Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

 

Materials Science

Fribourg profile

The Adolphe Merkle Institute (AMI) currently employs around 50 PhD students who work in the five AMI research groups. The working language at the AMI is English and the PhD work comprises a personal research 3-4 year project within one of the research groups. The mentoring staff at AMI is devoted to instilling the doctoral candidates with the desire to perpetuate a tradition of high scientific quality. The state-of-the-art facilities provide students with the potential to acquire a whole range of valuable knowledge and skills over the course of their studies. The quality of the research equipment constitutes one of the major assets of the program, as the trainees will be given the chance to master a high number of experimental techniques. The combination of interdisciplinary, outstanding infrastructures and educational commitment defines the attractiveness of AMI, making it one of the best places to study soft nanomaterials at the postgraduate level.
The institute strives to be a leader in this area and hosts both fundamental and application-oriented interdisciplinary research programs. Our researchers are currently organized in five research groups, which offer complementary expertise and interests in strategically important areas:

BioNanomaterials
The BioNanomaterials research group is co-led by Prof. Alke Fink and Prof. Barbara Rothen-Rutishauser. Prof. Fink leads the materials science aspect of the group and Prof. Rothen-Rutishauser is responsible for all biological studies. This situation is a fresh, novel, and exciting perspective upon scientific research in an academic setting, enabling the unification of two different scientific backgrounds in order to make a truly strong interdisciplinary research group. The interdisciplinary nature within the BioNanomaterials research group is further expressed by the varying scientific backgrounds of its members, which include chemistry and biochemistry, biology, pharmacy, biomedicine, materials science, and biophysics.

For more information: http://ami.swiss/research/bionanomaterials

Biophysics
The overarching research goal in the Biophysics laboratory, led by Prof. Michael Mayer, is to apply biophysics knowledge towards improving human health. To this end, his group contributes to the molecular understanding of disease by developing sensitive diagnostic assays and sensors, as well as characterizing individual protein molecules for applications in biomarker detection, routine protein analysis, and proteomics. Research is multidisciplinary and collaborative and many projects take inspiration from nature to develop biophysical assays, methods, and tools that enable molecular-scale interrogations with unprecedented information content, sensitivity, and speed.

For more information: http://ami.swiss/research/biophysics

Macromolecular Chemistry
The research carried out by AMI's Macromolecular Chemistry group, led by Prof. Nico Bruns, is motivated by a fascination for polymers and proteins. The rationale behind our work exploits the various functions of proteins, such as their ability to self-assemble into well-defined three dimensional structures and to act as catalysts, and merges them with polymer systems, which are relatively easy to synthesize and can be tailored to specific applications. Via this approach, some of the best aspects of two different domains of macromolecular chemistry are combined in order to exploit the catalytic power of enzymes, to create novel nanosystems and to develop materials with unprecedented new functions.
Three lines of research illustrate our strategy:
1) Enzyme-catalyzed controlled/living radical polymerization (ATRPases);
2) Protein cages and polymersomes as nanoreactors;
3) Polymer-protein hybrid materials with the capability to self-report damage.

For more information: http://ami.swiss/research/macromolecular-chemistry

Polymer Chemistry and Materials
Motivated by the desire to create novel (nano)materials that exhibit currently unavailable properties and enable new applications, the primary research focus of the Polymer Chemistry and Materials group led by Prof. Christoph Weder is the design, synthesis, and investigation of structureproperty relationships of novel functional polymers. Many projects are inspired by Nature's materials, and/or utilize bio-based building blocks, such as cellulose nanocrystals. Interests and activities are interdisciplinary and range from the synthesis of new monomers and polymers, to advanced polymer processing, to the in-depth investigation and technological exploitation of materials with unusual but desirable properties.

For more information: http://ami.swiss/research/polymer-chemistry-materials

Soft Matter Physics
How does the assembly of materials on the 10 nm to 1 ?m length scale determine its function? This question motivates most of the projects of the soft-matter physics group. Currently the two main topics encompass energy and optical materials. In the energy materials field, we investigate structure-function interplay in organic and perovskite based solar cells and in lithium-ion batteries. Optical materials include plasmonic metals that are structure with the help of polymer self-assembly and bioinspired photonic bandgap materials. The latter is part of the strong focus on bioinspiration focus of the soft matter physics group that also includes surface properties of (nano-) structured materials such as wetting and adhesion, and mechanical properties (e.g. nacre).

