Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

 

Business Informatics

Abstract

The Master's programme comprises a first group of classes in information management and decision support, a second group in computer science, and a third group of optional classes in management. Students can create their personalized curriculum. In these groups, they have full access to the Swiss Joint Master in Computer Science, a programme jointly offered by the Universities of Fribourg, Bern and Neuchâtel. Over 60 courses are available, most of which are taught in English. Practice-orientation is incorporated in the topics addressed (e-business, e-commerce, e-government, supply chain management, revenue management, etc). It is also reflected in the internship at a company or other institution required as an integral part of the curriculum. Finally, the Master's thesis is typically completed on a problem in connection with a practical application.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

The Master of Science in Information Management gives candidates with a Bachelor's degree in Information Systems or related domains the opportunity to advance their knowledge and skills in the application of information and communication technologies in the economy and society.

The Master's programme comprises a first group of classes in information management and decision support, a second group in computer science, and a third group of optional classes in management. Students can create their personalized course of study choosing classes according to a required number of credits in the first two groups. In these groups, they have full access to the Swiss Joint Master in Computer Science (SJMCS), a programme jointly offered by the Universities of Fribourg, Bern and Neuchâtel, and benefit from the multiple advantages of the SJMCS (for further information, see also the study programme «Computer Science»). Over 60 courses are offered, some taught in German or French, and most of them taught in English, allowing also students who only know English to complete the program without problems.

Practice-orientation is a key attribute of the study programme. It is incorporated in the topics addressed (e-business, e-commerce, e-government, supply chain management, revenue management, etc). It is also reflected in the internship required as an integral part of the programme. This internship at a company or other institution provides the student the opportunity to apply the acquired knowledge and gain valuable practical experience. Finally, the Master's thesis is typically completed on a problem in connection with a practical application.

Learning outcomes and career openings
Offering a broad range of courses, coupled with a scientifically sound but practice-oriented approach, the Master of Science in Information Management is particularly suited to preparing students for the job market, where interdisciplinary experience and practical skills are highly valued in qualified graduates. A Master's degree in Information Management enables students to fill advanced positions in diverse economic sectors, including financial industries, high-tech companies, journalism and entertainment, public administration, teaching and continuing education, research, automation, gaming and sports, communication technology, engineering and knowledge management. It also gives them the opportunity to continue their studies towards a Ph.D. degree, offering further interesting careers in industry and academia. Altogether, it opens excellent professional perspectives, as applied computer scientists are worldwide in high demand.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

90 ECTS credits, 3 semesters

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/PWEqb

Admission

Master's degree programmes are built on the knowledge and abilities that were acquired when obtaining a bachelor's degree.

Holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a Swiss university are admitted to a master's degree programme without any preconditions if they have earned 60 or 90 ECTS credits – depending on the chosen master's degree programme – within the corresponding discipline. However, additional requirements can be required. The same applies to holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg.

Holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a Swiss or a foreign university, provided that the bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg, who do not fulfil this condition can be admitted to a master's degree programme with preconditions (which must be successfully completed before starting the master's degree programme) and/or additional requirements (which can be completed during the master's degree programme). The preconditions and/or additional requirements may not exceed 60 ECTS credits in total. The same applies to holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a Swiss university of applied sciences, according to existing agreements.

The respective conditions of admission for each master's degree programme are reserved.

Alternatives

Also offered as a minor study programme (30 ECTS credits).

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

 

Informatique de gestion

Résumé

Ce Master comprend trois catégories de cours: une première dédiée à l'informatique de gestion et aux outils d'aide à la prise de décision, une deuxième axée sur l'informatique fondamentale et une troisième qui porte sur la gestion d'entreprise (en option). Les étudiantes et étudiants peuvent personnaliser eux-mêmes leur plan d'études. Dans ce cadre, ils bénéficient d'un accès complet au Swiss Joint Master of Science in Computer Science, proposé conjointement par les Universités de Fribourg, Berne et Neuchâtel. Ils font leur choix parmi un éventail de plus de 60 cours, majoritairement dispensés en anglais. Une dimension pratique est intégrée à l'enseignement dans toutes les matières (e-business, e-commerce, e-government, supply chain management, revenue management, etc.); un stage devant être effectué en entreprise ou dans une institution fait d'ailleurs partie intégrante de la formation. Enfin, le travail de Master porte généralement sur un thème lié à une application pratique.

