Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

 
 

Philosophy

Fribourg profile

Diversity in method and pluralism in the range of subjects and philosophical currents studied are the distinguishing features of the doctoral programme of the Philosophy Department in the University of Fribourg. The Department regularly obtains research funding to promote doctoral studies as well as to create research groups drawing on the competence of the Department's members as well as that of numerous experienced scholars. Professors in charge of specific domains of research supervise doctoral students who are given the opportunity to discuss their work in weekly colloquia as well as to participate in activities organised at the doctoral level in collaboration with other universities in Switzerland and abroad.

In the domain of ancient philosophy, theses can be supervised on Greek and Roman thought from the Pre-Socratic philosophers through to the Byzantine period. Equally, the reception of ancient philosophy during the Renaissance is a welcome subject. Research in the domain is concentrated on Platonic thought (Plato, the Old Academy, Middle Platonism, Plotinus, the late Neo-Platonists, Jewish and Christian Platonism). Research projects in metaphysics, cosmology and physics, the theory of knowledge, psychology, and ethics are encouraged. A command of ancient Greek and/or Latin is required. Doctoral candidates participate in the Doctoral School of Ancient and Medieval Philosophy organised every year in collaboration with the universities of Lausanne and Geneva.

The principle axes of research in medieval philosophy are metaphysics, philosophy of nature, epistemology, anthropology and ethics of the 12th to the 15th century. In this field, a good knowledge of Latin is required. The students have the possibility both to develop their academic skills and pool of the results of research through doctoral schools and seminars. This program enables them to acquire methodological tools and to build a profitable dialogue with the specialists and other doctoral students. They also have access to the doctoral programme of the Medieval Institute and of the CUSO (Programme Doctoral Romand en Philosophie), which offer a vast range of activities through which the students can get acquainted with specific aspects of medieval culture, as well as issues on the transmission and edition of texts.

Research in the domain of modern and contemporary philosophy integrates two currents of thought which have had a major influence on contemporary philosophy, phenomenology and «analytic» philosophy. Doctoral research and training are as much about the historical origins of these two traditions as about the theoretical examination of the questions they raise. Topics addressed in this context include the relationship between the subjectivity of experience and the objectivity of knowledge. These questions are analysed not only from the theoretical perspective, as part of the study of cognitive attitudes, but also from a more practical perspective, through an analysis of the rationality of action.

The field of the philosophy of language, of mind and of human sciences focuses on questions related to the ontological status and, more generally, to the nature of experiencing subjects are at the center of the field of philosophy of language, mind and the human sciences. They include issues about phenomenal consciousness, the identity and individuality of conscious individuals, self-consciousness, agentive experience and free will, the role of emotion in human action, the relationship between language and thought and the one between phenomenality and intentionality. In this area a systematic approach is practiced in Fribourg which gives weight to rational intuition and to phenomenological reflection. Proposals for theses within the philosophy of language, epistemology, ontology and metaphysics, as well as on questions at the intersection of philosophy and the cognitive sciences are also welcome.

Doctoral candidates in ethics, political philosophy, the philosophy of culture, aesthetics, and philosophy in Eastern Europe and Russia, have the possibility of taking part in three to four lectures per semester by external lecturers. For postgraduates preparing a Master's degree or PhD, a one-day colloquium is organised towards the end of each semester at which advanced and doctoral students have the occasion to present and discuss their research with one another and the professors in attendance. Thesis supervision principally takes the form of personal tutoring by professors and other members of the teaching staff who are attentive to the pluralism of methods and issues. Research themes vary widely, including the history of theoretical and practical philosophy of the modern era, the philosophy of culture, aesthetics, and philosophical currents in Eastern Europe and Russia, as well as political philosophy and ethics.

