Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

 

Mathematics

Abstract

The study programme provides a high-level education in pure and applied mathematics and involves individualized curricula specializing in several domains of analysis, algebra and geometry, topology, statistics, numerical analysis or biomathematics. Previous course work can be extended in computer science, physics or economics. Master's level classes at the nearby universities of Bern and Neuchâtel are open to students registered at Fribourg and can be part of their curriculum. Activities from the «Swiss Doctoral Program in Mathematics» can equally be integrated into the course of study. The programme culminates in a Master's thesis under the supervision of a thesis advisor with a final presentation of the results.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

The study programme in mathematics provides a high-level education in pure and applied mathematics. It is open to candidates holding a Bachelor's degree in mathematics, and to well prepared and talented candidates with an equivalent degree. Because of the increasing use of advanced mathematical methods in a wide variety of fields, the study programme leads to a multitude of careers in private companies, government institutions, or teaching.
Mathematicians generally have excellent prospects on the national and international job market. This Master's degree also provides the necessary preparation for students planning to follow a Doctoral programme in mathematics.

This Master offers advanced classes in a broad spectrum of mathematical areas. Students follow highly individualized curricula specializing in several domains of analysis, algebra and geometry, topology, statistics, numerical analysis or biomathematics. It is also possible to extend previous course work in computer science, physics or economics at the Master's level. Lectures and seminars introduce students to the world of mathematical research. The study programme culminates in a Master's thesis carried out under the supervision of a thesis advisor, and a final presentation of the results.

Fribourg profile
In accordance with the multi-lingual and international profile of the University, mathematics classes at Fribourg are taught in French, German and English, while seminars are trilingual. Students may choose the language of their seminar talks, written works and exams between French, German and English.
The Mathematics Department is well integrated into the international research landscape, and provides a particularly attractive learning environment.
Assistants and professors are easily accessible and ready to provide advice and help. Master's level classes at the nearby universities of Bern and Neuchâtel are open to students registered at Fribourg and can be part of their curriculum.
Activities from the «Swiss Doctoral Programm in Mathematics» can equally be integrated into the course of study.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

90 ECTS credits, 3 semesters

Curriculum

http://www.unifr.ch/science/plans/plans_e.php

Admission

Master's degree programmes are built on the knowledge and abilities that were acquired when obtaining a Bachelor's degree.

Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university can be admitted to a Master's degree programme within the corresponding discipline (requires the acquisition of minimum 60 ECTS credits at Bachelor level in the corresponding discipline) without any additional requirements. The same applies to holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg.

Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university or holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg, can be admitted to a Master's degree programme within another discipline with prerequisites (must be successfully completed before starting the Master's degree programme) or additional requirements (can be completed during the Master's degree programme). According to existing agreements, holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university of applied sciences can also be admitted with prerequisites or additional requirements.

The respective conditions of admission for each Master's degree programme are reserved.

Alternatives

Also offered as a minor study programme (30 ECTS credits).

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

 

Mathématiques

Résumé

Ce programme d'études propose une formation de haut niveau en mathématiques pures et appliquées, et permet une individualisation des cursus avec différents domaines de spécialisation: analyse, algèbre et géométrie, topologie, statistiques, analyse numérique ou biomathématiques. Les cours suivis en informatique, en physique ou en économie avant d'intégrer le Master peuvent être poursuivis. Les étudiantes et étudiants inscrits à Fribourg peuvent également assister, dans le cadre de leur cursus, aux cours de niveau Master proposés par les Universités voisines de Berne et de Neuchâtel. Les activités du «Swiss Doctoral Programm in Mathematics» peuvent elles aussi être intégrées au parcours académique. Le programme s'achève par un mémoire de Master réalisé sous la supervision d'un directeur, avec soutenance finale des résultats.

Afficher le profil du programme d'études

Profil du programme d'études

Ce programme d'études propose une formation de haut niveau en mathématiques pures et appliquées. Il est accessible aux titulaires d'un Bachelor en mathématiques et aux candidats talentueux et bien préparés disposant d'un diplôme équivalent. Devant l'utilisation croissante de méthodes mathématiques avancées dans une grande variété de domaines, ce programme d'études ouvre la voie à une multitude de carrières, que ce soit dans les entreprises privées, dans les institutions publiques ou dans l'enseignement.
De manière générale, les mathématiciens sont très recherchés sur les marchés nationaux et internationaux de l'emploi. Ce Master offre également aux étudiantes et aux étudiants une préparation adéquate pour poursuivre un programme doctoral en mathématiques.

Ce Master propose des cours avancés dans une large palette de spécialités mathématiques. Les étudiantes et étudiants peuvent très largement individualiser leur cursus, en se spécialisant dans certains domaines: analyse, algèbre et géométrie, topologie, statistiques, analyse numérique ou biomathématiques. Les cours suivis en informatique, en physique ou en économie avant d'intégrer le Master peuvent être poursuivis. Les cours et les séminaires proposent aux étudiants une introduction au monde de la recherche en mathématiques. Le programme d'études s'achève par un mémoire de Master réalisé sous la supervision d'un directeur, avec soutenance finale des résultats.

Profil fribourgeois
Dans l'esprit du profil plurilingue et international de l'Université, les cours de mathématiques proposés à Fribourg sont dispensés en français, en allemand et en anglais, et les séminaires sont trilingues. Les étudiantes et étudiants peuvent choisir la langue de leurs présentation en séminaire, de leurs travaux écrits et de leurs examens entre le français, l'allemand et l'anglais.
Le Département de mathématiques est très bien intégré aux réseaux de recherche internationaux, et offre un cadre d'apprentissage particulièrement attractif.
Le personnel d'encadrement et d'enseignement est facilement accessible et toujours prêt à donner des conseils et à proposer son aide. Les étudiantes et étudiants inscrits à Fribourg peuvent également assister, dans le cadre de leur cursus, aux cours de niveau Master proposés par les Universités voisines de Berne et de Neuchâtel.
Les activités du «Swiss Doctoral Programm in Mathematics» peuvent elles aussi être intégrées au parcours académique.

Organisation des études

Structure des études

90 crédits ECTS, 3 semestres

Plan d'études

http://www.unifr.ch/science/plans/plans_f.php

Admission

Les voies d'études Master se basent sur les connaissances et les compétences acquises pour l'obtention du Bachelor.

Les titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor universitaire délivré par une université suisse peuvent être admis aux études de Master sans autres conditions dans la branche d'études correspondante (cela signifie que 60 ECTS au minimum doivent être obtenus dans la branche d'études envisagée au niveau Master). Le même principe est appliqué aux titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor universitaire étranger reconnu et jugé équivalent par l'Université de Fribourg.

Les titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor universitaire suisse ou étranger, reconnu et jugé équivalent par l'Université de Fribourg, obtenu dans une autre branche d'études peuvent être admis aux études de Master avec conditions préalables (à accomplir avant l'entrée en Master) ou avec exigences supplémentaires (à accomplir parallèlement aux études de Master). Une admission avec conditions préalables ou avec exigences supplémentaires est également possible pour les titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor d'une haute école spécialisée suisse, selon les conventions en vigueur.

Les conditions d'admission propres à chaque programme de Master sont réservées.

Variantes

Est également offert en tant que programme d'études secondaires (30 crédits ECTS).