Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

LL.M.

Abstract

Fribourg University Law Faculty offers LL.M. programmes in international contracts and arbitration, compliance and international business law. It is the only Law Faculty in Switzerland and one of the few in the world to propose an LL.M. in compliance.
The LL.M. programmes welcome those who wish to start or develop their professional career in one of these fields, notably as a lawyer or counsel in the legal and/or compliance departments of national or multinational companies.
Each LL.M. programme offers a practice oriented curriculum, composed of mandatory core courses and activities to which additional courses may be added to address specific career goals.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

The Fribourg Law Faculty offers three LL.M. programmes specialized in international contracts and arbitration, compliance and international business law.

The core courses for each LL.M. programme provide knowledge and develop specific skills sought for by the employers in these fields. The students may further tailor their curriculum by choosing additional courses to foster their career objectives.

Offering a solid theoretical basis and focused on practical issues which the LL.M. graduates will meet in their professional life, the LL.M. programmes provide students with key differentiators in their career.

All the courses, exams and other academic activities are held in English.

The students are offered the opportunity to attend training sessions in job search and recruitment and benefit from a personalized career service by HR professionals. A large number of extra-curricular activities are equally proposed.

International profile
The LL.M. programmes welcome aproximately 40 students of different origins (29 nationalities in 2014) allowing the students to familiarize with working in an international environment and building a cross-border network – which is essential for an international career.

The LL.M. Faculty members are professors and practitioners of international renown from more than 20 countries who come purposely to train the Fribourg Law LL.M. students.

Fribourg Law Faculty is the only in Switzerland and one of the few in the world to offer the opportunity to specialize through an LL.M. in Compliance.

Career opportunities
The LL.M. programmes are designed for those who wish to practice or conduct research in the field of international contract law, arbitration, compliance or international business law.

They train lawyers specialized in these fields as well as managers and counsels working for the legal and/or compliance departments of the national or international companies, for local, cantonal or federal administrations, for non-governmental organizations, or for international organizations.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

60 ECTS credits, 2 semesters

Curriculum
Comments

Tuition fees are applied for the participation to the LL.M. programme.

Admission

Holders of a Master degree in law delivered by a Swiss university with good knowledge of English are admitted to the LL.M. without further requirements. The same applies to holders of a complete degree in law from a foreign university deemed equivalent.

The number of LL.M. students is limited. Students are selected on academic and professional merits as evidenced by the application file.

Applications are to be submitted online at the following link: http://studies.unifr.ch/go/TTbXs

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

LL.M.

Résumé

La Faculté de droit de l'Université de Fribourg propose trois programmes LL.M. spécialisés en droit des contrats internationaux et arbitrage, compliance et droit des affaires internationales. Le programme LL.M. en Compliance est unique en Suisse et un des rares au monde.
Les programmes LL.M. s'adressent aux personnes désireuses de développer une carrière dans un de ces domaines, notamment en tant qu'avocat ou juriste dans les départements juridiques et/ou compliance des entreprises nationales et multinationales.
Orienté vers la pratique, le plan d'études, différent pour chacun de ces trois programmes, est composé de cours et exercices obligatoires auxquels s'ajoutent des cours à option, adaptés aux objectifs de carrière de chaque étudiante ou étudiant.

Afficher le profil du programme d'études

Profil du programme d'études

La Faculté de droit propose trois formations LL.M. spécialisés en droit des contrats internationaux et arbitrage, compliance et droit des affaires internationales.

Les cours obligatoires de chaque programme LL.M. sont adaptés aux exigences spécifiques des employeurs. Les cours à option (une trentaine) permettant aux étudiantes et étudiants de personnaliser leur programme d'études en fonction des objectifs de carrière.

Offrant une base théorique solide et mettant l'accent sur les cas pratiques auxquels les diplômées et diplômés seront confrontés dans leur vie professionnelle, les cours visent à développer des compétences spécifiques qui constituent un avantage dans la recherche d'un emploi.

L'ensemble des cours, examens et activités académiques se déroulent en langue anglaise.

Les étudiantes et étudiants ont la possibilité de suivre des formations complémentaires en placement sur le marché du travail et de bénéficier d'un accompagnement de carrière personnalisé. Un grand nombre d'activités extracurriculaires sont également proposées.

Profil international
Les programmes LL.M. accueillent une quarantaine d'étudiantes et étudiants de nationalités différentes (29 nationalités en 2014) leur permettant de se familiariser au travail dans un milieu international et de créer un réseau international – chose indispensable pour une activité professionnelle au niveau international.

Le personnel enseignant est composé de professeurs et praticiens de renommée internationale venus d'une vingtaine de pays pour enseigner les cours LL.M. à Fribourg.

La possibilité de se spécialiser en compliance dans un programme de LL.M. est unique en Suisse et n'a que peu d'équivalents dans le monde.

Débouchés
Les programmes LL.M. s'adressent aux personnes désireuses de pratiquer le droit des contrats internationaux, l'arbitrage, la compliance ou le droit des affaires internationales.

Il prépare les futurs avocates et avocats dans ces domaines spécialisés. Il prépare aussi aux fonctions de direction et de conseil dans les départements juridiques ou compliance des entreprises suisses et internationales, dans les administrations communales, cantonales ou fédérales, dans le domaine social, auprès d'associations, dans le secteur privé ou dans des organisations internationales.

Organisation des études

Structure des études

60 crédits ECTS, 2 semestres

Plan d'études
Remarque

La participation aux programmes LL.M. est soumise à des frais de scolarité.

Admission

Les titulaires d'un diplôme de Master en droit délivré par une université suisse et ayant une bonne maîtrise de la langue anglaise peuvent être admis au LL.M. sans autres conditions. Le même principe est appliqué aux titulaires d'un diplôme complet d'études juridiques délivré par une université étrangère reconnu et jugé équivalent.

Le nombre d'étudiantes et étudiants dans chaque branche LL.M. est limité. La sélection est réalisée sur analyse des dossiers de candidatures.

La candidature doit être déposée en ligne en utilisant le lien suivant : http://studies.unifr.ch/go/LVc6T