Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Data Analytics

Abstract

Data Analytics is aimed at training experienced scientists in data analysis methods. This ranges from traditional statistical methods to machine learning and data mining techniques, including the computer skills (programming) required for database management, data processing, data analysis and data visualisation. The Data Analytics minor study programme is therefore extremely pertinent for students wishing to complement basic training acquired as part of a master's degree.

This minor study programme is open to students from all faculties.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

The programme's primary goal is to teach students a number of skills essential to data management and analysis in any field. Students will therefore gain not only theoretical knowledge, but above all know-how. They will be capable of programming in different languages (R, Python, etc.), setting up and managing databases, extracting relevant information from them and carrying out statistical analysis of them. They will learn the modern methods of artificial intelligence and classification which today, in a «digitalised» world, play a role in all kinds of decision-making. A practical complement to a master's degree, this programme will be a major asset in the job market. It will also provide excellent preparation for students wishing to pursue a doctorate. This study programme is under the responsibility of the Department of informatics, which provides the content and monitoring.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

30 ECTS credits as a minor study programme

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/U0SRs (French)

Admission

Master's degree programmes are built on the knowledge and abilities that were acquired when obtaining a bachelor's degree.

Holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a Swiss university are admitted to a master's degree programme without any preconditions if they have earned 60 or 90 ECTS credits – depending on the chosen master's degree programme – within the corresponding discipline. However, additional requirements can be required. The same applies to holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg.

Holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a Swiss or a foreign university, provided that the bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg, who do not fulfil this condition can be admitted to a master's degree programme with preconditions (which must be successfully completed before starting the master's degree programme) and/or additional requirements (which can be completed during the master's degree programme). The preconditions and/or additional requirements may not exceed 60 ECTS credits in total. The same applies to holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a Swiss university of applied sciences, according to existing agreements.

The respective conditions of admission for each master's degree programme are reserved.
Admission requires a bachelor's degree which covered the following courses at the Faculty of Management, Economics and Social Sciences of the University of Fribourg, or an equivalent range of courses at another faculty/university:

– Mathematics I (4,5 ECTS)
– Mathematics II (4,5 ECTS)
– Statistics I (4,5 ECTS)
– Statistics II (4,5 ECTS)
– Statistics III (4,5 ECTS)
– Information Systems I (6 ECTS)
– Information Systems II (6 ECTS)

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

Data Analytics

Résumé

Le Data Analytics a l'ambition de former des scientifiques aguerris aux méthodes de l'analyse des données. Cela va des méthodes statistiques traditionnelles aux techniques du Machine Learning ou Data Mining (fouille de données), en passant bien évidemment par des connaissances informatiques (programmation) nécessaires à la gestion de bases de données, au traitement des données, à l'analyse des données et à la visualisation des données. Le programme d'études secondaires Data Analytics est donc très opportun pour compléter une formation de base obtenue dans le cadre d'un cursus master.

Ce programme d'études secondaires s'adresse aux étudiantes et étudiants de toutes les Facultés.

Afficher le profil du programme d'études

Profil du programme d'études

Le programme vise en premier lieu à doter les étudiantes et étudiants d'un certain nombre de compétences indispensables à la gestion et à l'analyse de données dans quelque domaine que ce soit. Les étudiantes et étudiants auront donc non seulement un bagage théorique, mais surtout un savoir-faire. En effet, ils seront à même de programmer dans différents langages (R, Python, etc.), de mettre en place et gérer des bases de données, d'y extraire les informations pertinentes et d'en procéder à l'analyse statistique. Ils connaîtront les méthodes modernes de l'intelligence artificielle et de la classification qui participent aujourd'hui dans ce monde dit de la digitalisation à toute une série de décisions. Ce programme, en complétant de manière judicieuse un master, sera un atout majeur sur le marché de l'emploi. Il préparera également de manière optimale les étudiantes et étudiants qui désireraient se lancer dans des études doctorales. Le programme d'études est mis sous la responsabilité du Département d'informatique qui en assure le contenu et le suivi.

Organisation des études

Structure des études

30 crédits ECTS en tant que programme d'études secondaires

Plan d'études

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/U0SRs

Admission

Les voies d'études master se basent sur les connaissances et les compétences acquises pour l'obtention du bachelor.

Les titulaires d'un diplôme de bachelor universitaire délivré par une Haute école universitaire suisse sont admis sans conditions préalables aux études de master s'ils ont acquis, selon les études de master souhaitées, 60 ou 90 crédits ECTS dans la même branche d'études. Des compléments peuvent toutefois être exigés. Le même principe s'applique aux titulaires d'un diplôme de bachelor universitaire étranger, reconnu et jugé équivalent par l'Université de Fribourg.

Les titulaires d'un diplôme de bachelor universitaire suisse ou étranger, reconnu et jugé équivalent par l'Université de Fribourg, qui ne remplissent pas cette condition peuvent être admis aux études de master avec des conditions préalables (à accomplir avant l'entrée en master) et/ou des compléments (à accomplir au cours des études de master). Ces prestations d'études ne doivent pas dépasser 60 crédits ECTS au total. Il en va de même des titulaires d'un diplôme de bachelor d'une Haute école spécialisée suisse, selon les conventions en vigueur.

Les conditions d'admission propres à chaque programme d'études de master demeurent réservées.
Pour pouvoir être admis, les candidates et les candidats doivent être titulaires d'un diplôme de bachelor, dont le programme couvre le contenu des cours ci-dessous proposés par la Faculté des sciences économiques et sociales et du management de l'Université de Fribourg, ou d'une offre de cours équivalente d'une autre Faculté/Université:

– Mathématiques I (4,5 ECTS)
– Mathématiques II (4,5 ECTS)
– Statistique I (4,5 ECTS)
– Statistique II (4,5 ECTS)
– Statistique III (4,5 ECTS)
– Informatique de gestion I (6 ECTS)
– Informatique de gestion II (6 ECTS)