Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Medieval Studies

Abstract

The Middle Ages generally refers to the period of European cultures from the 5th to the 15th centuries. Interdisciplinary research into the heterogeneous and diverse culture of the European Middle Ages also serves to gain a deeper understanding of modern and contemporary developments.
Medieval Studies, an interdisciplinary minor study programme in the master's degree course, is aimed at students majoring in a subject that focuses on the medieval period who wish to gain complementary or more advanced knowledge and skills in other, interdisciplinary fields of medieval civilisation. This course is run by the Medieval Institute of the University of Fribourg.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

30 ECTS credits as a minor study programme

Admission

Master's degree programmes are built on the knowledge and abilities that were acquired when obtaining a bachelor's degree.

Holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a Swiss university are admitted to a master's degree programme without any preconditions if they have earned 60 or 90 ECTS credits – depending on the chosen master's degree programme – within the corresponding discipline. However, additional requirements can be required. The same applies to holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg.

Holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a Swiss or a foreign university, provided that the bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg, who do not fulfil this condition can be admitted to a master's degree programme with preconditions (which must be successfully completed before starting the master's degree programme) and/or additional requirements (which can be completed during the master's degree programme). The preconditions and/or additional requirements may not exceed 60 ECTS credits in total. The same applies to holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a Swiss university of applied sciences, according to existing agreements.

The respective conditions of admission for each master's degree programme are reserved.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

Études médiévales

Résumé

En général, on appelle Moyen Age l'époque des cultures européennes qui s'étend du Vème au XVème siècle. L'analyse interdisciplinaire de la culture hétérogène et complexe du Moyen Age européen sert aussi à approfondir la compréhension des évolutions modernes et contemporaines.
Le programme de Master interdisciplinaire «Etudes médiévales», offert en tant que programme d'études secondaires, s'adresse aux étudiantes et étudiants qui effectuent un programme principal axé sur l'époque médiévale et qui souhaitent compléter ou approfondir ce dernier par des connaissances et des compétences dans des domaines apparentés ou interdisciplinaires. Il s'agit d'une offre de l'Institut d'études médiévales de l'Université de Fribourg.

Organisation des études

Structure des études

30 crédits ECTS en tant que programme d'études secondaires

Admission

Les voies d'études master se basent sur les connaissances et les compétences acquises pour l'obtention du bachelor.

Les titulaires d'un diplôme de bachelor universitaire délivré par une Haute école universitaire suisse sont admis sans conditions préalables aux études de master s'ils ont acquis, selon les études de master souhaitées, 60 ou 90 crédits ECTS dans la même branche d'études. Des compléments peuvent toutefois être exigés. Le même principe s'applique aux titulaires d'un diplôme de bachelor universitaire étranger, reconnu et jugé équivalent par l'Université de Fribourg.

Les titulaires d'un diplôme de bachelor universitaire suisse ou étranger, reconnu et jugé équivalent par l'Université de Fribourg, qui ne remplissent pas cette condition peuvent être admis aux études de master avec des conditions préalables (à accomplir avant l'entrée en master) et/ou des compléments (à accomplir au cours des études de master). Ces prestations d'études ne doivent pas dépasser 60 crédits ECTS au total. Il en va de même des titulaires d'un diplôme de bachelor d'une Haute école spécialisée suisse, selon les conventions en vigueur.

Les conditions d'admission propres à chaque programme d'études de master demeurent réservées.