Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Bioinformatics and Computational Biology

Abstract

Fascinated by biological questions and intrigued by the opportunities Big Data and high computer power offers to tackle them? Jump right into it with our Master programme in Bioinformatics and Computational Biology!

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

Fascinated by biological questions and intrigued by the opportunities Big Data and high computer power offers to tackle them? Jump right into it with our Master programme in Bioinformatics and Computational Biology!

Why study bioinformatics and computational biology?
It took 13 years and 3 billion dollars to decipher the human genome. Today, sequencing a whole genome takes but a few hours on a machine that fits on a tabletop at a tiny fraction of the original costs. Similar technological revolutions are underway in biological imaging, mass spectrometry based proteomics and metabolomics, or ecological remote sensing, just to name a few. Consequently, biological and medical sciences are now collecting enormous amounts of information with the goal to describe and understand how cells, complex organisms or entire ecosystems function. But this tsunami of data generates new challenges: How can we unearth and retrieve the exciting knowledge hidden in such data? How can we make such massive amounts of data available to the scientific community? A proper analysis of this trove of this data does not only require massive amounts calculation power, but also talented people with knowledge in both biology as well as in computer science and statistics to develop adequate and computationally fast analysis tools.

The Master of Science in Bioinformatics and Computational Biology is an interdisciplinary programme taught exclusively in English and jointly organized between the Universites of Fribourg and Bern. All involved departments offer outstanding conditions for research and training and highly competitive researcher-student ratios.

The study programme of the first semester builds upon your expertise in biology, biochemistry or life science, or respectively in mathematics, computer science or physics and complements your background with individually tailored courses in programing, statistics or fundamental biology. In the second semester you will then concentrate on the major topics in bioinformatics and computational biology, namely in data management, the analysis of sequence data, modeling of biological systems, image analysis and systems biology. The so acquired skills will further be reinforced through intensive hands-on training and practical courses. The third semester is then devoted to your own research project that you will conduct in an internationally recognized research lab at the University of Fribourg or Bern. Alternatively, your project may also be conducted in collaboration with an affiliated institute (e.g. the Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics), a governmental institution or the private sector.

Learning objectives and career opportunities
Our Master programme in Bioinformatics and Computational Biology will trim you fit for a career in the life sciences, health science or in food technology, both in industry or in governmental or non-governmental organizations, as well as for a PhD in academia. Bioinformatics and computational biology have direct and highly sought applications in basic and applied research ranging from conservation biology and modeling molecular networks to epidemiology, biomedical engineering and drug design, artistic data visualization and developing human-computer interaction. Our programme further promotes the exchange and interaction with people from many different fields, which will considerably widen your job prospects in academia as well as in the private sector.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

90 ECTS credits, 3 semesters

Curriculum

http://www.unifr.ch/science/plans/plans_e.php

Admission

Master's degree programmes are built on the knowledge and abilities that were acquired when obtaining a Bachelor's degree.

Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university can be admitted to a Master's degree programme within the corresponding discipline (requires the acquisition of minimum 60 ECTS credits at Bachelor level in the corresponding discipline) without any additional requirements. The same applies to holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg.

Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university or holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg, can be admitted to a Master's degree programme within another discipline with prerequisites (must be successfully completed before starting the Master's degree programme) or additional requirements (can be completed during the Master's degree programme). According to existing agreements, holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university of applied sciences can also be admitted with prerequisites or additional requirements.

The respective conditions of admission for each Master's degree programme are reserved.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

Bioinformatique et biologie computationnelle

Résumé

Vous êtes captivé par les phénomènes biologiques et intrigué par les possibilités offertes par le big data et les technologies informatiques modernes pour les analyser? Plongez au cœur de cet univers grâce à notre programme de Master en bioinformatique et biologie computationnelle!

Afficher le profil du programme d'études

Profil du programme d'études

Vous êtes captivé par les phénomènes biologiques et intrigué par les possibilités offertes par le big data et les technologies informatiques modernes pour les analyser? Plongez au cœur de cet univers grâce à notre programme de Master en bioinformatique et biologie computationnelle!

