Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Remedial Education at School (DE)

Abstract

The Master of Arts in Special Education with a specialisation in Special Educational Needs Teacher imparts theoretical and practical skills for teaching children and adolescents in need of special educational support. On the basis of current research, students acquire pivotal knowledge on different forms of disability. They learn to familiar themselves with diagnostic procedures and instruments, to assess the effectiveness of different special education interventions. The students acquire the ability to use teaching and learning methods effectively and are able to plan lessons for pupils with special educational needs.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

The Master of Arts in Special Education with a specialisation in Special Educational Needs Teacher is an academic and vocational course of study. Students acquire theoretical and practical skills for teaching children and adolescents in need of special educational support. The study programme offers a compact full time programme, which can however also be taken part time.

The study programme is aimed at holders of a bachelor's degree in one of the following subjects: teaching for mainstream education, speech and language therapy, psychomotricity, remedial education, social pedagogy, social work, special education, educational sciences, psychology or ergotherapy, or holders of a bachelor's degree obtained in an integrated teacher training course for Secondary Level I (not a teaching qualification). Based on the respective aforementioned bachelor students complete one or two supplementary programmes.

The study programme provides students both with sound theoretical bases and practical teaching skills. Closely following research findings, the programme covers the following topics: basic knowledge about different forms of disability, a reflection on deviation and normality, diagnosis, evaluation of the effectiveness of interventions, special teaching and learning methods, and planning lessons for pupils with special educational needs.

Fribourg profile
This master programme is the continuation of a long tradition of research-based Special Education teaching at the University of Fribourg. It is the only German-language study programme in Switzerland to offer simultaneously an academic and a vocational qualification in Special Needs Education at university level.
The final diploma is recognised by the Swiss Conference of Cantonal Ministers of Education (CDIP/EDK) and enables access to doctoral studies.

Learning outcomes and career openings
The study programme trains students to become specialists in the schooling of children and adolescents with special educational needs.

On successfully completing their training, the students are able, among other things, to (see also EDK, 2008):
– use diagnostic evaluation procedures and observation methods adapted to each child, on the basis of personal and environmental characteristics;
– develop and implement an individualised specialised teaching project taking into account the school, family and social environments;
– collaborate in an interdisciplinary manner with all the specialists and institutions involved;
– work in both ordinary and specialised school environments;
– perform a consulting and support role in relation to the problems which arise in special needs education;
– engage in theoretical reflection with a scientific basis on the problems and tasks involved and the possible teaching initiatives;
– evaluate the effectiveness of professional activity using explicit methods;
– engage in reflection on their personal, social and professional skills with a view to planning ongoing training requirements;
– construct qualitative and/or quantitative research projects respecting the relevant ethical and deontological codes.

This master programme opens the way to careers in teaching as well as in research:

  • Teaching in special needs classes (institution);
  • Teaching in small, special needs classes;
  • Teaching in integration classes;
  • Remedial teaching in regular classes;
  • Counsellor or educational adviser in special needs education;
  • Training, research positions (universities, higher education establishments, research centres) and administration.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

90 ECTS credits + 30 ECTS credits in one or two supplements, 4-6 semesters

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/adgGg (German)

Admission

The following persons can be admitted:
a) Candidates with the «Foundations of Special Education» supplement, who are holders of a teaching certificate recognised in Switzerland to teach in regular classes and at least the equivalent of a bachelor;
b) Candidates with the «Foundations of Instruction in Ordinary Classes» or «Foundations of Special Education» supplement with any of the following bachelor degrees (main field of study): Bachelor of Arts/Bachelor of Science in remedial education, speech-language therapy, special education, psychomotricity, social education, social work, educational sciences, psychology or a Bachelor of Arts attained in an integrated course of study for the secondary level I teaching degree (without a teaching licence). At the beginning of studies, an individual equivalence application for specific previous courses can be made.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

Enseignement spécialisé (DE)

Résumé

Le Master of Arts en pédagogie spécialisée dédié à l'enseignement spécialisé permet d'acquérir de solides compétences théoriques et pratiques pour enseigner auprès d'enfants et d'adolescents ayant des besoins éducatifs particuliers. Les étudiantes et les étudiants abordent les connaissances de base sur les différentes formes de handicap, apprennent à poser des diagnostics et à évaluer l'efficacité des interventions. Ils s'approprient en outre des méthodes d'enseignement et d'apprentissage, ainsi que des compétences axées sur l'organisation des cours pour répondre aux besoins des élèves concernés par l'enseignement spécialisé.

Afficher le profil du programme d'études

Profil du programme d'études

Le Master of Arts en pédagogie spécialisée, orientation enseignement spécialisé, est un cursus universitaire professionnalisant. Il permet d'acquérir de solides compétences théoriques et pratiques pour enseigner auprès d'enfants et d'adolescents ayant des besoins éducatifs particuliers.

