Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

 

Environmental Biology

Abstract

Major environmental problems, in particular global change and its consequences for biodiversity and ecosystem functioning, are intimately interconnected and pose a threat to our future. Solving these problems requires an integrative and synergistic approach in terms of both fundamental and applied research. The Department of Biology of the Faculty of Science and Medicine offers a multidisciplinary Master of Science in Environmental Biology. The programme ranges from fundamental concepts in ecology and evolution to molecular aspects of plant and microbial sciences through applied solutions for environmental policies and sustainable development. It provides students with state-of-the-art training and background in conceptual, technical, and applied aspects of environmental biology. Master students are integrated into active research teams and can thus gain extensive experience in basic and applied academic research in environmental biology.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

The master students in this programme will acquire cutting-edge knowledge and skills in basic and applied aspects of environmental biology. The programme emphasises the development of both scientific and soft skills, e.g. independent analytical thinking, problem-solving, critical evaluation and analysis of data, oral and written communication, and the ability to work in a team. Courses are accompanied by discussions, student presentations and project writing exercises. The master thesis (60 ECTS credits in case of the three 120 ECTS options; 45 ECTS credits in case of the 90 ECTS «Teaching» option) is carried out in one of the research teams, possibly in collaboration with other research institutions, giving students the opportunity to experience all aspects of the daily life of a research scientist. Students also have the opportunity to present their work during a research seminar. An agreement with the Universities of Bern and Neuchâtel (BENEFRI Framework Convention) allows students to take elective courses in these institutions and to have them credited for the study programme in Fribourg. The master programme in Environmental Biology is accessible to students who have completed their Bachelor of Science in Biology. Students who have completed their Bachelor of Science in Biochemistry are also eligible provided they have chosen the necessary courses in their BSc curriculum.

The Master of Science in Environmental Biology offers four options. These options are complementary but also contain shared courses, and students have the opportunity, next to a set of mandatory courses, to customise their study plan according to their interests. The three 120 ECTS options below focus on research; the fourth option («Teaching», 90 ECTS) is appropriate for students who would like to become teachers. The four options are:

1. Ecology and Evolution (120 ECTS credits)
This option is centred on the conceptual and empirical aspects of ecology and evolution. It covers fundamental areas ranging from population, community to ecosystems ecology; theoretical ecology and evolution; eco-evolutionary feedback dynamics; evolutionary and population genetics; evolutionary and ecological genomics; behavioural ecology; the evolution of life histories and aging; as well as phylogenetic analyses of organismal relationships. Research groups in these areas work on a variety of study systems and use a broad range of experimental, observational, and theoretical approaches. Biological systems include various insects; birds; plants and their microorganismal communities; microbial soil communities; relict tree species; threatened aquatic species; invasive species; and alpine vegetation ecosystems. Methods encompass laboratory experiments; field observations and experiments; genomics and bioinformatics; statistical analyses; computer simulations and theoretical modelling.

2. Plant and Microbial Sciences (120 ECTS credits)
This option focuses on the molecular aspects of plant health and development and includes the study of plant-associated microbiota. It covers an exciting range of subjects such as molecular signalling systems, resistance and tolerance of plants to biotic and abiotic stress, the molecular basis of immunity, interactions between plants and their symbionts, plant microbiota, plant biotechnology, as well as plant systematics and biogeography. To address questions in these areas, research teams use various well-established model plants (Arabidopsis, Petunia, tobacco) and plants of agronomical relevance (potato, tomato, grapevine). They rely on a wide array of methods including biochemistry, molecular biology, genetics, genomics, proteomics and metabolomics as well as cellular imaging. Researchers collaborate with agronomical research institutions such as Agroscope, FiBL (Forschungsinstitut fu?r biologischen Landbau), and the agricultural school in Grangeneuve, amongst others.