Pourquoi étudier la bioinformatique et la biologie computationnelle?
Treize années et trois milliards de dollars ont été nécessaires pour déchiffrer le génome humain. Aujourd'hui, le séquençage d'un génome complet ne prend que quelques heures avec un ordinateur qui tient sur une table, et ne représente plus qu'une infime partie des coûts que l'on devait engager par le passé. Des révolutions technologiques similaires sont en cours dans les domaines de l'imagerie biologique, de la protéomique et de la métabolomique basées sur la spectrométrie de masse, ainsi qu'en télédétection écologique, pour ne citer que quelques exemples. Par conséquent, d'énormes volumes de données sont aujourd'hui collectés en sciences biologiques et médicales, dans le but de décrire et de comprendre le fonctionnement de cellules, d'organismes complexes ou d'écosystèmes entiers. Cet océan de données pose des problèmes inédits: comment dégager et extraire les connaissances passionnantes renfermées dans ces données? Comment mettre de telles quantités de données à la disposition de la communauté scientifique? Une analyse efficace de ce trésor inestimable d'informations requiert non seulement d'énormes puissances de calcul, mais aussi des compétences humaines très spécifiques, fondées sur des connaissances tant dans le domaine de la biologie que de l'informatique et des statistiques, afin de développer des outils d'analyse informatiques ciblés et rapides.

Le Master of Science in Bioinformatics and Computational Biology est un programme interdisciplinaire, dispensé exclusivement en anglais, et organisé conjointement par l'Université de Fribourg et l'Université de Berne. Tous les départements impliqués offrent des conditions exceptionnelles pour la recherche et la formation, ainsi que des ratios chercheurs-étudiants hautement compétitifs.

Le programme d'études du premier semestre s'appuie sur votre expertise préalable en biologie, biochimie ou sciences de la vie, ou alors en mathématiques, en informatique ou en physique, et complète votre profil grâce à des cours taillés sur mesure en programmation informatique, en statistiques ou en biologie fondamentale. Au deuxième semestre, vous vous concentrerez sur les principaux thèmes de la bioinformatique et de la biologie computationnelle, en l'occurrence la gestion des données, l'analyse de séquences de données, la modélisation de systèmes biologiques, l'analyse d'images et la biologie systémique. Les compétences ainsi acquises seront renforcées par un enseignement pratique intensif. Le troisième semestre sera consacré à votre propre projet de recherche, que vous mènerez dans un laboratoire de recherche internationalement reconnu à l'Université de Fribourg ou de Berne. Vous pourrez également mener votre projet en collaboration avec un institut partenaire (p. ex. l'Institut suisse de bioinformatique), ou une autre institution du secteur public ou privé.

Objectifs de formation et débouchés
Notre programme de Master en bioinformatique et biologie computationnelle vous dotera de compétences sur mesure pour accéder à des carrières dans les sciences de la vie, les sciences médicales ou la technologie alimentaire, dans l'industrie, ou au sein d'organisations gouvernementales ou non gouvernementales, à moins que vous ne poursuiviez votre parcours académique par un doctorat. La bioinformatique et la biologie computationnelle proposent des applications directes et extrêmement prisées, que ce soit en recherche fondamentale ou appliquée: biologie de la conservation, modélisation des réseaux moléculaires, épidémiologie, génie biomédical, conception de médicaments, visualisation artistique des données ou encore développement de l'interaction homme-machine. De plus, notre programme favorise les échanges et l'interaction avec des personnes d'horizons disciplinaires très différents, ce qui enrichira considérablement vos perspectives professionnelles, que vous optiez pour une carrière universitaire ou dans le secteur privé.

Organisation des études

Structure des études

90 crédits ECTS, 3 semestres

Plan d'études

http://www.unifr.ch/science/plans/plans_f.php

Admission

Les voies d'études Master se basent sur les connaissances et les compétences acquises pour l'obtention du Bachelor.

Les titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor universitaire délivré par une université suisse peuvent être admis aux études de Master sans autres conditions dans la branche d'études correspondante (cela signifie que 60 ECTS au minimum doivent être obtenus dans la branche d'études envisagée au niveau Master). Le même principe est appliqué aux titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor universitaire étranger reconnu et jugé équivalent par l'Université de Fribourg.

Les titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor universitaire suisse ou étranger, reconnu et jugé équivalent par l'Université de Fribourg, obtenu dans une autre branche d'études peuvent être admis aux études de Master avec conditions préalables (à accomplir avant l'entrée en Master) ou avec exigences supplémentaires (à accomplir parallèlement aux études de Master). Une admission avec conditions préalables ou avec exigences supplémentaires est également possible pour les titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor d'une haute école spécialisée suisse, selon les conventions en vigueur.

Les conditions d'admission propres à chaque programme de Master sont réservées.