Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

 

Earth Sciences

Abstract

This programme of study in Earth Sciences consists of a joint programme run by the Department of Geosciences at the University of Fribourg and the Institute of Geological Sciences at the University of Bern. Students profit from the expanded number of lecturers and researchers, and from the specialised geological know-how and facilities at both institutions. Taught in English, it includes a choice from five options: «Earth and Life Evolution» (an exploration of the evolution of the geosphere and the biosphere); «Earth Materials» (a multidisciplinary approach to geology and material sciences); «Environmental and Resource Geochemistry» (the chemical and physical interaction between aqueous fluids and the solid substrate); Geology (the understanding of geological processes and the results thereof in space and time, ranging from unconsolidated soil to solid rock on both small and large scales); «Pure and Applied Quaternary Sciences» (an integrated approach to quaternary sediments).

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

Have your Bachelor's studies infected you with a fascination for Geology? Do you wish to train for an exciting career in research or industry? The Master of Science in Earth Sciences (BEFRI) is a joint programme run by the Institute of Geological Sciences at the University of Bern and the Department of Geosciences at the University of Fribourg within the framework of the inter-university «BEFRI» Convention. With only a twenty minute train trip separating the two universities, students profit from the expanded number of lecturers and researchers, and from the specialised geological know-how and facilities at both institutions. The merger of capabilities allows an exciting and varied curriculum to be offered in a two-year degree taught in English.

Highlights of the Master include a choice from five options:

Earth and Life Evolution
This option explores two complementary aspects of earth sciences – the evolution of the geosphere and that of the biosphere – linked by a common theme: the processes and the unique history that have produced our life-sustaining planet. It is a curriculum dominated by curiosity-driven pure science, based on the subdisciplines of paleontology, sedimentology, and geochemistry. The breadth of the training acquired in this option leads to a wide choice of professional opportunities in academia at universities, research institutions, museums, space agencies, as well as in applied earth sciences such as hydrocarbon exploration and resource management.

Earth Materials
Main aspect of this option is multidisciplinary between geology and material sciences. The intention of this option aims to provide skills for investigating and characterizing minerals, rocks, and crystalline solids in general, with special emphasis on their properties. This also includes developing models on formation and stability of rocks and minerals, synthesis of corresponding materials under laboratory conditions, and testing possible applications in technology and ecology. In the past, graduates specialised in this field accepted positions in industry and research institutes dealing with refractories, glass, cement, gem stones, or other crystalline solids of technological importance.

Environmental and Resource Geochemistry
This option has become a large sector of professional activity for Earth Science graduates. The reason for this development is that virtually any exploitation of geological resources or disposal of solid waste impacts the environment. From a scientific point of view, the impact is mainly due to the chemical and physical interaction between aqueous fluids and the solid substrate (rock, solid waste etc.). The curriculum spans this realm of «water-rock» interaction, in order to prepare students to tackle the huge variety of problems that are encountered in professional practice. Experts are particularly sought in fields such as exploration of mineral and energy resources, geochemical assessment and protection of groundwater reserves, geological disposal of toxic or radioactive wastes, clean-up of contaminated sites, development of geothermal energy and underground storage of anthropogenic CO2.

Geology
The option spans the entire realm from unconsolidated soil to solid rock, on both small and large scales with a common theme: the understanding of geological processes and the results thereof in space and time. Due to this breadth, natural overlapping with the other four options is inevitable. A careful selection of courses can provide a widely based education, with certain areas of increased expertise, thus preparing the students to tackle the huge variety of problems that are encountered in professional practice. Industry and government agencies throughout the world have a considerable demand for scientific experts in sectors such as resource supply, disposal of waste, geotechnical aspects of construction projects or mining operations, or as assessing risk and ecological compatibility.

Pure and Applied Quaternary Sciences
This option represents an integrated approach for training students in all aspects of quaternary sediments, which cover most of the Earth surface. The heavily populated areas in the world are found in geological environments dominated by such unconsolidated rocks. As a consequence, most challenges regarding geohazards such as mass movements and mud flows, environmental geology and geotechnology are linked to such sediments. Courses in sedimentology, anthropogenic impacts on earth surface processes, dating of sedimentary sequences, glaciology and geomorphology, as well as physical properties of unconsolidated rocks guarantees a fundamental education that will enable graduates to face everyday challenges regarding unconsolidated sediments. Experts in this field are engaged by companies and public agencies working in the field of engineering geology, hydrogeology or natural hazards.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

120 ECTS credits, 4 semesters

Curriculum

http://www.unifr.ch/science/plans/plans_e.php

Admission

Master's degree programmes are built on the knowledge and abilities that were acquired when obtaining a Bachelor's degree.

Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university can be admitted to a Master's degree programme within the corresponding discipline (requires the acquisition of minimum 60 ECTS credits at Bachelor level in the corresponding discipline) without any additional requirements. The same applies to holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg.

Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university or holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg, can be admitted to a Master's degree programme within another discipline with prerequisites (must be successfully completed before starting the Master's degree programme) or additional requirements (can be completed during the Master's degree programme). According to existing agreements, holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university of applied sciences can also be admitted with prerequisites or additional requirements.

The respective conditions of admission for each Master's degree programme are reserved.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

 

Sciences de la Terre

Résumé

Le programme de Master en Sciences de la Terre est proposé conjointement par le Département des géosciences de l'Université de Fribourg et l'Institut de géologie de l'Université de Berne. Les étudiantes et étudiants ont ainsi accès à une large gamme de cours et de domaines de recherche. Le savoir-faire spécialisé et les équipements scientifiques des deux institutions sont également mis en commun. L'enseignement se déroule en anglais, cinq options étant possibles: «Earth and Life Evolution» (étude de l'évolution de la géosphère et de la biosphère); «Earth Materials» (approche multidisciplinaire de la géologie et des sciences de la matière); «Environmental and Resource Geochemistry» (interactions chimiques et physiques entre les solutions aqueuses et les substrats solides); «Geology» (compréhension des processus géologiques et des effets produits dans l'espace et le temps, des sols non consolidés aux roches solides, à petite et à grande échelles); «Pure and Applied Quaternary Sciences» (une approche intégrée des sédiments quaternaires).

Afficher le profil du programme d'études

Profil du programme d'études

Vos études de Bachelor ont créé chez vous une fascination pour la géologie? Vous envisagez une carrière intéressante dans la recherche ou l'industrie? Le Master of Science in Earth Sciences (BEFRI) est un programme proposé conjointement par le Département des géosciences de l'Université de Fribourg et l'Institut de géologie de l'Université de Berne, dans le cadre de la convention interuniversitaire «BEFRI» entre les deux universités. En train, le trajet entre les deux sites dure une vingtaine de minutes: les étudiantes et étudiants ont ainsi accès à un nombre étendu de cours et de domaines de recherche. Le savoir-faire spécialisé et les équipements scientifiques des deux institutions sont également mis en commun, ce qui permet d'offrir un programme varié et passionnant. L'enseignement se déroule en anglais sur deux ans.

Le Master s'articule principalement autour de cinq options:

Earth and Life Evolution
Cette option explore deux aspects complémentaires des sciences de la Terre – l'évolution de la géosphère et celle de la biosphère – reliés par un thème commun: les processus et l'histoire unique qui font de la Terre une planète vivante. Ce programme repose avant tout sur la curiosité scientifique et implique plus particulièrement les domaines de la paléontologie, de la sédimentologie et de la géochimie. La formation complète assurée par cette option se traduit à travers une vaste gamme d'opportunités professionnelles, aussi bien dans les milieux académiques (universités, institutions de recherche, musées, agences spatiales) que dans le domaine des sciences de la Terre appliquées (exploitation des hydrocarbures et gestion des ressources).

Earth Materials
La caractéristique principale de cette option est sa multidisciplinarité, entre géologie et sciences de la matière. L'objectif est de doter les étudiantes et étudiants des compétences requises pour l'étude et la description des caractéristiques des minéraux, roches et cristaux solides en général, un accent particulier étant mis sur leurs propriétés. Il s'agit également d'élaborer des modèles de formation et de stabilité des roches et des minéraux, de procéder à la synthèse des matériaux dans des conditions de laboratoire et de tester les applications technologiques et écologiques potentielles. Les diplômées et diplômés issus de cette option trouvent généralement un emploi dans l'industrie ou dans des établissements de recherche travaillant sur les produits réfractaires, le verre, le ciment, les pierres précieuses ou d'autres solides cristallins revêtant une importance technologique.

