Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

 
 

Contemporary History

Fribourg profile

The doctorate is the third level of training and research at the University of Fribourg. It consists of the independent conceptualisation, formulation and conduct of a research project which is innovative in its content and methods and is an enrichment to research.

Doctoral studies in Contemporary History can be undertaken following a Master's degree in Contemporary History or History, or following a Master's degree in a related discipline of social sciences or cultural studies. In the latter case, further academic qualifications may be required. At the same time, doctoral students conclude a doctoral agreement which regulates the key steps and tasks during their doctoral studies. After about one year, doctoral students submit a concept of their thesis project.

The Contemporary History Domain offers a dynamic, stimulating and encouraging scientific and social environment and a clear, organisational framework for the pursuit of a doctorate. Great importance is attached to scientific exchange and interdisciplinary cooperation. Doctoral students receive guidance on content and methods, including support in seeking funding. The compatibility of doctoral studies and family life is also a key concern. The Contemporary History Domain encourages periods of research at universities abroad as well as joint supervision of the doctorate at the University of Fribourg and a foreign university via the programme «Cotutelles de thèse/Gemeinsame Dissertationsbetreuung».

The doctorate in Contemporary History offers an outstanding qualification, not only for further research and an academic career, but also for leadership roles and executive positions in a wide array of occupational fields, such as museums, archives, the diplomatic service, communal, cantonal and federal administration, publishing companies, etc.

Doctoral training
Contemporary History offers a number of courses for training at doctoral level: The interdisciplinary doctoral programme Migration and Postcoloniality Meet Switzerland, financed by swissuniversities, deals with various dimensions of inclusion and exclusion and, among other things, looks at present-day migration in the context of the postcolonial present and the colonial past. Further offers are the CUSO Programme doctoral en histoire contemporaine (PDHC), doctoral students' colloquia with presentation of thesis projects, «Study Days Contemporary History» with text readings at a more intensive level, and the «Fribourg Forum for Contemporary History». A core objective of these training and complementary training formats is to promote scientific exchange and to network several disciplines and universities with one another.

Key areas of research
The Contemporary History Domain is the largest of its kind in Switzerland and covers the entire spectrum of Contemporary History as Swiss and European as well as global Contemporary History. In addition to this, the professors in this field have developed focal points and research networks on specific themes.

Professors who are eligible to supervise theses

  • Prof. Alain Clavien

Areas of specialisation:
– Intellectual history
– Press history
– Cultural history
– History of the labour movement

  • Prof. Jean-Francois Fayet

Areas of specialisation:
– Social and cultural history of politics
– International relations
– Humanitarianism
– Media
– Russian and Soviet world

  • Prof. Claude Hauser

Areas of specialisation:
– Intellectual history
– History of international cultural relationships
– History of the Second World War
– History of Jura region and national minorities

  • Prof. Anne-Francoise Praz

Areas of specialisation:
– History of childhood and education
– History of social and family policies
– Historical demography and population policies
– Women's history and gender history

  • Prof. Damir Skenderovic

Areas of specialisation:
– European and Swiss contemporary history
– Political and cultural history
– History of political parties
– Right-wing populism, radical right
– Countercultures, 68 movement, life reform movement
– Migration History
– Colonial history

  • Prof. Christina Späti

Areas of specialisation:
– Swiss, European and Canadian contemporary history
– Language politics and bilingualism
– Orientalism
– Antisemitism and anti-Zionism
– History of the left, 68 movement
– Post-history of National Socialism

  • Prof. Siegfried Weichlein

Areas of specialisation:
– European contemporary history
– Political and cultural history
– Nationalism
– Regionalism
– Federalism
– Labour movement
– Modern religious history
– Cultural history of the Cold War
– Political iconography
– Transatlantic history
– History of Zionism and the State of Israel

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

No ECTS credits can be earned.

Doctoral school

https://histoire.cuso.ch/contemporaine/accueil/
https://lettres.unifr.ch/de/hist/gmzg/doktoratsprogramm.html

Admission

In order to be admitted to a doctorate the candidate must have been awarded an academic Bachelor's and Master's degree or an equivalent qualification by a university recognised by the University of Fribourg.

Before applying for a doctorate the candidate should contact a professor who would be willing to supervise the thesis work.

There is no general right to be admitted to a doctorate.

The respective conditions of admission for each doctoral study programme are reserved.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

 
 

Histoire contemporaine

Profil fribourgeois

Le doctorat est le troisième niveau de la formation et de la recherche à l'Université de Fribourg. Il s'agit de parvenir à conceptualiser, formuler et mener à bien un projet de recherche de façon autonome. Celui-ci doit être novateur en termes de contenu et de méthodologie. Il doit en outre enrichir la recherche.

Les études doctorales en histoire contemporaine sont ouvertes aux titulaires d'un Master en histoire contemporaine ou en histoire. Les étudiantes et étudiants ayant obtenu un Master dans une branche d'études connexe des sciences sociales ou culturelles peuvent également soumettre une demande d'admission dans cette voie. Pour ces candidates et candidats, des prestations d'études supplémentaires peuvent toutefois être exigées. Parallèlement, les doctorantes et doctorants signent une convention, qui fixe les grandes étapes et le contenu imposé des études doctorales. Ces derniers présentent le concept de leur projet de thèse au bout d'environ un an.

