Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

 
 

Biology

Fribourg profile

The Department of Biology offers a PhD curriculum in Biology. This programme is fully given in English and comprises a personal research project to be taken over 3-4 years. It also includes seminars and lectures according to the bylaws of the Fribourg Graduate School of Life Sciences (FGLS).

The biology laboratories at the University of Fribourg investigate three main areas of research:

Ecology and Evolution
This research area investigates organismic biology with a special focus on ecology and evolution. Current research interests include food web structure, conservation biology, invasive species, agro-ecology, host-parasite interactions, life-history evolution, inbreeding depression, evolution in fragmented habitats, and population genetics. The organisms investigated are whole food webs, water fleas (Daphnia), horse chestnut leaf miner (Cameraria), as well as plants: spotted knapweed (Centaurea stoebe), groundsel (Senecio), false hellebore (Veratrum), dock (Rumex), and their natural enemies.

Neuro- and Developmental Biology
The laboratories investigate the mechanisms that govern animal development in the following model systems: The fruit fly Drosophila melanogaster, the nematode Caenorhabditis elegans, the zebra fish Danio rerio and the mouse. Research topics include molecular aspects of regeneration, cell differentiation in somatic and germ line tissues, neuronal outgrowth and connectivity, behaviour, chemoreceptors, and aging. The tools employed are molecular genetics, molecular biology, protein analysis, microscopy and imaging, behavioural analysis and many more.

Plant Biology
This area emphasizes the cellular and molecular aspects of pathogenic and symbiotic plant-microbe interactions. The research groups focus on aspects ranging from the recognition of microbes by the plants, initiation of defences, metabolic and hormonal adjustments, and interference of the microbe with the host defences. Current tools comprise molecular biology, reverse genetics, imaging, analytics, and biochemistry. The training both in practical and theoretical areas will prepare the PhD students for the challenge of the professional world.

PhD students learn how to conduct a research project in an independent manner. They will also learn how to interpret scientific data and to present them. Furthermore, students are expected to be able to think independently about their research topic, to trouble-check their experiments, evaluate their data and put them into a general context, and of course to work in a team. PhD students participate at national and international scientific meetings in order to broaden their knowledge and to establish a scientific and social network.

PhD students in the Department of Biology are remunerated according to standards of the Faculty of Science.

To register to the doctoral programme, candidates select a laboratory in which they plan to carry out their PhD (see Contact). They read the relevant publications and then contact the group leader to ask for a possible opening.

Alternatively, candidates look for openings that are posted by the FGLS. The selection procedure is carried out twice a year. It comprises a 15-minute oral presentation and discussions with the various group leaders.

A non-exhaustive list of laboratories includes:

  • Prof. Simon Sprecher

– Development and specification of photoreceptor neurons in the larva
– Genetic control of sensory receptor gene expression switch during metamorphosis
– Dissecting of the neuronal circuit for vision in the Drosophila larva: identifying neurons and their synaptic connectivity
– Dissecting of the neuronal circuit for vision in the Drosophila larva: function of neurons in light-guided navigation and visual learning and memory formation
– Proliferation control of neural cells in development
– Neuroanatomy of an ant brain: insights into differences of a cast system
– Super resolution imaging to identify synaptic connections
– Systems biology of forgetting

  • Prof. Anna Jazwinska

– Mechanisms of fin, heart and retina regeneration in zebrafish

  • Prof Louis-Félix Bersier

– Biodiversity and community structure
– Metacommunities
– Food webs
– Conservation
– Dynamics of multitrophic systems in mesocosms
– Modelling

  • Prof Heinz Müller-Schärer

– Ecological and evolutionary aspects of plant-antagonist interactions
– Plant invasion and range extension
– Biological control

  • Prof. Felix Mauch

– Functional analysis of RxLR effectors in the interaction of the oomycete pathogen Phytophthora brassicae with Arabidopsis
– Molecular analysis of an Arabidopsis thaliana - Phytophthora pathosystem
– Signalling control of pathogen induced plant immunity

Please refer to the internet link below for a complete an updated list (see Contact).

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

No ECTS credits can be earned.

Doctoral school

http://www.unifr.ch/biology/studies/fgls

Admission

In order to be admitted to a doctorate the candidate must have been awarded an academic Bachelor's and Master's degree or an equivalent qualification by a university recognised by the University of Fribourg.

Before applying for a doctorate the candidate should contact a professor who would be willing to supervise the thesis work.

There is no general right to be admitted to a doctorate.

The respective conditions of admission for each doctoral study programme are reserved.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

 
 

Biologie

Profil fribourgeois

Le Département de biologie propose un programme de Doctorat en biologie intégralement dispensé en anglais, qui comprend un projet de recherche personnel d'une durée de 3 à 4 ans. Ce programme inclut également des séminaires et des conférences, conformément au règlement de la Fribourg Graduate School of Life Sciences (FGLS).

Les laboratoires de biologie de l'Université de Fribourg couvrent trois grands domaines de recherche:

Ecologie et évolution
Ce champ de recherche autour de la biologie des organismes met l'accent sur l'écologie et l'évolution. Les sujets de recherche actuels portent sur la structure des réseaux trophiques, la biologie de la conservation, les espèces invasives, l'agroécologie, les interactions hôte-parasites, l'évolution des cycles biologiques, la dépression endogamique, l'évolution au sein des habitats fragmentés et la génétique des populations. Sont étudiés des chaînes alimentaires complètes, des organismes comme les puces d'eau (Daphnia) et la mineuse du marronnier (Cameraria), mais aussi des plantes comme la centaurée du Rhin (Centaurea stoebe), le séneçon (Senecio), les vératres (Veratrum), la patience (Rumex) et leurs prédateurs naturels.

