Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Nature, Society and Politics

Abstract

Tuned to current environmental challenges and social dimensions of environmental change, this specialised master programme in Nature, Society and Politics enables students from backgrounds other than geography to understand and assess environmental systems and the relationship between «nature», society and politics. After studying a core module covering conceptual and theoretical basics in both physical and human geography, students explore social science subjects such as political ecology and natural resource governance in the specialisation module.
Students have a broad choice of seminars, as well as colloquiums and opportunities to practice fieldwork on excursions. Students can also participate in national or international research teams, particularly in the context of their master's thesis. The Unit of Geography offers cutting edge teaching and mentoring, preparing the students for critical thinking in academia, as well as providing a professional qualification beyond academia.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

The Unit of Geography – part of the University of Fribourg Department of Geosciences – offers a specialised master's degree in Nature, Society and Politics that focuses on current environmental and social problems. This study programme gives students from backgrounds other than geography the means to understand and analyse the socio-environmental issues at stake, such as the consequences of climate change, urban and rural development and change, and extraction of natural resources. The course is partly based on the complementarity between the approaches and methods used in the natural and social sciences.

Throughout the programme, students are taught theoretical and methodological approaches that are required to assess the environmental issues at stake in a critical manner. The aim of this specialised master's degree is to deepen already acquired knowledge and to hone one's competencies in the chosen field.

At the end of the course, students will have shown that they can apply their knowledge to conduct a research project, and will have learned how to work independently and within an interdisciplinary research team. The award of the degree requires creativity and reflexivity, as well as the ability to communicate ideas and work both in English and in the student's native language.

Integrative, interdisciplinary geography
Reflecting the diverse team of around 30 researchers at our Unit of Geography, the specialised master's course in Nature, Society and Politics is truly integrative and interdisciplinary. Apart from providing integrative training, i.e. with the neighbouring disciplines of the Department: Physical Geography and Environmental Sciences, it also gives students the chance to specialise in topics like political ecology, natural resource management and governance (water, land, re-naturation and landscapes). This approach is a great aid to understanding and assessing complex environmental systems, as well as the relationship between nature, society, and politics. During their master's studies in Fribourg – and especially while working on their master's thesis – students may be part of research teams and can participate in on-going national and international research projects. The human dimensions of our diverse Department and the drive of the various research groups provide a supportive, quality environment for all students.

Structure of classes and lectures
All teaching is in English. The teaching is structured into four modules and is delivered through a combination of lectures, hands-on methodological courses, seminars, excursions and colloquiums. A field trip is organised abroad in one of the teams' research regions every other year (Morocco in 2009, Namibia in 2011, Central Asia in 2013, Kyrgyzstan in 2017, Greenland in 2019), complemented by student-organised excursions in Switzerland.

  1. The core module covers the conceptual and theoretical bases in geography. Students are taught the different approaches to human and physical geography at master's level, as well as methods for collecting and analysing data. Three cycles of internal colloquiums offer students a chance to gain more in-depth knowledge on current research topics.
  2. The specialisation module equips the students with advanced knowledge in the chosen field.
  3. A supporting module allows students to personalise their study programmes by pursuing courses related to their specialisation. Students can choose from a wide range of courses from the University of Fribourg, as well as other universities. Depending on the student's prior education and training, the supporting module may also be used to fill in gaps.
  4. The master's thesis is carried out under the supervision of a professor and makes up a very substantial part of the programme.

Career openings
This programme is intended for motivated students who are interested in pursuing a career in research – e.g. by pursuing a PhD – or in the public or private sector – e.g. in environmental consulting and management, (spatial) planning and development, monitoring, documentation, administration, public institutions (local, cantonal, federal, international), international organisations such as NGOs or the UN institutions of sustainable development. The specialised master's degree does not give access to the teacher education for academic upper secondary schools (DEEM or LDM) of the University of Fribourg.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

120 ECTS credits, 4 semesters

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/xZPll (French)
http://studies.unifr.ch/go/z3FE1 (German)

Admission

Admission to the specialised master is based on the student's dossier, according to the conditions described in the study plan.
N.B. Students who have obtained a bachelor's degree in geography, or at least 60 ECTS credits in geography, should choose the master's degree in geography (option Dynamics in Glaciology and Geomorphology or Nature, Society and Politics).

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

Nature, société et politique

Résumé

En lien avec les défis environnementaux actuels et les dimensions sociales des changements environnementaux, ce programme de master spécialisé en Nature, société et politique s'adresse à des étudiantes et étudiants n'ayant pas une formation en géographie. Il permet de comprendre et d'évaluer les systèmes de l'environnement et le rapport entre «nature», société et politique. Après avoir suivi le module principal, qui fournit les bases conceptuelles et théoriques en géographie physique et humaine, les étudiantes et étudiants abordent, dans le module de spécialisation, des thèmes relevant des sciences sociales tels que l'écologie politique et la gestion des ressources naturelles.
Les étudiantes et étudiants ont accès à un large choix de séminaires, de colloques et ont l'opportunité de travailler sur le terrain. Ils peuvent aussi intégrer des équipes de recherche nationales et internationales, notamment dans le cadre de leur mémoire de master. L'Unité de géographie offre un enseignement et un encadrement de pointe qui permettent aux étudiantes et étudiants de développer leur esprit critique en vue d'une carrière académique et également d'acquérir une qualification professionnelle offrant d'autres débouchés.

