Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

 
 

German Language and Literature

Fribourg profile

The Germanistik Domain at Fribourg offers a doctoral training in the three areas of study: linguistics, medieval studies and literature. German Studies' doctoral students therefore have the full range of study areas from which to choose their research subject. The subjects of the theses are arranged individually. They may be connected to current research projects financed by third parties. However, intensive discussions are held with the PhD advisor to find the subject, taking into account the interests of both sides. The theory and methods implemented in the Germanistik Domain at Fribourg are focused on the one hand on historical and cultural studies (in particular medieval studies and literature) and on the other hand on social-cognitive studies (in particular linguistics). In general, theses are written in German.

The main research fields of German Linguistics are language use, language variation and language acquisition, sociolinguistic and perceptual dialectology and sociolinguistic and contact linguistic issues from a synchronic or diachronic perspective. Alongside intensive personal support, there are three further types of support available to doctoral students. (1) A regular research conference, which in spring is also accessible to doctoral students from the western Swiss universities, where the progress of work is presented and unresolved questions are discussed in a wider circle. (2) Anyone writing a thesis within the framework of one of the research projects launched by one of the two professors can benefit from an exchange with a large international research network and from internal workshops. Doctoral students will also be supported in launching debates on their area of research in domestic and international meetings. (3) Doctoral students can also make use of the doctoral programmes of CUSO (Conférence Universitaire de Suisse Occidentale), such as the Programme doctoral en langue et littérature allemandes and forge contacts with other doctoral students. Linguistics doctoral students working on the subject of contact linguistics and language acquisition can work with the Institute of Multilingualism or with the Centre for Teacher Training for Secondary Levels I and II (Centre d'enseignement et de recherche francophone pour l'enseignement au secondaire I et II (French-speaking section) or Lehrerinnen- und Lehrerbildung für die Sekundarstufe I und II (German-speaking section)).

German Medieval Studies is deliberately open to other medieval disciplines and encourages interdisciplinary questions. It attaches importance to the exchange between fields of study within the framework of the Medieval Institute and the seminars of guest professors (Wolfgang-Stammler-Gastprofessur), as well as to international experiences made available during the doctoral studies. As standard, all work has an external co-advisor. Individual discussions with doctoral students are complemented with three supportive avenues: (1) The monthly interuniversity «Forschungskolloquium Germanistische Mediävistik», offered jointly by chairs of the universities of Fribourg and Geneva; this culminates in the annual, three-day «Internationales Graduiertentreffen Germanistische Mediävistik (OFFG)», which has connected the universities of Oxford, Freiburg im Breisgau, Fribourg and Geneva since 2002. (2) The interdisciplinary Mediävistik doctoral programme of Fribourg University, for which doctoral students of all disciplines are registered and completion of which is accredited. (3) The doctoral programme of CUSO, whereby doctoral students studying medieval studies alongside the field-specific offer have access to the bilingual Programme doctoral en études médiévales.

German Literature offers a doctoral training which, in terms of subject and method, is purposely open. However, particular emphasis lies on the subjects of general and comparative literature, like, for example, issues of genre typology, stylistics, or historical poetics. German Literature offers the following forms of support for doctoral students: (1) In addition to individual support from professors in Fribourg, a research conference takes place two or three times a term. This conference my be attended by all graduate scholars, doctoral and qualified scholars of German and comparative literature from Fribourg and other Swiss universities. At these meetings, chapters from qualification work are regularly submitted, which are annotated by all participants in advance, thus giving doctoral students the opportunity to learn how to read texts thoroughly and how to discuss them critically. In these circles of students, qualified scholars and professors, current research articles are presented, which serve for in-depth discussion of the topics. (2) Further, doctoral students will also be supported in launching debates on their area of research at domestic and international meetings. (3) Lastly, the network of western Swiss universities, CUSO, offers the opportunity to exchange with students from other universities.

Professors who are eligible to supervise theses

German Linguistics

  • Prof. Helen Christen

Areas of specialisation:
– Variational linguistics with emphasis on social dialectology
– Language change
– Folk linguistics
– Gender linguistics
– Swiss language situation

  • Prof. Regula Schmidlin

Areas of specialisation:
– Acquisition of writing skills
– Lexicography
– Phraseology
– Language variation and language standardisation
– Language and age

German Medieval Studies

  • Prof. Martina Backes

Areas of specialisation:
– Literature from the Late Middle Ages and the Early Modern Era, in particular the history and development of novels
– 12th to 15th-century poetry
– German-French literature relations
– Middle Age manuscript and book culture
– Regional history of literature of the German-speaking south-west

  • Prof. Eckart Conrad Lutz

Areas of specialisation:
– Mediality and identity
– Text, image and diagram
– Processes of writing, reading and cognition
– Education and conversation
– Courtly culture and its proponents in the Middle Ages

German Literature

  • Prof. Arnd Beise

Areas of specialisation:
– Literature and history
– Intermediality
– Thematology
– History of drama
– Edition philology

  • Prof. Sabine Haupt

Areas of specialisation:
– German and French literature from the 18th to 21st centuries
– Literature and picture media
– Literature and natural science
– History of ideas/Discourse analysis
– Literature and politics

  • Prof. Tom Kindt

Areas of specialisation:
– Theory of literature, in particular interpretation theory
– Theory of humour and history of comedy
– Narrative theory
– Literary modernism
– History of German studies

  • Prof. Ralph Müller

Areas of specialisation:
– Contemporary literature, in particular Swiss literature
– Poetry and rhetoric
– Genre theory and spelling
– Lyricology and narratology
– Digital humanities, corpus stylistics, cognitive poetics

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

No ECTS credits can be earned.

