Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Islam and Society

Abstract

More than practically any other subject, Islam is a key conflict issue in European societies. In national and international politics, education and social services, there is a struggle to achieve constructive interaction between Islam and society. The «Islam and Society» programme, which is unique in Switzerland, teaches skills for a differentiated approach to complex debates, in which central matters of the religious self-understanding of Muslims are raised and solutions to meet social challenges are proposed and established. The programme is offered by the Swiss Centre for Islam and Society (SZIG) at the University of Fribourg.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

The programme teaches skills related to the complex interactions between Islam and society. Through the examination of Islam, different fundamental issues relating to the self-understanding of European societies are broached from a new angle. On the one hand, based on social science or socio-philosophical theories and social practice, the course looks at the situation of Muslims in Europe. In relation with legal, political and social conditions, Islam is undergoing key transformation processes. On the other hand, it deals with the issue as to how Islamic thought develops based on its multiple traditions of knowledge in the European context and how it is positioned in ethical, philosophical and social discourses. How was and how is the heritage of Islamic traditions of knowledge, such as in the field of interpretations of the Quran or ethics, introspectively processed and made effective for the European context?

Fribourg profile
The study programme is based on offers from the Swiss Centre for Islam and Society (SZIG) and other Domains at the University of Fribourg. The SZIG is a centre of competence for current social issues related to Islam in Switzerland, resulting from a long-term dialogue process at federal level. The SZIG pursues a multi-perspective approach which also includes Islamic self-reflection. It is committed to a differentiated perception of the diversity of Islam at the level of individual identities and organisations. The SZIG maintains close contacts with different actors in the fields of politics, religion and civil society. Due to its varied advanced training programme and through the preparation of briefs on current themes, the SZIG has proven highly relevant in recent times. As an inter-faculty centre of the Faculties of Theology, Law and Arts and Humanities,it brings together different skills related to Islam and religion, which facilitate a varied study programme. Regular meetings and guest lectures with international guests broaden the study programme.

Learning outcomes and career openings
The programme is for students seeking an in-depth qualification with practical content in relation to Islam and society. In many of today's professional fields, skills connected to cultural and religious diversity are required. Therefore, the subject of Islam plays an important role for teachers, in health and social occupations, as well as for jobs in public administrations, culture, economy, finance and civic organisations. It is thus possible to combine the study programme with all major programmes.
Graduates acquire skills which they can bring to different areas of activity. They can use their Islamic-legitimated practices in a wide range of traditions. They are able to critically analyse interfaces between Islam, politics, law and ethics and make comparisons between different country contexts. Lastly, they can assess to what extent Muslim organisations can be involved in civic areas of activity. In this way, and combined with knowledge from other study programmes, they can function as mediators in complex and controversial situations.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

30 ECTS credits as a minor study programme

Curriculum

http://www.unifr.ch/szig

Admission

Master's degree programmes are built on the knowledge and abilities that were acquired when obtaining a Bachelor's degree.
Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university can be admitted to a Master's degree programme without any additional requirements. The same applies to holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg.
According to existing agreements, holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university of applied sciences can also be admitted with prerequisites or additional requirements.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

Islam et société

Résumé

Peu d'autres sujets cristallisent actuellement autant de conflits que l'islam dans les sociétés européennes. Que ce soit en politique nationale et internationale ou dans les domaines de la formation et des sciences sociales, l'enjeu consiste à instaurer des interactions constructives entre islam et société. Les compétences transmises dans le cadre du programme «Islam et société», unique en son genre en Suisse, permettront aux étudiantes et étudiants de soulever les questions centrales liées à l'auto-interprétation de la religion musulmane et de développer des solutions pour répondre aux défis sociétaux. Ce programme est proposé par le Centre Suisse Islam et Société (CSIS) de l'Université de Fribourg.

