Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

 

Human Medicine

Abstract

Students on the master programme gain the skills required to work as medical residents after passing the Swiss Federal Examination in Human Medicine (Eidgenössische Prüfung in Humanmedizin/Examen fédéral en médecine humaine). In order to achieve this, the University of Fribourg offers an innovative study programme that focuses on practical training with patients. Students are introduced to the challenges of the medical profession through interactive teaching formats, mentored self-study time and immersion in a clinical environment. They actively participate in their learning process by analysing and improving their own progress. The key themes are family medicine, professionalism and needs-oriented local medical care that is guided by social accountability.

The study programme is based on the national criteria laid down in PROFILES (Principal Relevant Objectives and Framework for Integrated Learning and Education in Switzerland).

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

Competent physicians possess a broad range of expertise. A sustainable doctor-patient relationship is important to them, and they align their actions with the well-being of the patient. They are resilient, willing to take on responsibility and make decisions, but are also aware of their own limits. Furthermore, they have a very high willingness to learn. The master programme in Human Medicine of the University of Fribourg prepares its students to meet these manifold challenges of the role of a physician, taking into account the expectations of the population and its demographic changes. The study programme is based on the general requirements for all medical schools in Switzerland, which are set out in PROFILES (http://www.profilesmed.ch/), a catalogue of competence-driven learning objectives.

The master's degree course in Fribourg focuses on themes that consider the dynamic environment of tomorrow's medicine, such as: family medicine, the role of physicians, social accountability and the application of reflective medicine.

The master's degree course consists of 3 phases that build on one another:

  • Phase 1 facilitates the transfer of the basic skills obtained during the bachelor's degree to clinical practice. The focus is on disease models, patient presentation as an introduction to different pathologies and patient needs in different stages of life;
  • In phase 2, students pass through the departments of the associated clinics in several rotations, acting as part of the team. In regular one-day stints in a family practice, students also learn about the specific nature of ambulatory medicine throughout the year;
  • In phase 3, students are in their elective year (clinical clerkships) and expand their clinical skills with stays of several weeks in clinics in Switzerland or abroad.

Students must also write a master's thesis. This is a piece of independent, personal academic research, undertaken and documented by the students.

The study programme uses formative assessment methods. Students gain an overview of their knowledge and acquired skills by means of multiple choice tests, self-reflections, OSCEs, project work and direct observations. The information thus acquired is compiled in an electronic portfolio, like a personal diary. The individual training progress can then be analysed with the help of a learning advisor. The evaluation system also includes self-reflection and the development of individual learning objectives by the students.

Fribourg profile
The master programme in Human Medicine at the University of Fribourg is characterised by the following particularities:
– With a strong focus on practical teaching and the exploration of current issues of human medicine, students receive a broad medical training to Swiss national standards. Unique features are the emphasis on family medicine and people-oriented medicine, as well as the teaching concept that includes formative assessment and requires the active participation of students;
– Admission to the master programme is restricted to 40 students. A small cohort offers a personal learning environment and guarantees students individual support during teaching units and work placements;
– Human Medicine at the University of Fribourg is taught bilingually. Students have the opportunity of communicating with health professionals, team colleagues and patients both in German and French. This offers them the chance to apply and expand their medical terminology in both languages.

Learning outcomes and career openings
The master's degree is required for admittance to the Swiss Federal Examination in Human Medicine (Eidgenössische Prüfung in Humanmedizin/Examen fédéral en médecine humaine) (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/fr-medicine-federal-examination). After successfully passing this exam, graduates receive the Federal Diploma in Human Medicine and can start their training as medical residents. This training lasts for at least 5 or 6 years. Its structure, duration, content and completion are set out in the postgraduate training programmes for the relevant disciplines. Postgraduate training is compulsory for independent medical practitioners.

The most common career options are:

  • Independent medical practitioner in general internal medicine or another specialisation;
  • Employed medical practitioner, usually in a hospital;
  • Doctor in research (university, industry, etc.).

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

180 ECTS credits, 6 semesters

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/xZPll (French)

Comments

The number of places on the master's degree course in Human Medicine is limited to 40.

Admission

Admission to the master programme requires a bachelor's degree in Human Medicine. Applicants who completed their bachelor's degree in Fribourg have priority. Places on the programme are allocated in accordance with the admissions procedure directive.
See http://studies.unifr.ch/go/fr-medicine-admission-master (French) and http://studies.unifr.ch/go/de-medicine-admission-master (German)

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

 

Médecine humaine

Résumé

Lors des études de master, les étudiantes et étudiants acquièrent les compétences nécessaires à l'exercice de la profession de médecin une fois l'examen fédéral passé avec succès. Pour ce faire, l'Université de Fribourg propose un programme d'études innovant où la formation axée sur la pratique auprès des patientes et des patients est au premier plan. Les étudiantes et étudiants sont confrontés aux défis du métier de médecin au moyen de formats d'enseignement interactifs, d'études autonomes guidées et en intégrant un milieu hospitalier. Ils participent activement à leur processus d'apprentissage en analysant et en améliorant leurs propres progrès. La médecine de famille, le comportement professionnel et une médecine de proximité centrée sur les besoins et guidée par l'imputabilité sociale constituent les axes thématiques.

Le programme d'études se base sur les critères fixés au niveau fédéral dans PROFILES (Principal Relevant Objectives and Framework for Integrated Learning and Education in Switzerland).