Professors who are eligible to supervise theses

  • Prof. Filip Karfik

Areas of specialisation:
– Plato
– Plotinus
– Metaphysics
– Psychology
– Cosmology

  • Prof. Tiziana Suarez-Nani

Areas of specialisation:
– Metaphysics
– Philosophy of nature and epistemology of the 13th and 14th centuries

  • Prof. Gianfranco Soldati

Areas of specialisation:
– Phenomenology
– Theory of knowledge

  • Prof. Martine-Nida-Rümelin

Areas of specialisation:
– Phenomenal consciousness
– The identity and individuality of conscious individuals

  • Prof. Jean-Claude Wolf

Areas of specialisation:
– Political philosophy
– Ethics

  • Prof. Edward Swiderski

Areas of specialisation:
– Philosophy of culture
– Aesthetics and philosophy in Eastern Europe and Russia

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

ECTS credits can be earned.

Doctoral school

https://philosophie.cuso.ch
http://www.mediaevum.unifr.ch

Admission

In order to be admitted to a doctorate the candidate must have been awarded an academic Bachelor's and Master's degree or an equivalent qualification by a university recognised by the University of Fribourg.

Before applying for a doctorate the candidate should contact a professor who would be willing to supervise the thesis work.

There is no general right to be admitted to a doctorate.

The respective conditions of admission for each doctoral study programme are reserved.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

 
 

Philosophie

Profil fribourgeois

Les études doctorales du Département de Philosophie de l'Université de Fribourg se distinguent par la diversité des méthodes adoptées et par l'ampleur des thèmes et des courants philosophiques étudiés. Le département obtient régulièrement des fonds de recherche qui permettent de financer les études doctorales et de former des groupes de recherche auxquels participent les enseignants du département autant que de nombreux chercheurs expérimentés. Les doctorantes et doctorants sont encadrés par les professeurs responsables des domaines de recherche. Ils suivent des séminaires, présentent leur travail dans les colloques de recherche hebdomadaires et participent aux activités doctorales organisées en collaboration avec d'autres universités suisses et étrangères. La formation est structurée en différents domaines, avec de nombreuses possibilités de collaboration.

En philosophie antique, des thèses sur la pensée grecque et romaine, depuis les présocratiques jusqu'à l'époque byzantine, peuvent être encadrées. La réception de la philosophie antique à la Renaissance constitue un sujet bienvenu. Les recherches se concentrent sur la pensée platonicienne (Platon, l'Ancienne académie, le moyen platonisme, Plotin, les néoplatoniciens tardifs, le platonisme juif et chrétien). On encourage les projets de recherche portant sur la métaphysique, la cosmologie et la physique, la théorie de la connaissance, la psychologie et l'éthique. La maîtrise du grec ancien et/ou du latin est requise. Les doctorantes et doctorants prennent part à l'école doctorale en philosophie antique et médiévale, organisée chaque année en collaboration avec les universités de Lausanne et de Genève.

Les axes de recherche privilégiés dans le domaine de la philosophie du Moyen Age sont la philosophie de la nature, la métaphysique, l'épistémologie, l'anthropologie et l'éthique du XIIème au XVème siècle. La maîtrise du latin est requise. Les doctorantes et doctorants suivent un programme doctoral qui prévoit un volet «formation» et un volet «mise en commun de la recherche» dans le cadre d'écoles doctorales ou de séminaires de recherche. Ce programme permet d'approfondir les compétences scientifiques, d'acquérir des outils méthodologiques et de développer des échanges constructifs avec des spécialistes et avec d'autres doctorants. Les doctorantes et doctorants en philosophie médiévale ont également accès aux programmes doctoraux de l'Institut d'Etudes Médiévales et de la CUSO (Programme Doctoral Romand en Philosophie), qui proposent une vaste gamme d'activités permettant de se familiariser avec des aspects spécifiques de la culture médiévale, y compris la problématique de la transmission des textes et de leur édition.

