Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

 

Archaeology

Fribourg profile

Classical archaeology deals with the Mediterranean Basin in Antiquity, and in particular the Greek and Roman world from the Minoan period to the end of the Roman Empire.
Archaeology investigates the material and iconographic evidence left by past civilisations: architecture, sculpture, urban planning, painting, mosaics and small objects (bone artefacts, glass, pottery, gems, money, etc.), as well as the information supplied by bioarchaeology, earth and material sciences (paleopathology, analysis of organic and non-organic products), and written sources. The PhD course is mainly in French and German, but theses may also be written in another language (such as English or Italian).

At the University of Fribourg, the Archaeology domain is at the crossroads of various disciplines (art history, ancient history, philology, literature, philosophy, anthropology, history of religion, etc.). The multidisciplinary approach gives candidates a grasp of the different aspects of Greek and Roman culture in both the material and imaginary dimension. Candidates are given in-depth training in systems of visual representation, the strategies of which vary depending on the support (pottery, intaglios, wall paintings, mosaics, etc.). Social history and how ancient economies functioned are the principal themes of current research, with particular emphasis on the culture of play, votive, divinatory and magical practices, the history of the body and medicine, and the history of children and women. The history of collections and the reception of antiquity at later periods are also addressed.

The Archaeology domain encourages basic research as well as work with a more practical approach. Besides writing a thesis, numerous additional opportunities are open to candidates, such as taking part in and/or organising seminars, study days, field trips, exhibitions, teaching, etc.

The PhD course is accompanied by a varied doctoral programme, which enables candidates to enhance their skills and build the national and international network of contacts crucial for an academic career. These regular scientific meetings are an invitation to deepen, develop and propagate knowledge of the past.

The PhD consists in writing and defending in public a piece of research written by the PhD student in close collaboration with his/her thesis supervisor (and co-supervisor). By way of example, theses are currently being written on the following subjects in the Archaeology domain:

  • Anthropology of the image: study of the agency of children in classical Greek pottery
  • Archaeology of the economy: places of trade in the Iberian Peninsula, food-related practices
  • Archaeology of the family and kinship
  • Archaeology of medical practice in Italy and the Roman provinces
  • Artistic transfer and cultural interactions (amulets, astrological iconography, engraved stones, from ancient Egypt to the end of Antiquity)
  • Spatial and visual strategies of religion
  • The different players in artistic and architectural production (artisans, sponsors, etc.)
  • Archaeology and bioarchaeology (paleopathology, isotopic analysis, analysis of organic products, etc.)

Professors who are eligible to supervise theses

  • Prof. Véronique Dasen

Areas of specialisation:
– Greek and roman iconography and material culture (Greek pottery, intaglios, etc.)
– Archaeology and anthropology of ancient play culture
– Archaeology and anthropology of the body (medicine and health, corporal customs and practices)
– Archaeology and iconography of magical and votive practices, astrology
– Material culture and iconography of women, children, gender studies

  • Prof. Nathan Badoud

Areas of specialisation:
– Archaeology of the Rhodian world
– Archaeology of the economy
– Amphorae and amphora stamps
– Relations between Rome and the Greek world
– Sculpture and its function

  • PD Dr. Ulrich Schädler

Areas of specialisation:
– Architecture and sculpture (portrait)
– History of play culture
– History of archaeological collections
– Ancient urban planning

Theses can be supervised in French, German, English or Italian.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

No ECTS credits can be earned.

Doctoral school

https://antiquite.cuso.ch/edocsa-accueil/
https://gender.cuso.ch

Admission

In order to be admitted to a doctorate the candidate must have been awarded an academic bachelor's and master's degree or an equivalent qualification by an university recognised by the University of Fribourg.

Before applying for a doctorate the candidate must contact a professor who would be willing to supervise the thesis work.

There is no general right to be admitted to a doctorate.

The respective conditions of admission for each doctoral study programme are reserved.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

 

Archéologie

Profil fribourgeois

L'archéologie classique concerne le bassin méditerranéen antique, et plus particulièrement le monde grec et romain, de l'époque minoenne à la fin de l'Empire romain.
L'archéologie s'intéresse aux témoignages matériels et iconographiques transmis par les civilisations passées : architecture, sculpture, urbanisme, peinture, mosaïques, petits objets (tabletterie, verre, céramique, gemmes, monnaies etc.), ainsi qu'aux informations livrées par la bioarchéologie, les sciences de la terre et des matériaux (paléopathologie, analyse des produits organiques et non-organiques…), sans négliger les sources écrites. Le cursus d'études doctorales est principalement en langue française et allemande, mais il est aussi possible de réaliser sa thèse dans une autre langue (anglais, italien…).

