Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

 

Geography

Abstract

Tuned to current environmental issues, this Master's programme enables students to understand and assess environmental systems and the relationship between nature and society. After studying a core module dealing with conceptual and theoretical bases, students choose a specialisation: either physical geography, which covers topics such as the cryosphere, glaciology or alpine geomorphology; or human geography, which explores subjects such as political ecology and management of natural resources along with their political and social dimensions.
Students have a broad choice of seminars and conference cycles, as well as field work. The students also participate in research teams, notably in the context of their Master's thesis. The Unit of Geography is of human dimensions, which means that it is able to offer quality teaching and mentoring, with a genuinely professional qualification as the outcome.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

The Unit of Geography, part of the University of Fribourg Department of Geosciences, offers a Master's degree that focuses on current environmental problems and encompasses physical and human geography. This study programme gives students the means of understanding and analysing the socio-environmental issues at stake, such as the consequences of climate change, urbanisation and the growing scarcity of natural resources. The course is based on the complementarity between the approaches and methods used in the natural and social sciences. Throughout the programme, students are taught the theoretical and methodological approaches that are required to assess the environmental issues at stake and thus acquire a genuinely professional level of training. All the teaching is delivered in English.

Integrative, interdisciplinary geography
Reflecting the team which makes up the Unit of Geography, the Master's course is integrative and interdisciplinary. Besides providing integrative training, it also gives students the chance to specialise either in physical geography – Dynamics in Glaciology and Geomorphology option –, on topics related to the cryosphere, glaciology or alpine geomorphology, or in human geography – Nature, Society and Politics option –, on topics of political ecology, management of natural resources (water, land, renaturation and landscapes). This integrative approach is a great aid to understanding and assessing complex environmental systems and the relationship between nature and society. During their course in Fribourg, with a view to their Master's thesis the students are assigned to research teams and take part in current research projects. The human dimensions of this unit (around 30 research scientists) and the drive of the research groups provide a supportive, quality environment for all the students.

Structure of classes and lectures
The teaching is structured into four modules and is delivered through a combination of lectures, seminars, field work and conferences. The core module teaches the conceptual and theoretical bases of geography. Students are taught the different approaches to human and physical geography, as well as methods of collecting and analysing data. Three cycles of internal conferences offer students a chance to gain more in-depth knowledge of current research topics.. A supporting module allows students to personalise their programme at the same time by pursuing courses related to their specialisation, either within the unit or faculty or externally, which are complementary to their discipline or interdisciplinary choices. Students conclude their studies with a Master's thesis under the supervision of a professor. A field trip is organised abroad in one of the teams' research regions (Morocco in 2009, Namibia in 2011, Central Asia in 2013).

Career openings
This study programme offers diverse career openings: teaching, research, administration and public institutions (local, cantonal, federal, international), urban and regional planning, environmental engineering consulting, sustainable development, regional development.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

120 ECTS credits, 4 semesters

Curriculum

http://www.unifr.ch/science/plans/plans_e.php

Admission

Master's degree programmes are built on the knowledge and abilities that were acquired when obtaining a Bachelor's degree.

Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university can be admitted to a Master's degree programme within the corresponding discipline (requires the acquisition of minimum 60 ECTS credits at Bachelor level in the corresponding discipline) without any additional requirements. The same applies to holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg.

Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university or holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg, can be admitted to a Master's degree programme within another discipline with prerequisites (must be successfully completed before starting the Master's degree programme) or additional requirements (can be completed during the Master's degree programme). According to existing agreements, holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university of applied sciences can also be admitted with prerequisites or additional requirements.

The respective conditions of admission for each Master's degree programme are reserved.

Alternatives

Also offered as a minor study programme (30 ECTS credits).

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

 

Géographie

Résumé

En lien avec les problématiques environnementales actuelles, ce programme de Master permet de comprendre et d'évaluer les systèmes environnementaux et les relations Nature-Société. Après un module commun traitant des bases conceptuelles et théoriques, le choix d'une spécialisation intervient: soit la géographie physique, qui s'intéresse à des thèmes comme la cryosphère, la glaciologie ou la géomorphologie alpine; soit la géographie humaine, qui explore des sujets tels que l'écologie politique et la gestion des ressources naturelles dans leurs dimensions politiques et sociales.
Un large choix de séminaires, des cycles de conférences mais aussi des travaux de terrain sont proposés. Les étudiantes et étudiants se voient également intégrés au sein d'équipes de recherche, notamment dans le cadre de leur mémoire de Master. La taille humaine de l'Unité de géographie permet d'assurer un suivi et un encadrement de qualité, menant à la formation de professionnelles et professionnels qualifiés.

