Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

 

Psychology

Abstract

The Master's in Psychology aims to provide students with a deeper theoretical understanding of a number of domains in Psychology. You will gain knowledge of the principle scientific concepts and methodologies from several domains in Psychology, further understand the application of these concepts and methods in diverse settings (e.g. hospitals, organisations, schools, and research) and gain practical expertise. With this knowledge, on completing the Master's you will therefore be prepared to enter various fields in Psychology: Clinical, Health, Organisational, Educational, Neuropsychology and Human Factors and Ergonomics. The Master's also provides a sound base for beginning a PhD in Psychology, or collaborating in research projects. The teaching provision in the Master's is distinguished by the individual nature of the supervision provided for students. Class sizes remain small, while at the same time registrations for each subject are not restricted. The wide range of external contributors from research and applied domains also enriches the teaching and learning experience of the Master's.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

The teaching provision comprises four different strands:

  1. The Cognitive Neuroscience strand provides an understanding of the neurocognitive mechanisms that subtend human behaviour. Students will further their knowledge of recent research and acquire a high level of methodological competences to allow them to conduct quality research in cognitive neuroscience. Students will conduct a research project in cognitive neuroscience. Students will also have the option to complete research training in a clinical or industrial environment, or in an area of research linked to psychology. On completing the course, students will be prepared for a number of professional career options, including academic research, health organisations, neuropsychology, neuromarketing and neurodevelopment.
  2. The Clinical Psychology and Health Psychology strand addresses the main factors in psychological health and their physiological basis. Students will further their knowledge in key aspects of health, and the relationship between psychological and physical health. The course covers health at all ages in the lifespan and focuses on the role of the family and interpersonal relationships in particular. Students must complete a research project. For the project you will collaborate with one of the groups in Clinical Psychology on one of their current research topics. Students also have the option to complete an internship at the Centre of Psychotherapy and the Centre of Psychological Counselling at the Institute for family research and counseling. This training gives you the opportunity to gain theoretical and practical knowledge which will prepare you for future practice in a hospital, clinic, counselling centre, institute of public and preventative health, or for academic research.
  3. The Developmental and School Psychology strand addresses the changes and different stages of development experienced throughout the lifespan. Students will further their knowledge of recent theory and research about development and learning in typical and clinical child groups. Students will complete a research project in developmental or schools psychology. You will also have the option to complete an internship in a school, or clinic, or to participate in a research project in a related area. On completing the programme you will be prepared for a professional career in a number of different environments, such as an institute for children and adolescents, a schools psychological service, an institute for public health, or for academic or applied research.
  4. The Work and Organisational Psychology strand covers the central themes of Work and Organisational Psychology, focussing on ergonomics and occupational health. Students will further their theoretical and methodological knowledge regarding diagnostics and intervention at the workplace. Students will complete a research project in the domain of their choice, either in a workplace environment or in the laboratory. You will also have the option to complete an internship to allow you to put into practice the skills and knowledge you have acquired. On completing the programme you will be able to choose a professional career in a variety of domains, such as product development, consultancy, or health promotion.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

90 ECTS credits + 30 ECTS credits in a specialisation programme, 4 semesters

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/KPf5R (French)
http://studies.unifr.ch/go/V1YTP (German)

Admission

Master's degree programmes are built on the knowledge and abilities that were acquired when obtaining a Bachelor's degree.

Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university can be admitted to a Master's degree programme within the corresponding discipline (requires the acquisition of minimum 60 ECTS credits at Bachelor level in the corresponding discipline) without any additional requirements. The same applies to holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg.

Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university or holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg, can be admitted to a Master's degree programme within another discipline with prerequisites (must be successfully completed before starting the Master's degree programme) or additional requirements (can be completed during the Master's degree programme). According to existing agreements, holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university of applied sciences can also be admitted with prerequisites or additional requirements.

The respective conditions of admission for each Master's degree programme are reserved.

Alternatives

Also offered as a minor study programme and as a specialisation programme (30 ECTS credits).

