Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

 
 

Biochemistry

Fribourg profile

The Department of Biology offers a PhD curriculum in Biochemistry. This programme is fully given in English and comprises a personal research project to be taken over 3-4 years. It also includes seminars and lectures according to the bylaws of the Fribourg Graduate School of Life Sciences (FGLS).

The biochemistry laboratories at the University of Fribourg put special emphasis on investigating the mechanisms that control homeostasis and growth control in model organisms. They investigate the genes, proteins, and metabolites and their interactions with each other.

Biochemistry is an interdisciplinary science: besides organic chemistry it can also include developmental, evolutionary, and behavioral biology. Students are therefore trained on a variety of modern practical methods (e.g., optical and electronic microscopy, X-ray diffraction, mass spectrometry, and DNA sequencing). Moreover, life sciences benefit from of a flow of continuous technical innovation, which renders analytical tools increasingly sensitive and effective. The latest analytical instruments produce data at such speed and in such quantities that simply storing the information require the usage of bioinformatics. As a consequence, PhD students in Biochemistry can analyze and compare their own data with the ones from their peers.

PhD students learn how to conduct a research project in an independent manner. They will also gain competence in interpreting scientific data, presenting them, and putting them into a general context. PhD students participate at national and international scientific meetings in order to broaden their knowledge and to establish a scientific and social network.

PhD students in the Department of Biology are remunerated according to standards of the Faculty of Science.

To register to the doctoral programme, candidates select a laboratory in which they plan to carry out their PhD. They read the relevant publications and then contact the group leader to ask for a possible opening.

Alternatively, candidates look for openings that are posted by the FGLS. The selection procedure is carried out twice a year. It comprises a 15-minute oral presentation and discussions with the various group leaders.

A non-exhaustive list of laboratories includes:

  • Prof. Joern Dengjel

– Protein homeostasis in health and disease

  • Prof. Roger Schneiter

– Lipid homeostasis in yeast

  • Prof Urs Albrecht

– Circadian rhythms in mammals

  • Prof Claudio De Virgilio

– Cell proliferation and growth control in yeast

Please refer to the internet link below for a complete an updated list (see Contact).

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

No ECTS credits can be earned.

Doctoral school

http://www.unifr.ch/biology/studies/fgls

Admission

In order to be admitted to a doctorate the candidate must have been awarded an academic Bachelor's and Master's degree or an equivalent qualification by a university recognised by the University of Fribourg.

Before applying for a doctorate the candidate should contact a professor who would be willing to supervise the thesis work.

There is no general right to be admitted to a doctorate.

The respective conditions of admission for each doctoral study programme are reserved.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

 
 

Biochimie

Profil fribourgeois

Le Département de biologie propose un programme de doctorat en biochimie intégralement dispensé en anglais, qui comprend un projet de recherche personnel d'une durée de 3 à 4 ans. Ce programme inclut également des séminaires et des conférences, conformément au règlement de la Fribourg Graduate School of Life Sciences (FGLS).

Les laboratoires de biochimie de l'Université de Fribourg accordent une importance particulière à l'étude des mécanismes qui contrôlent l'homéostasie et de ceux qui régissent la croissance chez les organismes modèles. Ils étudient les gènes, les protéines, les métabolites et leurs interactions.

La biochimie est une science interdisciplinaire: outre la chimie organique, elle englobe également la biologie du développement, la biologie évolutive et la biologie comportementale. Les étudiantes et étudiants sont donc formés à une grande variété de méthodes pratiques modernes (telles que la microscopie optique et électronique, la diffraction par rayons X, la spectrométrie de masse et le séquençage de l'ADN). Les sciences du vivant bénéficient en outre d'une innovation technique riche et constante, rendant les outils analytiques de plus en plus sensibles et efficaces. Les instruments d'analyse les plus récents génèrent des données à une vitesse et dans des proportions telles que le simple stockage des informations nécessite le recours à la bioinformatique. Les doctorantes et doctorants en biochimie ont par conséquent la possibilité d'analyser et de comparer leurs propres données à celles de leurs pairs.

Les doctorantes et doctorants apprennent à mener un projet de recherche de manière indépendante, ainsi qu'à interpréter et à présenter des données scientifiques, et à les replacer dans un contexte général. Ils participent aussi à des rencontres scientifiques nationales et internationales dans le but d'étendre leurs connaissances et de tisser un réseau social et scientifique.

Les doctorantes et doctorants du Département de biologie sont rémunérés selon les barèmes de la Faculté des sciences.

Ceux qui souhaitent s'inscrire au programme de Doctorat choisissent un laboratoire au sein duquel ils prévoient de mener à bien leur projet de thèse. Après avoir lu les publications correspondantes, ils contactent le responsable du groupe pour poser leur candidature.

Les candidates et candidats peuvent également consulter les postes publiés par la FGLS. Une procédure de sélection est organisée deux fois par an. Celle-ci comprend une présentation orale de 15 minutes et un entretien avec les différents responsables de groupe.

Ci-dessous une liste non exhaustive des laboratoires:

  • Prof. Joern Dengjel

– L'homéostasie protéique chez les sujets sains et malades

  • Prof. Roger Schneiter

– L'homéostasie lipidique chez les levures

  • Prof. Urs Albrecht

– Les rythmes circadiens chez les mammifères

  • Prof. Claudio De Virgilio

– La prolifération cellulaire et le contrôle de la croissance chez les levures

Cliquez sur le lien ci-dessous pour accéder à une liste complète à jour (rubrique Contact).

Organisation des études

Structure des études

Pas de possibilité d'acquérir des crédits ECTS.

École doctorale

http://www.unifr.ch/biology/studies/fgls

Admission

Pour pouvoir être admis au doctorat, il faut être titulaire d'un diplôme de Bachelor et d'un diplôme de Master universitaires, délivrés par une université reconnue par l'Université de Fribourg, ou de diplômes équivalents.

Avant l'inscription au doctorat, il est conseillé de prendre contact avec un professeur ou une professeure qui accepterait d'être le directeur ou la directrice de thèse.

Il n'existe pas de droit à être admis au doctorat.

Les conditions d'admission propres à chaque programme d'études de Doctorat sont réservées.