Le domaine d'études Histoire contemporaine propose un environnement scientifique et social dynamique, stimulant et bienveillant, ainsi qu'un cadre organisationnel clair pour la préparation des thèses. Les échanges scientifiques et une collaboration interdisciplinaire sont fortement encouragés. Les doctorantes et doctorants sont dirigés pour le choix du contenu de leur thèse et de la méthode de travail. Cet encadrement inclut la recherche de sources de financement. Une grande importance est également accordée à la conciliation entre préparation de la thèse et vie de famille. Le domaine d'études Histoire contemporaine valorise les séjours de recherche dans des universités étrangères. Il encourage par ailleurs les préparations de thèse sous la direction de deux directeurs différents, l'un à Fribourg et l'autre dans une université étrangère, via le programme «Cotutelles de thèse».

Le doctorat en histoire contemporaine offre des qualifications de premier ordre, non seulement en vue de la poursuite d'activités de recherche et d'un parcours universitaire, mais aussi pour assurer des fonctions de direction et de cadre dans une série de secteurs (musées, archives, services diplomatiques, administrations communales, cantonales et fédérales, édition, etc.).

Formation doctorale
La formation doctorale en histoire contemporaine comprend plusieurs pans: le programme doctoral interdisciplinaire intitulé Migration and Postcoloniality meet Switzerland s'intéresse aux différentes dimensions de l'intégration et de l'exclusion et examine, entre autres, les phénomènes migratoires actuels dans les contextes post-colonial d'aujourd'hui et colonial d'hier. S'ajoutent à cela le Programme doctoral en histoire contemporaine (PDHC) de la CUSO, des colloques de doctorantes et doctorants destinés à la présentation des projets de thèse, des journées d'études spécialisées avec des lectures de textes approfondies, ainsi que le «Forum fribourgeois pour l'histoire contemporaine». L'un des principaux objectifs de ces types de formation et de perfectionnement est de favoriser les échanges scientifiques, l'interdisciplinarité et la mise en réseau des universités.

Les grands axes de la recherche
Le domaine d'études Histoire contemporaine est le plus vaste de son genre en Suisse. Il couvre tout l'éventail de l'histoire contemporaine suisse, européenne et même mondiale. Les professeures et professeurs ont par ailleurs développé de grandes orientations et constitué des réseaux de recherche sur des thèmes précis.

Professeurs habilités à diriger les thèses de doctorat

  • Prof. Alain Clavien

Domaines de spécialisation:
– Histoire intellectuelle
– Histoire des médias
– Histoire culturelle
– Histoire du mouvement ouvrier

  • Prof. Jean-Francois Fayet

Domaines de spécialisation:
– Histoire sociale et culturelle du fait politique
– Relations internationales
– Humanitaire
– Média
– Le monde russe et soviétique

  • Prof. Claude Hauser

Domaines de spécialisation:
– Histoire des intellectuels
– Histoire des relations culturelles internationales
– Histoire de la Seconde Guerre mondiale
– Histoire de l'arc jurassien et des minorités nationales

  • Prof. Anne-Francoise Praz

Domaines de spécialisation:
– Histoire de l'enfance et de la jeunesse
– Histoire des politiques sociales et familiales
– Démographie historique et politiques de population
– Histoire des femmes et du genre

  • Prof. Damir Skenderovic

Domaines de spécialisation:
– Histoire contemporaine européenne et suisse
– Histoire politique et culturelle
– Histoire des partis politiques
– Populisme de droite, droite radicale
– Contre-cultures, mouvement de mai 68, mouvement naturiste
– Histoire des migrations
– Histoire coloniale

  • Prof. Christina Späti

Domaines de spécialisation:
– Histoire contemporaine suisse, européenne et canadienne
– Politique linguistique et bilinguisme
– Orientalisme
– Antisémitisme et antisionisme
– Histoire de la gauche politique et mouvement de mai 68
– Posthistoire du national-socialisme

  • Prof. Siegfried Weichlein

Domaines de spécialisation:
– Histoire contemporaine européenne
– Histoire politique et culturelle
– Nationalisme
– Régionalisme
– Fédéralisme
– Mouvement ouvrier
– Histoire moderne des religions
– Histoire culturelle de la Guerre froide
– Iconographie politique
– Histoire transatlantique
– Histoire du sionisme et de l'Etat d'Israël

Organisation des études

Structure des études

Pas de possibilité d'acquérir des crédits ECTS.

École doctorale

https://histoire.cuso.ch/contemporaine/accueil/
https://lettres.unifr.ch/fr/hist/gmzg/doktoratsprogramm.html

Admission

Pour pouvoir être admis au doctorat, il faut être titulaire d'un diplôme de Bachelor et d'un diplôme de Master universitaires, délivrés par une université reconnue par l'Université de Fribourg, ou de diplômes équivalents.

Avant l'inscription au doctorat, il est conseillé de prendre contact avec un professeur ou une professeure qui accepterait d'être le directeur ou la directrice de thèse.

Il n'existe pas de droit à être admis au doctorat.

Les conditions d'admission propres à chaque programme d'études de Doctorat sont réservées.