Afficher le profil du programme d'études

Profil du programme d'études

Les médecins compétents disposent d'un haut niveau d'expertise. Une relation médecin-patient solide leur est primordiale et ils adaptent leurs actes dans le souci du bien-être de la patiente ou du patient. Ils résistent à de fortes charges de travail, sont prêts à assumer des responsabilités et à prendre des décisions mais connaissent leurs limites. En outre, ils se distinguent par une grande volonté d'apprendre. Le programme de master en médecine humaine de l'Université de Fribourg prépare les étudiantes et étudiants à satisfaire ces diverses exigences du métier de médecin, tout en prenant en compte les exigences de la population et ses changements démographiques. Les études se basent sur les exigences générales de la Suisse relatives aux filières d'études en médecine humaine, qui sont décrites dans le catalogue d'objectifs d'apprentissage PROFILES (http://www.profilesmed.ch/).

De plus, les études de master à Fribourg définissent des axes thématiques qui prennent en compte le cadre dynamique de la médecine de demain, comme la médecine de famille, la confrontation avec la question «ça veut dire quoi, être médecin?», l'imputabilité sociale et le recours à une pratique réflexive.

Les études de master s'articulent autour de 3 phases, qui s'inscrivent dans une logique de progression:

  • La phase 1 facilite le transfert des bases acquises en bachelor vers la pratique clinique. L'accent est mis sur les modèles de maladie, la présentation d'une patiente ou d'un patient comme introduction à différentes pathologies ainsi que les besoins médicaux des personnes à différentes périodes de la vie;
  • Dans la phase 2, les étudiantes et étudiants effectuent plusieurs rotations dans les services des hôpitaux associés. Ils font partie intégrante de l'équipe sur place. Les étudiantes et étudiants apprennent également les spécificités de la médecine ambulatoire tout au long de l'année au cours de visites régulières d'une journée dans le cabinet d'un médecin de famille;
  • Dans la phase 3, les étudiantes et étudiants se trouvent dans l'année à option (stages cliniques) et élargissent leurs compétences cliniques lors de séjours de plusieurs semaines dans des établissements hospitaliers en Suisse ou à l'étranger.

De plus, les étudiantes et étudiants doivent rédiger un travail de master. Il s'agit d'un travail scientifique documenté et mené de façon individuelle et autonome.

Les méthodes d'évaluation dans le programme d'études sont formatives. Les étudiantes et étudiants obtiennent un aperçu de leurs connaissances et compétences acquises grâce à des QCM, des introspections, des ECOS, des projets et des observations directes. Les informations ainsi collectées sont documentées dans un portfolio électronique, une sorte de journal personnel. Le niveau de formation personnel sera ensuite analysé avec l'aide d'une conseillère ou d'un conseiller d'apprentissage. Le système d'évaluation comprend également l'introspection et le développement d'objectifs individuels par le biais des étudiantes et étudiants.

Profil fribourgeois
Les études de master en médecine humaine à l'Université de Fribourg se distinguent par les spécificités suivantes:
– grâce à l'importance accordée à l'enseignement axé sur la pratique et aux échanges approfondis sur des questions concrètes de la médecine humaine, les étudiantes et étudiants reçoivent une solide formation médicale répondant aux critères de qualité suisses. Parallèlement, l'accent mis sur les domaines de la médecine de famille et de la médecine orientée vers la population ainsi que le concept didactique, qui comprend des évaluations formatives et implique la participation active des étudiantes et étudiants, constituent une caractéristique unique;
– l'admission au programme de master est limitée à 40 places. Une petite cohorte favorise une atmosphère d'études personnalisée et garantit un encadrement individuel lors des cours et dans les établissements hospitaliers;
– la formation en médecine humaine à l'Université de Fribourg est axée sur le bilinguisme. Les étudiantes et étudiants ont l'opportunité de s'exprimer aussi bien en français qu'en allemand avec les professionnelles et professionnels de la santé, les collègues de travail et les patientes et patients. Ceci leur donne la possibilité d'utiliser et d'élargir leur vocabulaire médical dans les deux langues.

Objectifs de formation et débouchés
L'obtention du diplôme de master donne accès à l'examen fédéral en médecine humaine (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/fr-medicine-federal-examination). La réussite de cet examen est sanctionnée par le diplôme fédéral en médecine humaine dont les titulaires entament une formation postgraduée dans le cadre de leur pratique clinique en tant que médecin-assistante ou médecin-assistant. Cette formation dure au moins 5 ou 6 ans. Sa structure, sa durée, son contenu et son terme sont fixés dans les programmes de formation postgraduée des différentes disciplines. La formation postgraduée est obligatoire pour les médecins en pratique indépendante.

Les débouchés professionnels les plus fréquents sont:

  • Médecin indépendante ou médecin indépendant en médecine interne générale ou dans une autre discipline;
  • Médecin salariée ou médecin salarié, généralement en milieu hospitalier;
  • Médecin chercheuse ou médecin chercheur (université, industrie, etc.).

Organisation des études

Structure des études

180 crédits ECTS, 6 semestres

Plan d'études

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/xZPll

Remarque

Le nombre de places au master de médecine humaine est limité à 40 étudiantes et étudiants.

Admission

Les candidates et les candidats doivent impérativement être titulaires d'un diplôme de bachelor en médecine humaine. En principe, les diplômées et diplômés du programme de bachelor de l'Université de Fribourg sont prioritaires. Les places d'études sont attribuées conformément à la directive pour les procédures d'admission.
Voir http://studies.unifr.ch/go/fr-medicine-admission-master