Afficher le profil du programme d'études

Profil du programme d'études

Le Master of Arts en informatique de gestion donne aux titulaires d'un Bachelor dans la même discipline ou dans un domaine connexe l'opportunité d'approfondir leurs connaissances et leurs compétences relatives à la mise en application des technologies de l'information et de la communication dans l'économie et la société.

Ce Master comprend trois catégories de cours: une première dédiée à l'informatique de gestion et aux outils d'aide à la prise de décision, une deuxième axée sur l'informatique fondamentale et une troisième qui porte sur la gestion d'entreprise (en option). Les étudiantes et étudiants peuvent personnaliser eux-mêmes leur plan d'études. Ils font leur choix de façon à atteindre le nombre de crédits ECTS requis dans les deux premières catégories, qui leur offrent un accès complet au Swiss Joint Master of Science in Computer Science (SJMCS) proposé conjointement par les Universités de Fribourg, Berne et Neuchâtel, avec de nombreux avantages à la clé (pour plus d'informations, voir le programme d'études «Informatique»). Plus de 60 matières sont enseignées, dont une majorité en anglais et quelques-unes en allemand ou en français. Les anglophones peuvent ainsi accomplir le programme sans problème.

La dimension pratique est une caractéristique clé de ce programme d'études. Elle est intégrée à l'enseignement dans toutes les matières (e-business, e-commerce, e-government, supply chain management, revenue management, etc.); un stage fait d'ailleurs partie intégrante de la formation. Réalisé en entreprise ou dans une institution, il permet aux étudiantes et aux étudiants de mettre en application leurs acquis et d'acquérir une expérience de terrain extrêmement précieuse. Enfin, le travail de Master porte généralement sur un thème lié à une application pratique.

Objectifs de formation et débouchés professionnels
Proposant un large éventail de cours associé à une approche pratique et scientifique solide, le Master of Arts en informatique de gestion prépare idéalement les étudiantes et étudiants aux exigences du marché du travail. Une expérience interdisciplinaire et des compétences pratiques sont en effet des qualités très prisées chez les personnes hautement qualifiées. L'obtention du Master donne ainsi accès à un vaste choix de postes à responsabilité dans divers secteurs économiques, notamment la finance, les technologies de pointe, le journalisme, le spectacle, l'administration, l'enseignement et la formation continue, la recherche, l'automation, l'industrie du jeu, le sport, les technologies de la communication, l'ingénierie et la gestion de la connaissance.
Les diplômées et diplômés peuvent également poursuivre des études doctorales pour élargir encore leur horizon professionnel dans l'industrie et les milieux universitaires. Globalement, les perspectives sont excellentes, les compétences spécialisées en informatique appliquée étant très appréciées au niveau international.

Organisation des études

Structure des études

90 crédits ECTS, 3 semestres

Plan d'études

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/NpYTx

Admission

Les voies d'études Master se basent sur les connaissances et les compétences acquises pour l'obtention du Bachelor.

Les titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor délivré par une université suisse peuvent être admis aux études de Master sans autres conditions dans la branche d'études correspondante (cela signifie que 60 ECTS au minimum doivent être obtenus dans la branche d'études envisagée au niveau Master). Le même principe est appliqué aux titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor universitaire étranger reconnu et jugé équivalent par l'Université de Fribourg.

Les titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor universitaire suisse ou étranger, reconnu et jugé équivalent par l'Université de Fribourg, obtenu dans une autre branche d'études que celle du Bachelor peuvent être admis aux études de Master avec conditions préalables (à accomplir avant l'entrée en Master) ou avec exigences supplémentaires (à accomplir parallèlement aux études de Master). Une admission avec conditions préalables ou avec exigences supplémentaires est également possible pour les titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor d'une haute école spécialisée suisse, selon les conventions en vigueur.

Les conditions d'admission propres à chaque programme de Master sont réservées.

Variantes

Est également offert en tant que programme d'études secondaires (30 crédits ECTS).