La recherche dans le domaine de la philosophie moderne et contemporaine se caractérise par l'intégration de deux approches qui ont fortement influencé la philosophie contemporaine: la phénoménologie et la philosophie dite «analytique». La recherche et la formation doctorale portent autant sur l'origine historique de ces deux traditions que sur le développement théorique de questions qui ont surgi dans leur cadre. Les thèmes abordés dans ce sens se concentrent sur la relation entre la subjectivité de l'expérience et l'objectivité de la connaissance. Ces questions sont abordées autant dans une perspective théorique, dans le cadre de l'étude des attitudes cognitives, que pratique, dans l'analyse de la rationalité des actions.

Au centre du domaine de philosophie du langage, de l'esprit et des sciences humaines se trouvent des questions relatives au statut ontologique de la personne et, plus globalement, à la nature des sujets d'expérience. Ces domaines incluent les thématiques de la conscience phénoménale, de l'identité et de l'individualité des êtres conscients, de la conscience de soi, du libre arbitre et de l'expérience d'agir, du rôle des émotions dans les actions humaines, du rapport entre langage et pensée ainsi que celle de la relation entre phénoménologie et intentionnalité. Une approche à la philosophie systématique qui donne du poids aux intuitions rationnelles et à la réflexion phénoménologique est pratiquée dans ce domaine à Fribourg. Des propositions de projets de thèse en philosophie de l'esprit, philosophie du langage, épistémologie, ontologie et métaphysique et sur des questions qui se situent à l'intersection de la philosophie et des sciences cognitives sont également bienvenues.

Chaque semestre, les doctorantes et doctorants des domaines Ethique, Philosophie politique, Philosophie de la culture et Esthétique et philosophie en Europe de l'Est et en Russie ont la possibilité de participer à trois ou quatre conférences données par des intervenants externes. Vers la fin du semestre, un colloque d'une journée est organisé pour les étudiantes et étudiants de Master et les doctorantes et doctorants. L'objet de cette manifestation est de présenter des projets de mémoire et de thèse et de permettre des échanges approfondis entre étudiants avancés et doctorants. La supervision de la thèse consiste principalement en un encadrement individuel par des professeurs et d'autres membres du corps enseignant. La diversité des méthodes et des problématiques est ainsi prise en compte. Les thèmes abordés et les sujets des travaux sont très vastes: histoire de la philosophie théorique et pratique moderne, philosophie de la culture, esthétique et philosophie en Europe de l'Est et en Russie, ou encore philosophie politique et éthique.

Professeurs habilités à diriger les thèses de doctorat

  • Prof. Filip Karfik

Domaines de spécialisation:
– Platon
– Plotin
– Métaphysique
– Psychologie
– Cosmologie

  • Prof. Tiziana Suarez-Nani

Domaines de spécialisation:
– Métaphysique
– Philosophie de la nature et épistémologie des XIIIème et XIVème siècles

  • Prof. Gianfranco Soldati

Domaines de spécialisation:
– Phénoménologie
– Théorie de la connaissance

  • Prof. Martine-Nida-Rümelin

Domaines de spécialisation:
– Conscience phénoménale
– L'identité et l'individualité des êtres conscients

  • Prof. Jean-Claude Wolf

Domaines de spécialisation:
– Philosophie politique
– Ethique

  • Prof. Edward Swiderski

Domaines de spécialisation:
– Philosophie de la culture
– Esthétique et philosophie en Europe de l'Est et en Russie

Organisation des études

Structure des études

Possibilité d'acquérir des crédits ECTS.

École doctorale

https://philosophie.cuso.ch
http://www.mediaevum.unifr.ch

Admission

Pour pouvoir être admis au doctorat, il faut être titulaire d'un diplôme de Bachelor et d'un diplôme de Master universitaires, délivrés par une université reconnue par l'Université de Fribourg, ou de diplômes équivalents.

Avant l'inscription au doctorat, il est conseillé de prendre contact avec un professeur ou une professeure qui accepterait d'être le directeur ou la directrice de thèse.

Il n'existe pas de droit à être admis au doctorat.

Les conditions d'admission propres à chaque programme d'études de Doctorat sont réservées.