Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

 

Physics

Abstract

At Master's level, this study programme in Physics provides students with advanced courses and starts the process of specialisation. About half of the courses are compulsory and of general interest, the other half consists of more specialised elective courses.
The Master's thesis will be supervised by an active researcher and initiates students to the frontiers of research, in the following subjects: Atomic physics, Electrons in solids, Soft matter and photonics, Theoretical interdisciplinary physics, Collective quantum phenomena and Nanosciences (Nanomaterials).
At the end of the programme, students will have learned how to apply their knowledge to do research projects and how to work independently or integrate into an interdisciplinary research team.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

Physics has been the main motor of the spectacular scientific and technological developments of the 20th century and will definitely continue to play a dominant role for the promotion of science at large in this century.
The study programme in Physics provides you with more advanced courses, and starts the process of specialisation. The Master's thesis is supervised by an active researcher and initiates you to the frontiers of research. At the Master's level, about half of the courses are compulsory and of general interest, the other half consists of more specialized elective courses. Specialised lectures may also be taken at other universities, in particular Bern. It is recommended that you follow the specialised lectures in the field of your future Master's thesis. Other lectures, at your discretion, are necessary to complete the requirements. The lectures are complemented by seminars on modern research topics and advanced laboratory work, colloquia and project in research group.

Compulsory courses:

  • Theoretical physics: Advanced statistical mechanics, Relativistic quantum mechanics, Field theory, Many-body theory;
  • Condensed matter physics: Structure and dynamics of matter, Magnetism and quantum fluids, Soft condensed matter, Electrons in solids;
  • Constituents of matter: Electrons and photons, Particle physics, Atomic spectroscopy, Modern optics.

Elective courses:

  • Specialized courses (examples): Optics of strongly scattering media, Physics of living matter, Interdisciplinary statistical physics, Advanced materials, Polarized light and polarized atoms, Solid state magnetism, Colloid physics, Solid state spectroscopy, Polymer physics, Symmetries in physics, Atomic collisions, Scattering methods in soft condensed matter, Theories of high temperature superconductors, Physics of information, Critical phenomena, Exotic atomic transitions, Magneto-optical effects in atoms, Synchrotron radiation;
  • Other courses: at the discretion of the student (for example, a course in Scientific English).

Master's thesis
Subject in following fields: Atomic physics, Electrons in solids, Soft matter and photonics, Theoretical interdisciplinary physics, Collective quantum phenomena and Nanosciences (Nanomaterials).

6 good reasons to study at the University of Fribourg:

  • International environment;
  • Human scale of the Department of Physics;
  • Excellent supervision of the students;
  • Bilingualism (French/German) and Master's level courses taught in English;
  • The Department is composed of several relatively small research groups, each with its own specialty, therefore wide choice's possibility of subjects for the Master's thesis;
  • Proximity of the University of Bern, easy access to lectures on other topics.

Learning outcomes and career openings
The aim of the studies leading to the award of a Master of Science in Physics is to deepen knowledge and perfect competence in the chosen field and at the same time develop skills in scientific English.
At the end of the study programme, you will have shown that you can apply your knowledge to accomplish a research project and will have learned how to work independently or how to integrate into an interdisciplinary research team.
The award of the degree requires creative and self-critical talents as well as the ability to communicate ideas and work both in English and your native language.

The Master's degree in Physics opens many doors, a natural choice being doctoral studies. A Ph.D. degree is necessary or advantageous f or continuing work in academic or industrial research positions. Teaching at Secondary level is another obvious choice (see «Teacher Education for Secondary Level»).
Learning scientific rigor, abstract thinking, experimental and mathematical skills, the ability to describe concrete phenomena by theoretical models, the ability to identify relevant variables, are skills of good standing in the search for employment in both the public and private sectors. Branches where physicists are welcome include machine and electronic industries, applied computing, insurance companies, risk management and even financial mathematics. Besides those typical careers, physicists frequently appear in important managerial positions or in politics.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

90 ECTS credits, 3 semesters

Curriculum

http://www.unifr.ch/science/plans/plans_e.php

Admission

Master's degree programmes are built on the knowledge and abilities that were acquired when obtaining a Bachelor's degree.

Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university can be admitted to a Master's degree programme within the corresponding discipline (requires the acquisition of minimum 60 ECTS credits at Bachelor level in the corresponding discipline) without any additional requirements. The same applies to holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg.

Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university or holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg, can be admitted to a Master's degree programme within another discipline with prerequisites (must be successfully completed before starting the Master's degree programme) or additional requirements (can be completed during the Master's degree programme). According to existing agreements, holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university of applied sciences can also be admitted with prerequisites or additional requirements.

The respective conditions of admission for each Master's degree programme are reserved.

Alternatives

Also offered as a minor study programme (30 ECTS credits).

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

 

Physique

Résumé

Ce programme de Master en physique propose aux étudiantes et aux étudiants des cours avancés et une introduction à leur spécialisation. Une moitié des enseignements est obligatoire et porte sur des thèmes généraux, tandis que l'autre moitié est composée de cours à option plus spécialisés.
Le mémoire de Master est supervisé par un chercheur actif et initie les étudiantes et étudiants aux domaines les plus pointus de la recherche sur les thèmes suivants: physique atomique, physique des électrons dans les solides, matière molle et photonique, physique théorique interdisciplinaire, phénomènes quantiques collectifs et nanosciences (nanomatériaux).
Au terme du programme, les étudiantes et étudiants sont en mesure d'appliquer leurs connaissances pour mener des projets de recherche et savent travailler de manière indépendante ou s'intégrer dans une équipe de recherche interdisciplinaire.

Afficher le profil du programme d'études

Profil du programme d'études

La physique est à la base de l'évolution spectaculaire des sciences et des technologies au XXème siècle, et continuera sans aucun doute de jouer un rôle fondamental dans l'avancée des sciences en général au cours des décennies à venir.
Ce programme d'études en physique propose aux étudiantes et aux étudiants des cours avancés et une introduction à leur spécialisation. Le mémoire de Master est supervisé par un chercheur actif et initie les étudiantes et étudiants aux domaines les plus pointus de la recherche. Au niveau Master, une moitié des enseignements est obligatoire et porte sur des thèmes généraux, tandis que l'autre moitié est composée de cours à option plus spécialisés. Certains cours spécialisés peuvent également être suivis dans d'autres universités, notamment celle de Berne. Il est recommandé aux étudiantes et aux étudiants de suivre des cours spécialisés dans le domaine sur lequel portera leur mémoire de Master. Les étudiantes et étudiants doivent également choisir d'autres enseignements, à leur discrétion, pour parachever le cursus. Les cours sont complétés par des séminaires sur l'actualité de la recherche, ainsi que par des expériences avancées en laboratoire, des colloques et des travaux en groupes de recherche.

Cours obligatoires:

  • Physique théorique: mécanique statistique avancée, mécanique quantique relativiste, théorie des champs, théorie à N corps;
  • Physique de la matière condensée: structures et dynamique de la matière, magnétisme et fluides quantiques, matière molle condensée, physique des électrons dans les solides;
  • Composantes de la matière: électrons et photons, physique des particules, spectroscopie atomique, optique moderne.

Cours à option:

  • Cours spécialisés (exemples): optique dans les milieux fortement diffusants, physique de la matière vivante, physique statistique interdisciplinaire, matériaux avancés, polarisation de la lumière et atomes polarisés, magnétisme des solides, physique des colloïdes, spectroscopie des solides, physique des polymères, symétries en physique, collisions atomiques, méthodes de diffusion dans la matière molle condensée, théorie des supraconducteurs à haute température, physique de l'information, phénomènes critiques, transitions atomiques exotiques, effets magnétiques et optiques dans les atomes, rayonnement synchrotron;
  • Autres cours: à choisir à la discrétion de l'étudiante ou de l'étudiant (par ex. un cours d'anglais scientifique).