3. Applied Environmental Biology (120 ECTS credits)
This option addresses important applied facets of environmental biology, especially in terms of biological invasions, conservation biology and sustainable crop protection; it also addresses the consequences of global change. In collaboration with the Environmental Sciences and Humanities Institute, students have the opportunity to learn about major current issues in environmental ethics, policy making and sustainable development. Research methods in this area include for example field and laboratory experiments; database mining and meta-analyses; computer simulations; as well as working out policy recommendations. Researchers in this field (working mostly on applied aspects of ecology and microbiology) collaborate with applied research institutions such as Agroscope, FiBL (Forschungsinstitut fu?r biologischen Landbau), or CABI. This master option also offers the opportunity to carry out either a short research internship or the master project in such a partner research institution.

4. Teaching (90 ECTS credits)
This option combines core courses from the 3 options above and is appropriate for students who are interested in becoming teachers at the secondary level II. The students taking this option will need to complement the 90 ECTS credits with 30 ECTS credits from another programme (second teaching subject).

Career prospects
Graduates of this programme will be well prepared for careers inside and outside academia, e.g., in university research and higher education, teaching, agroindustry, federal research institutes and offices (including institution such as Agroscope, FIBL, HAFL, HEPIA, BAFU, BLW, WSL), cantonal offices, private foundations or small-scale businesses. The master's degree in Environmental Biology also paves the way to doctoral studies (PhD) in this subject area (depending on the institution additional requirements might apply).

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

120 ECTS credits, 4 semesters
or
90 ECTS credits, 3 semesters (option «Teaching»)

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/xZPll
http://studies.unifr.ch/go/z3FE1

Admission

Master's degree programmes are built on the knowledge and abilities that were acquired when obtaining a bachelor's degree.

Holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a Swiss university are admitted to a master's degree programme without any preconditions if they have earned 60 or 90 ECTS credits – depending on the chosen master's degree programme – within the corresponding discipline. However, additional requirements can be required. The same applies to holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg.

Holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a Swiss or a foreign university, provided that the bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg, who do not fulfil this condition can be admitted to a master's degree programme with preconditions (which must be successfully completed before starting the master's degree programme) and/or additional requirements (which can be completed during the master's degree programme). The preconditions and/or additional requirements may not exceed 60 ECTS credits in total. The same applies to holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a Swiss university of applied sciences, according to existing agreements.

The respective conditions of admission for each master's degree programme are reserved.
The master programme in Environmental Biology is accessible to students who have completed their Bachelor of Science in Biology. Students who have completed their Bachelor of Science in Biochemistry are also eligible provided they have chosen the necessary courses in their BSc curriculum.

Alternatives

Also offered as a minor study programme (30 ECTS credits) as part of the Diplôme d'Enseignement pour les Ecoles de Maturité (DEEM)/Lehrdiplom für Maturitätsschulen (LDM).

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

 

Biologie de l'environnement

Résumé

Les problèmes environnementaux majeurs, en particulier le changement climatique et ses conséquences pour la biodiversité et le fonctionnement des écosystèmes, sont étroitement liés et menacent notre avenir. La résolution de ces problèmes exige une approche intégrative et synergétique de la recherche fondamentale et appliquée. Le Département de biologie de la Faculté des sciences et de médecine propose un master en biologie de l'environnement multidisciplinaire. Ce programme s'étend des concepts fondamentaux de l'écologie et de l'évolution aux aspects moléculaires de la biologie végétale et de la microbiologie, en passant par des solutions appliquées aux politiques environnementales et au développement durable. Il offre aux étudiantes et étudiants une formation de pointe et des bases théoriques, techniques et appliquées en biologie de l'environnement. Les étudiantes et étudiants intègrent des équipes de chercheurs actives afin d'acquérir une expérience approfondie de la recherche universitaire fondamentale et appliquée en biologie de l'environnement.