Environmental and Resource Geochemistry
Cette option représente aujourd'hui l'un des principaux champs d'activité des diplômés en sciences de la Terre. Cela s'explique par le fait que presque toute exploitation de ressources géologiques ou activité de traitement de déchets solides a un impact sur l'environnement. D'un point de vue scientifique, cet impact est essentiellement lié aux interactions chimiques et physiques entre les solutions aqueuses et les substrats solides (roches, déchets solides, etc.). Le programme couvre l'ensemble des aspects de ce domaine d'études afin de préparer les étudiantes et les étudiants à la diversité des problèmes qu'ils rencontreront dans leur vie professionnelle. Ces spécialistes sont particulièrement recherchés pour les applications suivantes: exploration et évaluation de matières premières minérales et énergétiques, expertise en géochimie et protection des réserves d'eau souterraines, mais aussi stockage géologique de déchets toxiques et radioactifs, assainissement de sites contaminés, développement de la géothermie et stockage géologique du CO2 anthropique.

Geology
Le programme de cette option s'étend des sols non consolidés aux roches solides, à petite et à grande échelles, le fil rouge de l'enseignement étant la compréhension des processus géologiques et de leurs conséquences dans l'espace et le temps. Ce vaste champ d'études comprend des aspects communs aux quatre autres options. Une sélection cohérente de cours permet d'acquérir de vastes connaissances ainsi qu'une expertise plus poussée dans certains domaines. Les étudiantes et les étudiants sont préparés au mieux à affronter la diversité des problématiques qu'ils rencontreront dans le cadre de leur vie professionnelle. Dans le monde entier, l'industrie et les administrations publiques sont à la recherche de scientifiques spécialisés dans les questions liées à l'approvisionnement en ressources, au traitement des déchets, aux aspects géotechniques des projets de construction ou des exploitations minières, ou encore à l'évaluation des risques et à la compatibilité écologique.

Pure and Applied Quaternary Sciences
Cette option est le reflet d'une approche intégrée, pour les étudiantes et étudiants, de tous les aspects liés aux sédiments quaternaires, qui recouvrent la plus grande partie de la surface de la Terre. Des zones fortement peuplées de la planète se situent dans des environnements géologiques où les roches non consolidées prédominent. Conséquence: la plupart des défis que représentent les risques géologiques (mouvements de masse et coulées de boue), ainsi que la géologie environnementale et la géotechnique sont liés à ces sédiments. La liste des cours proposés comprend la sédimentologie, les effets anthropiques sur les processus de surface, la datation des séquences sédimentaires, la glaciologie et la géomorphologie, sans oublier les propriétés physiques des roches non consolidées. Cette formation garantit la transmission de connaissances fondamentales qui permettront aux futurs diplômées et diplômés d'affronter les défis quotidiens relatifs aux sédiments non consolidés. Les spécialistes de ce domaine sont recherchés par les entreprises et les administrations publiques opérant dans le secteur du génie géologique, de l'hydrogéologie ou qui travaillent sur les risques naturels.

Organisation des études

Structure des études

120 crédits ECTS, 4 semestres

Plan d'études

http://www.unifr.ch/science/plans/plans_f.php

Admission

Les voies d'études Master se basent sur les connaissances et les compétences acquises pour l'obtention du Bachelor.

Les titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor universitaire délivré par une université suisse peuvent être admis aux études de Master sans autres conditions dans la branche d'études correspondante (cela signifie que 60 ECTS au minimum doivent être obtenus dans la branche d'études envisagée au niveau Master). Le même principe est appliqué aux titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor universitaire étranger reconnu et jugé équivalent par l'Université de Fribourg.

Les titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor universitaire suisse ou étranger, reconnu et jugé équivalent par l'Université de Fribourg, obtenu dans une autre branche d'études peuvent être admis aux études de Master avec conditions préalables (à accomplir avant l'entrée en Master) ou avec exigences supplémentaires (à accomplir parallèlement aux études de Master). Une admission avec conditions préalables ou avec exigences supplémentaires est également possible pour les titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor d'une haute école spécialisée suisse, selon les conventions en vigueur.

Les conditions d'admission propres à chaque programme de Master sont réservées.