Afficher le profil du programme d'études

Profil du programme d'études

L'Unité de géographie du Département des géosciences de l'Université de Fribourg propose une formation de Master centrée sur les problématiques environnementales actuelles en intégrant la géographie humaine et physique. Ce programme d'études offre aux étudiantes et aux étudiants la possibilité de comprendre et d'analyser les enjeux socio-environnementaux comme les conséquences du changement climatique, de l'urbanisation ou la raréfaction des ressources naturelles. La formation est basée sur la complémentarité entre les approches et les méthodes issues des sciences naturelles comme des sciences sociales. L'ensemble des cours fournit les approches théoriques et méthodologiques nécessaires à l'évaluation des enjeux environnementaux et permet ainsi la formation de professionnels qualifiés. L'ensemble des enseignements est délivré en anglais.

Une géographie intégrative et interdisciplinaire
Ce Master, à l'image de l'équipe de l'Unité de géographie, propose un cursus intégratif et interdisciplinaire. Il donne à côté d'une formation intégrative, la possibilité aux étudiantes et aux étudiants de se spécialiser soit en géographie physique – option Glaciologie et Géomorphologie dynamique – sur des thèmes relatifs à la cryosphère, la glaciologie ou la géomorphologie alpine; soit en géographie humaine – option Nature, société et politique – sur des thèmes d'écologie politique, la gestion des ressources naturelles (eau, foncier, renaturation et paysages) dans leurs dimensions politiques et sociales. Cette approche intégrative est un atout pour la compréhension et l'évaluation des systèmes environnementaux complexes et des relations Nature-Société. Lors de leur formation à Fribourg et pour leur projet de mémoire de Master, les étudiantes et étudiants sont intégrés au sein des équipes de recherche et participent aux projets de recherche en cours. L'Unité de taille humaine (une trentaine de chercheurs) et le dynamisme des équipes permettent d'assurer un encadrement de qualité pour l'ensemble des étudiantes et étudiants.

Structure des enseignements
Les enseignements sont organisés en quatre modules qui combinent cours magistraux, séminaires, travaux de terrain et conférences. Le module commun propose une formation sur les bases conceptuelles et théoriques en géographie. Les cours présentent les différentes approches de géographie humaine et physique, ainsi que les méthodes de collecte et d'analyse des données. Trois cycles de conférences internes offrent aux étudiantes et aux étudiants l'occasion d'approfondir leurs connaissances sur des sujets de recherche actuels. Un module de cours complémentaires permet aux étudiantes et aux étudiants de personnaliser en parallèle leur formation en suivant des cours en relation avec leur spécialisation, au sein de l'Unité, au sein de la Faculté ou bien à l'extérieur afin de compléter leur parcours disciplinaire ou interdisciplinaire. La réalisation d'un mémoire de Master sous la supervision d'une professeure ou d'un professeur conclut la formation. Un camp de terrain est organisé à l'étranger dans une région de recherche de l'une des équipes (Maroc en 2009, Namibie en 2011, Asie Centrale en 2013).

Débouchés
Ce programme d'études offre des débouchés professionnels variés: enseignement, recherche, administration et institutions publiques (locales, cantonales, fédérales, internationales), urbanisme et aménagement du territoire, bureau d'étude et de consultance en environnement, développement durable, développement territorial.

Organisation des études

Structure des études

120 crédits ECTS, 4 semestres

Plan d'études

http://www.unifr.ch/science/plans/plans_f.php

Admission

Les voies d'études Master se basent sur les connaissances et les compétences acquises pour l'obtention du Bachelor.

Les titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor universitaire délivré par une université suisse peuvent être admis aux études de Master sans autres conditions dans la branche d'études correspondante (cela signifie que 60 ECTS au minimum doivent être obtenus dans la branche d'études envisagée au niveau Master). Le même principe est appliqué aux titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor universitaire étranger reconnu et jugé équivalent par l'Université de Fribourg.

Les titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor universitaire suisse ou étranger, reconnu et jugé équivalent par l'Université de Fribourg, obtenu dans une autre branche d'études peuvent être admis aux études de Master avec conditions préalables (à accomplir avant l'entrée en Master) ou avec exigences supplémentaires (à accomplir parallèlement aux études de Master). Une admission avec conditions préalables ou avec exigences supplémentaires est également possible pour les titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor d'une haute école spécialisée suisse, selon les conventions en vigueur.

Les conditions d'admission propres à chaque programme de Master sont réservées.

Variantes

Est également offert en tant que programme d'études secondaires (30 crédits ECTS).