Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

 
 

English Language and Literature

Fribourg profile

The English Domain at the University of Fribourg welcomes doctoral research (PhD) in the following fields of study: English Philology, English Linguistics, English Literature, and American Literature.

English Philology
Philology, the study of medieval texts, is a distinct field of study at undergraduate and graduate levels within the English domain. Graduate students in English Philology can benefit from the resources of Fribourg's interdisciplinary Medieval Institute as well as close collaboration with medievalists at other Swiss and English universities. The Professor of Philology at Fribourg is Elisabeth Dutton, who specialises in early English drama and medieval English devotional compilations and women's writing. She currently heads two major research projects on drama in different institutions: medieval Oxford colleges, and English and French medieval convents.

English Linguistics
English linguistics at Fribourg focuses on the analysis of the processes involved in the construction and interpretation of meaning in context. Another specificity of English linguistics lies in the emphasis set on empirical approaches to research. PhD students are invited to use different methodologies in their project, and in particular to evaluate the robustness of theoretical claims against empirical evidence. In that respect, PhD students will receive training in quantitative approaches, involving experimental methodologies and statistical analysis. Prof. Maillat is the director of the Swissuniversities doctoral programme Language and Cognition which offers regular intensive specialised courses on many aspects of doing linguistic research. The kind of topics that are typically covered include persuasion, figurative language, humour, deceptive communication, argumentation theory, linguistics of spatial language.

English Literature
Professor Indira Ghose specialises in the fields of early modern literature, with a focus on early modern drama, and literature of the British Empire. Her current research interests include humour and the comic, Renaissance courtesy literature, and the history of the emotions. She welcomes doctoral students with interests in any of these fields or related areas of study.
Professor Dimiter Daphinoff's main research interests are in Shakespeare and his contemporaries, the eighteenth-century novel, especially the novels of Samuel Richardson, in the Gothic novel, in twentieth-century drama, and in the links between literature and terrorism. He welcomes PhD students with interests in any of these areas of research.

American Literature
American literature is an integral part of the English curriculum at all levels. Professor Thomas Austenfeld's research in American Poetry, American Modernism, and regional American literatures – especially the South and the West – indicates his preferred areas for doctoral supervisions. Other fields in American studies may be explored in co-supervised dissertations with Professor Austenfeld's colleagues in Germany, France, Sweden, Britain, Poland, and the North American continent.

Students who wish to pursue doctoral studies in English Language and Literature at the University of Fribourg are integrated into the Doctoral Programme in English Language and Literature organised by the Conférence Universitaire de Suisse Occidentale (CUSO). Regular workshops offer doctoral students an opportunity to engage with the work of internationally renowned experts, to interact with their peers at other Swiss universities, and to present their work-in progress to an audience of scholars working in their field.

Professors who are eligible to supervise theses

English Philology

  • Prof. Elisabeth Dutton

Areas of specialisation:
– Early English drama
– Medieval English devotional compilations
– Women's writing

English Linguistics

  • Prof. Didier Maillat

Areas of specialisation:
– Studies of meaning in use in English
– Analysis of interpretative processes, and of inferential processes involved in meaning construction in particular
– Experimental methodologies applied to pragmatic research (i.e. experimental pragmatics)
– Various interfaces between pragmatics and other linguistic branches (e.g. second language acquisition, discourse analysis, argumentation theory)
– Questions touching on the relation between language and cognition

Theses can be supervised in English, or French.

English Literature

  • Prof. Indira Ghose

Areas of specialisation:
– Early modern drama
– Literature of the British Empire
– Humour and the comic
– Renaissance courtesy literature
– History of the emotions

  • Prof. Dimiter Daphinoff

Areas of specialisation:
– Shakespeare and his contemporaries
– The eighteenth-century novel
– The Gothic novel
– Twentieth-century drama
– Links between literature and terrorism

American Literature

  • Prof. Thomas Austenfeld

Areas of specialisation:
– American Poetry
– American Modernism
– Regional American literatures, especially the South and the West

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

No ECTS credits can be earned.

Doctoral school

https://english.cuso.ch
https://lettres.unifr.ch/fr/langues-litteratures/anglais/docprog.html

Admission

In order to be admitted to a doctorate the candidate must have been awarded an academic Bachelor's and Master's degree or an equivalent qualification by a university recognised by the University of Fribourg.

Before applying for a doctorate the candidate should contact a professor who would be willing to supervise the thesis work.

There is no general right to be admitted to a doctorate.

The respective conditions of admission for each doctoral study programme are reserved.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

 
 

Langue et littérature anglaises

Profil fribourgeois

Le Domaine d'études Anglais de l'Université de Fribourg accueille les doctorantes et doctorants intéressés par les champs de recherche suivants: philologie anglaise, linguistique anglaise, littérature anglaise et littérature américaine.

Philologie anglaise
La philologie, ou l'analyse critique des textes médiévaux, constitue un domaine d'études distinct aux niveaux Bachelor et Master comme pendant le doctorat. Les doctorantes et doctorants inscrits en philologie anglaise ont accès aux ressources de l'Institut d'études médiévales interdisciplinaire de Fribourg. Ils ont aussi la possibilité de travailler en étroite collaboration avec les médiévistes d'autres universités suisses et anglaises. Elisabeth Dutton, professeure de philologie à l'Université de Fribourg, est spécialiste des débuts du théâtre anglais, ainsi que des compilations dévotionnelles et de la littérature féminine du Moyen Age. Elle dirige actuellement deux projets de recherche majeurs sur le théâtre dans différentes institutions, à savoir dans les universités médiévales d'Oxford et dans des couvents anglais et français du Moyen Age.

