Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

 

Law

Abstract

During their Master's programme, students gain deeper insights into the distinct areas of law dealt with during their Bachelor. A wide choice is open to them here: the students compile their own programme of semester and block courses from more than 100 Master courses covering all areas of law and choose their own specialist fields of study.
One such specialist field is European Law, which offers students a chance to specialise in EU law and the legislation surrounding the European Convention on Human Rights. Otherwise, students can choose to specialise in Religious Law, for example, which offers in-depth investigation of socio-political issues at the interface of law and religion.
In Fribourg, great emphasis is placed on personal mentoring and support: the teaching staff know their students personally and the courses are taught in small groups. Another advantage is the bilingual aspect – this is the only university in Switzerland where almost all the teaching is done in German and French.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

During their Master's programme, students gain deeper insights into distinct areas of law. The renowned chairs and institutes allow students to specialise in a variety of fields with a view to their subsequent professional objectives. The teaching staff know their students personally. The courses are taught mostly in small groups, offering opportunities for in-depth discussions and personal support. What sets the faculty apart is the attractive range of seminars which it offers outside its own walls.

As a Master student, you have plenty of choice at Fribourg: we offer more than 100 Master's courses covering all areas of law. You compile your own programme, made up of semester and block courses.
You choose your own focal point and while still studying gain expertise in one specialist area.

Distinction: «European Law»
As is typical of the Faculty of Law, even at the foundation stage, the European Law distinction offers an in-depth look at European law. It enables students to have the additional or specific qualifications that they have obtained in the field of European Law (meaning first and foremost EU law and the legislation surrounding the European Human Rights Convention) mentioned on their diploma. European Law is one of Fribourg's specialities.

Distinction: «Religious Law (Utriusque Iuris
Religious law issues are regularly the focus of socio-political discussion. Switzerland has differing, complex rules governing the relationship between religious communities and the state. The «Religious Law» distinction takes an in-depth look at issues at the interface of law and religion.

Distinction: «Bilingual curriculum»
Legal professionals who work in Switzerland or at the European level need sound German and French skills. Fribourg is the only law faculty in Switzerland where virtually all the teaching is offered in both languages. By taking «Bilingual curriculum» as their specialisation, students can have the language skills that they acquired in Fribourg mentioned on their diploma.

«bilingue plus» course
Besides intensive vocational linguistic training in their second language of study, participants are taught awareness of multiculturalism and multilingualism issues. Unique in Switzerland, the «bilingue
plus*» course is held in collaboration with the Language Centre of the Faculty of Arts and Humanities.
The course of study is organised around that of the Master's programme. The language training is carried out in groups of no more than fifteen students to guarantee best results. In addition, students receive personal mentoring and support during the entire duration of the course.

Fribourg profile
Our teaching system is ideal for efficient, ambitious students. You obtain your qualifications as you go and write your Master's thesis on a pre-defined theme within a clearly set period. This means that you really do complete your Master's degree within two to three semesters. Even if you do one semester at one of our numerous partner universities abroad, we count your results there towards your degree. We have the privilege of being able to teach our Master's students in small groups. That way, we know all of them personally and can take individual wishes into account.

Since its inception, the University of Fribourg's Faculty of Law has been keen to foster national and international networking. This is an advantage for students: we have numerous partnering agreements with law faculties in Switzerland and abroad and offer several joint courses with partner universities. For example:

  • Centre for Transnational Legal Studies (CTLS) in London;
  • Student exchange in Shanghai (China);
  • International seminars «Galatasaray (Turkey) – Fribourg» and «Craiova (Romania) – Fribourg»;
  • Summer University at the Institute of Federalism at the University of Fribourg;
  • Summer School «European Private Law» at the University of Salzburg (Austria).

At the Bachelor's level, you can already spend one or two semesters studying at another Swiss university or take part in the Erasmus programme. You have the possibility of doing a stint of study abroad at one of more than 100 law faculties in Europe. The exchange programmes enable you to spend time abroad without prolonging your studies. Exactly which results are recognised is evaluated and the decision taken by an Equivalences Commission.

