Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

 
 

Environmental Humanities

Fribourg profile

Research in the Environmental Sciences Domain is based on an interdisciplinary, interfaculty and humanistic approach. The objective of the Environmental Humanities doctoral programme is to scrutinise environmental challenges and methods for resolving problems in the fields of the environment, sustainability and climate change from a humanistic perspective. It therefore places a particular emphasis on ethical issues and the challenges of normative justice.

Content and areas of research
The doctoral programme focusses on an individual research project carried out with in three to four years, supervised by the Chair for Environmental Humanities. At the end of their PhD, students must produce a thesis. Research by doctoral students can be part of an ongoing research project in the Environmental Sciences Domain or an independent study relevant to the research conducted in the Environmental Sciences Domain.
Current research in the Environmental Sciences Domain is geared to issues of justice and conceptual questions about the differentiation of responsibilities in dealing with environmental challenges. The overarching objective of this research is to devise ethically viable and interdisciplinary implementable solutions to environmental challenges from a wide range of policy domains, spheres of life and scientific disciplines. The research areas in the Environmental Sciences Domain are:

– Environmental justice in an interdisciplinary context
In empirical research on environmental justice, unequal environmental burdens are usually automatically considered as injustices. However, from a normative perspective, this is not necessarily the case. This research field investigates both the appropriate distribution of environmental risks and burdens, as well as the fair differentiation of responsibilities with a view to the implementation of corresponding measures. One particular focus is on measures for climate adaptation, issues concerning climate loss and damage, and implementing geoengineering technologies.

– Institutions for sustainable environmental policy
Implementing environmental protection and climate measures presents a challenge for conventional national governance structures. Environmental challenges are not limited to existing national borders, and their consequences have an impact that reaches far into the future. This area of research investigates the institutional structures aimed at ensuring sustainable, efficient and effective environmental policy. Of particular interest here are, firstly, democratic institutions for more sustainable policy. A second focus lies on the requisite conditions that allow collective actors, such as states, to exercise their environmental responsibilities.

– Ethical decision-making for environmental practice
Where environmental issues are concerned, ethical studies usually deal with the justification of environmental measures, but rarely with the ethical challenges that arise from implementing environmental protection and climate action. This area of research addresses the implementation of environmental or climate measures. The declared objective is to develop tools for analysing and resolving ethical conflicts in environmental practice. Inspired by environmental pragmatism and established practices in clinical and nursing ethics, tools for ethical decision-making are developed and applied to selected case studies.

Skills acquired
A doctorate in Environmental Humanities further developes your capacity in analytical thinking, precise reasoning and detecting the normative implications of measures for implementing policy or social requirements in environmental practice. In addition, you will acquire in-depth scientific, social and legal knowledge in the context of your research subject. Wherever possible, the research projects are carried out in cooperation with researchers from other disciplines, or with staff from government institutions. In addition, doctoral students can attend lecture series and take part in vocational training courses, publication projects, and national and international conferences. Where possible they will be involved in teaching.

Funding and salary
Doctoral research is financed either through assistant positions in the Environmental Sciences Domain or through third-party funding acquired by the supervisor or the doctoral candidate her- or himself. Salaries of employed doctoral candidates correspond to the standards of the Faculty of Science and Medicine. Vacancies for doctoral candidates are published on the News page of the Environmental Sciences Domain (https://www3.unifr.ch/env/de/info/news/).

Supervisors
PhD theses in Environmental Humanities are supervised by Prof. Ivo Wallimann-Helmer.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

No ECTS credits can be earned.

Doctoral school

-

Admission

In order to be admitted to a doctorate the candidate must have been awarded an academic bachelor's and master's degree or an equivalent qualification by an university recognised by the University of Fribourg.

Before applying for a doctorate the candidate must contact a professor who would be willing to supervise the thesis work.

There is no general right to be admitted to a doctorate.

The respective conditions of admission for each doctoral study programme are reserved.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

 

Humanités environnementales

Profil fribourgeois

La recherche dans le Domaine des Sciences de l'environnement présente un caractère interdisciplinaire, interfacultaire et humanitaire. Le programme de doctorat en humanités environnementales a pour but la réflexion humanitaire sur les défis environnementaux et les stratégies politiques dans les domaines de l'environnement, de la durabilité et du changement climatique. L'accent est particulièrement mis sur les problématiques éthiques et les défis normatifs de justice.