For more information: http://ami.swiss/research/soft-matter-physics

Interdisciplinary collaborations between our researchers are the basis for the successful and efficient execution of complex research projects that transcend the boundaries of traditional scientific disciplines.

Open PhD positions will be advertised on the AMI web-page. Unsolicited applications that are not targeting an advertised position will not necessarily receive a response.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

No ECTS credits can be earned.

Doctoral school

-

Admission

In order to be admitted to a doctorate the candidate must have been awarded an academic Bachelor's and Master's degree or an equivalent qualification by a university recognised by the University of Fribourg.

Before applying for a doctorate the candidate should contact a professor who would be willing to supervise the thesis work.

There is no general right to be admitted to a doctorate.

The respective conditions of admission for each doctoral study programme are reserved.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

 

Science des matériaux

Profil fribourgeois

L'Adolphe Merkle Institute (AMI) emploie actuellement quelque 50 doctorantes et doctorants, répartis dans cinq groupes de recherche. A l'AMI, la langue de travail est l'anglais. La thèse de doctorat comprend un projet scientifique personnel de 3 à 4 ans, mené au sein de l'un des groupes. L'équipe encadrante de l'AMI est animée par la volonté de donner aux candidates et candidats au doctorat l'envie de perpétuer la tradition d'une recherche scientifique de haute qualité. Les installations sont à la pointe de la technologie et permettent aux doctorantes et doctorants d'acquérir une vaste palette de connaissances et de compétences pendant leurs études. La qualité des équipements de recherche constitue l'un des atouts majeurs du programme, qui offre aux doctorantes et doctorants la possibilité de maîtriser un grand nombre de techniques expérimentales. La combinaison de compétences interdisciplinaires avec des infrastructures et un engagement pédagogiques hors pair explique l'attrait de l'AMI, et en fait l'un des meilleurs lieux pour étudier la matière molle au niveau postgrade.
L'institut a pour ambition de devenir le leader dans ce domaine, et héberge des programmes interdisciplinaires de recherche fondamentale et orientée vers l'application. Nos scientifiques sont actuellement répartis dans cinq groupes de recherche, qui se distinguent par une expertise et des champs d'intérêt complémentaires dans des domaines d'importance stratégique:

Bionanomatériaux
Le groupe de recherche en bionanomatériaux est codirigé par Prof. Alke Fink et Prof. Barbara Rothen-Rutishauser. Prof. Fink dirige les activités du groupe liées à la science des matériaux, Prof. Rothen-Rutishauser étant responsable de toutes les études biologiques. Cette organisation place la recherche scientifique universitaire sous un jour nouveau, original et passionnant. Elle permet de réunir deux milieux scientifiques différents, et de créer un groupe de recherche réellement et fortement interdisciplinaire.
Cet aspect du groupe de recherche en bionanomatériaux se reflète également dans la diversité des domaines d'appartenance de ses membres: chimie et biochimie, biologie, pharmacie, biomédecine, science des matériaux et biophysique.

Pour de plus amples informations: http://ami.swiss/research/bionanomaterials

Biophysique
L'objectif général du laboratoire de biophysique dirigé par Prof. Michael Mayer est d'exploiter les connaissances en biophysique pour améliorer la santé humaine. A cet effet, son groupe contribue à l'analyse moléculaire des pathologies en élaborant des tests de diagnostic et des capteurs sensibles, ainsi qu'en caractérisant les molécules protéiques en vue d'applications telles que la détection de biomarqueurs, les analyses de protéines de routine et les techniques de protéomique. La recherche est ici multidisciplinaire et collaborative, et de nombreux projets s'inspirent de la nature pour concevoir des essais, méthodes et outils biophysiques permettant de répondre à des interrogations à l'échelle moléculaire avec un contenu d'information, une sensibilité et une vitesse sans précédent.

