Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Legal Studies

Abstract

The Master of Arts in Legal Studies is aimed at persons who wish to acquire a sound fundamental knowledge of law, but do not want to complete full law studies. It chiefly addresses non-lawyers who are interested in Swiss law in the context of their professional activities, or lawyers who hold a foreign law degree.
Students draw up their own curriculum, which enables them to deepen their legal knowledge in line with their personal interests. Compulsory subjects can be freely combined with other subjects.
This Master's degree course is only offered at the Faculty of Law of the University of Fribourg.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

Students create their own curriculum in consultation with the person responsible for the Master of Arts in Legal Studies, which means they can intensify their basic legal knowledge in accordance with their personal interests. They take some of the compulsory subjects in the Bachelor course –introduction to law, civil law, code of obligations, public law and criminal law – and combine these with freely selectable subjects from the Bachelor's and/or Master's programmes. This Master's degree course can be awarded with the distinction «Bilingual curriculum». Students are free to choose whether to complete their studies in one language or take some examinations in German and some in French, thus fulfilling the requirements for this distinction.

Fribourg profile
The Master of Arts in Legal Studies gives non-lawyers and lawyers with a foreign law degree a thorough fundamental knowledge of Swiss law. This option is unique in the whole of Switzerland. Students benefit from the global network of teaching staff and events featuring visiting professors.

Career openings
This programme of studies is directed at persons wishing to acquire a level of legal knowledge which is sufficient for use in their professional activities. It prepares them for management and consulting activities in areas such as communal, cantonal and federal administration, social services, associations, the private sector and international organisations, as well as paving the way to future careers as diplomats, journalists, politicians, teachers or legal informatics specialists.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

90 ECTS credits, 2-3 semesters; no limit on study time

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/qtfeu (French)
http://studies.unifr.ch/go/djufB (German)

Comments

The annual compulsory courses start in the Autumn Semester (September).

Admission

There are two types of admission:

Holders of a non-law bachelor's or master's degree awarded from a Swiss university can be admitted to the Master of Arts in Legal Studies without any additional requirements. The same applies to holders of a law or non-law bachelor's or master's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the degree is recognized and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg.

Holders of a bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university of applied sciences can also be admitted with additional requirements (can be completed during the master's degree program). They have to submit a written work within the first to semesters.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

Études juridiques

Résumé

Le Master of Arts in Legal Studies (Etudes juridiques) s'adresse aux personnes désireuses d'acquérir de solides bases juridiques sans pour autant étudier le droit en branche unique. Il cible donc surtout les non juristes intéressés par le droit suisse dans le cadre de leur activité professionnelle ou les juristes titulaires d'un diplôme obtenu à l'étranger.
Les étudiantes et étudiants composent leur propre plan d'études, ce qui leur permet d'approfondir leurs connaissances juridiques en fonction de leurs intérêts personnels. Ils sont libres d'associer les branches obligatoires à d'autres branches.
La Faculté de droit de l'Université de Fribourg est la seule à proposer ce Master.

Afficher le profil du programme d'études

Profil du programme d'études

En accord avec la personne responsable du Master of Arts in Legal Studies (Etudes juridiques), les étudiantes et étudiants composent leur propre plan d'études, ce qui leur permet d'approfondir leurs bases juridiques en fonction de leurs intérêts personnels. Ils font leur choix parmi les branches obligatoires proposées dans le cadre du Bachelor: Introduction au droit, Droit civil, Droit des obligations, Droit public ou Droit pénal. Ces branches sont complétées par celles des programmes de Bachelor et de Master choisies librement. Il est possible d'obtenir la mention «Etudes bilingues». Les étudiantes et étudiants sont libres de suivre leurs études dans une seule langue ou de passer un certain nombre d'examens en allemand et d'autres en français afin d'obtenir cette mention.

Profil fribourgeois
Le Master of Arts in Legal Studies permet aux non-juristes et aux juristes titulaires d'un diplôme obtenu à l'étranger d'acquérir de solides bases en droit suisse. Cette possibilité est unique en Suisse. Bénéficiant des connexions mondiales du personnel enseignant, les étudiantes et étudiants ont l'opportunité d'assister à des cours ponctuels donnés par des professeures et professeurs invités.

Débouchés
Ce programme d'études s'adresse aux personnes désireuses de disposer de connaissances juridiques suffisantes dans l'exercice de leur profession. Il prépare aux fonctions de direction et de conseil dans les administrations communales, cantonales ou fédérales, dans le domaine social, auprès d'associations, dans le secteur privé ou dans des organisations internationales. Il forme aussi de futurs diplomates, journalistes, responsables politiques, enseignantes ou enseignants, et spécialistes de l'informatique juridique.

Organisation des études

Structure des études

90 crédits ECTS, 2 à 3 semestres; pas de limite maximale pour la durée des études

Plan d'études

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/qtfeu

Remarque

Les cours obligatoires sont des cours annuels qui débutent au semestre d'automne (septembre).

Admission

Il y a deux types d'admission:

Les titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor ou de Master non juridique délivré par une université suisse sont admis au Master of Arts in Legal Studies (Etudes juridiques) sans autres conditions. Le même principe est appliqué aux titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor ou de Master juridique ou non juridique délivré par une université étrangère reconnu et jugé équivalent par l'Université de Fribourg.

Les titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor d'une haute école spécialisée suisse (HES/HEP) sont admis avec exigences supplémentaires (à accomplir parallèlement aux études de Master). Un travail écrit, à réaliser durant les deux premiers semestres d'études, est en principe exigé.