academic advice programme. It encompasses spiritual orientation, practice of living in community and specific elements of preparation for pastoral service. The regents of the seminaries of the dioceses act as contacts.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

180 ECTS credits, 6 semesters

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/cOigT (French)
http://studies.unifr.ch/go/llH5R (German)

Admission

The following Swiss school-leaving certificates grant admission to bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg:

  • Swiss academic Maturity Certificate
  • Federal vocational or specialised Baccalaureate + supplementary examination of the Swiss Maturity Commission (passerelle)
  • Bachelor Degree from a Swiss university, from an accredited Swiss university of applied sciences (HES/FH) or from a Swiss university of teacher education (HEP/PH)

A complete list of all further recognised Swiss school-leaving certificates is to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities (in French and German only): http://studies.unifr.ch/go/en-admission-swiss-certificates

Foreign upper secondary school-leaving certificates are recognised only if they correspond substantially to the Swiss Maturity Certificate. They must qualify as general education. Foreign school-leaving certificates are considered to be general education if the last three years of schooling include at least six general education subjects, independent from each other, in accordance with the following list:

  1. First language (native language)
  2. Second language
  3. Mathematics
  4. Natural sciences (biology or chemistry or physics)
  5. Humanities and social sciences (geography or history or economics/law)
  6. Elective (computer sciences or philosophy or an additional language or an additional subject from category 4 or 5)

The general admission requirements to the bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg for holders of foreign school-leaving certificates as well as the admission requirements for individual countries are to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities: http://studies.unifr.ch/go/en-admission-countrylist
In addition, foreign candidates must present proof of sufficient language skills in French or German.

The assessment of foreign school-leaving certificates is based on the «CRUS Recommendations for the Assessment of Foreign Upper Secondary School-Leaving Certificates, 7 September 2007» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07en). The admission requirements are valid for the respective academic year. The Rectorat of the University of Fribourg reserves the right to change these requirements at any time.

Alternatives

Also offered as a minor study programme (60/30 ECTS credits).

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

Théologie

Résumé

Contrairement à d'autres domaines universitaires, la théologie a un fil conducteur qui lui est propre: elle s'intéresse essentiellement à Dieu et à la religion. En ce sens, elle reflète sa propre position et celle de l'Eglise dans la société. Le travail critique de la théologie vise à faire en sorte que les questions de valeur et de vérité restent vivantes dans le discours public.
La Faculté de théologie catholique de Fribourg est la principale faculté de théologie suisse. Elle est empreinte d'un esprit ouvert sur le monde.
Le noyau dur de la formation théologique est constitué par les cursus pour la préparation de futurs prêtres, d'assistantes et assistants pastoraux, ainsi que d'enseignantes et enseignants du degré secondaire.

Afficher le profil du programme d'études

Profil du programme d'études

La théologie se distingue des autres disciplines scientifiques par un fil conducteur qui lui est propre: fondamentalement, son objet est Dieu et les créatures en ce qu'elles se rapportent à Dieu comme leur origine et leur fin. Elle reflète sa propre position et celle de l'Eglise dans la société. Les théologiennes et les théologiens partagent la responsabilité relative à la promotion d'un développement durable et à visage humain sur notre planète. Face à la dérégulation du domaine religieux et éthique (courants fondamentalistes et ésotériques) et dans le cadre de sa recherche d'une coexistence pacifique entre les religions et les cultures, le travail critique de la théologie devrait apporter une contribution utile et faire en sorte que les questions de valeur et de vérité restent vivantes dans le discours social.
Dans ce contexte très large, la Faculté de théologie est au service de l'Eglise en tant que communauté, mais aussi de ses membres en tant qu'individus et de la société. Les questionnements et la recherche menée en théologie selon différentes méthodes scientifiques remplissent une fonction à la fois critique et constructive.

