Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

 

Special Education

Abstract

If you are interested in acquiring strong research skills and a broad, diversified knowledge of special education, this Master's programme will prepare you to become a specialist in all of the current issues in this field. The programme studies alterity, difference, disability, normality, life trajectories, the mediation of knowledge, and the creation of environments that promote the development of personal qualities.
Benefiting from a dual humanist and scientific tradition, the course develops a deeper understanding of the issues and transformations in special education, enabling you to choose and develop tools for assessment and intervention and to establish research scenarios.
This Master's programme provides very high added value in a career path, especially as it is one of the only French-speaking university courses to offer in-depth training in special education in Switzerland and abroad.
An Option «Speech-Language Therapy» is proposed within this Master's programme. The choice of this option leads to a mention on the Master's diploma.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

This Master's programme is a university course that facilitates the development of strong research skills and broad diversified knowledge in the field of special education.

The course is intended for students who already have some experience in special education, or in related disciplines, and who wish to develop, enrich and diversify their perception of the whole field of special education, and the conceptual frameworks and methods of approaching such.

The course is distinct from the Master of Arts in special education orientation special needs education, which focuses more on special teaching in the school environment. The generalist nature of the training proposed by this Master's programme will be appreciated by those who wish to explore special education beyond the walls of the classroom and study its deployment in pre-, para- and post-school periods and contexts, and environments outside of the school (community and family).

The course calls for students to reflect on alterity, difference, disability, normality, life trajectories, educational posture, mediation of knowledge, the creation and organisation of favourable environments to allow any individual struggling with developmental difficulties to develop personal qualities and to integrate into community.

Fribourg profile
This Master's programme is based on a solid scientific tradition that has been established at the University of Fribourg for nearly three-quarters of a century. It is one of the only French-speaking university courses to offer in-depth training and research training in the field of special education in Switzerland and abroad.

The training offered in the context of this Master's programme benefits from a dual humanist and scientific tradition. There are ongoing collaborations with the departments of educational sciences and psychology.

Learning outcomes and career openings
This degree programme prepares students to become specialists in all of the current issues in special education.

Student successfully completing the programme will:

  • know the challenges and changes currently affecting special education, and the implications of these developments at national and international levels;
  • have a solid knowledge of the various cross-disciplinary theoretical fields relating to special education and will be able to place the contributions from each of these disciplines (educational sciences, psychology, sociology, etc.);
  • be able to carry out a conceptual analysis and summarise the theoretical knowledge relating to issues in special education.

He/she will be able to:

  • assess, select and/or create tools for assessment and intervention in the field (adaptation of learning programmes, organisation of the environment, etc.);
  • translate strategic intentions into operational measures respecting professional ethics;
  • develop research scenarios using qualitative and/or quantitative research methods, respecting research ethics (observation, experimentation, investigation, single cases designs, etc.).

The training is appropriate to careers in both teaching and research:

  • Training and research positions (universities, higher education establishments, research centres);
  • Management in specialised educational institutions;
  • Management in cantonal or federal administrations;
  • Positions with regional or national associations for the protection and representation of people with disabilities.

The current paradigm of social participation and education for all makes the Master in Special Education a degree with very high added value in a professional career path.

Option Speech-Language Therapy
The Option Speech-Language Therapy within the Master of Arts in Special Education (study in German only) is intended for candidates witch a degree in speech-language therapy, who would like to deepen their knowledge and gain advanced qualifications in the field of speech-language therapy. The four modules of this programme allow acquiring advanced research and methodology skills as well as diversified (psycho-)linguistic and cognitive knowledge in the field of special education and speech-language therapy from a practical perspective. This Master's programme includes a dissertation about speech-language therapy issues.
The condition for admission to this Master's programme is an academic Bachelor's degree with professional qualification in speech-language therapy, which is recognised by the Swiss Conference of Cantonal Ministers of Education (EDK).

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

90 ECTS credits + 30 ECTS credits as an option in a minor study programme freely chosen, 3-4 semesters

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/Malai (French)
http://studies.unifr.ch/go/adgGg (German)

Admission

Master's degree programmes are built on the knowledge and abilities that were acquired when obtaining a Bachelor's degree.

Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university can be admitted to a Master's degree programme within the corresponding discipline (requires the acquisition of minimum 60 ECTS credits at Bachelor level in the corresponding discipline) without any additional requirements. The same applies to holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg.

Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university or holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg, can be admitted to a Master's degree programme within another discipline with prerequisites (must be successfully completed before starting the Master's degree programme) or additional requirements (can be completed during the Master's degree programme). According to existing agreements, holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university of applied sciences can also be admitted with prerequisites or additional requirements.

The respective conditions of admission for each Master's degree programme are reserved.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

 

Pédagogie spécialisée

Résumé

Si vous êtes intéressé à acquérir de solides compétences de recherche ainsi qu'une culture large et diversifiée en pédagogie spécialisée, ce programme de Master vous préparera à devenir un ou une spécialiste de l'ensemble des questions actuelles dans ce domaine. Vous développerez une réflexion sur l'altérité, la différence, le handicap, la normalité, les trajectoires de vie, la médiation de l'apprentissage ainsi que la création d'environnements favorables au développement des qualités personnelles.
Bénéficiant d'une double tradition humaniste et scientifique, ce programme vous permettra de mieux connaître les enjeux et transformations de la pédagogie spécialisée, de choisir et concevoir des outils d'évaluation et d'intervention et d'élaborer des scénarios de recherche.
Ce programme de Master offre une très forte valeur ajoutée dans un parcours professionnel, d'autant qu'il est l'un des seuls cursus universitaires francophones à proposer une formation approfondie en pédagogie spécialisée en Suisse et à l'étranger.
Dans le cadre de ce programme de Master, une option «Logopédie» est proposée. Le choix de cette option conduit à une mention sur le diplôme de Master.

Afficher le profil du programme d'études

Profil du programme d'études

Ce Master est un cursus universitaire qui permet d'acquérir de solides compétences de recherche, ainsi qu'une culture large et diversifiée dans le champ de la pédagogie spécialisée.

Le cursus est destiné à des étudiantes et des étudiants disposant d'un bagage initial en pédagogie spécialisée, ou dans des disciplines voisines, et qui sont désireux d'étoffer, d'enrichir et de diversifier leur vision de l'ensemble du champ de la pédagogie spécialisée ainsi que des cadres conceptuels et des méthodes permettant d'approcher celui-ci.

Le cursus se distingue clairement de la formation en pédagogie spécialisée, orientation enseignement spécialisé, qui se centre davantage sur la pédagogie spécialisée en contexte scolaire. Le caractère généraliste de la formation proposée par ce programme de Master est apprécié par ceux qui souhaitent découvrir dans la pédagogie spécialisée une discipline qui dépasse les murs de l'école, et se déploie aussi dans les temps et les contextes pré-, para et postscolaires, ainsi que dans les milieux et environnements non scolaires (communauté et famille).

Le cursus invite à une réflexion sur l'altérité, la différence, le handicap, la normalité, les trajectoires de vie, la posture éducative, la médiation des savoirs, la création et l'aménagement d'environnement favorables permettant à tout individu aux prises avec des difficultés développementales de développer ses qualités personnelles et de s'intégrer dans sa communauté.

Profil fribourgeois
Ce programme de Master repose sur une solide tradition scientifique ancrée à l'Université de Fribourg depuis près de trois quarts de siècles. C'est l'un des seuls cursus universitaires francophones offrant une formation approfondie et une formation à la recherche dans le champ de la pédagogie spécialisée en Suisse et à l'étranger.

La formation offerte dans le cadre de ce Master bénéficie d'une double tradition humaniste et scientifique. Elle entretient des collaborations avec les départements des sciences de l'éducation et de psychologie.

Objectifs de formation et débouchés
Ce programme d'études prépare les étudiantes et les étudiants à devenir des spécialistes de l'ensemble des questions actuelles qui concernent la pédagogie spécialisée.

