Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

 

Sport Sciences

Abstract

This study programme in sport sciences is based on the idea that to understand the issues of the future in relation to sports and well-being through motor activity calls for more in-depth knowledge, notably in the fields of movement and training, as well as in neuropsychology and sports education.
The Master's programme thus gives students the opportunity to increase the depth and scope of their acquired knowledge and to pursue the specialisation ( «Teaching» or «Health and Research» ) that they chose during their Bachelor's degree.
The fact that this course of study is taught at the Department of Medicine of the Faculty of Science and the special emphasis on a «class-seminar/workshop» structure, as well as the partnership with the Swiss Federal Institute of Sports Magglingen (SFISM) mean that the underlying conditions for teaching and research in the field of sport sciences are extremely favourable.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

Alongside the complex cultural, social and economic phenomenon of movement and sport, there is an increasing interest in the study of the impact motor activities have on the development and maintenance of the individual's physical, mental and social life. This study programme in sport sciences is based on the idea that to understand the issues of the future in relation to sports and well-being through motor activity calls for more in-depth knowledge, notably in the fields of movement (biomechanics, motor learning and control) and training, as well as in neuropsychology (perception and movement control) and sports teaching. The fact that this course of study is taught at the Department of Medicine of the Faculty of Science and the partnership between the University of Fribourg and the Swiss Federal Institute of Sports Magglingen (SFISM) mean that the underlying conditions for teaching and research in the field of sport sciences are extremely favourable at this level of study.

Fribourg profile
This Master's programme gives students the opportunity, on the one hand, to gain further insights into movement and sport sciences, building on the knowledge they acquired at the Bachelor's level, and, on the other, to gain more in-depth, specialist knowledge in one of the two options:

  • Teaching
  • Health and Research

Whichever option they choose, students build on their knowledge of movement and training, sports psychology and education in a teaching structure based on classes/seminars and workshops. This type of organisation, which is specific to the University of Fribourg, places the emphasis on the relationship between theory and practice.
As far as the «specialisation» part is concerned, the content differs according to the option. The «Teaching» option focuses on applying scientific knowledge to physical, sports and artistic activities, further fostering the practical application of theoretical knowledge. Rounding out the course, students also learn transversal skills, such as communication or group management, which are necessary for future physical education and sports (EPS) teachers. The syllabus of the «Health and Research» option concentrates on health issues in relation to physiology, psychology and preventive physical activity. In addition to the coursework, students also complete two work placements in a laboratory and in a prevention or rehabilitation centre.

Learning outcomes and career openings
The purpose of sport sciences studies is to train future movement and health experts (researchers, teachers, stakeholders) and to provide them with the crucial tools for understanding and analysing scientific values and the legitimacy of movement and sport for today's and future societies. Whether training future EPS teachers or future researchers in health and prevention, this Master's programme is aimed first and foremost at teaching students methods of research, learning, training and communication, and to develop critical discernment.

The Teaching option
This specialisation is aimed at people who are interested in issues of training and educating young people through movement and sport. As sports coaches and practising sportsmen and women themselves, they develop expert know-how in the application of scientific knowledge to physical, sports and artistic activities. It opens the door to a career as an EPS teacher at secondary school level (for further information, see also «Teacher Education for Secondary Level»).
Students can also consider taking up teaching/research posts in sports technology and didactics in a university environment, or as heads of sport in public administration at the cantonal or national level.

The Health and Research option
This specialisation is aimed at people who are interested in promoting physical and sports activities for preventative health, and those with a keen interest in scientific research in this field. Students receive thorough training as movement specialists with in-depth scientific and practical knowledge enabling them to improve or evaluate programmes of training, prevention and rehabilitation through movement and sport. This Master's degree provides openings in the following careers:

  • Basic research in movement and sport sciences;
  • Preventive health measures and integration of health concepts in the public or private sector;
  • Functional rehabilitation in rehabilitation centres.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

90 ECTS credits, 3 semesters

Curriculum

http://www.unifr.ch/science/plans/plans_e.php

Admission

Master's degree programmes are built on the knowledge and abilities that were acquired when obtaining a Bachelor's degree.

Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university can be admitted to a Master's degree programme within the corresponding discipline (requires the acquisition of minimum 60 ECTS credits at Bachelor level in the corresponding discipline) without any additional requirements. The same applies to holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg.

Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university or holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg, can be admitted to a Master's degree programme within another discipline with prerequisites (must be successfully completed before starting the Master's degree programme) or additional requirements (can be completed during the Master's degree programme). According to existing agreements, holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university of applied sciences can also be admitted with prerequisites or additional requirements.

The respective conditions of admission for each Master's degree programme are reserved.

Alternatives

Also offered as a minor study programme (30 ECTS credits).

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

 

Sciences du sport

Résumé

Ce programme d'études en sciences du sport est construit sur l'idée que la compréhension des enjeux futurs du sport et du bien-être par l'activité motrice requiert des connaissances approfondies, notamment dans les domaines des sciences du mouvement et de l'entraînement, ainsi qu'en neuropsychologie et en pédagogie du sport.
Le programme de Master permet donc aux étudiantes et aux étudiants d'élargir et de compléter leurs acquis, et de se spécialiser ( «Enseignement» ou «Santé et recherche» ) dans l'orientation initialement choisie lors du Bachelor.
L'intégration des études au sein du Département de médecine de la Faculté des sciences, la forme d'enseignement spécifique «cours-séminaire/workshop», ainsi que la collaboration avec la Haute école fédérale de sport de Macolin (HEFSM), offrent des conditions d'enseignement et de recherche particulièrement favorables dans le domaine des sciences du sport.