Afficher le profil du programme d'études

Profil du programme d'études

L'Unité de géographie – qui est rattachée au Département des géosciences – propose un master spécialisé en Nature, société et politique, axé sur les problématiques environnementales et sociales. Ce programme d'études donne aux étudiantes et étudiants n'ayant pas une formation en géographie les moyens de comprendre et d'analyser les enjeux socio-environnementaux, tels que les conséquences du changement climatique, du développement et de la transformation des milieux urbains et ruraux, sans oublier l'extraction des ressources naturelles. L'enseignement s'appuie en partie sur la complémentarité entre les approches et les méthodes utilisées en sciences naturelles et en sciences sociales.

Durant ce cursus, les étudiantes et étudiants assimilent les approches théoriques et méthodologiques requises pour procéder à une analyse critique des problématiques environnementales qui se posent. L'objectif de ce master spécialisé est d'approfondir les connaissances acquises et d'affiner leurs compétences dans le domaine choisi.

A la fin du cursus, les étudiantes et étudiants auront démontré leur capacité à mener à bien un projet de recherche et auront appris à travailler individuellement et dans une équipe de recherche interdisciplinaire. L'obtention du diplôme réclame de la créativité et des capacités de réflexion, de même que l'aptitude à communiquer ses idées et son travail en anglais et dans sa langue maternelle.

Une géographie intégrative et interdisciplinaire
Reflétant la diversité d'une équipe composée d'une trentaine de chercheurs de l'Unité de géographie, ce programme de master spécialisé en Nature, société et politique est un cursus réellement intégratif et interdisciplinaire. Outre une formation intégrative, avec des cours dans des disciplines connexes du Département (géographie physique et sciences de l'environnement), il permet également de se spécialiser dans des domaines tels que l'écologie politique ou la gestion des ressources naturelles (eau, sol, renaturation et paysages). Cette approche est un atout pour la compréhension et l'évaluation de systèmes environnementaux complexes et des rapports entre nature, société et politique. Lors de leur formation à Fribourg, et notamment dans le cadre de leur mémoire de master, les étudiantes et étudiants peuvent intégrer des équipes de recherche et participer aux projets de recherche nationaux et internationaux en cours. La diversité de notre Département à taille humaine et le dynamisme des différentes équipes de recherche offrent aux étudiantes et étudiants un encadrement et un environnement de qualité.

Structure des enseignements
Tous les cours sont dispensés en anglais. Les enseignements sont organisés en quatre modules combinant cours magistraux, cours pratiques de méthodologie, séminaires, excursions et colloques. Tous les deux ans, un camp de terrain est organisé à l'étranger dans une région choisie comme sujet de recherche par l'une des équipes de chercheurs (Maroc en 2009, Namibie en 2011, Asie centrale en 2013, Kirghizistan en 2017, Groenland en 2019). Cette expérience est complétée par des excursions en Suisse organisées par les étudiantes et étudiants.

  1. Le module principal fournit les bases conceptuelles et théoriques en géographie. Ces cours présentent les différentes approches de la géographie humaine et physique (niveau master), ainsi que les méthodes de collecte et d'analyse des données. Trois cycles de colloques internes offrent aux étudiantes et étudiants l'occasion d'approfondir leurs connaissances sur des sujets de recherche actuels.
  2. Le module de spécialisation permet d'acquérir des connaissances approfondies dans le domaine choisi.
  3. Le module complémentaire permet de compléter la formation par des cours en relation avec la spécialisation choisie à l'Université de Fribourg, où le choix est vaste, ou dans d'autres universités. En fonction de leur formation antérieure, les étudiantes et étudiants peuvent, par ce module, combler leurs lacunes dans le domaine.
  4. La rédaction d'un mémoire de master sous la supervision d'une professeure ou d'un professeur constitue un volet essentiel de ce programme.

Débouchés
Ce programme d'études s'adresse à des étudiantes et étudiants motivés qui souhaitent poursuivre une carrière dans la recherche, par exemple dans le cadre d'un doctorat (PhD), ou qui se destinent à une carrière dans le secteur public ou privé: conseil et gestion en environnement, aménagement et développement (du territoire), surveillance, documentation, administration, institutions publiques locales, cantonales, fédérales ou internationales, organisations internationales (ONG ou institutions des Nations Unies pour le développement durable). Ce diplôme de master spécialisé ne donne pas accès à la formation à l'enseignement pour les écoles de maturité (DEEM) de l'Université de Fribourg.

Organisation des études

Structure des études

120 crédits ECTS, 4 semestres

Plan d'études

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/xZPll

Admission

L'admission au master spécialisé se fait sur dossier, selon les conditions décrites dans le plan d'études.
N.B. Les étudiantes et étudiants qui ont obtenu un bachelor en géographie, ou au minimum 60 crédits ECTS en géographie, se tourneront vers le master en géographie (option Glaciologie et géomorphologie dynamique ou Nature, société et politique).