L'étudiante ou l'étudiant qui a suivi avec succès le programme d'études:

  • connaîtra les enjeux et les transformations qui touchent actuellement la pédagogie spécialisée, ainsi que les implications de ces évolutions aux niveaux national et international;
  • disposera de solides connaissances des différents champs théoriques transversaux de la pédagogie spécialisée et parviendra à situer la contribution de ces différents courants de connaissance (sciences de l'éducation, psychologie, sociologie, etc.);
  • sera en mesure de procéder à une analyse conceptuelle et d'établir une synthèse des connaissances théoriques sur une problématique relevant de la pédagogie spécialisée.

Il ou elle sera capable:

  • d'évaluer, de choisir et/ou de concevoir des outils et des dispositifs d'évaluation et d'intervention dans le domaine (adaptation de programmes d'apprentissage, aménagement du milieu, etc.);
  • de traduire des intentions stratégiques en mesures opérationnelles dans le respect de la déontologie professionnelle;
  • d'élaborer des scénarios de recherche en faisant appel à des méthodes de recherche qualitatives et/ou quantitatives dans le respect de l'éthique de la recherche (observation, expérimentation, enquête, protocole de recherche à cas unique, etc.).

La formation s'ouvre aussi bien sur des parcours professionnels que sur des parcours dans le domaine de la recherche:

  • Postes dans la formation et la recherche (Universités, Hautes écoles, centres de recherche);
  • Cadres dans les institutions éducatives spécialisées;
  • Cadres dans les administrations cantonales ou fédérales;
  • Collaboratrices ou collaborateurs dans des associations régionales ou nationales de défense et de représentation des personnes en situation de handicap.

Le paradigme actuel de participation sociale et d'école pour tous, font du Master en pédagogie spécialisée un cursus à très forte valeur ajoutée dans un parcours professionnel.

Option Logopédie
L'option Logopédie dans le cadre du Master of Arts en pédagogie spécialisée (études en allemand uniquement) s'adresse aux logopédistes diplômés voulant approfondir leurs connaissances et poursuivre leur formation dans le domaine de la logopédie et des sciences du langage. Les quatre modules de ce programme d'études permettent l'acquisition de compétences (psycho-)linguistiques et cognitives en matière de logopédie et de pédagogie spécialisée. Ce programme est également centré sur l'acquisition de connaissances méthodologiques et de compétences de recherche avancées. Les contenus spécifiquement logopédiques sont axés avant tout sur la pratique, ce qui ouvre la voie à une réflexion plus globale sur le diagnostic et l'intervention dans le domaine des déficiences linguistiques et communicationnelles, le tout dans une perspective à la fois théorique et pratique. Un travail de Master portant sur une problématique logopédique vient compléter les modules interdisciplinaires.
Pour accéder à ce programme d'études, un diplôme académique de capacité professionnelle en logopédie reconnu par la CDIP (niveau Bachelor) est obligatoire.

Organisation des études

Structure des études

90 crédits ECTS + 30 crédits ECTS en option dans un programme d'études secondaires au choix, 3 à 4 semestres

Plan d'études

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/Malai

Admission

Les voies d'études Master se basent sur les connaissances et les compétences acquises pour l'obtention du Bachelor.

Les titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor universitaire délivré par une université suisse peuvent être admis aux études de Master sans autres conditions dans la branche d'études correspondante (cela signifie que 60 ECTS au minimum doivent être obtenus dans la branche d'études envisagée au niveau Master). Le même principe est appliqué aux titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor universitaire étranger reconnu et jugé équivalent par l'Université de Fribourg.

Les titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor universitaire suisse ou étranger, reconnu et jugé équivalent par l'Université de Fribourg, obtenu dans une autre branche d'études peuvent être admis aux études de Master avec conditions préalables (à accomplir avant l'entrée en Master) ou avec exigences supplémentaires (à accomplir parallèlement aux études de Master). Une admission avec conditions préalables ou avec exigences supplémentaires est également possible pour les titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor d'une haute école spécialisée suisse, selon les conventions en vigueur.

Les conditions d'admission propres à chaque programme de Master sont réservées.