Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

 

Environmental Sciences and Humanities

Abstract

Anthropogenic climate change, natural degradation, and loss of biodiversity but also sustainable energy production, resource depletion, and waste disposal demand immediate action and governance. The management of these environmental challenges has already caused and will increasingly engender ethical concerns, dilemmas, and conflicts. The Master programme in Environmental Sciences and Humanities educates a new generation of environmental scientists with a special competence in environmental humanities and ethics for resolving governance challenges in the fields of the environment, sustainability and climate change. The unique competences acquired in this Master are integrative and comprehensive knowledge on how to analyse environmental conflicts and to propose ethically sound solutions to environmental challenges.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

The Master programme Environmental Sciences and Humanities educates generalists in environmental sciences with a special competence in the environmental humanities and ethics. All modules consist of course units providing more general overviews or introductions to the fields of studies and allow for specialisations in specific fields of environmental sciences and humanities. The programme is based on an interfaculty and a humanistic approach. Within this highly interdisciplinary setting, students achieve key competences in all fields of the environmental sciences ranging from biology, geosciences to environmental economy and law to a key focus on the environmental humanities with a special emphasis on ethical decision-making in environmental practice.

Structure of classes and lectures
All course units of this programme make true interdisciplinarity possible as they are followed in their faculties and departments of origin together with students from the respective fields. The programme is divided into six modules and the Master thesis:

  1. The environmental humanities module, the speciality of this Master programme, consists of courses in the fields of the environmental humanities and in ethics. Examples are courses in environmental ethics, methods of ethical decision-making and courses in environmental history and political ecology;
  2. The geosciences module deepens knowledge in methods and theory of earth sciences, human and physical geography;
  3. The environmental biology module extends knowledge in ecology and biological evolution;
  4. The sustainable economy module provides the necessary background in economic thinking in the context of sustainability;
  5. The environmental law module focuses on public law at national, European and international levels;
  6. The humanities and theology module extends humanist background to environmental challenges.

Finally, the Master thesis is interdisciplinary, focusing on ethical or humanist aspects of environmental governance and practice.

In conjunction with the courses from the humanities and theology module the environmental humanities module aims at building in-depth competences in humanist approaches to environmental challenges while a special focus lies on ethics and ethical decision-making. The other four modules provide the necessary generalist background to understand the basic scientific, economic and legal aspects of the environmental issues to be governed today. Depending on their prerequisites, students follow more advanced or more basic courses. The Master thesis allows a specialisation on the ethical aspects of the chosen field of research.

Skills acquired and career opportunities
Students of this Master programme develop and strengthen their capacities of analytical thinking, precise reasoning and detecting the ethical implications of environmental practice. In addition, they acquire general scientific, economic and legal knowledge concerning the environmental challenges of today and specialise in the context of their Master thesis. Studying at the multi-lingual University of Fribourg allows to gain language competences in English, French and German. However, most of the courses are taught in English.
The Master programme Environmental Sciences and Humanities qualifies for further research in the fields of environmental sciences and humanities, especially applied ethics and philosophy. Job opportunities include the fields of environmental administration and public institutions (local, national, regional, and international), urban and regional planning, environmental consulting, sustainable development, and NGOs with a focus on the environment.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

120 ECTS credits, 4 semesters

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/xZPll (French)
http://studies.unifr.ch/go/z3FE1 (German)

Admission

Master's degree programmes are built on the knowledge and abilities that were acquired when obtaining a bachelor's degree.

Holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a Swiss university are admitted to a master's degree programme without any preconditions if they have earned 60 or 90 ECTS credits – depending on the chosen master's degree programme – within the corresponding discipline. However, additional requirements can be required. The same applies to holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg.

Holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a Swiss or a foreign university, provided that the bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg, who do not fulfil this condition can be admitted to a master's degree programme with preconditions (which must be successfully completed before starting the master's degree programme) and/or additional requirements (which can be completed during the master's degree programme). The preconditions and/or additional requirements may not exceed 60 ECTS credits in total. The same applies to holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a Swiss university of applied sciences, according to existing agreements.

The respective conditions of admission for each master's degree programme are reserved.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

 

Sciences de l'environnement et humanités environnementales

Résumé

Le changement climatique d'origine anthropique, la dégradation de la nature et la perte de biodiversité, mais aussi la production d'énergie durable, l'épuisement des ressources non-renouvelables et l'élimination des déchets exigent une action et une gouvernance immédiates. La gestion de ces défis environnementaux a déjà suscité et suscitera de plus en plus de préoccupations, de dilemmes et de conflits éthiques. Le programme de master en Sciences de l'environnement et humanités environnementales forme une nouvelle génération de spécialistes de l'environnement ayant des compétences particulières en sciences humaines et en éthique de l'environnement pour résoudre les problèmes de gouvernance dans les domaines de l'environnement, de la durabilité et du changement climatique. Les compétences uniques acquises dans ce master sont des connaissances intégrées et complètes sur la manière d'analyser les conflits environnementaux et de proposer des solutions éthiquement valables aux défis environnementaux.