Mémoire de Master
Sujet à choisir dans les domaines suivants: physique atomique, physique des électrons dans les solides, matière molle et photonique, physique théorique interdisciplinaire, phénomènes quantiques collectifs et nanosciences (nanomatériaux).

6 bonnes raisons d'étudier la physique à l'Université de Fribourg:

  • Un environnement international;
  • Un Département de physique à taille humaine;
  • Un excellent encadrement des étudiantes et étudiants;
  • Le bilinguisme (français/allemand) et les cours de Master dispensés en anglais;
  • Le Département est composé de groupes de recherche relativement restreints, avec pour chacun une spécialité différente, ce qui élargit le choix des sujets pouvant être abordés dans le cadre du mémoire de Master;
  • La proximité de l'Université de Berne, et la facilité d'accès à des cours dans d'autres domaines.

Objectifs de formation et débouchés
Ce programme permettant d'obtenir un Master of Science in Physics a pour objectif l'approfondissement des connaissances et le perfectionnement des compétences dans le domaine de spécialisation choisi, ainsi que l'apprentissage de la rédaction scientifique en anglais.
Au terme du programme d'études, les étudiantes et étudiants sont en mesure d'appliquer leurs connaissances pour mener des projets de recherche et savent travailler de manière indépendante ou s'intégrer dans une équipe de recherche interdisciplinaire.
L'obtention du diplôme exige de la créativité et de l'autocritique, ainsi qu'une bonne capacité à transmettre des idées et à travailler tant en anglais que dans sa langue maternelle.

Ce diplôme de Master en physique ouvre de nombreuses portes, la poursuite des études au niveau du Doctorat constituant un choix naturel. En effet, un Doctorat est souvent nécessaire ou préférable pour poursuivre une carrière académique ou obtenir un poste de chercheur dans l'industrie. L'enseignement au degré secondaire constitue un autre choix de prédilection (voir «Enseignement au degré secondaire»).
L'apprentissage de la rigueur scientifique et de la réflexion abstraite, l'acquisition de compétences expérimentales et mathématiques, ainsi que la capacité à identifier les variables pertinentes constituent autant de qualifications de première importance pour trouver un emploi, tant dans le secteur public que privé. Les secteurs qui recrutent des physiciennes et physiciens incluent notamment la robotique et l'électronique, l'informatique appliquée, les compagnies d'assurances, la gestion des risques et même les mathématiques appliquées à la finance. Outre ces parcours professionnels typiques, les physiciennes et physiciens peuvent également occuper des postes à responsabilités dans les entreprises ou en politique.

Organisation des études

Structure des études

90 crédits ECTS, 3 semestres

Plan d'études

http://www.unifr.ch/science/plans/plans_f.php

Admission

Les voies d'études Master se basent sur les connaissances et les compétences acquises pour l'obtention du Bachelor.

Les titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor universitaire délivré par une université suisse peuvent être admis aux études de Master sans autres conditions dans la branche d'études correspondante (cela signifie que 60 ECTS au minimum doivent être obtenus dans la branche d'études envisagée au niveau Master). Le même principe est appliqué aux titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor universitaire étranger reconnu et jugé équivalent par l'Université de Fribourg.

Les titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor universitaire suisse ou étranger, reconnu et jugé équivalent par l'Université de Fribourg, obtenu dans une autre branche d'études peuvent être admis aux études de Master avec conditions préalables (à accomplir avant l'entrée en Master) ou avec exigences supplémentaires (à accomplir parallèlement aux études de Master). Une admission avec conditions préalables ou avec exigences supplémentaires est également possible pour les titulaires d'un diplôme de Bachelor d'une haute école spécialisée suisse, selon les conventions en vigueur.

Les conditions d'admission propres à chaque programme de Master sont réservées.

Variantes

Est également offert en tant que programme d'études secondaires (30 crédits ECTS).