Afficher le profil du programme d'études

Profil du programme d'études

Aux côtés du phénomène culturel, social et économique complexe du mouvement et du sport se manifeste un intérêt sans cesse croissant pour l'étude de l'impact des activités motrices sur le développement et l'entretien de la vie physique, mentale et sociale de l'individu. Ce programme d'études en sciences du sport est construit sur l'idée que la compréhension des enjeux futurs du sport et du bien-être par l'activité motrice requiert des connaissances approfondies notamment dans les domaines des sciences du mouvement (biomécanique, apprentissage et contrôle moteur) et de l'entraînement ainsi qu'en neuropsychologie (perception et contrôle du mouvement) et en pédagogie du sport. L'intégration de ces études au sein du Département de médecine de la Faculté des sciences, et la collaboration entre l'Université de Fribourg et la Haute Ecole Fédérale de Sport de Macolin (HEFSM), offrent à ce niveau des conditions d'enseignement et de recherche très favorables dans le domaine des sciences du mouvement et du sport.

Profil fribourgeois
Ce Master permet aux étudiantes et aux étudiants d'élargir et de compléter d'une part leurs connaissances en sciences du sport et de la motricité acquises au niveau du Bachelor, et d'autre part d'approfondir leurs connaissances spécifiques dans l'une des deux options proposées:

  • Enseignement
  • Santé et recherche

Quel que soit l'option choisie, l'approfondissement des connaissances dans les domaines des sciences du mouvement et de l'entraînement, de la psychologie et de la pédagogie du sport est proposé dans une structure «cours-séminaire/workshop». Cette organisation spécifique à l'Université de Fribourg permet de favoriser la relation entre la théorie et la pratique.
En ce qui concerne la partie de «spécialisation», le contenu diffère selon l'option choisie. L'option «Enseignement» s'intéresse à l'application des connaissances scientifiques aux activités physiques, sportives et artistiques, renforçant encore ce transfert entre la théorie et la pratique. Le cursus est complété par l'acquisition de compétences transversales telles que la communication ou la gestion de groupe, compétences nécessaires pour des futurs enseignantes et enseignants en éducation physique et du sport (EPS). Les enseignements de l'option «Santé et recherche» s'intéressent quant à eux à la thématique de la santé, que ce soit au niveau de la physiologie, de la psychologie ou de la prévention par l'activité physique. Le cursus est complété par deux stages en laboratoire et en centre de prévention ou de réhabilitation.

Objectifs de formation et débouchés
Les études en sciences du sport visent à former de futurs expertes et experts (chercheurs-enseignants-acteurs) dans le domaine du mouvement et de la santé et à leur donner les outils indispensables pour comprendre et analyser les valeurs scientifiques et du bienfondé du mouvement et du sport pour notre société actuelle et future. Que ce soit dans une perspective d'enseignante ou d'enseignant en EPS ou une perspective de chercheurs dans le domaine de la prévention et de la santé ce programme d'études de Master a pour objectif prioritaire de former les étudiantes et étudiants aux méthodes de recherche, d'apprentissage, d'entraînement et de communication, et de développer un sens critique.

Pour l'option Enseignement
Cette filière s'adresse aux personnes intéressées par les enjeux de formation et d'éducation des jeunes par le mouvement et le sport. En tant que formateurs-praticiens du sport, elles développent une expertise dans l'application des connaissances scientifiques aux activités physiques, sportives et artistiques. Elle conduit à des professions d'enseignante et enseignant en EPS dans les écoles du degré secondaire (pour plus d'information, voir également «Enseignement au degré secondaire»).
Par ailleurs, les étudiantes et étudiants peuvent envisager des postes d'enseignant/chercheur en technologie et didactique des activités sportives en milieu universitaire ou de responsables du sport dans des administrations publiques cantonales ou nationales.

Pour l'option Santé et recherche
Cette filière s'adresse aux personnes intéressées par la promotion des activités physiques et sportives à des fins préventives de la santé ainsi que celles dont la recherche scientifique dans ce domaine pourrait passionner. Les étudiantes et étudiants obtiennent une solide formation en tant que spécialistes du mouvement ayant des connaissances scientifiques et pratiques approfondies permettant de concevoir, d'améliorer ou d'évaluer des programmes dans les domaines de l'entrainement, de la prévention et de la réadaptation par le mouvement et le sport. Ce Master oriente les étudiantes et étudiants vers les métiers:

  • du milieu de la recherche fondamentale du domaine des sciences du mouvement et du sport;
  • du milieu de la prévention et de l'intégration des concepts de santé dans le secteur public ou privé;
  • du milieu de la réadaptation fonctionnelle dans des centres de réhabilitation.

Organisation des études

Structure des études

90 crédits ECTS, 3 semestres

Plan d'études

http://www.unifr.ch/science/plans/plans_f.php

Admission

Les voies d'études Master se basent sur les connaissances et les compétences acquises pour l'obtention du Bachelor.

Les titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor universitaire délivré par une université suisse peuvent être admis aux études de Master sans autres conditions dans la branche d'études correspondante (cela signifie que 60 ECTS au minimum doivent être obtenus dans la branche d'études envisagée au niveau Master). Le même principe est appliqué aux titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor universitaire étranger reconnu et jugé équivalent par l'Université de Fribourg.

Les titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor universitaire suisse ou étranger, reconnu et jugé équivalent par l'Université de Fribourg, obtenu dans une autre branche d'études peuvent être admis aux études de Master avec conditions préalables (à accomplir avant l'entrée en Master) ou avec exigences supplémentaires (à accomplir parallèlement aux études de Master). Une admission avec conditions préalables ou avec exigences supplémentaires est également possible pour les titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor d'une haute école spécialisée suisse, selon les conventions en vigueur.

Les conditions d'admission propres à chaque programme de Master sont réservées.

Variantes

Est également offert en tant que programme d'études secondaires (30 crédits ECTS).