Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

European Business

Abstract

The study programme is management-oriented with a strong emphasis on international management and a focus on business in Europe. Designed to teach methods, concepts and tools to manage international companies, it also builds intercultural awareness and the soft skills necessary to be a successful and valuable member of an international management team. With a rich offer of courses from different management fields (strategy, finance, HR, etc.), this study programme builds on lectures but also group work and case studies in intercultural teams; excursions to companies and visits from executives from multinational companies and international organisations. In addition, the Faculty of Economics and Social Sciences of the University of Fribourg together with the EM Strasbourg Business School in France and the Università di Pavia in Italy have established two Double degree programmes leading to two Master's degrees, with one year in Fribourg and one year in Strasbourg or Pavia.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

Today's business environment requires managers with an international perspective. The entry into foreign markets, the organisation of cross-border production processes and the creation of worldwide innovation is crucial for the success of many companies today. Therefore, executives must understand the complexity of international business, must be able to manage within an increasingly global environment, identify global business opportunities and compete against international competitors.
The Master of Arts in European Business is a management-oriented Master with a strong emphasis on international management and in particular with a focus on Business in Europe. The study programme is designed to teach the necessary methods, concepts and tools to manage international companies as well as to build intercultural awareness and soft skills that are necessary to be a successful and valuable member of an international management team.
The study programme does not neglect the business opportunities in other regions of the world (in particular Emerging Markets), but some emphasis is put on the particularities of Western and Eastern Europe since these are the dominant target regions for companies from all over Europe, including Switzerland.

Fribourg profile
With a rich offer of courses from different management fields (strategy, marketing, finance, HR, etc.), the study programme builds on lectures but also on group work and case studies in intercultural teams; excursions to companies are offered and executives from multinational companies and international organisations frequently visit the faculty to present their international strategies and to discuss recent issues with the students.
In addition, the Faculty of Economics and Social Sciences of the University of Fribourg together with the EM Strasbourg Business School in France and the Università di Pavia in Italy provides the option for selected students to add a Double degree programmes leading to the award of two university Master's degrees, with one year in Fribourg and one year in Strasbourg or Pavia. On both diplomas it is mentioned that the student is awarded a Double degree.

Career openings
The study programme is designed primarily for students in management that eventually wish to work in an international context. With the Master of Arts in European Business, students will acquire the knowledge and skills necessary to assume the responsibilities and decision making within any multinational company or organisation. Depending on the specialisation that students choose in the optional module, they can develop the necessary skills to work in an executive position in marketing, general management, finance or managerial accounting.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

90 ECTS credits, 3 semesters
or
120 ECTS credits, 4 Semesters, for the optional Double degree programmes.

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/PWEqb

Admission

Master's degree programmes are built on the knowledge and abilities that were acquired when obtaining a Bachelor's degree.

Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university can be admitted to a Master's degree programme within the corresponding discipline (requires the acquisition of minimum 60 ECTS credits at Bachelor level in the corresponding discipline) without any additional requirements. The same applies to holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg.

Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university or holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg, can be admitted to a Master's degree programme within another discipline with prerequisites (must be successfully completed before starting the Master's degree programme) or additional requirements (can be completed during the Master's degree programme). According to existing agreements, holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university of applied sciences can also be admitted with prerequisites or additional requirements.

The respective conditions of admission for each Master's degree programme are reserved.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

European Business

Résumé

Ce programme d'études axé sur la gestion d'entreprise est avant tout consacré au management international, et en particulier à la conduite d'affaires en Europe. Il a pour objectif de transmettre les méthodes, les notions et les outils nécessaires à la gestion d'entreprises multinationales, et de former les diplômées et diplômés à l'interculturalité et aux compétences relationnelles qui constituent la clé de la réussite au sein d'une équipe internationale de management. Les enseignements abordent une vaste palette de domaines liés à la gestion (stratégie, finance, RH, etc.), sous forme de cours magistraux, mais également de travaux en groupe et d'études de cas au sein d'équipes interculturelles, de visites sur le terrain et de rencontres avec des dirigeants d'entreprises et d'organisations internationales. En outre, la Faculté des sciences économiques et sociales de l'Université de Fribourg a mis en place, en partenariat avec l'EM Strasbourg Business School en France et l'Università di Pavia en Italie, deux programmes de Double degree (double diplôme), avec une année d'études à Fribourg et une autre à Strasbourg ou à Pavie.