A l'Université de Fribourg, le domaine d'études Archéologie est situé au croisement de différentes disciplines (histoire de l'art, histoire ancienne, philologie, littérature, philosophie, anthropologie, histoire des religions…). Une approche pluridisciplinaire permet de saisir les différentes facettes de la culture grecque et romaine dans sa matérialité et sa dimension imaginaire. Une formation approfondie concerne les systèmes de représentations visuelles dont les stratégies varient selon les supports (céramique, intailles, peinture murale, mosaïque…). L'histoire sociale et le fonctionnement des économies antiques constituent les axes des recherches en cours, avec un accent particulier sur la culture ludique, les pratiques votives, divinatoires et la magie, l'histoire du corps et de la médecine, l'histoire de l'enfant et des femmes. L'histoire des collections et de la réception de l'Antiquité aux époques postérieures est également abordée.

Le domaine d'études encourage tant la recherche fondamentale que les travaux orientés vers le monde pratique. Diverses autres opportunités peuvent accompagner la rédaction de la thèse: participation et/ou organisation de colloques, journées d'études, voyages d'études, expositions, enseignement, etc.

Le parcours des candidates et candidats au doctorat est accompagné par un programme doctoral varié qui permet d'enrichir les compétences et de développer le réseau national et international indispensable à la réalisation d'une carrière académique. Ces rencontres scientifiques régulières invitent à approfondir, construire et diffuser nos connaissances du passé.

Le doctorat consiste en l'élaboration et la soutenance publique d'un travail de recherche conduit en étroite collaboration entre la doctorante/le doctorant et sa directrice/son directeur (et co-directrice/co-directeur) de thèse. A titre d'exemple, les thèses actuellement menées au sein du Domaine d'études concernent les thèmes suivants:

  • Anthropologie de l'image: étude de l'agentivité des enfants dans la céramique grecque classique
  • Archéologie de l'économie: les lieux de commerce dans la péninsule ibérique, les pratiques liées à l'alimentation
  • Archéologie de la famille et de la parenté
  • Archéologie de la pratique médicale en Italie et dans les provinces romaines
  • Les transferts artistiques et les interactions culturelles (amulettes, iconographie astrologique, pierres gravées, de l'ancienne Egypte à la fin de l'Antiquité)
  • Les stratégies spatiales et visuelles du sacré
  • Les différents acteurs de la production artistique et architecturale (artisans, commanditaires…)
  • Archéologie et bioarchéologie (paléopathologie, analyses isotopiques, analyses de produits organiques…)

Professeures et professeurs habilités à diriger les thèses de doctorat

  • Prof. Véronique Dasen

Domaines de spécialisation:
– Iconographie et culture matérielle grecque et romaine (céramique grecque, intailles…)
– Archéologie et anthropologie de la culture ludique antique
– Archéologie et anthropologie du corps (médecine et santé, usages et pratiques corporelles)
– Archéologie et iconographie des pratiques magiques et votives, astrologie
– Culture matérielle et iconographie des femmes, de l'enfant, études genre

  • Prof. Nathan Badoud

Domaines de spécialisation:
– Archéologie du monde rhodien
– Archéologie de l'économie
– Amphores et timbres amphoriques
– Rapports entre Rome et le monde grec
– La sculpture et son fonctionnement

  • PD Dr. Ulrich Schädler

Domaines de spécialisation:
– Architecture et sculpture (portrait)
– Histoire de la culture ludique
– Histoire des collections archéologiques
– Urbanisme antique

Direction des thèses en français, en allemand, en anglais ou en italien.

Organisation des études

Structure des études

Pas de possibilité d'acquérir des crédits ECTS.

École doctorale

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/phd-archaeology
https://antiquite.cuso.ch/edocsa-accueil/
https://gender.cuso.ch

Admission

Pour pouvoir être admis au doctorat, il faut être titulaire d'un diplôme de Bachelor et d'un diplôme de Master universitaires, délivrés par une université reconnue par l'Université de Fribourg, ou de diplômes équivalents.

Avant l'inscription au doctorat, il est exigé de prendre contact avec un professeur ou une professeure qui se montre prêt à superviser la thèse.

Il n'existe pas de droit à être admis au doctorat.

Les conditions d'admission propres à chaque programme d'études de Doctorat sont réservées.