Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

 

Communication and Media Research

Abstract

The University of Fribourg's Master programme in Communication and Media Research offers a comprehensive overview of theories, research fields and topical developments in the media and communication sector. This Master programme provides a multi-faceted, problem-oriented and internationally comparative study of the interplay between media, society, organisations and individuals. Moreover, according to their own preferences and interests, our students are given the opportunity to specialise in one of three core areas that will also be noted on their diploma: «Media, Politics and the Economy», «Journalism and Organisational Communication», «Media Use and Effects».

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

Fribourg profile
The Master programme at the Department of Communication and Media Research (DCM) offers you a solid scientific education. Beyond acquiring knowledge you learn to critically analyse and independently research topical and societally relevant phenomena in media and communication. In small groups, you will acquire competences that are in demand in various occupational areas in the media and communication sector. Our dedicated team ensures diverse courses, excellent supervision and regular feedback.
Our Master programme offers the freedom and flexibility you need thanks to the variety of courses offered and the possibility to determine your timeschedule yourself. A large offer of minor study programmes at the University of Fribourg enables you to complement your studies of communication according to your own interests

Learning outcomes and career openings
The study programme is aimed at teaching profound scientific knowledge and methods and prepares you for careers in the fields of media management, journalism, politics, administration and NPOs, science, consulting in communication, public relations and communication management, marketing, market research and media planning. The possibility of the recognition of an internship offers opportunities to make contacts at an early stage with the media and communication practice.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

90 ECTS credits, 3 semesters

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/PWEqb

Admission

Master's degree programmes are built on the knowledge and abilities that were acquired when obtaining a bachelor's degree.

Holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a Swiss university are admitted to a master's degree programme without any preconditions if they have earned 60 or 90 ECTS credits – depending on the chosen master's degree programme – within the corresponding discipline. However, additional requirements can be required. The same applies to holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg.

Holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a Swiss or a foreign university, provided that the bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg, who do not fulfil this condition can be admitted to a master's degree programme with preconditions (which must be successfully completed before starting the master's degree programme) and/or additional requirements (which can be completed during the master's degree programme). The preconditions and/or additional requirements may not exceed 60 ECTS credits in total. The same applies to holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a Swiss university of applied sciences, according to existing agreements.

The respective conditions of admission for each master's degree programme are reserved.

Alternatives

Also offered as a minor study programme (30 ECTS credits).

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

 

Sciences de la communication et des médias

Résumé

Le programme de Master en sciences de la communication et des médias de l'Université de Fribourg fournit un aperçu complet des théories, des domaines de recherche et des développements actuels dans le secteur des médias et de la communication. Ce programme de Master offre une étude multi-facettes et critique de l'interaction entre les médias, la société, les organisations et les individus avec des analyses comparatives internationales. De plus, selon leurs propres préférences et intérêts, nos étudiantes et étudiants ont la possibilité de se spécialiser dans l'un des trois domaines de base, également noté sur leur diplôme: «Media, Politics and the Economy», «Journalism and Organisational Communication», «Media Use and Effects».

Afficher le profil du programme d'études

Profil du programme d'études

Profil fribourgeois
Le programme de Master au Département des sciences de la communication et des médias (DCM) vous offre une formation scientifique solide. Au-delà de l'acquisition de connaissances, vous apprenez à analyser avec un esprit critique et à pratiquer une recherche indépendante sur les phénomènes actuels et socialement pertinents dans les médias et la communication. Grâce aux enseignements en petits groupes, vous allez acquérir des compétences très recherchées dans diverses professions du secteur des médias et de la communication. Notre équipe d'enseignants dédiée assure des cours variés, une excellente supervision et un feedback régulier aux étudiantes et étudiants.
Notre programme de Master offre la liberté et la flexibilité dont vous avez besoin: grâce à la variété des cours proposés, vous avez de nombreux choix suivant l'orientation choisie et pouvez déterminer votre horaire de cours vous-même. L'offre généreuse en programmes d'études secondaires au sein de l'Université vous permet de compléter vos études de communication en fonction de vos propres intérêts.

Objectifs de formation et débouchés
Le programme d'études est destiné à un enseignement des connaissances solides et des méthodes scientifiques. Il vous prépare à des carrières dans les domaines de la gestion des médias, le journalisme, la politique, l'administration et les ONG, la science, le conseil en communication, les relations publiques, en gestion de la communication, le marketing, les études de marché et la planification des médias. La possibilité de la reconnaissance d'un stage offre des possibilités d'établir des contacts dans le secteur des médias et de la communication à un stade précoce.

Organisation des études

Structure des études

90 crédits ECTS, 3 semestres

Plan d'études

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/YYbWv

Admission

Les voies d'études Master se basent sur les connaissances et les compétences acquises pour l'obtention du Bachelor.

Les titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor universitaire délivré par une université suisse peuvent être admis aux études de Master sans autres conditions dans la branche d'études correspondante (cela signifie que 60 ECTS au minimum doivent être obtenus dans la branche d'études envisagée au niveau Master). Le même principe est appliqué aux titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor universitaire étranger reconnu et jugé équivalent par l'Université de Fribourg.

Les titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor universitaire suisse ou étranger, reconnu et jugé équivalent par l'Université de Fribourg, obtenu dans une autre branche d'études peuvent être admis aux études de Master avec conditions préalables (à accomplir avant l'entrée en Master) ou avec exigences supplémentaires (à accomplir parallèlement aux études de Master). Une admission avec conditions préalables ou avec exigences supplémentaires est également possible pour les titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor d'une haute école spécialisée suisse, selon les conventions en vigueur.

Les conditions d'admission propres à chaque programme de Master sont réservées.

Variantes

Est également offert en tant que programme d'études secondaires (30 crédits ECTS).