Afficher le profil du programme d'études

Profil du programme d'études

Aujourd'hui, le monde des affaires exige des manageurs ayant une vision internationale. La pénétration de marchés étrangers, l'organisation de processus de production transfrontaliers et le souci de l'innovation à l'échelle mondiale constituent désormais la clé du succès pour de nombreuses entreprises. Les cadres dirigeants doivent donc savoir appréhender la complexité des affaires internationales, gérer un environnement global aux interactions croissantes, identifier les perspectives commerciales à l'échelle mondiale et relever le défi d'une concurrence internationale.
Ce Master of Arts in European Business axé sur la gestion d'entreprise est avant tout consacré au management international, et en particulier à la conduite d'affaires en Europe. Ce cursus a pour objectif de transmettre les méthodes, les notions et les outils nécessaires à la gestion d'entreprises multinationales, et de former les diplômés à l'interculturalité et aux compétences relationnelles qui constituent la clé de la réussite au sein d'une équipe internationale de management.
Sans faire l'impasse sur les perspectives professionnelles dans d'autres régions du monde (en particulier l'Asie), le programme d'études met l'accent sur les spécificités de l'Europe centrale et occidentale, principal point d'ancrage des entreprises suisses et européennes.

Profil fribourgeois
Les enseignements abordent une vaste palette de domaines liés à la gestion (stratégie, finance, RH, etc.), sous forme de cours magistraux, mais également de travaux en groupe et d'études de cas au sein d'équipes interculturelles. Des visites sur le terrain sont également proposées, ainsi que des rencontres avec des dirigeants d'entreprises et d'organisations internationales, qui sont fréquemment invités par la Faculté pour présenter leurs stratégies internationales et évoquer l'actualité des affaires avec les étudiants.
En outre, la Faculté des sciences économiques et sociales de l'Université de Fribourg a récemment mis en place, en partenariat avec l'EM Strasbourg Business School en France et l'Università di Pavia en Italie, deux programmes de Double degree permettant chacun l'obtention de deux titres universitaires de Master, avec une année d'études à Fribourg et une autre à Strasbourg ou à Pavie. Il est indiqué sur les deux diplômes que l'étudiante ou l'étudiant est titulaire d'un Double Degree.

Débouchés
Ce programme d'études s'adresse en priorité aux étudiantes et aux étudiants en gestion qui se destinent à travailler dans un contexte international. Grâce à ce Master of Arts in European Business, les étudiantes et étudiants acquièrent les connaissances et les compétences nécessaires pour assumer des responsabilités et prendre des décisions au sein d'entreprises et d'organisations internationales. En fonction de la spécialisation qu'ils choisissent pour leur module optionnel, les étudiantes et étudiants peuvent acquérir les compétences pour devenir cadres dirigeants dans les domaines du marketing, du management en général, de la finance ou de la comptabilité de gestion.

Organisation des études

Structure des études

90 crédits ECTS, 3 semestres
ou
120 crédits ECTS, 4 semestres, dans le cadre des programmes de Double degree en option.

Plan d'études

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/WI2Cc

Admission

Les voies d'études Master se basent sur les connaissances et les compétences acquises pour l'obtention du Bachelor.

Les titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor délivré par une université suisse peuvent être admis aux études de Master sans autres conditions dans la branche d'études correspondante (cela signifie que 60 ECTS au minimum doivent être obtenus dans la branche d'études envisagée au niveau Master). Le même principe est appliqué aux titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor universitaire étranger reconnu et jugé équivalent par l'Université de Fribourg.

Les titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor universitaire suisse ou étranger, reconnu et jugé équivalent par l'Université de Fribourg, obtenu dans une autre branche d'études que celle du Bachelor peuvent être admis aux études de Master avec conditions préalables (à accomplir avant l'entrée en Master) ou avec exigences supplémentaires (à accomplir parallèlement aux études de Master). Une admission avec conditions préalables ou avec exigences supplémentaires est également possible pour les titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor d'une haute école spécialisée suisse, selon les conventions en vigueur.

Les conditions d'admission propres à chaque programme de Master sont réservées.