Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Medical Humanities

Fribourg profile

The PhD in Medical Humanities at the University of Fribourg is framed either by questions and methods in historiography (of medicine) or in literary studies or it connects both. Research questions target contemporary medicine and illuminate specific aspects from a historical point of view; precisely from the perspective of cultural and literary history, history of medicine and media history. The approach is rather hermeneutical than empirical: representative sources – such as texts, images, films, practices, spaces, techniques – will be analysed, contextualised, interpreted and embedded in a coherent line of argumentation. The final aim of the PhD is an independently written monograph that contributes to a better understanding of the current medical system and its core features – such as global or local public health, doctor-patient-relationship, clinical communication, scientific practices, scientific institutions and actors, cultural conceptions of health and illness and their change over time; finally the mutual interplay between medicine, art and media.

The PhD thesis can be written in either English, German or French.

The PhD is suitable for career plans in a worldwide expanding, vibrant academic field – Medical Humanities or Health Humanities – that blossoms mainly at American, British and French universities; also at some Scandinavian and Swiss institutions. Additionally, this PhD may promote careers in extra-academic fields which require a critical perspective on the medical system – such as medical, scientific and health journalism, work in museums, archives and other institutions of cultural heritage, health management or positions in public health. Given the transdisciplinary approach which connects historiographical methods with scientific subjects, we require a double academic training at bachelor level as precondition for the PhD.

Responsible professors
The PhD theses in Medical Humanities will be supervised by Prof. Martina King.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

No ECTS credits can be earned.

Doctoral school

-

Admission

– Candidates holding a master's degree in medicine, global health, public health, health sciences, health management (or similar) and a bachelor's degree in history or any type of literary studies;
– Candidates holding a master's degree in history or any type of literary studies and a bachelor's degree in medicine, global health, public health, health sciences, health management (or similar);
– Candidates who hold a master's degree in Medical Humanities from a European or American university.

Given the multitude of potential combinations of academic trainings who can count as entrance criteria for a PhD in Medical Humanities, we strongly suggest that future candidates contact us personally.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

Sciences humaines et sociales en médecine

Profil fribourgeois

Le doctorat en sciences humaines et sociales en médecine (Medical Humanities) proposé à l'Université de Fribourg a une orientation historique et/ou littéraire. Les thématiques de recherche sont axées sur la médecine moderne, abordée dans sa dimension culturelle et littéraire, mais aussi sous l'angle de l'histoire des idées et des médias. L'approche n'est pas empirique, mais plutôt basée sur les sciences humaines au sens herméneutique du terme: il s'agit d'analyser des sources exemplaires (textes, supports photographiques, vidéos, pratiques, locaux, équipements) de manière interprétative et de les intégrer dans un argumentaire cohérent. L'objectif du doctorat est la rédaction autonome d'une monographie qui contribue à une meilleure compréhension des principaux domaines de la médecine: santé globale ou locale, relations médecin-patient, communication clinique, pratiques scientifiques, institutions et acteurs scientifiques, perception sociale de la santé et de la maladie, mais aussi interactions entre médecine, art et médias.

La thèse peut être rédigée en anglais, en allemand ou en français.

Ce doctorat se prête à des carrières menées au sein d'un champ universitaire très dynamique au niveau mondial et en forte expansion – Medical Humanities ou Health Humanities – dont les pôles sont principalement implantés dans des universités américaines, britanniques et françaises, ainsi que dans quelques universités scandinaves et suisses. Il convient également à des parcours professionnels extra-universitaires, qui sont liés à une perspective critique-réflexive du système médical: journalisme médical, scientifique et dans le domaine de la santé, postes dans des musées, archives ou autres institutions préservant le patrimoine culturel, carrières dans le domaine de la gestion de la santé ou des institutions de santé publique. Compte tenu de l'approche transdisciplinaire associant sciences humaines et sciences naturelles, un double cursus universitaire de niveau Master et de niveau Bachelor est exigé.

Directrices et directeurs de thèse
Les thèses en sciences humaines et sociales en médecine sont dirigées par la Prof. Martina King.

Organisation des études

Structure des études

Pas de possibilité d'acquérir des crédits ECTS.

École doctorale

-

Admission

– Diplôme de Master en médecine humaine, en santé globale, en santé publique, en sciences de la santé, en gestion de la santé, ou d'un titre jugé équivalent, ainsi que d'un Bachelor en histoire ou en littérature;
– Diplôme de Master en histoire ou en littérature, ainsi que d'un Bachelor en médecine humaine, en santé globale, en santé publique, en sciences de la santé, en gestion de la santé, ou d'un titre jugé équivalent;
– Diplôme de Master en Medical Humanities ou Health Humanities délivré par une université américaine ou européenne.

Compte tenu du grand nombre de formations universitaires donnant accès au doctorat, nous recommandons aux candidates et candidats intéressés de prendre contact avec nous.