Afficher le profil du programme d'études

Profil du programme d'études

Le programme de master Sciences de l'environnement et humanités environnementales forme des généralistes en sciences de l'environnement ayant des compétences particulières en sciences humaines et en éthique de l'environnement. Tous les modules se composent d'unités d'enseignement offrant des aperçus généraux ou des introductions aux différents domaines d'études et permettant des spécialisations dans des domaines spécifiques des sciences de l'environnement et des humanités environnementales. Le programme d'études est basé sur une approche interfacultaire et humaniste. Dans ce cadre fortement interdisciplinaire, les étudiantes et étudiants acquièrent des compétences clés dans tous les domaines des sciences de l'environnement, allant de la biologie, des géosciences, de l'économie et du droit de l'environnement en focalisant sur les humanités environnementales, avec un accent particulier mis sur la prise de décision éthique dans les pratiques environnementales.

Structure des cours et des séminaires
Toutes les unités d‘enseignement de ce programme rendent possible une véritable interdisciplinarité car elles sont suivies dans leurs Facultés et Départements d'origine avec des étudiantes et étudiants des domaines respectifs. Le programme est divisé en six modules, plus la thèse de master:

  1. Le module humanités environnementales, la spécialité de ce master, est constitué de cours dans les domaines des humanités environnementales et de l'éthique. Il s'agit par exemple des cours d'éthique de l'environnement, des cours de méthodes de prise de décision éthique et des cours d'histoire de l'environnement et d'écologie politique;
  2. Le module géosciences approfondit les connaissances dans les méthodes et la théorie des sciences de la terre et de la géographie humaine et physique;
  3. Le module biologie environnementale approfondit les connaissances en écologie et en évolution biologique;
  4. Le module économie durable fournit les bases nécessaires à la réflexion économique dans le contexte de la durabilité;
  5. Le module droit de l'environnement se concentre sur le droit public aux niveaux national, européen et international;
  6. Le module sciences humaines et théologie élargit le cadre des sciences humaines aux défis environnementaux.

Enfin, le mémoire de master est interdisciplinaire et porte sur les aspects éthiques ou liés aux sciences humaines de la gouvernance et des pratiques environnementales.

En lien avec les cours du module sciences humaines et théologie, le module humanités environnementales vise à développer des compétences approfondies dans les approches des défis environnementaux par les sciences humaines, tout en mettant l'accent sur l'éthique et la prise de décision éthique. Les quatre autres modules fournissent le contexte généraliste nécessaire pour comprendre les aspects scientifiques, économiques et juridiques fondamentaux des défis environnementaux à relever aujourd'hui. En fonction de leurs prérequis, les étudiantes et étudiants suivent des cours plus avancés ou plus basiques. Le travail de master permet une spécialisation sur les aspects éthiques du domaine de recherche choisi.

Compétences acquises et perspectives de carrière
Dans ce programme de master, les étudiantes et étudiants développent et augmentent leurs capacités de réflexion analytique, de raisonnement précis et de détection des implications éthiques dans la pratique environnementale. De plus, ils acquièrent des connaissances scientifiques, économiques et juridiques concernant les défis environnementaux d'aujourd'hui et se spécialisent dans le cadre de leur mémoire de master. Les études à l'Université plurilingue de Fribourg permettent d'acquérir des compétences linguistiques en allemand, anglais et français. Cependant, la plupart des cours sont dispensés en anglais.
Le programme de master Sciences de l'environnement et humanités environnementales permet de poursuivre des recherches dans les domaines des sciences de l'environnement et des sciences humaines, en particulier en éthique appliquée et en philosophie. Les possibilités professionnelles comprennent les domaines de l'administration de l'environnement et des institutions publiques (locales, nationales, régionales et internationales), de l'urbanisme et de l'aménagement du territoire, du conseil en environnement, du développement durable et des ONG s'engageant pour l'environnement.

Organisation des études

Structure des études

120 crédits ECTS, 4 semestres

Plan d'études

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/xZPll

Admission

Les voies d'études master se basent sur les connaissances et les compétences acquises pour l'obtention du bachelor.

Les titulaires d'un diplôme de bachelor universitaire délivré par une Haute école universitaire suisse sont admis sans conditions préalables aux études de master s'ils ont acquis, selon les études de master souhaitées, 60 ou 90 crédits ECTS dans la même branche d'études. Des compléments peuvent toutefois être exigés. Le même principe s'applique aux titulaires d'un diplôme de bachelor universitaire étranger, reconnu et jugé équivalent par l'Université de Fribourg.

Les titulaires d'un diplôme de bachelor universitaire suisse ou étranger, reconnu et jugé équivalent par l'Université de Fribourg, qui ne remplissent pas cette condition peuvent être admis aux études de master avec des conditions préalables (à accomplir avant l'entrée en master) et/ou des compléments (à accomplir au cours des études de master). Ces prestations d'études ne doivent pas dépasser 60 crédits ECTS au total. Il en va de même des titulaires d'un diplôme de bachelor d'une Haute école spécialisée suisse, selon les conventions en vigueur.

Les conditions d'admission propres à chaque programme d'études de master demeurent réservées.