Doctoral school

https://deutsch.cuso.ch
https://medieval.cuso.ch
https://lettres.unifr.ch/de/sprachen-literaturen/germanistik/mediaevistik.html
http://www.mediaevum.unifr.ch/d/graduiert/doktoratsprogramm.htm

Admission

In order to be admitted to a doctorate the candidate must have been awarded an academic Bachelor's and Master's degree or an equivalent qualification by a university recognised by the University of Fribourg.

Before applying for a doctorate the candidate should contact a professor who would be willing to supervise the thesis work.

There is no general right to be admitted to a doctorate.

The respective conditions of admission for each doctoral study programme are reserved.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

 
 

Langue et littérature allemandes

Profil fribourgeois

Le domaine d'études Germanistik de l'Université de Fribourg propose des formations doctorales dans trois grandes disciplines: la linguistique, la médiévistique et la littérature allemandes. Les doctorantes et doctorants en germanistique peuvent puiser dans tout l'éventail du domaine d'études pour le choix de leur sujet de recherche. Les sujets de thèse sont convenus individuellement. Ils peuvent s'inscrire dans des projets de recherche en cours financés par des tiers. Quel qu'il soit, le choix des sujets fait l'objet d'entretiens approfondis avec les directeurs de thèse, l'intérêt partagé des deux parties étant mis en avant. Concernant la théorie et la méthodologie, le domaine d'études Germanistik de l'Université de Fribourg privilégie l'angle historique et culturel (notamment en médiévistique et en littérature), ainsi qu'une perspective sociale et cognitive (surtout en linguistique). Les thèses sont généralement rédigées en allemand.

Les principaux axes de recherche de la linguistique allemande sont le langage parlé, les variations linguistiques et l'acquisition du langage. Le programme fait aussi la part belle à la dialectologie, vue à travers le prisme de la sociolinguistique et de la linguistique perceptive. Les doctorantes et doctorants abordent également des questions liées à la sociolinguistique et à la linguistique de contact, analysées dans une perspective synchronique ou diachronique. En linguistique allemande, les doctorantes et doctorants bénéficient de trois offres, qui complètent un accompagnement personnel intensif: (1) Un colloque axé sur la recherche est organisé à intervalles réguliers. Au printemps, il est également accessible aux doctorantes et doctorants des universités de Suisse romande. Il permet de présenter l'état d'avancement des travaux et de débattre des questions en suspens dans un cercle plus large. (2) Les candidates et candidats qui préparent une thèse dans le cadre d'un projet de recherche lancé par l'une des deux chaires profitent des échanges avec un vaste réseau international de chercheurs, ainsi que des ateliers organisés en interne. Les doctorantes et doctorants sont par ailleurs encouragés à soumettre leurs travaux de recherche à la discussion dans le cadre de conférences, en Suisse et à l'étranger. (3) Les candidates et candidats ont par ailleurs accès aux offres proposées par la Conférence Universitaire de Suisse Occidentale (CUSO) comme le Programme doctoral en langue et littérature allemandes, ce qui leur permet de nouer des contacts avec d'autres doctorantes et doctorants. Pour les sujets qui traitent de la linguistique de contact et de l'acquisition du langage, des possibilités de collaboration interdisciplinaires avec l'Institut de plurilinguisme ou le Centre d'enseignement et de recherche pour la formation à l'enseignement au secondaire I et II sont offertes aux doctorantes et doctorants.

En médiévistique, le programme est tourné vers d'autres disciplines axées sur le Moyen Age et favorise les questions interdisciplinaires. Il valorise les échanges entre filières dans le cadre de l'Institut d'études médiévales et des séminaires de professeurs invités (Wolfgang-Stammler-Gastprofessur), complétés par des rencontres internationales organisées pendant le doctorat. Chaque thèse est suivie par deux professeurs dont un externe. Dans le domaine des études médiévales allemandes, les entretiens individuels avec les doctorantes et doctorants sont complétés par trois types d'offres: (1) Le colloque interuniversitaire «Forschungskolloquium Germanistische Mediävistik» proposé par les Universités de Fribourg et de Genève est organisé chaque mois avec, en point de mire, les rencontres «Internationales Graduiertentreffen Germanistische Mediävistik (OFFG)». Cette manifestation annuelle de trois jours regroupe depuis 2002 les Universités d'Oxford, de Fribourg-en-Brisgau, de Fribourg et de Genève. (2) Le programme doctoral interdisciplinaire Etudes médiévales proposé par l'Institut des études médiévales de l'Université de Fribourg réunit les doctorantes et doctorants de toutes les disciplines médiévales et donne lieu à une validation d'acquis. (3) Enfin, les doctorantes et doctorants ont accès aux programmes doctoraux de la CUSO en plus de l'offre propre à leur discipline, notamment le Programme doctoral en études médiévales (bilingue).