Afficher le profil du programme d'études

Profil du programme d'études

Les étudiantes et étudiants de ce programme de master acquièrent des connaissances et des compétences de pointe dans des domaines de base et appliqués de la biologie de l'environnement. Le programme met l'accent sur le développement de compétences scientifiques et personnelles: réflexion analytique autonome, résolution de problèmes, évaluation et analyse critique de données, communication orale et écrite, capacité à travailler en équipe. Les cours s'accompagnent de discussions, de présentations et d'exercices écrits sur des projets. Le mémoire de master (60 crédits ECTS pour les trois options à 120 crédits ECTS; 45 crédits ECTS pour l'option «Enseignement» à 90 crédits ECTS) est réalisé au sein de l'une des équipes de chercheurs, éventuellement en collaboration avec d'autres instituts de recherche. Les étudiantes et étudiants peuvent ainsi découvrir très concrètement tous les aspects du quotidien d'un scientifique. Ils ont également l'opportunité de présenter leur travail lors d'un séminaire de recherche. Un accord avec les Universités de Berne et de Neuchâtel (convention-cadre BENEFRI) leur permet de suivre des cours de leur choix dans ces deux institutions, cours qui sont crédités à leur programme d'études suivi à Fribourg. Le programme de master en biologie de l'environnement est accessible aux étudiantes et étudiants ayant obtenu un Bachelor of Science en biologie. Sont également éligibles les titulaires d'un Bachelor of Science en biochimie, à condition qu'ils aient suivi les cours nécessaires durant leur cursus BSc.

Quatre options sont proposées pour le master en biologie de l'environnement. Ces options sont complémentaires, mais contiennent également des troncs communs. Les étudiantes et étudiants ont la possibilité, en plus d'un ensemble de cours obligatoires, de personnaliser leur plan d'études en fonction de leurs centres d'intérêt. Les trois options à 120 crédits ECTS sont axées sur la recherche. La quatrième option («Enseignement», 90 crédits ECTS) s'adresse aux étudiantes et étudiants qui se destinent à l'enseignement. Les quatre options sont les suivantes:

1. Ecologie et évolution (120 crédits ECTS)
Cette option est axée sur les aspects théoriques et empiriques de l'écologie et de l'évolution. Elle couvre des domaines fondamentaux très divers: écologie des populations, des communautés et des écosystèmes, théories de l'écologie et de l'évolution, dynamique éco-évolutionnaire, génétique de l'évolution et des populations, génomique évolutionnaire et écologique, écologie comportementale, évolution des histoires de vie et du vieillissement, ou encore analyses phylogénétiques des relations entre les organismes. Les groupes de recherche concernés travaillent sur divers systèmes et utilisent un large éventail de méthodes expérimentales, théoriques et d'observation. Les systèmes biologiques étudiés sont variés: insectes, oiseaux, plantes et leurs communautés de micro-organismes, communautés microbiennes du sol, espèces d'arbre reliques, espèces aquatiques menacées, espèces invasives, végétation et écosystèmes de montagne. Les méthodes utilisées comprennent des expériences de laboratoire, des observations et des expériences de terrain, la génomique et la bio-informatique, des analyses statistiques, des simulations sur ordinateur et la modélisation théorique.

2. Biologie végétale et microbiologie (120 crédits ECTS)
Cette option est axée sur les aspects moléculaires de la santé et du développement des plantes. Elle comprend aussi l'étude du microbiote des plantes. Elle couvre des domaines très divers: voies de signalisation moléculaires, résistance et tolérance des plantes aux stress biotiques et abiotiques, base moléculaire de l'immunité, interactions entre les symbiotes et les plantes, microbiote des plantes, biotechnologie des plantes, ainsi que systématique des plantes et biogéographie. Pour l'étude de ces sujets, les équipes de chercheurs se focalisent sur différentes plantes communément utilisées comme modèles (Arabidopsis, pétunia, tabac) ainsi que sur des variétés intéressantes sur le plan agronomique (pommes de terre, tomates, vignes). L'éventail des méthodes utilisées couvre les domaines de la biochimie, de la biologie moléculaire, de la génétique, de la génomique, de la protéomique et de la métabolomique, mais aussi l'imagerie cellulaire. Les chercheurs collaborent avec des instituts de recherche agronomique comme Agroscope, le FiBL (institut de recherche pour l'agriculture biologique) et l'institut agricole de Grangeneuve, entre autres.