Minor study programmes to be chosen

Psychology

The Master's in Psychology aims to provide students with a deeper theoretical understanding of a number of domains in Psychology. You will gain knowledge of the principle scientific concepts and methodologies from several domains in Psychology, further understand the application of these concepts and methods in diverse settings (e.g. hospitals, organisations, schools, and research) and gain practical expertise. With this knowledge, on completing the Master's you will therefore be prepared to enter various fields in Psychology: Clinical, Health, Organisational, Educational, Neuropsychology and Human Factors and Ergonomics. The Master's also provides a sound base for beginning a PhD in Psychology, or collaborating in research projects. The teaching provision in the Master's is distinguished by the individual nature of the supervision provided for students. Class sizes remain small, while at the same time registrations for each subject are not restricted. The wide range of external contributors from research and applied domains also enriches the teaching and learning experience of the Master's.

More info

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

 

Psychologie

Résumé

Les enseignements du master sont conçus pour permettre un approfondissement théorique des divers domaines. L'accent est mis sur l'acquisition de méthodes, la maîtrise de notions scientifiques, leur application dans divers champs d'activités (hôpital, entreprises, écoles, institutions, recherches) ainsi que sur l'acquisition de compétences pratiques. Cette formation permet aux diplômées et diplômés une entrée idéale dans les différents champs professionnels de la psychologie, comme la psychologie clinique et de la santé, la psychologie du personnel, la psychologie scolaire, la neuropsychologie ou l'ergonomie. En outre, elle est une base idéale pour la collaboration dans des projets de recherche et/ou pour la préparation d'une thèse de doctorat. Les études de master à Fribourg se distinguent par l'encadrement individuel offert aux étudiantes et étudiants lors des enseignements et de la réalisation du mémoire de master. L'effectif des étudiantes et étudiants étant raisonnable, le nombre de participants aux cours n'est pas limité. De plus, la vaste palette d'intervenants externes provenant de la pratique et de la recherche élargit et enrichit l'offre d'enseignement.

Afficher le profil du programme d'études

Profil du programme d'études

L'offre d'enseignement comprend quatre orientations:

  1. L'orientation Neurosciences cognitives porte sur les mécanismes neurocognitifs qui sous-tendent le comportement humain. Ce programme permet aux étudiantes et étudiants d'approfondir leurs connaissances des recherches les plus récentes et d'acquérir des compétences méthodologiques de haut niveau afin de pouvoir conduire des recherches de qualité en neurosciences cognitives. Les étudiantes et étudiants réalisent un travail de mémoire en neurosciences cognitives et ont la possibilité de faire un stage de recherche dans un environnement clinique, industriel ou de recherche lié à la psychologie. Les diplômées et diplômés auront la possibilité de choisir des carrières professionnelles dans divers milieux tels le monde académique, les institutions de la santé, la neuropsychologie, le neuromarketing ou le neurodéveloppement.
  2. L'orientation Psychologie clinique et psychologie de la santé porte sur les déterminants de la santé psychique et leurs bases physiologiques. Ce programme permet aux étudiantes et étudiants d'approfondir leurs connaissances des déterminants de la santé et de la relation entre santé psychique et santé physique. La formation couvre tous les âges de la vie et met l'accent sur le rôle de la famille et les relations interpersonnelles. Pour leur travail de mémoire, les étudiantes et étudiants sont impliqués dans un projet de recherche actuel d'une des unités de psychologie clinique. Ils ont aussi la possibilité de faire un stage au Centre de Psychothérapie et au Centre de Conseil psychologique de l'Institut de recherche et de conseil dans le domaine de la famille. Cette formation leur permettra d'acquérir des connaissances théoriques et pratiques les préparant à une future activité en tant que praticienne/praticien en hôpital, en cabinet, dans des centres de conseil ou des institutions de prévention et de santé publique ou en tant que chercheuse/chercheur dans le monde académique.
  3. L'orientation Psychologie du développement et scolaire porte sur les changements qui se produisent chez les êtres humains tout au long de leur vie. Le programme permet aux étudiantes et étudiants d'approfondir leurs connaissances des théories et des recherches les plus récentes sur le développement et les apprentissages scolaires chez les enfants typiques et atypiques. Les étudiantes et étudiants réalisent un travail de mémoire dans le domaine de la psychologie du développement ou scolaire et ont la possibilité de faire un stage dans un environnement scolaire, clinique ou de recherche lié à la psychologie. Les diplômées et diplômés pourront choisir des carrières professionnelles dans divers milieux tels que les institutions pour enfants et adolescents, les services de psychologie scolaire, les institutions de santé et le monde académique.
  4. L'orientation Psychologie du travail et des organisations porte les thèmes centraux de la psychologie du travail et des organisations, la psychologie de la santé au travail et l'ergonomie. Le programme permet aux étudiantes et étudiants d'approfondir leurs connaissances théoriques et méthodologiques de l'analyse de l'activité de travail. Ils réalisent un travail de mémoire dans le domaine de leur choix, soit sur le terrain ou en laboratoire, et ont la possibilité de faire un stage qui leur permettra de mettre en pratique les compétences acquises. Les diplômées et diplômés pourront choisir des carrières professionnelles dans différents domaines d'activités, comme le développement du personnel, le développement de produit, la consultance ou encore la promotion de la santé.