La Faculté de théologie de l'Université de Fribourg est la principale faculté de théologie suisse. Il s'agit de l'une des deux facultés de théologie catholique intégrées à une université d'Etat. Comme les autres facultés de l'Université, elle est soumise à la loi fédérale, mais elle bénéficie également de la reconnaissance des autorités ecclésiastiques ainsi que du soutien de l'Ordre des dominicains et de la Conférence des évêques suisses.
Le bilinguisme complet de la Faculté est unique en Europe. Plus de la moitié du corps professoral et des étudiantes et étudiants viennent de l'étranger. L'esprit d'un catholicisme ouvert sur le monde caractérise la vie de la Faculté et, plus généralement, de l'ensemble de l'Université. Il vaut au site universitaire de Fribourg une réputation et une reconnaissance internationales.

En principe, les étudiantes et étudiants ont la possibilité de suivre une partie de leur formation dans une université partenaire ou membre d'un réseau auquel est liée l'Université de Fribourg.

Débouchés
Compte tenu de la multitude des domaines relevant de la théologie, il est judicieux de poursuivre par l'un des programmes de Master proposés par la Faculté.

Pour les étudiantes et les étudiants qui se préparent à un ministère ecclésial, les évêchés suisses proposent un accompagnement d'études obligatoire. Ce dernier comprend un accompagnement spirituel, une expérience de vie en communauté et des éléments de formation spécifiques au service pastoral. Pour plus d'informations, contacter les régents des séminaires diocésains.

Le noyau dur de la formation théologique est assurément constitué par les cursus pour la préparation de futurs prêtres, d'assistantes pastorales ou d'assistants pastoraux, ainsi que d'enseignantes ou d'enseignants (voir «Enseignement au degré secondaire»). Les études de théologie ouvrent cependant aussi des perspectives professionnelles dans des établissements publics et socioculturels, dans l'édition, dans la gestion des ressources humaines, dans le domaine social et de l'accompagnement psychologique, auprès d'offices et de bureaux de conseil spécialisés dans la religion et la «Weltanschauung», mais aussi dans le domaine de la formation continue pour adultes et dans le journalisme.

Organisation des études

Structure des études

180 crédits ECTS, 6 semestres

Plan d'études

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/Ls2wE

Admission

Les diplômes suisses de fin d'études suivants permettent une admission dans les voies d'études de Bachelor à l'Université de Fribourg:

  • Certificat de maturité gymnasiale ou maturités gymnasiales cantonales reconnues par la Confédération
  • Certificat de maturité professionnelle complété du certificat d'examen complémentaire de la Commission suisse de maturité (passerelle)
  • Diplôme de Bachelor d'une haute école universitaire, d'une haute école spécialisée reconnue (HES) ou d'une haute école pédagogique (HEP)

La liste de tous les autres diplômes suisses reconnus peut être consultée sur le site web de swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/fr/services/admission-a-luniversite/certificats-suisses/

Pour être reconnus, les diplômes étrangers de fin d'études doivent être équivalents, pour l'essentiel, à une maturité gymnasiale suisse; ils doivent être de formation générale. Un diplôme d'études secondaires supérieures est considéré de formation générale s'il porte sur six branches d'enseignement suivies en continu pendant les trois dernières années selon la liste suivante:

  1. Première langue (langue maternelle)
  2. Deuxième langue
  3. Mathématiques
  4. Sciences naturelles (biologie, chimie ou physique)
  5. Sciences humaines et sociales (géographie, histoire ou économie/droit)
  6. Branche à choix (soit une langue supplémentaire soit une branche parmi les branches 4 ou 5)

Les exigences générales d'admission dans les voies d'études de Bachelor à l'Université de Fribourg pour les diplômes étrangers de fin d'études ainsi que les conditions d'admission spécifiques pour chaque pays peuvent être trouvées sur le site web de swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/fr/services/admission-a-luniversite/pays/
De plus, les candidats étrangers et les candidates étrangères doivent apporter la preuve de compétences linguistiques suffisantes en français ou en allemand.

L'évaluation de diplômes étrangers de fin d'études se base sur les «Recommandations du 7 septembre 2007 de la CRUS relatives à l'évaluation des diplômes d'études secondaires supérieures étrangers» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07fr). Les conditions d'admission ne sont valables que pour l'année académique respective. Le Rectorat de l'Université de Fribourg se réserve le droit de les modifier à tout instant.

Variantes

Est également offert en tant que programme d'études secondaires (60/30 crédits ECTS).