Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

 

Islam and Society

Fribourg profile

The Swiss Centre for Islam and Society (SZIG) is a national centre of excellence for current social issues related to Islam in Switzerland. It pursues a multi-perspective approach, which includes Islamic self-reflection as to how the multiple bases of Islamic knowledge and tradition can be transformed and integrated into a Swiss context. On the one hand, it analyses the manifestations of Islam and the day-to-day realities of Muslim men and women in Europe by means of theoretical approaches. It further investigates a possible development in Islamic thinking and Islamic self-reflection in the context of Europe. In its research, the SZIG employs interdisciplinary and intersectional methods. The research question under study determines the methodological approach.

As an inter-faculty institute, the SZIG is part of the faculties of Arts and Humanities, Theology and Law. Doctoral projects may be conducted in all three faculties provided the appropriate supervision is available.

During supervision, doctoral students remain in close contact with their supervisors and submit regular progress reports in a variety of formats. Personal networking within the institute and the University of Fribourg and further afield with relevant researchers from Switzerland and abroad allows doctoral students to benefit from very varied fields of competence.

Professors who are eligible to supervise theses

  • Prof. Amir Dziri (Faculty of Humanities)

Areas of specialisation:
– Islam in Switzerland and in Europe
– Research on Mohammed
– Islamic traditional theories and hermeneutics

Theses can be supervised in German, English or French.

  • Prof. Hansjörg Schmid (Faculty of Theology)

Areas of specialisation:
– Interreligious ethics and Christian-Muslim relations

  • Prof. René Pahud de Mortanges (Faculty of Law)

Areas of specialisation:
– Religious Law

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

ECTS credits can be earned.

Doctoral school

https://www3.unifr.ch/szig/fr/etudes/doctorat/programmedoctoral/ (French)
https://www3.unifr.ch/szig/de/studium/doktorat/doktoratsprogramm/ (German)

Admission

In order to be admitted to a doctorate the candidate must have been awarded an academic bachelor's and master's degree or an equivalent qualification by an university recognised by the University of Fribourg.

Before applying for a doctorate the candidate must contact a professor who would be willing to supervise the thesis work.

There is no general right to be admitted to a doctorate.

The respective conditions of admission for each doctoral study programme are reserved.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

 

Islam et société

Profil fribourgeois

Le Centre Suisse Islam et Société (CSIS) est un centre de compétences national traitant des questions sociales actuelles liées à l'islam en Suisse. Il adopte une approche multiperspective comprenant une autoréflexion islamique sur la manière dont les multiples savoirs et traditions islamiques peuvent être transformés et intégrés dans un contexte suisse. Il s'agit, d'une part, d'analyser les manifestations de l'islam et la vie au quotidien des musulmanes et des musulmans en Europe au moyen d'approches théoriques. Il s'agit également de traiter la question d'une possible évolution de la pensée islamique et de mener une autoréflexion sur la religion musulmane dans le contexte de l'Europe. Pour mener à bien ses travaux de recherche, le CSIS adopte des approches interdisciplinaires et intersectionnelles, le thème de recherche ciblé définissant par ailleurs la stratégie méthodologique.

En sa qualité d'institut interfacultaire, le CSIS est rattaché aux Facultés des lettres et des sciences humaines, de théologie et de droit. Les projets de doctorat peuvent être menés dans les trois Facultés à la condition que l'un des professeurs référents en accepte la direction.

Pendant la préparation de leur thèse, les doctorantes et les doctorants restent en contact permanent avec leurs professeurs et présentent régulièrement leurs travaux sous différents formats. Le vaste réseau au sein de l'institut et de l'Université de Fribourg, mais aussi les contacts avec des chercheurs suisses et étrangers compétents permettent aux doctorantes et aux doctorants d'avoir accès à un large éventail de domaines de compétences.

Professeures et professeurs habilités à diriger les thèses de doctorat

  • Prof. Amir Dziri (Faculté des lettres et des sciences humaines)

Domaines de spécialisation:
– L'islam en Suisse et en Europe
– Recherches sur Mahomet
– Notions de traditions et herméneutique musulmane

Direction des thèses en allemand, en anglais ou en français.

  • Prof. Hansjörg Schmid (Faculté de théologie)

Domaines de spécialisation:
– Ethique interreligieuse et relations islamo-chrétiennes

  • Prof. René Pahud de Mortanges (Faculté de droit)

Domaines de spécialisation:
– Droit des religions

Organisation des études

Structure des études

Possibilité d'acquérir des crédits ECTS.

École doctorale

https://www3.unifr.ch/szig/fr/etudes/doctorat/programmedoctoral/

Admission

Pour pouvoir être admis au doctorat, il faut être titulaire d'un diplôme de bachelor et d'un diplôme de master universitaires, délivrés par une université reconnue par l'Université de Fribourg, ou de diplômes équivalents.

Avant l'inscription au doctorat, il est exigé de prendre contact avec un professeur ou une professeure qui se montre prêt à superviser la thèse.

Il n'existe pas de droit à être admis au doctorat.

Les conditions d'admission propres à chaque programme d'études de doctorat sont réservées.