Highly ambitious students can attain a degree at the University of Fribourg and at the same time at the University Panthéon-Assas (Paris II) by taking advantage of the challenging cooperation offer «Double diplôme de Master Fribourg/Paris II».

Career openings
Exciting career opportunities are open to you as a legal professional. You can lead the prosecution in the role of public prosecutor, represent clients before the court in the role of lawyer, or pronounce judgement in the role of judge. You can earn your living in key positions in businesses, administration or international organisations, or become a federal councillor, banker or ambassador. Otherwise, you can pass on your knowledge by doing teaching and research.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

90 ECTS credits, 2-3 semesters; no limit on study time

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/xBtnZ (French)
http://studies.unifr.ch/go/85rNU (German)

Admission

Master's degree courses are built on the knowledge and abilities that were acquired when obtaining a Bachelor of Law's degree.
Only holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss University can be admitted to a Master of Law's degree course.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

 

Droit

Résumé

Les étudiantes et étudiants de Master approfondissent leurs connaissances dans les divers domaines du droit qui ont été étudiés lors du Bachelor. Ils disposent à cet égard d'un choix étendu, parmi plus de 100 cours de Master proposés dans toutes les branches du droit. Les étudiantes et étudiants s'appuient sur cette offre pour composer sur mesure leur programme de cours semestriels et de cours blocs et définir leurs axes prioritaires.
Le droit européen constitue l'un des axes possibles et propose une spécialisation dans le droit de l'UE et dans le droit de la Convention européenne des droits de l'homme. Les étudiantes et étudiants peuvent également choisir de mettre l'accent sur le droit des religions par exemple, pour approfondir les questions de nature sociopolitique à la croisée du droit et de la religion.
L'encadrement individuel et l'encouragement des compétences personnelles revêtent une grande importance à Fribourg: les professeures et professeurs connaissent personnellement leurs étudiantes et étudiants et dispensent leurs cours en petits groupes. Un autre atout réside dans le bilinguisme: Fribourg est la seule faculté de droit en Suisse à proposer pratiquement tous les cours en allemand et en français.

Afficher le profil du programme d'études

Profil du programme d'études

Les étudiantes et étudiants de Master approfondissent les divers domaines du droit. Les chaires et instituts renommés leur permettent de se spécialiser en fonction de leurs objectifs professionnels futurs. Les les professeures et professeurs connaissent personnellement leurs étudiantes et étudiants: les cours ont lieu la plupart du temps en petit comité et sont l'occasion d'échanges nourris et d'encouragements individuels. La Faculté se distingue par une offre intéressante de séminaires à l'extérieur.

En tant qu'étudiante ou étudiant de Master, vous bénéficiez chez nous d'une grande liberté de choix: nous vous proposons plus de 100 cours de Master dans toutes les disciplines du droit. C'est vous qui aménagez votre programme à partir des cours semestriels et des cours blocs.
Vous choisissez vos axes prioritaires et devenez ainsi spécialiste d'un domaine avant d'avoir fini vos études.

Mention «Droit européen»
La mention «Droit européen» propose, dans la tradition de la Faculté de droit, un approfondissement en droit européen dès la formation initiale. Elle donne la possibilité aux étudiantes et aux étudiants de prouver qu'ils ont acquis des compétences supplémentaires ou spécifiques en droit européen (lequel se définit avant tout comme le droit de l'UE et le droit de la Convention européenne des droits de l'homme). Le droit européen fait partie des axes essentiels proposés à Fribourg.

Mention «Droit des religions (Utriusque Iuris
Les questions relatives au droit des religions alimentent régulièrement les débats sociopolitiques. En Suisse, les relations entre les communautés religieuses et l'Etat se caractérisent par leur diversité et leur complexité. La mention «Droit des religions» approfondit des thématiques fondamentales au confluent du droit et de la religion.

Mention «Etudes bilingues»
Les juristes exerçant leur activité en Suisse ou au niveau européen ont besoin de solides connaissances en allemand et en français. Fribourg est la seule faculté de droit en Suisse à proposer la quasi-totalité des cours dans les deux langues. La mention «Etudes bilingues» dans le diplôme témoigne du bagage linguistique qui a été acquis à Fribourg.