Linguistique anglaise
La linguistique anglaise enseignée à l'Université de Fribourg porte sur l'analyse des processus qui interviennent dans la construction et l'interprétation sémantiques dans un contexte donné. Une autre spécificité de cette discipline réside dans la mise en exergue des approches empiriques de la recherche. Les doctorantes et doctorants sont ainsi invités à utiliser diverses méthodologies dans le cadre de leur projet et, notamment, à évaluer la solidité de leurs hypothèses théoriques sur la base de données empiriques. A cet effet, ils bénéficient d'une formation sur les approches quantitatives abordant les méthodologies expérimentales et les analyses statistiques. Le professeur Maillat dirige quant à lui le programme doctoral Language and Cognition de Swissuniversities, qui dispense des cours réguliers, spécialisés et intensifs sur de nombreux aspects de la recherche linguistique. Les thèmes abordés incluent généralement les techniques de persuasion, le langage figuratif, l'humour, les communications trompeuses, la théorie de l'argumentation et la linguistique du langage spatial.

Littérature anglaise
Indira Ghose est professeure spécialisée dans la littérature du début de l'ère moderne. Elle s'intéresse plus particulièrement à la naissance du théâtre moderne et à la production littéraire de l'Empire britannique. Ses sujets de recherche actuels incluent l'humour et le comique, la littérature courtoise de la Renaissance, ainsi que l'histoire des émotions. Elle accueille les doctorantes et doctorants qui s'intéressent à l'un de ces domaines ou à des disciplines connexes.
Les principaux champs de recherche du professeur Dimiter Daphinoff sont Shakespeare et ses contemporains, le roman du XVIIIème siècle, notamment les œuvres de Samuel Richardson, ainsi que le roman gothique, le théâtre du XXème siècle, et les liens entre littérature et terrorisme. Il accueille les doctorantes et doctorants qui s'intéressent à l'un de ces domaines de recherche.

Littérature américaine
La littérature américaine fait partie intégrante du cursus d'anglais à tous les niveaux. Les recherches du professeur Thomas Austenfeld sur la poésie américaine, le modernisme américain et les courants littéraires régionaux, notamment dans le Sud et dans l'Ouest, sont ses domaines de prédilection pour la supervision des thèses. D'autres aspects de la littérature américaine peuvent être explorés dans le cadre de thèses supervisées conjointement avec des collègues allemands, français, suédois, britanniques, polonais et nord américains du professeur Austenfeld.

Les étudiantes et étudiants qui souhaitent suivre un doctorat en Langue et littérature anglaises à l'Université de Fribourg seront intégrés au Doctoral Programme in English Language and Literature de la Conférence Universitaire de Suisse Occidentale (CUSO). Des ateliers réguliers offrent aux doctorantes et doctorants la possibilité de s'intéresser aux travaux d'experts de renommée internationale, d'échanger avec leurs pairs dans d'autres universités suisses et de présenter l'état d'avancement de leur projet à des universitaires travaillant dans leur domaine.

Professeurs habilités à diriger les thèses de doctorat

Philologie anglaise

  • Prof. Elisabeth Dutton

Domaines de spécialisation:
– Les débuts du théâtre anglais
– Compilations dévotionnelles anglaises de l'époque médiévale
– La littérature féminine

Linguistique anglaise

  • Prof. Didier Maillat

Domaines de spécialisation:
– Etude de la sémantique anglaise
– L'analyse des processus interprétatifs et inférentiels entrant dans la construction sémantique
– Les méthodologies expérimentales appliquées à la recherche en pragmatique (pragmatique expérimentale, p. ex.)
– Les différentes interfaces entre la pragmatique et les autres branches de la linguistique (apprentissage d'une seconde langue, analyse du discours, théorie de l'argumentation, p. ex.)
– Questions relatives aux relations entre langage et cognition

Direction des thèses en anglais ou en français.

Littérature anglaise

  • Prof. Indira Ghose

Domaines de spécialisation:
– La naissance du théâtre moderne
– La production littéraire sous l'Empire britannique
– L'humour et le comique
– La littérature courtoise de la Renaissance
– L'histoire des émotions

  • Prof. Dimiter Daphinoff

Domaines de spécialisation:
– Shakespeare et ses contemporains
– Le roman au XVIIIème siècle
– Le roman gothique
– Le théâtre du XXème siècle
– Les liens entre littérature et terrorisme

Littérature américaine

  • Prof. Thomas Austenfeld

Domaines de spécialisation:
– La poésie américaine
– Le modernisme américain
– Les courants littéraires régionaux, notamment dans le Sud et dans l'Ouest

Organisation des études

Structure des études

Pas de possibilité d'acquérir des crédits ECTS.

École doctorale

https://english.cuso.ch
https://lettres.unifr.ch/fr/langues-litteratures/anglais/docprog.html

Admission

Pour pouvoir être admis au doctorat, il faut être titulaire d'un diplôme de Bachelor et d'un diplôme de Master universitaires, délivrés par une université reconnue par l'Université de Fribourg, ou de diplômes équivalents.

Avant l'inscription au doctorat, il est conseillé de prendre contact avec un professeur ou une professeure qui accepterait d'être le directeur ou la directrice de thèse.

Il n'existe pas de droit à être admis au doctorat.

Les conditions d'admission propres à chaque programme d'études de Doctorat sont réservées.