Organisation des études

Structure des études

90 crédits ECTS + 30 crédits ECTS dans un programme de spécialisation, 4 semestres

Plan d'études

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/NhZN1

Admission

Les voies d'études master se basent sur les connaissances et les compétences acquises pour l'obtention du bachelor.

Les titulaires d'un diplôme de bachelor universitaire délivré par une Haute école universitaire suisse sont admis sans conditions préalables aux études de master s'ils ont acquis, selon les études de master souhaitées, 60 ou 90 crédits ECTS dans la même branche d'études. Des compléments peuvent toutefois être exigés. Le même principe s'applique aux titulaires d'un diplôme de bachelor universitaire étranger, reconnu et jugé équivalent par l'Université de Fribourg.

Les titulaires d'un diplôme de bachelor universitaire suisse ou étranger, reconnu et jugé équivalent par l'Université de Fribourg, qui ne remplissent pas cette condition peuvent être admis aux études de master avec des conditions préalables (à accomplir avant l'entrée en master) et/ou des compléments (à accomplir au cours des études de master). Ces prestations d'études ne doivent pas dépasser 60 crédits ECTS au total. Il en va de même des titulaires d'un diplôme de bachelor d'une Haute école spécialisée suisse, selon les conventions en vigueur.

Les conditions d'admission propres à chaque programme d'études de master demeurent réservées.

Variantes

Est également offert en tant que programme d'études secondaires et programme de spécialisation (30 crédits ECTS).

Programmes d'études secondaires au choix

Psychologie

Les enseignements du master sont conçus pour permettre un approfondissement théorique des divers domaines. L'accent est mis sur l'acquisition de méthodes, la maîtrise de notions scientifiques, leur application dans divers champs d'activités (hôpital, entreprises, écoles, institutions, recherches) ainsi que sur l'acquisition de compétences pratiques. Cette formation permet aux diplômées et diplômés une entrée idéale dans les différents champs professionnels de la psychologie, comme la psychologie clinique et de la santé, la psychologie du personnel, la psychologie scolaire, la neuropsychologie ou l'ergonomie. En outre, elle est une base idéale pour la collaboration dans des projets de recherche et/ou pour la préparation d'une thèse de doctorat. Les études de master à Fribourg se distinguent par l'encadrement individuel offert aux étudiantes et étudiants lors des enseignements et de la réalisation du mémoire de master. L'effectif des étudiantes et étudiants étant raisonnable, le nombre de participants aux cours n'est pas limité. De plus, la vaste palette d'intervenants externes provenant de la pratique et de la recherche élargit et enrichit l'offre d'enseignement.

Plus d'informations