Formation «bilingue plus»
Outre une formation linguistique intensive spécifiquement liée aux études et à leur future profession dans la deuxième langue d'étude, les participantes et les participants sont également sensibilisés aux questions du multiculturalisme et du plurilinguisme. Unique en Suisse, la formation «bilingue plus» est proposée en collaboration avec le Centre de langues de la Faculté des lettres.
L'emploi du temps de la formation «bilingue plus» est coordonné avec la grille horaire des cours et séminaires d'études. La formation linguistique est dispensée en groupes de quinze étudiantes et étudiants au maximum afin de garantir un apprentissage optimal. A cet effectif réduit viennent s'ajouter des conseils personnalisés et un accompagnement individuel pendant toute la formation.

Profil fribourgeois
Notre système d'enseignement convient à des étudiantes et des étudiants efficaces et déterminés: vos acquis font l'objet d'un contrôle continu et vous rédigez votre travail de fin d'études sur un sujet prédéterminé selon un calendrier clairement défini. Ce faisant, vous obtenez votre titre de Master en deux à trois semestres. Nous tenons compte de vos prestations d'études lorsque vous effectuez un semestre dans l'une de nos nombreuses universités partenaires à l'étranger. Nous avons la chance de pouvoir proposer des classes à effectif réduit à nos étudiantes et nos étudiants de Master: nous connaissons ainsi chacune et chacun personnellement et pouvons être à l'écoute des besoins individuels.

Depuis ses débuts, la Faculté de droit de l'Université de Fribourg mise sur son intégration dans les réseaux nationaux et internationaux. Cette politique bénéficie également aux étudiantes et aux étudiants: liés par de nombreuses conventions d'échange avec des facultés de droit en Suisse et à l'étranger, nous proposons plusieurs offres communes avec nos universités partenaires, parmi lesquelles:

  • Center for Transnational Legal Studies (CTLS), à Londres;
  • Student exchange, à Shanghai (Chine);
  • Séminaires internationaux «Galatasaray (Turquie) – Fribourg» et «Craiova (Roumanie) – Fribourg»;
  • Université d'été de l'Institut du Fédéralisme, à l'Université de Fribourg;
  • Summer School «European Private Law», à l'Université de Salzbourg (Autriche).

Dès le niveau de Bachelor, il vous est possible d'effectuer un ou deux semestres dans une autre université suisse ou de participer au programme Erasmus. Plus de 100 facultés de droit européennes vous accueillent pour votre séjour à l'étranger. Les programmes d'échange permettent de séjourner à l'étranger sans avoir à prolonger ses études. Il appartient à la commission des équivalences d'évaluer et de décider quelles sont les prestations d'études qui bénéficient d'une reconnaissance.

Avec le programme de coopération exigeant «Double diplôme de Master Fribourg/Paris II», les plus ambitieux de nos étudiantes et étudiants peuvent obtenir à la fois un diplôme de l'Université de Fribourg et un diplôme de l'Université Panthéon-Assas (Paris II).

Débouchés
Des métiers passionnants vous attendent en tant que juriste. Ainsi, vous soutenez l'accusation en tant que procureure ou procureur, représentez vos clients devant le tribunal en tant qu'avocate ou avocat, ou rendez des jugements en tant que juge. Au sein des entreprises, dans l'administration ou dans des organisations internationales, vous officiez à des postes clés, devenez conseillère fédérale ou conseiller fédéral, banquière ou banquier, ambassadrice ou ambassadeur. Vous pouvez également transmettre votre savoir en choisissant la voie de l'enseignement et de la recherche.

Organisation des études

Structure des études

90 crédits ECTS, 2 à 3 semestres; pas de limite maximale pour la durée des études

Plan d'études

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/xBtnZ

Admission

Les études de Master se basent sur les connaissances et les compétences acquises pour l'obtention du Bachelor of Law.
Seuls les titulaires d'un Bachelor of Law délivré par une université suisse sont admis aux études de Master of Law.