Afficher le profil du programme d'études

Profil du programme d'études

Les étudiantes et étudiants acquièrent des compétences axées sur la gestion des interactions complexes entre islam et société. L'étude de l'islam permet de soulever plusieurs questions identitaires centrales pour les sociétés européennes. Il s'agit, d'une part, d'éclairer la situation des musulmans en Europe en s'appuyant sur des théories socio-philosophiques ou relevant des sciences sociales, ainsi que sur la pratique sociétale. L'islam connaît des processus de transformation majeurs liés aux conditions-cadres juridiques, politiques et sociales. Il s'agit aussi d'analyser l'évolution de la pensée musulmane dans le contexte européen, partant des traditions intellectuelles plurielles qui la traversent, ainsi que son positionnement dans le discours éthique, philosophique et social. Comment l'héritage de ces traditions intellectuelles a-t-il été ou sera-t-il pensé, notamment dans la lecture du Coran ou sur le plan éthique, et quel est son rôle dans le contexte européen?

Profil fribourgeois
Ce programme intègre des cours proposés par le CSIS et des éléments d'autres domaines d'études de l'Université de Fribourg. Le CSIS est un centre de compétences traitant des questions actuelles liées à l'islam en Suisse. Sa création est l'aboutissement d'un processus de dialogue mené au niveau fédéral pendant de nombreuses années. Le CSIS adopte une approche multiperspectiviste qui inclut également une auto-réflexion islamique. Il s'oblige à porter un regard différencié sur la diversité de l'islam, au niveau des identités individuelles comme des organisations. Le CSIS entretient des contacts avec les différents acteurs du monde politique, des milieux religieux et de la société civile. Grâce à la diversité de son programme de formation continue et au traitement de mandats portant sur des sujets d'actualité, le CSIS est très en prise avec la pratique. Centre interfacultaire des Facultés de théologie, droit et lettres de l'Université de Fribourg, il regroupe de multiples compétences dans le domaine de l'islam et de la religion en général, ce qui lui permet de proposer un vaste programme d'études. Des séminaires et des conférences de personnalités internationales invitées complètent l'offre d'études.

Objectifs de formation et débouchés
Ce programme s'adresse aux étudiantes et étudiants qui souhaitent acquérir une qualification approfondie et des connaissances pratiques s'agissant des rapports entre islam et société. L'exercice de nombreux métiers réclame aujourd'hui la maîtrise de la diversité culturelle et religieuse. Le thème de l'islam occupe ainsi une place importante dans l'enseignement, dans les métiers de la santé et le domaine social, mais aussi dans l'administration publique, ainsi que dans les activités culturelles, économiques et financières, sans oublier les organisations de la société civile. Ce programme d'études peut donc être combiné avec tous les programmes principaux.
Les compétences acquises par les diplômées et diplômés du cursus peuvent être mises à profit dans de multiples secteurs d'activité. Les diplômées et diplômés sont en mesure d'associer les pratiques de l'islam à un large éventail de traditions. Ils savent analyser de façon critique les interfaces entre islam, politique, droit et éthique, mais aussi établir des comparaisons entre les divers contextes nationaux. Enfin, ils savent apprécier dans quelle mesure les organisations musulmanes peuvent intervenir dans les différents champs d'action de la société. Ils peuvent ainsi servir d'intermédiaires dans des situations complexes et controversées, tout en exploitant les connaissances acquises dans le cadre d'autres programmes d'études.

Organisation des études

Structure des études

30 crédits ECTS en tant que programme d'études secondaires

Plan d'études

http://www.unifr.ch/szig

Admission

Les voies d'études Master se basent sur les connaissances et les compétences acquises pour l'obtention du Bachelor.
Les titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor universitaire délivré par une université suisse peuvent être admis aux études de Master sans autres conditions. Le même principe est appliqué aux titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor universitaire étranger reconnu et jugé équivalent par l'Université de Fribourg.
Une admission avec conditions préalables ou avec exigences supplémentaires est également possible pour les titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor d'une haute école spécialisée suisse, selon les conventions en vigueur.