Les études doctorales en littérature allemande sont résolument ouvertes sur le plan thématique et méthodologique. Un accent particulier est mis sur la littérature générale et comparée. Elles s'intéressent ainsi aux questions relatives à la typologie des genres littéraires, au style ou encore à la poésie historique. En littérature allemande, les formes de soutien suivantes sont prévues pour les doctorantes et doctorants: (1) Pour compléter l'accompagnement individuel assuré par un enseignant de l'Université de Fribourg, un colloque axé sur la recherche a lieu une ou deux fois par semestre. Celui-ci s'adresse à tous les spécialistes de littérature allemande et comparée diplômés, titulaires d'un doctorat ou d'une habilitation de l'Université de Fribourg et des autres universités suisses. L'objet de ces rencontres est la présentation régulière de chapitres de travaux, précédemment annotés par tous les participants. Les doctorantes et doctorants apprennent ainsi à lire consciencieusement les textes scientifiques et à les aborder sous un angle critique. Dans ce cercle réunissant des doctorants, des personnes préparant une thèse d'habilitation et des professeurs, des articles scientifiques d'actualité sont par ailleurs présentés, également dans le but de nourrir des échanges approfondis. (2) Les doctorantes et doctorants sont aussi encouragés à soumettre leurs travaux de recherche à la discussion dans le cadre de conférences, en Suisse et à l'étranger. (3) Enfin, le réseau des universités de Suisse romande (CUSO) offre la possibilité d'échanger avec des doctorantes et doctorants d'autres hautes écoles.

Professeurs habilités à diriger les thèses de doctorat

Linguistique allemande

  • Prof. Helen Christen

Domaines de spécialisation:
– Linguistique variationniste, accent sur la dialectologie sociale
– Evolution linguistique
– Linguistique populaire
– Linguistique et genre
– Situation linguistique en Suisse

  • Prof. Regula Schmidlin

Domaines de spécialisation:
– Acquisition de compétences textuelles et écrites
– Lexicographie
– Phraséologie
– Variété linguistique et standardisation des langues
– Langue et âge

Médiévistique

  • Prof. Martina Backes

Domaines de spécialisation:
– Littérature de la fin du Moyen Age et du début de l'époque moderne, notamment histoire et évolution du roman en prose
– Poésie du XIIème au XVème siècle
– Relations littéraires franco-allemandes
– Ecriture et production littéraire au Moyen Age
– Histoire de la littérature régionale du sud-ouest alémanique

  • Prof. Eckart Conrad Lutz

Domaines de spécialisation:
– Médialité et identité
– Textes, images et diagrammes
– Processus d'écriture, de lecture et de compréhension
– Education et conversation
– Manifestations et représentants de la culture courtoise

Littérature allemande

  • Prof. Arnd Beise

Domaines de spécialisation:
– Littérature et histoire
– Intermédialité
– Thématologie
– Le drame
– Philologie de l'édition

  • Prof. Sabine Haupt

Domaines de spécialisation:
– Littératures allemande et française du XVIIIème au XXIème siècle
– Littérature et supports visuels
– Littérature et sciences de la nature
– Histoire des idées/analyse du discours
– Littérature et politique

  • Prof. Tom Kindt

Domaines de spécialisation:
– Théorie de la littérature, notamment théorie interprétative
– Théorie comique et histoire de la comédie
– Théorie narrative
– Modernité en littérature
– Histoire de la germanistique

  • Prof. Ralph Müller

Domaines de spécialisation:
– Littérature contemporaine, notamment littérature suisse
– Poésie et rhétorique
– Théorie du genre et style d'écriture
– Lyricologie et narratologie
– «Digital humanities», stylistique de corpus, poétique cognitive

Organisation des études

Structure des études

Pas de possibilité d'acquérir des crédits ECTS.

École doctorale

https://deutsch.cuso.ch
https://medieval.cuso.ch
https://lettres.unifr.ch/fr/sprachen-literaturen/germanistik/mediaevistik.html
http://www.mediaevum.unifr.ch/f/formationdoctorale/programmedoctoral.htm

Admission

Pour pouvoir être admis au doctorat, il faut être titulaire d'un diplôme de Bachelor et d'un diplôme de Master universitaires, délivrés par une université reconnue par l'Université de Fribourg, ou de diplômes équivalents.

Avant l'inscription au doctorat, il est conseillé de prendre contact avec un professeur ou une professeure qui accepterait d'être le directeur ou la directrice de thèse.

Il n'existe pas de droit à être admis au doctorat.

Les conditions d'admission propres à chaque programme d'études de Doctorat sont réservées.