Le programme d'études est destiné aux étudiantes et aux étudiants titulaires d'un Bachelor dans différents domaines (enseignement en classes ordinaires, logopédie, psychomotricité, pédagogie curative clinique, éducation spécialisée, pédagogie spécialisée, sciences de l'éducation, psychologie, ergothérapie) ou d'un Bachelor dans le cadre d'une filière d'études intégrée en vue du diplôme d'enseignement pour le degré secondaire I (encore sans brevet d'enseignement). Les étudiantes et étudiants suivent durant leurs études de Master une formation complémentaire en fonction du Bachelor obtenu.

Le programme d'études offre une mise en relation constante entre enseignement théorique poussé et acquisition de compétences pratiques. Fondé sur la recherche, il propose notamment une réflexion approfondie sur les thèmes suivants: connaissances des différentes formes de handicap, réflexion sur les notions de différence et de normalité, diagnostic, évaluation de l'efficacité des interventions, méthodes d'enseignement et d'apprentissage dans le domaine de la pédagogie spécialisée, organisation des cours destinés aux élèves ayant des besoins éducatifs particuliers.

Profil fribourgeois
Ce programme de Master repose sur une longue et solide tradition scientifique au sein de l'Université de Fribourg. C'est le seul cursus universitaire germanophone de Suisse à offrir à la fois un enseignement académique et une formation professionnalisante dans le champ de l'enseignement spécialisé.
Le diplôme de fin d'études est reconnu par la Conférence Suisse des Directeurs de l'Instruction Publique (CDIP) et permet l'accès aux études doctorales.

Objectifs de formation et débouchés
Le programme d'études prépare les étudiantes et étudiants à devenir des spécialistes de l'enseignement destiné aux enfants et aux adolescents ayant des besoins éducatifs particuliers.

Au terme de sa formation, l'étudiante ou l'étudiant est notamment capable (cf. également CDIP, 2008):
– d'utiliser des techniques d'observation et des procédures d'évaluation diagnostique adaptées à chaque enfant en tenant compte de ses caractéristiques personnelles et environnementales;
– d'élaborer et réaliser un projet pédagogique spécialisé individualisé en tenant compte de l'environnement scolaire, familial et social;
– de collaborer de manière interdisciplinaire avec tous les spécialistes et institutions concernés;
– d'exercer aussi bien dans le cadre de l'école ordinaire que dans celui de l'école spécialisée;
– d'exercer une activité de conseil et de soutien relative aux problèmes qui se posent dans l'enseignement spécialisé;
– de se livrer à une réflexion théorique et scientifiquement fondée sur les problèmes et tâches à assumer ainsi que sur les possibilités d'action pédagogiques;
– d'évaluer l'efficacité de l'activité professionnelle par des méthodes explicites;
– de se livrer à une réflexion sur ses compétences personnelles, sociales et professionnelles de manière à planifier ses besoins en formation continue;
– d'édifier des projets de recherche qualitatives et/ou quantitatives en respectant les codes éthiques et déontologiques y relatifs.

Ce Master conduit aussi bien à des postes d'enseignement qu'à des parcours de type scientifique:

  • Enseignement en classes spéciales (institution);
  • Enseignement en classes de développement (effectif réduit);
  • Enseignement en classes d'intégration;
  • Cours de soutien en classe ordinaire;
  • Conseillère ou conseiller pédagogique de l'enseignement spécialisé;
  • Postes dans l'administration, la formation et la recherche (Universités, Hautes écoles, centres de recherche).

Organisation des études

Structure des études

90 crédits ECTS + 30 crédits ECTS dans un ou deux compléments, 4-6 semestres

Plan d'études

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/eklQE (Allemand)

Admission

Sont admis:
a) avec un complément «Fondements de la pédagogie spécialisée», les candidates et candidats titulaires d'un diplôme d'enseignement reconnu en Suisse pour l'enseignement dans les classes ordinaires et correspondant au moins à un Bachelor;
b) avec un complément «Fondements de l'enseignement en classes ordinaires» ainsi qu'avec un complément «Fondements de la pédagogie spécialisée», les candidates et candidats titulaires d'un Bachelor dans les domaines suivants (domaine principal): Bachelor of Arts/Bachelor of Science en pédagogie curative clinique, logopédie, pédagogie spécialisée, psychomotricité, éducation sociale, sciences de l'éducation, psychologie ou Bachelor of Arts dans le cadre d'une filière d'études intégrée pour le diplôme d'enseignement du degré secondaire I (encore sans brevet d'enseignement).