Pour de plus amples informations: http://ami.swiss/research/biophysics

Chimie macromoléculaire
Les recherches menées par le groupe de chimie macromoléculaire de l'AMI, dirigé par Prof. Nico Bruns, se focalisent notamment sur les polymères et les protéines. Le raisonnement qui sous-tend ces travaux se fonde sur les diverses fonctions des protéines, notamment leur capacité à s'agréger pour former des structures tridimensionnelles bien définies et agir comme des catalyseurs, puis à fusionner avec les systèmes polymères, relativement faciles à synthétiser et à adapter à des applications spécifiques. Cette approche permet d'allier les meilleurs aspects de deux domaines différents de la chimie macromoléculaire, afin d'exploiter la puissance de catalyse des enzymes, de créer de nouveaux nanosystèmes et de concevoir des matériaux aux fonctions inédites.
Trois axes de recherche illustrent notre stratégie:
1) Polymérisation par catalyse enzymatique / radicalaire vivante (ATRPases);
2) Cages protéiques et vésicules polymères proposées comme nanoréacteurs;
3) Matériaux hybrides polymère-protéine ayant une capacité d'auto-analyse des dommages.

Pour de plus amples informations: http://ami.swiss/research/macromolecular-chemistry

Chimie des polymères et matériaux
Le groupe de chimie des polymères et matériaux, dirigé par Prof. Christoph Weder, est animé par la volonté de créer de nouveaux (nano)matériaux aux propriétés inédites et d'ouvrir la voie à de nouvelles applications. Son principal axe de recherche est la conception, la synthèse et l'étude des relations entre la structure et les propriétés de nouveaux polymères fonctionnels. De nombreux projets s'inspirent des matériaux naturels et/ou utilisent des biocomposants comme les nanocrystaux de cellulose. Les champs d'intérêt et les activités sont interdisciplinaires. Ils s'étendent de la synthèse de nouveaux monomères et polymères au traitement de polymères complexes, en passant par l'analyse approfondie et l'exploitation technologique de matériaux aux propriétés rares, mais intéressantes.

Pour de plus amples informations: http://ami.swiss/research/polymer-chemistry-materials

Physique de la matière molle
Comment l'assemblage de matériaux (échelle de 10 nm à 1 ?m) détermine-t-il la fonction obtenue? Cette question sous-tend la plupart des projets menés par le groupe de recherche en physique de la matière molle. A l'heure actuelle, les deux principaux sujets d'étude sont les matériaux énergétiques et les matériaux optiques. Dans le domaine des matériaux énergétiques, nous étudions l'interaction entre la structure et la fonction au sein de cellules photovoltaïques organiques et à pérovskites, ainsi que dans des piles au lithium ion. Les matériaux optiques englobent des métaux plasmoniques structurés grâce à l'auto-agrégation de polymères et de biomatériaux à bandes photoniques. Ces derniers font partie des axes de recherche majeurs du groupe de physique de la matière molle, qui s'intéresse également aux propriétés de surface des matériaux (nano)structurés comme le mouillage et l'adhérence, mais aussi à leurs propriétés mécaniques (du nacre, par exemple).

Pour de plus amples informations: http://ami.swiss/research/soft-matter-physics

Les collaborations interdisciplinaires entre nos chercheurs sont le fondement de l'efficacité et du bon déroulement de projets de recherche complexes, qui transcendent les limites des disciplines scientifiques traditionnelles.

Les postes de doctorantes et doctorants à pourvoir seront publiés sur le site Internet de l'AMI. Les candidatures spontanées ne répondant pas à une annonce précise ne seront pas forcément traitées.

Organisation des études

Structure des études

Pas de possibilité d'acquérir des crédits ECTS.

École doctorale

-

Admission

Pour pouvoir être admis au doctorat, il faut être titulaire d'un diplôme de Bachelor et d'un diplôme de Master universitaires, délivrés par une université reconnue par l'Université de Fribourg, ou de diplômes équivalents.

Avant l'inscription au doctorat, il est conseillé de prendre contact avec un professeur ou une professeure qui accepterait d'être le directeur ou la directrice de thèse.

Il n'existe pas de droit à être admis au doctorat.

Les conditions d'admission propres à chaque programme d'études de Doctorat sont réservées.