3. Biologie environnementale appliquée (120 crédits ECTS)
Cette option couvre des aspects importants de la biologie environnementale appliquée, notamment les invasions biologiques, la biologie de conservation et la protection durable des cultures. Elle s'intéresse également aux conséquences du changement climatique. En collaboration avec l'Institut des Sciences et Humanités environnementales (UniFR-ESH), les étudiantes et étudiants ont la possibilité de découvrir les problématiques actuelles majeures en termes d'éthique environnementale, de politique et de développement durable. Dans ce domaine, les méthodes de recherche comprennent des expériences de terrain et de laboratoire, l'exploration de bases de données et des méta-analyses, des simulations par ordinateur ainsi que l'élaboration de recommandations politiques. Les chercheurs (qui se focalisent essentiellement sur l'écologie et la microbiologie appliquée) collaborent avec des instituts de recherche appliquée comme Agroscope, le FiBL (institut de recherche pour l'agriculture biologique) ou le CABI. Cette option de master permet en outre aux étudiantes et étudiants d'effectuer un bref stage de recherche ou de travailler sur un projet de master au sein de l'un de ces instituts partenaires.

4. Enseignement (90 crédits ECTS)
Cette option combine les cours principaux proposés dans les trois options ci-dessus et s'adresse aux étudiantes et étudiants qui se destinent à une carrière dans l'enseignement au niveau secondaire II. Les étudiantes et étudiants qui choisissent cette option devront compléter les 90 crédits ECTS par 30 crédits ECTS dans un autre programme (deuxième discipline d'enseignement).

Débouchés professionnels
Les diplômées et diplômés de ce programme d'études sont parfaitement préparés pour des carrières universitaires ou dans le secteur privé: recherche universitaire et enseignement supérieur, enseignement, agro-industrie, instituts et offices de recherche fédéraux (notamment Agroscope, FiBL, HAFL, HEPIA, OFEV, OFAG, WSL), offices cantonaux, fondations privées ou petites entreprises. Le diplôme de master en biologie de l'environnement ouvre également la voie à des études doctorales (Ph.D) en lien avec ce domaine (selon l'institution, des conditions d'admission complémentaires peuvent s'appliquer).

Organisation des études

Structure des études

120 crédits ECTS, 4 semestres
ou
90 crédits ECTS, 3 semestres (option «Enseignement»)

Plan d'études

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/xZPll

Admission

Les voies d'études master se basent sur les connaissances et les compétences acquises pour l'obtention du bachelor.

Les titulaires d'un diplôme de bachelor universitaire délivré par une Haute école universitaire suisse sont admis sans conditions préalables aux études de master s'ils ont acquis, selon les études de master souhaitées, 60 ou 90 crédits ECTS dans la même branche d'études. Des compléments peuvent toutefois être exigés. Le même principe s'applique aux titulaires d'un diplôme de bachelor universitaire étranger, reconnu et jugé équivalent par l'Université de Fribourg.

Les titulaires d'un diplôme de bachelor universitaire suisse ou étranger, reconnu et jugé équivalent par l'Université de Fribourg, qui ne remplissent pas cette condition peuvent être admis aux études de master avec des conditions préalables (à accomplir avant l'entrée en master) et/ou des compléments (à accomplir au cours des études de master). Ces prestations d'études ne doivent pas dépasser 60 crédits ECTS au total. Il en va de même des titulaires d'un diplôme de bachelor d'une Haute école spécialisée suisse, selon les conventions en vigueur.

Les conditions d'admission propres à chaque programme d'études de master demeurent réservées.
Le programme de master en biologie de l'environnement est accessible aux étudiantes et étudiants ayant obtenu un Bachelor of Science en biologie. Sont également éligibles les titulaires d'un Bachelor of Science en biochimie, à condition qu'ils aient suivi les cours nécessaires durant leur cursus BSc.

Variantes

Est également offert en tant que programme d'études secondaires (30 crédits ECTS) dans le cadre du Diplôme d'Enseignement pour les Ecoles de Maturité (DEEM).