Contenus et champs de recherche
Encadré par la chaire en humanités environnementales, ce programme de doctorat repose sur un projet de recherche personnel mené sur une période de trois à quatre ans par les doctorantes et les doctorants. Il a pour résultat la thèse. Cette recherche peut s'inscrire dans un projet de recherche en cours dans le Domaine des Sciences de l'environnement ou constituer une étude indépendante et pertinente pour la recherche dans ce domaine.
La recherche dans le Domaine des Sciences de l'environnement porte actuellement sur des problématiques de justice et des questions conceptuelles visant à différencier les responsabilités dans le cadre des défis environnementaux. L'objectif supérieur de cette recherche est de trouver des solutions interdisciplinaires et éthiquement viables qui soient à même de répondre aux défis environnementaux de divers domaines politiques et de la vie, ainsi que de disciplines scientifiques. Le Domaine des Sciences de l'environnement propose les domaines de recherche suivants:

– La justice environnementale dans un contexte interdisciplinaire
Dans la recherche empirique sur la justice environnementale, les inégalités environnementales sont systématiquement considérées comme des injustices. Or, d'une perspective normative, ces injustices ne se confirment pas nécessairement. Ce domaine de recherche s'intéresse à une juste répartition des charges et des risques liés à l'environnement, ainsi qu'à une différenciation équitable des responsabilités dans la mise en œuvre des mesures correspondantes. Il accorde une attention particulière aux mesures d'adaptation au changement climatique, à l'approche relative aux dommages et pertes écologiques et à l'adoption de technologies de géo-ingénierie.

– Les institutions en charge d'une politique de l'environnement durable
La mise en œuvre d'une protection environnementale et de mesures climatiques pose un défi aux structures actuelles de gouvernance axées sur les Etats-nations. Les défis environnementaux ne s'arrêtent pas aux frontières nationales et leur impact se fait ressentir à long terme. Ce domaine de recherche étudie les structures institutionnelles dédiées à la sécurisation d'une politique environnementale durable, efficiente et effective. Il porte en particulier sur les institutions démocratiques en charge d'une politique plus durable et sur les conditions préalables pour que les acteurs collectifs, dont les Etats, assument leur responsabilité en matière d'environnement.

– Les outils de décision éthiques pour la pratique environnementale
Dans le domaine environnemental, les problématiques éthiques traitent souvent de la justification de mesures environnementales, mais rarement des défis éthiques qui découlent de la mise en œuvre de mesures de protection environnementale ou de mesures climatiques. Ce domaine de recherche accompagne la mise en œuvre de mesures environnementales et climatiques. Il a pour ambition de développer des outils pour analyser et résoudre des situations conflictuelles éthiques dans la pratique environnementale. Inspirés par le pragmatisme environnemental et les pratiques d'éthique clinique et de soin, les outils de décision sont développés et améliorés dans des études de cas sélectionnées.

Compétences acquises
Un doctorat en humanités environnementales permet de développer une pensée analytique en usant d'arguments précis et d'identifier les implications normatives des mesures de mise en œuvre de revendications politiques ou sociales dans le domaine de la pratique environnementale. De plus, il permet aux doctorantes et doctorants d'acquérir des connaissances approfondies en sciences naturelles, sciences sociales et droit dans leur sujet de recherche. Dans la mesure du possible, les projets de recherche sont menés en coopération avec des chercheuses et des chercheurs d'autres disciplines ou des membres de l'administration. Enfin, les doctorantes et les doctorants peuvent participer à des séries de conférences, des cours de formation continue professionnelle, des projets de publication ainsi qu'à des congrès nationaux ou internationaux et, le cas échéant, être impliqués dans l'enseignement.

Financement et rémunération
Dans le cadre du programme de Doctorat, la recherche est financée soit par des postes d'assistants dans le Domaine des Sciences de l'environnement soit par des fonds tiers obtenus par le directeur de thèse ou le doctorant lui-même. Les doctorantes et les doctorants sont rémunérés selon les barèmes de la Faculté de sciences et de médecine de l'Université de Fribourg. Les offres de postes de doctorantes et de doctorants sont publiées sur la page News du Domaine des Sciences de l'environnement (https://www3.unifr.ch/env/fr/info/news/).

Directrices/Directeurs de thèse
Les thèses en humanités environnementales sont encadrées par le Prof. Ivo Wallimann-Helmer.

Organisation des études

Structure des études

Pas de possibilité d'acquérir des crédits ECTS.

École doctorale

-

Admission

Pour pouvoir être admis au doctorat, il faut être titulaire d'un diplôme de Bachelor et d'un diplôme de Master universitaires, délivrés par une université reconnue par l'Université de Fribourg, ou de diplômes équivalents.

Avant l'inscription au doctorat, il est exigé de prendre contact avec un professeur ou une professeure qui se montre prêt à superviser la thèse.

Il n'existe pas de droit à être admis au doctorat.

Les conditions d'admission propres à chaque programme d'études de Doctorat sont réservées.