Neurobiologie et biologie du développement
Les laboratoires s'intéressent aux mécanismes qui régissent le développement animal dans les systèmes modèles suivants: la mouche du vinaigre (Drosophila melanogaster), le nématode Caenorhabditis elegans, le poisson-zèbre (Danio rerio) et la souris. Les domaines de recherche couvrent les aspects moléculaires de la régénération, la différenciation cellulaire des tissus somatiques et de la lignée germinale, la croissance et la connectivité neuronales, les comportements, les chimiorécepteurs et le vieillissement. Les outils utilisés sont, entre autres, la génétique moléculaire, la biologie moléculaire, l'analyse des protéines, la microscopie et l'imagerie, ou encore l'analyse comportementale.

Biologie végétale
Cette discipline cible particulièrement les aspects cellulaires et moléculaires des interactions symbiotiques plante-bactérie. Les groupes de recherche s'intéressent à différents aspects, comme l'identification des bactéries par les plantes, la mise en place de mécanismes de défense, les adaptations métaboliques et hormonales, ainsi que la réaction des bactéries aux systèmes de défense de la plante hôte. Les outils actuels comprennent la biologie moléculaire, la génétique inverse, l'imagerie, les analyses et la biochimie. La formation, qui s'appuie sur un enseignement tant pratique que théorique, prépare les doctorantes et doctorants au monde professionnel.

Les doctorantes et doctorants apprennent à mener un projet de recherche de manière autonome, ainsi qu'à interpréter et à présenter des données scientifiques. Ils sont par ailleurs invités à faire preuve d'indépendance dans les réflexions qui concernent leur domaine de recherche, à évaluer leurs données et à les replacer dans un contexte général et, bien évidemment, à travailler en équipe. Ils prennent part à des rencontres scientifiques nationales et internationales dans le but d'étendre leurs connaissances et de tisser un réseau social et scientifique.

Les doctorantes et doctorants du Département de biologie sont rémunérés selon les barèmes de la Faculté des sciences.

Ceux qui souhaitent s'inscrire au programme de Doctorat choisissent un laboratoire au sein duquel ils prévoient de mener à bien leur projet de thèse (voir lien ci dessous, rubrique Contact). Après avoir lu les publications correspondantes, ils contactent le responsable du groupe pour poser leur candidature.

Les candidates et candidats peuvent également consulter les postes publiés par la FGLS. Une procédure de sélection est organisée deux fois par an. Celle-ci comprend une présentation orale de 15 minutes et un entretien avec les différents responsables de groupe.

Ci-dessous une liste non exhaustive des laboratoires:

  • Prof. Simon Sprecher

– Développement et spécification des neurones photorécepteurs de la larve
– Contrôle génétique des commutateurs de l'expression du gène récepteur sensoriel pendant la métamorphose
– Dissection du circuit neuronal du système visuel de la larve de drosophile: identification des neurones et de leur connectivité synaptique
– Dissection du circuit neuronal du système visuel de la larve de drosophile: fonction des neurones dans la navigation guidée par la lumière, apprentissage visuel et formation de la mémoire
– Contrôle de la prolifération des cellules neurales en développement
– Neuroanatomie d'un cerveau de fourmi: étude des différences d'un système de caste
– Imagerie super-résolution dans l'identification des connexions synaptiques
– Biologie systémique de l'oubli

  • Prof. Anna Jazwinska

– Mécanismes de régénération de la nageoire, du cœur et de la rétine chez le poisson-zèbre

  • Prof. Louis-Félix Bersier

– Biodiversité et structure communautaire
– Métacommunautés
– Réseaux trophiques
– Conservation
– Dynamique des systèmes multitrophiques en mésocosmes
– Modélisation

  • Prof. Heinz Müller-Schärer

– Aspects écologiques et évolutifs des interactions entre plantes et organismes antagonistes
– Invasion des plantes et expansion des organismes
– Contrôle biologique

  • Prof. Felix Mauch

– Analyse fonctionnelle des effecteurs RxLR dans l'interaction de l'oomycète pathogène Phytophthora brassicae avec l'Arabidopsis
– Analyse moléculaire d'un pathosystème Arabidopsis thaliana-Phytophthora
– Signalement d'un contrôle d'immunité végétale induite par un pathogène

Cliquez sur le lien ci-dessous pour accéder à une liste complète à jour (rubrique Contact).

Organisation des études

Structure des études

Pas de possibilité d'acquérir des crédits ECTS.

École doctorale

http://www.unifr.ch/biology/studies/fgls

Admission

Pour pouvoir être admis au doctorat, il faut être titulaire d'un diplôme de Bachelor et d'un diplôme de Master universitaires, délivrés par une université reconnue par l'Université de Fribourg, ou de diplômes équivalents.

Avant l'inscription au doctorat, il est conseillé de prendre contact avec un professeur ou une professeure qui accepterait d'être le directeur ou la directrice de thèse.

Il n'existe pas de droit à être admis au doctorat.

Les conditions d'admission propres à chaque programme d'études de Doctorat sont réservées.